督學8月XNUMX日返校更新

西班牙語

APS 家庭,

密切關注健康指標的人們都知道,弗吉尼亞衛生部(VDH)的數據繼續表明,我們所在地區有大量的COVID-19傳播,根據新病例的數量,阿靈頓被列為“最高風險”類別。 最新數據匯總在 APS COVID-19資訊主頁 我們正在仔細監控公共衛生指標。

我們知道這種病毒將在我們身邊存在一段時間,並且在可預見的將來,學校沒有零風險的情況。 知道這一點,我們已經調整了評估面對面學習過渡的方法。 除了公共衛生指標並著重於緩解措施外,我繼續權衡精神健康問題,學習失落和我們許多社區成員面臨的其他挑戰。

考慮到所有這些因素,我想重申的是,根據州政府的指導,我們目前仍保持1級水平,該指導意見建議學校為殘障學生提供面對面的支持,並採取有效的緩解措施。 現在,我們已經成為1級人員,一​​個月以來,由於我們員工的合作,奉獻和出色的努力,第一個月的進展非常順利。 我們的緩解措施超出了疾病控制與預防中心和VDH的建議。

從現在起到XNUMX月,我將繼續與我們的管理員和員工緊密合作,以評估我們的過渡計劃,並將在寒假之後傳達具體日期。 我了解每個決定的重要性及其在情感,經濟和學術上對社區的影響。 我們認真考慮您的反饋意見,因為我們正在考慮在當前充滿挑戰的時代為學生提供最佳服務的方法。 我們每個人都有不同的看法,我們必須繼續作為一個社區共同努力。 感謝您一直以來的工作和支持。

以下是一些其他重要提醒和需要注意的資源:

日曆批准用於2021-22學年; 就職日增加為教職工和學生假期

上週四,學校董事會指定20年2021月2021日,星期三的就職日為教職工和學生的假期。 校務委員會還批准了所有學生的22-XNUMX學年日曆 APS 學校。 您可以找到最終的日曆 在線發布。 該學年將於30年2021月17日開始,至2022年XNUMX月XNUMX日結束,今年包括四個文化和宗教節日。

新產品 APS 家長學院視頻

新視頻已發佈到 APS 家長學院網站,包括有關的最新指南 訪問 APS 技術支持網站, 同步與異步學習遠程學習期間有效的家長參與。 花點時間回顧一下這些資源和其他資源,以支持家庭進行遠程學習,這些資源可以通過 家長學院.

3級選擇流程

3級家庭選擇過程昨天結束,我們將在準備好時發布完整結果。 我們將繼續計劃將更多的學生進行面對面的過渡,儘管我無法確定將2級和3級進行面對面過渡的具體日期,但我們正在努力做到這一點。

遠程學習焦點小組和工作隊

作為上週四的監視報告的一部分,我們提出了來自六個重點小組的一系列有關加強遠程學習的初步建議。 反饋包括希望為年輕學習者提供更多的小組指導和更多非數字資料,以及為中學生提供更好的同步和異步指導之間的平衡。 下一步,DTL將組成一個工作組,由這些焦點小組的代表以及諮詢委員會和社區成員組成。 該工作隊將在XNUMX月開展工作,以製定與遠程學習期間學生的學業成績和社會情感成長有關的策略。

此致,

弗朗西斯科·杜蘭博士
所長
阿靈頓公立學校

Superintendent’s Dec. 8 Return-to-School Update

Español

APS Families,

Those of you following the health metrics closely are aware that the Virginia Department of Health (VDH) data continues to show that we have substantial COVID-19 transmission for our region, placing Arlington in the “highest risk” category based on number of new cases. The latest data is summarized in the APS COVID-19 Dashboard and we are monitoring the public health metrics carefully.

We know that the virus will be with us for some time, and that there is no zero-risk scenario for schools in the foreseeable future. Knowing that, we have adjusted our approach to evaluating in-person learning transitions. In addition to public health metrics and focusing on mitigation measures, I continue to weigh the mental health concerns, learning loss and other challenges many of our community members are facing.

With all this in mind, I want to reiterate that we are staying the course with Level 1 at this time based on the state’s guidance, which advises that schools provide in-person support to students with disabilities, with effective mitigation measures in place. We have now been in-person in Level 1 for over a month, and the first month has gone very well thanks to the cooperation, dedication and excellent efforts of our staff. Our mitigation measures exceed the recommendations from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and VDH.

I will continue working closely with our administrators and staff between now and January to assess our transition plans and will communicate specific dates after the Winter Break. I understand the weight of every decision and its impact on the community emotionally, economically and academically. I take your feedback seriously as we consider the ways to best serve our students in these challenging times. We all come to this with different perspectives and we must continue to work together as one community. Thank you for your continued work and support.

Below are a few other important reminders and resources to take note of:

Calendar Approved for 2021-22 School Year; Inauguration Day Added as Staff and Student Holiday

Last Thursday, the School Board designated Inauguration Day, Wed, Jan. 20, 2021, as a staff and student holiday. The School Board also approved the 2021-22 school year calendar for all APS schools. You can find the final calendar posted online. The school year will start on Aug. 30, 2021, ends on June 17, 2022, and this year includes four cultural and religious holidays.

New APS Parent Academy Videos

New videos have been posted to the APS Parent Academy website, including the latest guidance on Accessing the APS Technical Support Website, Synchronous and Asynchronous Learning, and Effective Parent Involvement During Distance Learning. Take a moment to review these and other resources to support families in distance learning, available through the Parent Academy.

Level 3 Selection Process

The Level 3 Family Selection Process concluded yesterday, and we will publish full results when ready. We continue to plan to transition more students back in-person, and while I cannot confirm a specific date yet for transitioning Level 2 and 3 back in person, we are working to do so when possible.

Distance Learning Focus Groups and Task Force

As part of last Thursday’s monitoring report, we presented initial recommendations from a series of six focus groups on strengthening distance learning. Feedback included a desire for more small-group instruction and more non-digital materials for young learners, as well as a better balance between synchronous and asynchronous instruction for secondary students. As a next step, DTL is forming a Task Force comprising representatives of these focus groups as well as advisory committee and community members. The Task Force will work in January to develop strategies related to students’ academic performance and social-emotional growth during distance learning.

Sincerely,

Dr. Francisco Durán
Superintendent
Arlington Public Schools