督学23月XNUMX日返校更新

主管更新徽标

西班牙语

亲爱 APS 家庭,

我们期待着下周欢迎最早的学习者。 我们的建筑物已经准备就绪,缓解措施已经到位,我们期待共同前进。 我也感到鼓舞的是,我们继续看到阿灵顿县和整个北弗吉尼亚州的指标有所改善。 截止到今天,我们每14万人的100,000天病案率已降至259.3,我们的测试阳性率低于5%。

以下是返校信息,以帮助家庭做准备。

学生健康症状筛查仪将于1月XNUMX日启动– 所有参加面对面教学的学生都需要进行每日健康检查。 APS 在到达公交车站和学校之前,正在使用 Qualtrics 平台对教职员工和学生的健康状况进行预筛查。 从 1 月 XNUMX 日开始,所有家长/监护人都将收到一份 每日在线症状筛查 (每位学生一个),指导他们解决在学生到达公交车或参加学校或校内活动之前必须回答的问题。

  • 对于每个学生,无论您是远程学习还是亲自学习,每天的筛查和暴露问题都将通过电子邮件和短信在5:30之前发送给每个家长/监护人。
  • 健康检查工具有英文,阿姆哈拉文,阿拉伯文,蒙古文和西班牙文版本。
  • 在到达公共汽车站或学校之前无法完成症状筛查的学生将被要求在被允许开始一天之前完成它。
  • 未通过健康检查的学生将被排除在面外,并且需要医生和/或阿灵顿县公共卫生部门批准,然后才能返回。
  • 虽然所有家庭每周都会接受XNUMX天的检查,但只有那些参加体育运动或其他学校赞助的活动的孩子才需要在星期六和/或星期日完成检查。

更多信息可用 如: 常见问题 和教程 英语西班牙语.

COVID响应和测试 –我们已发布有关的信息 在线测试和响应程序. 将为有症状和无症状的学生和教职员工提供 COVID-19 检测。 我们与阿灵顿县公共卫生部门合作,在学校和办公室提供有症状的 COVID-19 检测。 无症状检测计划也在制定中。

  • 如果学生在上课期间出现症状,家长/法定监护人将被要求选择加入,让他们在学校接受测试。
  • 当我们与合作伙伴合作时,将提供有关无症状检测的更多信息,以确保我们的员工和学生可以进行有效,高效的无症状检测。

安排在三月和四月更新 – 为了更好地支持学生和老师,我们将时间表调整如下:

  • 5月3日,星期五将是12至XNUMX年级的老师计划日 当教师准备同时进行教学时。
    • 5月3日对于12-XNUMX年级的学生以及在职业中心的PEP学生来说都是放假的日子。
    • PreK-2nd 年级的学生和在阿灵顿蒙台梭利公立学校就读的学生将在 5 月 XNUMX 日通过远程学习或混合模式按计划上学。
    • 特殊教师将指导PreK-2年级的课程,并会使用通常会指导3-5年级的时间来计划混合教学。
  • 星期一,四月5 对所有学生来说都是同步的远程学习日,以支持在第三季度的最后一周提供不间断的教学。 额外的同步日允许学生在5月3日这一周有五天的时间与老师联系,以确保他们的第三季度成绩代表他们的学习和表现。

学校资源主任(SRO)计划更新 –随着我们在三月份为更多学生开放,我想让家人意识到 APS 目前正在暂停让SRO返回学校大楼,等待我们对新的阿灵顿县警察局(ACPD)人体摄像机政策进行审查。

  • 我们目前正在审查该政策,以确保我们与ACPD的现有SRO合作协议已得到适当更新,其中包含SRO在学校中如何使用摄像机的准则。
  • 我们的目标是完成审查,并确保这些镜头的使用符合《家庭教育权利和隐私权法案》(FERPA)的要求,并且对于在学校使用便携式摄像机的使用有明确的期望。 与ACPD合作完成后,我们将提供有关将SRO重新送回学校的过渡计划的最新信息。 我们将根据需要继续与ACPD合作进行交通管理,户外运动以及课外活动。

本周其他家庭通讯 –在接下来的几天中,还将共享有关混合/面对面学生回馈的其他返校信息,包括:

  • 中的交通视频 英语西班牙语 突出显示路线和站点的变化,并在其中发布时间表 ParentVUE 26月XNUMX日,星期五。
  • 健康和安全程序以及其他协议将在网站上更新,以帮助家庭了解在学校会发生什么。
  • 关于正确和一致使用口罩的重要性的提醒 - 请与您的学生讨论正确和一致使用口罩的问题。 APS 要求所有教职员工和学生在上学期间和参加学校活动时戴上口罩/口罩。 APS 将为每个学生提供两个符合指导原则的面罩/口罩。 查看 APS 遮罩政策.

