督学 2 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日

主管更新徽标

Español

亲爱 APS 家庭,

以下是冬季和未来一周的一些更新。

为恶劣天气做准备 – 为应对较冷的气温,请花点时间查看我们 2022-23 年的恶劣天气程序:

  • 前七个恶劣天气日将被视为传统的“下雪日”。 如果使用分配的天数, APS 将恢复到全远程学习(虚拟)天 让学习继续进行,避免影响春假或在学年结束时增加更多天数。 此 XNUMX 天阈值基于日历中针对恶劣天气的天数。
  • 五个天气代码代码1 – 所有学校和办公室关闭; 代码2 – 两小时延迟; 代码3 - 抢先发行; 代码4 – 课后活动取消; 和 代码5 – 周末活动取消。
  • 新: 作为一项额外的安全措施,延长日和入住计划将关闭 与此同时 如果由于天气原因提前放学,学校将关闭(之前的延长日一直开放到下午 4 点)。
  • 如果可能的话,关于第二天的决定将在下午 6 点之前公布。  早上 5 点将根据需要,根据隔夜情况在早上 XNUMX 点前宣布早上的决定。

有关的详细信息 恶劣天气程序 可在线获取。 为您的家人制定计划,并确保您的学生熟悉我们的程序。

全国学校心理学周 - 请加入 APS 庆祝全国学校心理学周,7 月 11 日至 XNUMX 日! 整个星期, APS 将突出我们学校的心理学家以及他们与教师和工作人员一起为学生提供支持的工作。 下周花点时间感谢你的学校心理学家——他们为我们的学生和学校付出了很多。 要找到您学校的心理学家,请访问  apsva.us/student-services/psychological-services/.

日历调查即将结束—— 我鼓励家庭完成 2023-24 学年日历调查. 它于 8 月 XNUMX 日关闭。

提醒一下,8 月 XNUMX 日星期二是年级准备日,没有学生上学。 请注意,我们的许多员工将在周二进行远程办公,并将在正常时间监控电子邮件。 欢迎中心和前台将关闭。 我们也在 11 月 XNUMX 日星期五因退伍军人节而关闭。

Sincerely,

弗朗西斯科·杜兰博士
所长
阿灵顿公立学校

Superintendent’s Nov. 2, 2022

Superintendent's Updates logo

Español

Dear APS Families,

Here are some updates for the winter season and the week ahead.

Preparing for Inclement Weather – In preparation for colder temperatures, please take a moment to review our inclement weather procedures for 2022-23:

  • The first SEVEN inclement weather days will be treated as traditional “snow days.” If the allotted days are used, APS will revert to full distance learning (virtual) days to allow learning to continue and avoid impacting spring break or adding more days at the end of the school year. This seven-day threshold is based on the number of days built into the calendar for inclement weather.
  • Five Weather CodesCode 1 – All Schools and Offices Closed; Code 2 – Two Hour Delay; Code 3 – Early Release; Code 4 – After School Activities Canceled; and Code 5 – Weekend Activities Canceled.
  • NEW: As an added safety measure, Extended Day and Check-In programs will close at the same time schools close in the event of an Early Release due to weather conditions (previously Extended Day remained open until 4 p.m.).
  • Decisions about the following day will be announced by 6 p.m., when possible.  Morning decisions will be announced by 5 a.m., as needed, based on conditions overnight.

Detailed information regarding inclement weather procedures is available online. Have a plan for your family and ensure your student is familiar with our procedures.

National School Psychology Week – Please join APS in celebrating National School Psychology Week, Nov. 7-11! Throughout the week, APS will highlight our school psychologists and their work with teachers and staff to support students. Take a moment to thank your school psychologist next week—they give so much to our students and schools. To find your school’s psychologist, visit www.apsva.us/student-services/psychological-services/.

Calendar Survey Closes Soon – I encourage families to complete the 2023-24 School Year Calendar Survey. It closes on November 8.

As a reminder, Tue, Nov. 8, is a grade prep day and there is no school for students. Please be aware that many of our staff will be teleworking on Tuesday and will monitor emails during normal hours. The Welcome Center and front offices will be closed. We are also closed on Fri, Nov. 11 for Veterans Day.

Sincerely,

Dr. Francisco Durán
Superintendent
Arlington Public Schools