主管的6月XNUMX日每週更新

西班牙語

我希望大家在上週度過一個輕鬆,安全和寧靜的春假。 當我們在本週恢復教學時,我想花一點時間感謝我們非常有才華的助理校長,以表彰他們對 全國校長助理週。 他們是傑出的領導者,他們通過他們的工作激勵我們所有人,為學生服務並為學校的成功做出貢獻。 四月也是國家圖書館月,也是慶祝我們的日子 優秀的學校圖書館員 在大流行期間,他們在調適圖書館服務和激發讀者方面展示了他們的專業知識和創造力。 請花點時間感謝您學校的AP和學校圖書館員本週。

在我們推進2020-21學年剩餘時間的過程中,我需要與您分享一些最新信息:

擴大個人學習機會—我們正在努力在混合/面對面模型中為盡可能多的PreK-12學生提供服務,同時將安全性放在首位並將COVID-19傳輸速率保持在較低水平。 我們為每個人提供額外服務的能力取決於每所學校的能力以及CDC更新的距離指南的考慮,該指南允許學校在某些學校環境下從6英尺過渡到3英尺的社會距離,具體取決於社區的傳播水平。 在本學年的剩餘時間裡, APS 將:

  • 與候補名單上的家庭聯繫,以根據能力和疏散指導原則招收其他學生進行混合/面對面教學。 有興趣在當前學年更改孩子的教學模式選擇的家庭應與您的學校聯繫以尋求幫助。 英語學習者,特殊教育學生和遇到遠程學習挑戰的學生將被優先提供面對面教學。 從8月XNUMX日開始,我的校務委員會監控報告將提供有關混合/面對面學習和全日制遠程學習學生人數變化的最新信息。
  • 計劃暑期學校和2021-22學年的五天課程表。 我們將在2021-22學年提供一個完整的面對面學習模型和一個為期XNUMX天的全程遠程學習模型。 隨著計劃的製定,我將繼續為您提供詳細信息。

2021年秋季入學預測-作為2021-22學年計劃的一部分,學校現在正在開展宣傳活動,以查明秋季從秋季退學的家庭返回的意圖。 APS 自2020年2022月以來由於大流行。 擁有準確的入學信息對於XNUMX財年預算,為學校配備人員以及為即將到來的學年做準備非常重要。 請幫助向您可能選擇退出的任何家庭,朋友或鄰居宣傳這個詞 APS 並考慮在秋天回來。

親自進行SOL測試 - APS 正準備對3至12年級的學生實施學習標準(SOL)測試,因為當前的學年還沒有免除此要求。 SOL測試將僅限於3-8年級的閱讀和數學,5年級和8年級的科學以及要求的課程結業(EOC)高中學分課程。 測試結果將提供有關大流行對學生成績影響的信息,並為將來的認證計算提供增長的基準。 為幫助家庭做準備:

  • 所有SOL測試都將在XNUMX月和XNUMX月在學校親自進行, 並已製定安全協議。 混合型學生將在計劃上學的幾天進行測試。 全程學習的學生將安排在星期一進行考試。
  • APS 正在協調可能需要公交車上學進行SOL測試的遠程學習學生的交通。公共汽車每輛車最多可搭載21名學生。 我們鼓勵家庭在計劃參加SOL測試的當天盡可能為孩子提供自己的交通工具。 
  • 出於COVID-19的考慮而不想讓學生參加州和/或聯邦政府規定的評估的父母,應通過電話或電子郵件聯繫學校的行政人員或學校考試協調員,討論日程安排選擇或要求選擇退出的信息。
  • 弗吉尼亞教育部(VDOE)提供了 全日制遠程學習學生的遠程評估選項 在3-8年級,由於大流行,他們正在遠程接收所有說明,因此不會去學校參加SOL測試。 它將於12月XNUMX日上市,詳細信息可在線獲得: https://www.doe.virginia.gov/remotetest/.
  • 未接受評估的學生將不會受到任何處罰,但父母需要提交 APS 家長拒絕表格 可以在此處獲得適當的評估: APS 家長拒絕表格

學校中的COVID-19測試-這個月, APS 將開始為有症狀或接觸過COVID-19的學生和教職員工提供免費測試。 將在三所學校提供步行測試站點。 APS 與以下公司合作提供免費測試 資源路徑。 在學生測試之前,需要家長/監護人的同意,有關學校場所和同意過程的其他信息將在本週晚些時候通過School Talk與家人共享。

交通信息-運輸服務部在休息期間調整了一些公交路線,公交車站和接送時間,以適應家庭交通方式的變化,並為所有人提供更高效的服務。 這些時間表已張貼在 ParentVUE 從今天開始生效。

在8月2022日的校務委員會會議期間,我將提供有關返校計劃的更多信息,校務委員會將根據其擬議的XNUMX財年預算採取行動。 這 完整的預算制定日曆可在線獲得.

