督學的13月XNUMX日返校更新

主管更新徽標

西班牙語

親愛 APS 家庭,

希望您的一周在我們第四季度開始時有了一個良好的開端。 我們目前正在計劃2021-22年夏季和秋季。 我們的目標仍然是恢復盡可能接近正常上課日的教學計劃,同時還為有需要的學生提供完全遠程的K-12遠程學習計劃。 這是正在進行的工作的重要更新以及要記住的即將到來的日期:

2021-22學年的家庭調查 - APS 將在秋季遵循健康與安全指導原則,為學生提供為期五天的親自教學模型和一個為期五天的K-12遠程學習計劃。 我們將在19月30日星期一至2021月22日星期五進行家庭/學生調查,要求每個學生在XNUMX-XNUMX學年的首選教學模式和交通選擇。 這項調查將在 ParentVUE 週一,家庭將收到一次學校講座,其中提供了有關每種教學模式的說明,常見問題解答和一般信息。 家庭將被要求在 ParentVUE 到30月XNUMX日, APS 可以在兩個模型中繼續進行人員配備和總體進度計劃。

SY 2021-22延長日 - APS 計劃提供2021-22學年的擴展日。 註冊被推遲以允許延長日復查家庭調查中的數據,並確認為盡可能多的學生安全運行該程序所需的修改或健康和安全措施。 新的註冊日期將很快宣布。

擴大個人指導機會 –在上週的校務委員會會議上,我重申了我們的承諾,即在遵循3英尺間距的指導原則的同時,向更多的學生提供面對面的指導。 學校一直在努力按照新的指導方針重新配置教室,以擴大他們的能力,而且許多學校已經招收了更多的學生。 校長們根據能力為每所學校做出這些決定。 許多學校已經成功地將所有學生列入候補名單。 我還很高興地報告,減少的距離使得一些基本的混合班級可以過渡到一個教室,而不是將班級分成兩組,而老師和助手在房間之間旋轉。 這些決定是在建築物一級做出的,我鼓勵所有有興趣過渡到親自授課的家庭向您的學校尋求幫助。

按教學模型更新了招生 –我們將繼續每周向社區通報我們的註冊情況以及每種模式的任何變化。 數據, 在線發布並在每個星期一更新,顯示當前的入學情況和變動情況,並按特殊人群,年級,學校和種族分類。 我還將在我的學校董事會監督報告中繼續分享此信息。

暑期學校信息– 有資格參加夏季暑期強化計劃的小學生家長將在16月30日星期五開始通知,直到28月XNUMX日星期五才選擇退出暑期學校。 有資格參加暑期學校的中學生家長將在XNUMX月中旬收到學校通知。 他們必須在XNUMX月XNUMX日之前選擇退出。 經濟學和個人理財註冊(唯一的新工作課程 APS (將於今年夏天提供)在3月14日至XNUMX日通過社會研究辦公室在線進行。 細節正在定稿中。

感謝您一直以來的支持和合作。

此致,

弗朗西斯科·杜蘭博士
所長
阿靈頓公立學校

Superintendent’s April 13 Return-to-School Update

Superintendent's Updates logo

Español

Dear APS Families,

I hope your week is off to a great start as we begin the fourth quarter. We are currently in the process of planning for summer and fall 2021-22. Our goal remains to resume instructional schedules that are as close to the normal school day as possible, while also providing a fully remote, K-12 distance learning program for students who need it. Here are important updates on the work in progress and upcoming dates to remember:

Family Surveys for the 2021-22 School Year – APS will be offering a five-day in-person instructional model and a separate, five-day K-12 distance learning program for students in the fall, while following health and safety guidelines. We are launching a family/student survey from Mon, April 19 through Fri, April 30, requesting each student’s preferred instructional model and transportation choices for the 2021-22 school year. The survey will launch in ParentVUE on Monday, and families will receive a School Talk providing instructions, FAQ, and general information on each instructional model. Families will be asked to make their selections in ParentVUE by April 30 so that APS can proceed with staffing and master schedule planning in both models.

Extended Day for SY 2021-22 – APS plans to offer Extended Day for the 2021-22 School Year. Registration is postponed to allow for Extended Day to review the data from Family Surveys and confirm modifications or health and safety measures needed to run the program safely for as many students as possible. New registration dates will be announced soon.

Expanding In-Person Instruction Opportunities – During last week’s School Board meeting, I reiterated our commitment to expanding in-person instruction to as many additional students as possible now, while following 3-foot distancing guidelines. Schools have been working to reconfigure classrooms to expand their capacity in accordance with the new guidance, and many have already admitted additional students. Principals are making those decisions for each school based on capacity. Many schools have successfully accommodated all students on their wait lists. I am also glad to report that the reduced distancing has allowed some elementary hybrid classes to transition to a single classroom, versus having classes split into two groups with the teacher and assistant rotating between the rooms. Those decisions are being made at the building level, and I encourage all families interested in transitioning to in-person instruction to reach out to your school for assistance.

Updated Enrollment by Instructional Model – We will continue to keep the community informed of our enrollment and any changes in each model on a weekly basis. The data, posted online and updated every Monday, shows the current enrollment and changes, with breakdowns by special populations, grade level, school, and ethnicity. I will also continue to share this information during my School Board Monitoring Reports.

Summer School Information – Parents of elementary students who are eligible for the elementary summer strengthening program will be notified starting on Fri, April 16, and will have until Fri, April 30 to opt out of summer school. Parents of secondary students who are eligible for summer school will be notified by their school in mid-May. They will have until May 28 to opt out.  Registration for Economics and Personal Finance (the only new work course that APS will offer this summer) will be conducted online through the Social Studies Office from May 3-14. Details are being finalized.

Thank you for your ongoing support and partnership.

Sincerely,

Dr. Francisco Durán
Superintendent
Arlington Public Schools