學監 10 月 5 日更新:為 11-XNUMX 歲學生提供疫苗接種

主管更新徽標

EnEspañol

親愛的家人,

有很多偉大的事情發生在 APS 當我們開始第二季度時。 我繼續訪問學校,觀察課程、干預計劃和教師和教職員工為支持學生所做的其他重要工作。 我期待在接下來的幾週內分享更多視頻來突出這項工作。 以下是未來一周/一個月的更新:

5-11 歲學生的疫苗接種 – 每個 5 歲或以上的學生現在都有資格接種輝瑞 COVID-19 疫苗! 可以通過訪問在附近的藥房和診所進行預約 疫苗網站 (www.vacunas.gov),或通過與您的兒科醫生辦公室核對。 此外, 阿靈頓縣公共衛生局將於本週末(5 月 11 日和 13 日)上午 14 點至下午 9 點專門為 5-XNUMX 歲兒童開設診所, 僅限預約. 通過以下方式在線預約 訪問 VAMS 並單擊“安排小兒 COVID-19 疫苗預約”圖標 或撥打縣的 COVID-19 熱線 703-228-7999。

  • 在最初的幾週內,疫苗供應可能有限。 但隨著供應量的增加,預約的可用性也會增加。 查看 疫苗網站 定期查看更新的預約可用性和 盡快預約您孩子的免費疫苗。  疫苗接種是保持學校開放和學生安全的關鍵e.
  • 疫苗是 立即贈送 並經過嚴格的安全測試。 APS 阿靈頓縣可以幫助家庭進行預約: 查看詳細信息和聯繫信息.

需要額外支持的學生的干預措施 - 今年早些時候,K-8 家長收到了關於學年開始 (BOY) 通用篩選器的通知,以評估學生在閱讀和數學方面的需求。 任何總分不符合通用篩選器基準的學生都將接受干預。 隨附的干預計劃將與學生的家長/監護人共享。 針對閱讀或數學需要的特定領域的干預措施可能包括:

  • 在 Dreambox 中分配的有針對性的課程以及針對特定需求領域的額外小組或一對一指導。
  • 使用基於研究的最佳實踐進行有針對性的小組教學,這些實踐結合了模型、多重表示和/或其他數學支持。
  • 使用 Orton-Gillingham (OG) 方法進行有針對性的小組教學。
  • 每週增加 Lexia Core5 的使用,以及針對特定需求領域的額外小組或一對一指導。

如果您對開學數據或任何干預有具體問題,請聯繫您學生的課堂和/或閱讀/英語/數學內容區域的老師。

全國學校心理學週 - 請加入 APS 慶祝全國學校心理學週,8 月 12 日至 XNUMX 日! 整個星期, APS 將重點介紹學校心理學家如何與教師和教職員工合作,幫助學生在遇到困難時學習和成長。 要找到您學校的心理學家,請訪問 萬維網。apsva.us/student-services/psychological-services/.

承認軍人家庭 – 退伍軍人節是 11 月 1,600 日星期四,XNUMX 月也是軍人家屬感謝月——這是一個承認學生、家庭和教職員工為支持身著制服的親人而做出的獨特犧牲的時刻。 我們為擁有超過 XNUMX 名來自軍人家庭的學生組成的強大社區而感到自豪 APS,這是一個慶祝他們並表示我們的聲援和支持的機會。 我們還重視與當地聯合基地 Myer-Henderson Hall 和其他支持我們努力滿足軍人家庭獨特需求的組織的合作夥伴關係。

提供二級報告卡 – 初中和高中學生成績單現在可通過 ParentVUE 和StudentVUE. 無法訪問的家庭 ParentVUE 可以聯繫他們孩子的學校索取紙質或 PDF 副本。 初級報告卡將於 19 月 16 日提供。我們在星期四因退伍軍人節假期休息。 提醒一下,我們的下一次董事會會議將於 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日星期二舉行。此外,下週我將分享有關我們的指導和信息 下雪天和 冬季的惡劣天氣程序。

此致,

弗朗西斯科·杜蘭博士
所長
阿靈頓公立學校

Superintendent’s Nov. 10 Update: Vaccinations for 5-11-Year-Old Students Available

Superintendent's Updates logo

En Español

Dear Families,

There are so many great things happening in APS as we begin our second quarter. I continue visiting schools to observe lessons, intervention planning and other important work teachers and staff are doing to support students. I look forward to sharing more videos to highlight that work in the coming weeks. Here are updates for the week/month ahead:

Vaccinations for 5-11-Year-Old Students – Every student aged 5 or older is now eligible for the Pfizer COVID-19 vaccine! Appointments can be made at nearby pharmacies and clinics by visiting Vaccines.gov (www.vacunas.gov), or by checking with your pediatrician’s office. Additionally, Arlington County Public Health is holding clinics specifically for 5-11-year-old children this weekend, Nov. 13 and 14, from 9 a.m.–5 p.m., by appointment only. Make your appointment online by visiting VAMS and clicking the “Schedule a Pediatric COVID-19 vaccine appointment” icon or by calling the County’s COVID-19 hotline at 703-228-7999.

  • In these early weeks, vaccine supply may be limited. But as supplies increase, so too will appointment availability. Check Vaccines.gov regularly to see updated appointment availability and make an appointment for your child’s free vaccine as soon as possible.  Vaccination is key to keeping our schools open and our students safe.
  • The vaccine is FREE and has been rigorously tested for safety. APS and Arlington County can help families with making appointments: View details and contact information.

Interventions for Students Needing Additional Support – Earlier this year, K-8 parents were notified about Beginning of Year (BOY) universal screeners to assess student needs in Reading and Math. Any student whose overall score does not meet the benchmark on the universal screener will receive an intervention. An accompanying intervention plan will be shared with the student’s parent/guardian. Interventions to target specific area(s) of need in Reading or Math may include:

  • Targeted lessons assigned in Dreambox and additional small group or one-on-one instruction to target specific area(s) of need.
  • Targeted small group instruction using research-based best practices that incorporate models, multiple representations, and/or other mathematical supports.
  • Targeted small group instruction using Orton-Gillingham (OG) methodology.
  • Increased weekly usage in Lexia Core5 and additional small group or one-on-one instruction to target specific area(s) of need.

If you have specific questions about the Beginning of Year data or any interventions, please contact your student’s classroom and/or Reading/English/Math content area teacher.

National School Psychology Week – Please join APS in celebrating National School Psychology Week, Nov. 8-12! Throughout the week, APS will highlight how school psychologists work with teachers and staff to help students learn and grow even in the face of difficulties. To find your school’s psychologist, visit www.apsva.us/student-services/psychological-services/.

Recognizing Military Families – Veterans Day is Thu, Nov. 11, and November is also Military Family Appreciation Month—a time to recognize the unique sacrifices students, families and staff make to support loved ones in uniform. We are proud to have a strong community of over 1,600 students from military families enrolled in APS, and this is a chance to celebrate them and show our solidarity and support. We also value partnerships with the local Joint Base Myer-Henderson Hall and other organizations supporting our efforts to meet the unique needs of military families.

Secondary Report Cards Available – Middle and high school student report cards are now available through ParentVUE and StudentVUE. Families who are unable to access ParentVUE may contact their child’s school to request a paper or PDF copy. Elementary report cards will be available on Nov. 19. We are closed on Thursday for the Veterans Day holiday. As a reminder, our next Board meeting is next Tue, Nov. 16. Also, next week, I will be sharing guidance and information on our snow day and inclement weather procedures for the winter season.

Sincerely,

Dr. Francisco Durán
Superintendent
Arlington Public Schools