感謝您在我們繼續學習本學年的剩餘時間內所給予的持續支持。

此致,

弗朗西斯科·杜蘭博士
所長
阿靈頓公立學校

Superintendent’s April 6 Weekly Update

Español

I hope that all of you enjoyed a relaxing, safe, and restful spring break last week. As we resume instruction this week, I want to take a moment to thank our incredibly talented assistant principals in recognition of National Assistant Principals Week. They are exceptional leaders who inspire us all through their work to serve students and contribute to schoolwide success. April is also National Library Month and a time to celebrate our outstanding school librarians who have shown their expertise and creativity in adapting library services and inspiring readers during the pandemic. Please take a moment to thank your school’s AP and school librarians this week.

I have a few updates to share with you as we move ahead for the remainder of the 2020-21 school year:

Expanding In-Person Learning Opportunities—We are working to serve as many PreK-12 students as possible in the hybrid/in-person model, while keeping safety at the forefront and COVID-19 transmission rates low. Our ability to serve additional students in person is based on each school’s capacity and consideration of the CDC’s updated distancing guidance, which permits schools transition from 6 to 3 feet of social distancing in some school circumstances, depending on community transmission levels. Throughout the remainder of the current school year, APS will:

  • Contact families on waitlists to admit additional students for hybrid/in-person instruction, based on capacity and distancing guidelines. Families interested in changing your child’s instructional model choice during the current school year should contact your school for assistance. English learners, special education students, and students experiencing challenges with distance learning will be given priority for in-person instruction. Updates on changes in hybrid/in-person and full-time distance learning student enrollment will be provided in my School Board monitoring reports beginning April 8.
  • Plan for five-day schedules for summer school and the 2021-22 school year. We will be providing a full in-person model and a full distance learning model of five days of learning for the 2021-22 school year. I will continue to keep you informed about the details, as plans develop.

Enrollment Projections for Fall 2021—As part of planning for the 2021-22 school year, schools are conducting outreach now to ascertain families’ intent to return in the fall, from families who withdrew from APS since March 2020 due to the pandemic. Having accurate enrollment information is important for the FY 2022 budget, staffing schools, and preparation for the upcoming school year.  Please help spread the word to any families, friends, or neighbors you may know who opted out of APS and are considering returning in the fall.

In-Person SOL Testing—APS is preparing to administer Standards of Learning (SOL) testing to students in grades 3-12, as this requirement has not been waived for the current school year. SOL tests will be limited to reading and math in grades 3-8, science in grades 5 and 8, and required End of Course (EOC) high school credit-bearing classes. The test results will provide information regarding the impact of the pandemic on student achievement, and a baseline for growth for future accreditation calculations. ​To help families prepare:

  • All SOL testing will be done in-person at schools in May and June, with safety protocols in place. ​Hybrid students will test on days when they are scheduled to attend school. Full-distance-learning students will be scheduled to test on Mondays.
  • APS is coordinating transportation for distance-learning students who may need a bus to come to school for SOL testing. ​ Buses may carry up to 21 students per bus. We encourage families to provide their own transportation for their child, whenever possible, on the day they are scheduled to take their SOL test(s). 
  • Parents who do not wish for their student to participate in state and/or federally mandated assessments due to COVID-19 concerns, should contact their school’s administrative staff or School Testing Coordinator by phone or email to discuss scheduling options or request information on opting out.
  • The Virginia Dept. of Education (VDOE) has provided a remote assessment option for full-time distance learning students in grades 3-8 who, due to the pandemic, are receiving all their instruction remotely and will not go to their school to take the SOL tests. It will be available on April 12 and details are available online: https://www.doe.virginia.gov/remotetest/.
  • There will be no penalty for students who are not assessed, but parents will need to submit the APS Parent Refusal Form for the appropriate assessment which can be obtained here: APS Parent Refusal Forms

COVID-19 Testing in Schools—This month, APS will begin providing free testing for students and staff who are symptomatic, or who have been exposed to COVID-19. Walk-up testing sites will be provided at three schools. APS is providing the free testing in partnership with ResourcePath. Parent/guardian consent will be required in advance of student testing, and additional information regarding the school sites and consent process will be shared with families via School Talk later this week.

Transportation Information—Transportation Services adjusted some bus routes, bus stops and pick-up times during the break to accommodate changes in families’ transportation choices and to provide more efficient service for all. Those schedules are posted in ParentVUE and took effect beginning today.

During the April 8 School Board meeting, I will provide more information on the return-to-school plan, and the School Board will act on their proposed FY 2022 Budget. The full budget development calendar is available online.

Thank you for your continued support as we move ahead for the remainder of the school year.

Sincerely,

Dr. Francisco Durán
Superintendent
Arlington Public Schools