督学部23月XNUMX日重返学校的消息

主管更新徽标

西班牙语

亲爱 APS 家庭,

在下周春假期间,我要感谢大家(我们令人难以置信的学生,家庭和员工)与您的伙伴关系以及对减排策略的一贯坚持。 这有助于使我们向现场教学的过渡尽可能顺利和成功,并为我们将来的发展奠定了坚实的基础。

在我们为今年余下的时间做准备时,请牢记一些重要的更新。

  • 更新的CDC距离指导原则—在星期五的下午,在某些学校情况下,CDC会根据传输级别将距离建议降低到三英尺。 我对这一进展感到非常鼓舞,因为我们计划在2021年秋天进行为期XNUMX天的面对面日程安排。本周,我正在与学校行政人员,公共卫生官员,设施和运营人员以及其他团队一起审查新指南。 我们正在努力寻找机会,在本学年为更多学生提供服务,并加强我们的暑期学校计划。 我将在周四的学校董事会会议上提供有关后续步骤的最新信息。
  • 学校中的COVID-19测试—春假后,我们将与外部提供商ResourcePath合作,在学校开始对症性COVID-19测试。 这将使在上学日期间出现症状的教职员工和学生在学校指定的隔离间中由经过认证的医疗保健专业人员进行测试。 事先需要获得同意,并将在5月XNUMX日这一周提供更多详细信息。
  • 教学学习支持(ILS)计划 - 那个 APS ILS计划为四所小学的有需要的学生提供面对面的支持,仅当我们返回混合教学时才将其缩短为星期一。 我们一直在与阿灵顿县合作,利用他们的设施扩大该计划。 从7月30日开始,该县将在星期二至星期五上午3:6 –下午30点在专用站点上提供ILS。阿灵顿县每天将可容纳XNUMX名学生。 扩展日工作人员通过首先与McKinney-Vento家庭接触,然后与其他现有的ILS家庭接触,来协助过渡。 APS 周一将继续在Ashlawn,Drew,Hoffman-Boston和Randolph运营ILS。
  • 安全提示—我们感谢所有人 APS 在我们的学校和办公室中遵循建议的缓解策略的员工和学生。 结果,我们发现学校职员和学生中的案件很少。 春假期间,请遵守CDC缓解措施,并尽可能避免不必要的旅行。 您在休息期间采取的步骤将帮助我们维持现场操作,使案件减少并确保社区安全。 这 疾病预防控制中心 以及 VDH准则 可以在线获取旅行信息。

在本周四的学校董事会会议上,我将介绍重返学校计划的最新动态,以及职业和技术教育计划的重点。 另外,请注意我们的 春假用餐时间表.

我不会在下周发送星期二的消息,它将在6月XNUMX日恢复。谢谢。我希望您和您的家人安全,安心地休息。

此致

弗朗西斯科·杜兰博士
所长
阿灵顿公立学校

Superintendent’s March 23 Return-to-School Message

Superintendent's Updates logo

Español

Dear APS Families,

As we head into spring break next week, I want to thank you all—our incredible students, families, and staff—for your partnership and consistent adherence to mitigation strategies. This has helped to make our transition to in-person instruction as smooth and successful as possible and gives us a strong foundation to build on in the future.

Here are a few important updates to keep in mind as we prepare for the remainder of the year.

  • Updated CDC Distancing Guidelines—On Friday afternoon, the CDC reduced distancing recommendations to three feet in some school circumstances depending on transmission levels. I am very encouraged by this development as we plan for five-day in-person schedules in fall 2021. I am reviewing the new guidance with school administrators, public health officials, Facilities & Operations staff, and other teams this week. We are working through opportunities to serve additional students in person during the current school year, and to strengthen our summer school plans. I will provide an update on next steps at Thursday’s School Board meeting.
  • COVID-19 Testing in Schools—After spring break, we will begin symptomatic COVID-19 testing in schools in partnership with an outside provider, ResourcePath. This will allow for staff and students who develop symptoms during the school day to be tested by certified healthcare professionals in the designated isolation room for their school. Consent will be required in advance and more details will be provided the week of April 5.
  • Instructional Learning Support (ILS) Program— The APS ILS program, which provides in-person support for students in need at four elementary schools, was shortened to Mondays only when we returned for hybrid instruction. We have been working with Arlington County to expand the program using their facilities. The County will provide ILS at a dedicated site Tuesday-Friday from 7:30 a.m. – 3 p.m. beginning April 6. Arlington County will be able to accommodate 30 students each day. Extended Day staff is assisting with the transition by reaching out first to McKinney-Vento families and then to other existing ILS families. APS will continue to operate ILS on Mondays at Ashlawn, Drew, Hoffman-Boston, and Randolph.
  • Safety Reminders—We are thankful to all APS staff and students who have been following the recommended mitigation strategies in our schools and offices. As a result, we have seen very low cases among staff and students in schools. While on spring break, please adhere to CDC mitigation measures and avoid non-essential travel if possible. The steps you take during break will help us maintain in-person operations, keeping cases low and our community safe. The CDC and VDH guidelines for travel are available online.

At this Thursday’s School Board meeting, I will present updates on the return-to-school plan and highlights on the Career & Technical Education program. Also, please note our Spring Break Meal Schedule.

I will not be sending a Tuesday message next week and will resume April 6. Thank you, and I wish you and your families a safe, restful break.

Sincerely,

Dr. Francisco Durán
Superintendent
Arlington Public Schools