我们知道每次转变都会给所有人带来不同的情绪,而且许多人已经期待这种转变有一段时间了。 我们期待很快见到更多学生,并继续支持所有学生。 请继续分享您的反馈,因为我们将在学年进行又一次重大转变。

Sincerely,

弗朗西斯科·杜兰博士
所长
阿灵顿公立学校

APS News Release

Superintendent’s Feb. 23 Return-to-School Update

Superintendent's Updates logo

Español

Dear APS Families,

We look forward to welcoming our earliest learners back next week. Our buildings are ready, mitigation steps are in place, and we look forward to moving ahead together. I am also encouraged that we continue to see metrics improve in Arlington County and throughout Northern Virginia. As of today, our 14-day case rate per 100,000 has dropped to 259.3 and our test positivity rate is below 5 percent.

Below is return-to-school information to help families prepare.

Student Health Symptom Screener Launches March 1 – A daily health screening will be required for all students attending in-person instruction. APS is using the Qualtrics platform to pre-screen staff and student health prior to arrivals at bus stops and at schools. Beginning March 1, all parents/guardians will receive a daily online symptom screener (one per student) guiding them through questions they must answer before their student arrives at the bus or attends school or school-based activities.

  • The daily screening and exposure questions will be sent to every parent/guardian via email and text at 5:30 a.m., for each student, whether your student is in distance learning or in person.
  • The health screening tool is available in English, Amharic, Arabic, Mongolian and Spanish.
  • Students who are unable to complete the symptom screener prior to arrival at a bus stop or school will be required to complete it before being allowed to start the day.
  • Students who do not pass the health screening will be excluded from in-person participation and will need to be cleared by a physician and/or the Arlington County Public Health Division, before returning.
  • While all families will receive the screener seven days per week, only those who are participating in athletics or other school-sponsored activities will be required to complete it on Saturdays and or Sundays.

More information is available online including Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) and tutorials in English and Spanish.

COVID Response and Testing – We have posted information about testing and response procedures online. COVID-19 testing will be provided for students and staff, both symptomatic and asymptomatic. We have collaborated with Arlington County Public Health provide for symptomatic COVID-19 testing in schools and offices. A plan for asymptomatic testing is being developed as well.

  • Parents/legal guardians will be required to OPT-IN to have their students tested in school if they are showing symptoms during the school day.
  • More information regarding asymptomatic testing will be provided as we work with partners to ensure effective and efficient asymptomatic testing is available for our staff and students.

Schedule Updates in March and April – To better support both students and teachers, we are adjusting the schedule as follows:

  • Friday, March 5 will be a teacher planning day for grades 3-12 as teachers prepare for delivering concurrent instruction.
    • March 5 will be a no school day for 3rd-12th grade students as well as PEP students at the Career Center.
    • Students in PreK-2nd grade and those who attend Montessori Public School of Arlington will attend school as planned via distance learning or in the hybrid model on March 5.
    • Specials teachers will instruct PreK-2nd grade classes and will use time when they would normally instruct grades 3-5 to plan for hybrid instruction.
  • Monday, April 5 will be a synchronous, distance learning day for all students, to support uninterrupted instruction during the final week of third quarter. The additional synchronous day allows students five days to access their teachers with week of April 5 to ensure that their 3rd quarter grades are representative of their learning and performance.

School Resource Officer (SRO) Program Update – As we reopen for more students in March, I want to make families aware that APS is currently pausing having SROs return to school buildings, pending our review of a new Arlington County Police Department (ACPD) body camera policy.

  • We are currently reviewing this policy to ensure our existing SRO partnership agreement with the ACPD is appropriately updated with guidelines for how the cameras are to be used in schools by SROs.
  • Our goal is to complete that review and ensure the use of the footage complies with Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) and there are clear expectations for when body cameras are used in schools. Once that is completed in collaboration with ACPD, we will provide an update on the transition plan for having SROs back in schools. We will continue to partner with ACPD for traffic management, outdoor athletic events and other outside of school hours events as needed.

Additional Family Communications This Week – Over the coming days additional return-to-school information will be shared regarding the hybrid/in-person student returns, including:

  • A transportation video in English and Spanish highlighting changes in routes and stops, with schedules being posted in ParentVUE this Fri, Feb. 26.
  • Health and safety procedures and other protocols will be updated on the website to help families know what to expect at school.
  • Reminders on the importance of proper and consistent mask usage – Please talk with your students about proper and consistent mask usage. APS is requiring that all staff and students wear a face covering/mask during the school day and while participating in school activities. APS will provide every student with two face coverings/masks that meet guidelines. See the APS Mask Policy.

We know every transition brings different emotions for all, and that many have looked forward to this transition for some time. We are looking forward to seeing more students in person soon and continuing to support all students. Please continue to share your feedback as we make yet another major transition in our school year.

Sincerely,

Dr. Francisco Durán
Superintendent
Arlington Public Schools