APS بيان صحفي

انتخاب تانيا تالنتو رئيسًا جديدًا لمجلس إدارة مدرسة أرلينغتون للعام الدراسي 2019-20

تانيا تالينتو يناير 2017 (2)1 يوليو 2019 - عقد مجلس مدرسة أرلينغتون اليوم اجتماعه التنظيمي السنوي للعام الدراسي 2019-20 وانتخب تانيا تالينتو كرئيسة ومونيك أوجرادي نائبة للرئيس. تبدأ شروط الرئيس ونائب الرئيس الجديدين على الفور وستستمر حتى 30 يونيو 2020.

"أنا فخور بأن أكون ثاني لاتينية تعمل في منصب رئيس مجلس إدارة المدرسة ، ولا سيما أن السيدة أوجرادي ستعمل بجانبي ، وهي أول امرأة أمريكية من أصل أفريقي منتخبة في مجلس إدارة المدرسة ، بصفتي نائب الرئيس ، قال تالينتو. وتابعت: "من المهم أن يرى طلابنا التنوع في قيادتهم. من المهم أيضًا أن يرى طلابنا أنفسهم في قادتهم وهذا يحدث في وقت واحد اليوم لطلابنا من أمريكا اللاتينية والأفريقية مع تغير قيادتنا. أنا فخور بخدمة جميع الطلاب والعائلات في مدارس أرلينغتون العامة ، ويشرفني وامتناني أننا نتولى هذه الأدوار القيادية بدعم وثقة كاملين من مجلس الإدارة بأكمله ".

وفي ختام ملاحظاتها ، قالت تالينتو: "إنه من واجب مجلس الإدارة مواصلة تركيزنا على تعليم طلابنا ورفاههم. لذلك ، سأستمر في دعمي القوي والدعوة لعملنا في التوعية بالصحة العقلية والتعليم ؛ لعملنا على الإنصاف والقضاء على فرصتنا زaps؛ ولضمان أن مدارسنا مكان آمن لجميع طلابنا ، مع الحفاظ على تعليمنا الممتاز. "

تحديث على انتقال المشرف
خلال الاجتماع ، شكر تالينتو المشرف الدكتور باتريك مورفي على عشر سنوات من الخدمة والمساهمات في APS وقدم تحديثًا عن بحث المشرف. يخطط مجلس المدرسة لتسمية مشرف مؤقت بحلول شهر سبتمبر لبدء العام الدراسي الجديد ، وسوف يقوم بتعيين شركة بحث تنفيذي لإجراء بحث وطني عن مشرف دائم.

"بصفتنا مجلسًا ، هدفنا هو إيجاد قائد مؤهل تأهيلا عاليا يحافظ على ثقافتنا الإيجابية للتعلم ويعزز التميز والإنصاف لجميع الطلاب. قال تالينتو: "إن العثور على القائد المناسب والأنسب لمجتمعنا سيستغرق بعض الوقت". "نحن نقترب من هذا على مراحل لتلبية الاحتياجات الفورية والأهداف طويلة المدى ، ونريد أيضًا ضمان أن يكون للمجتمع صوتًا في هذه العملية."

وأضافت: "نخطط لتعيين مشرف مؤقت بحلول 3 سبتمبر لتوفير الاستقرار والقيادة في العام الدراسي القادم بينما نبدأ بحثًا وطنيًا كاملًا عن مشرف دائم. سوف نوظف شركة بحث تنفيذي لمساعدتنا في البحث الوطني وقد وجهنا ذلك APS الموظفين لبدء RFP. نأمل أن يتم تعيين شركة بحث بحلول أوائل الخريف ".

تناول تالينتو أيضًا الإطار الزمني لتوظيف مشرف جديد. "بمجرد أن تصبح شركة البحث في مكانها الصحيح ، نتوقع أن تستغرق عملية تعيين مشرف جديد عدة أشهر ونتوقع أن تتضمن العملية أيضًا مدخلات من الموظفين والأسر والمجتمع. سنشارك المزيد من التفاصيل حول جدولنا الزمني وطرق المشاركة والتحديثات الأخرى على Engage with APS صفحة الويب حيث يتوفر المزيد من المعلومات في وقت لاحق من هذا الصيف ".

حول الرئيس الجديد ونائب الرئيس

تانيا تالينتو انضمت إلى مجلس إدارة مدرسة أرلينغتون في 1 كانون الثاني (يناير) 2017. وهي مدافعة منذ فترة طويلة عن المدارس والمجتمع ، وعملت سابقًا في العديد من APS لجان المواطنين ، بما في ذلك اللجنة الاستشارية لأولياء الأمور في المركز الوظيفي ، ولجنة دراسة المرافق المشتركة للمقاطعات والمدارس ، ومجموعة عمل التخطيط الرئيسي للمشرف ، واللجنة الاستشارية للمواطنين ESOL / HILT. وُلد تالينتو ونشأ في منطقة العاصمة ، وهو أمريكي لاتيني فخور وُلد لأبوين مهاجرين من غواتيمالا. قامت ببناء حياتها المهنية في مجال الدعوة من خلال توجيه الشباب في أرلينغتون ومساعدة الطلاب المهاجرين والأقليات وعائلاتهم على التنقل في مدارس أرلينغتون العامة ومسارات كلية شمال فيرجينيا المجتمعية. من الناحية المهنية ، أمضت Talento 15 عامًا في المجال القانوني كموظفي دعم أساسيين في كبرى شركات المحاماة والشركات الدولية. وهي حاليًا رئيسة المجلس الاستشاري لمشروع Dream وعضو في فرع Arlington NAACP.

مونيك أوجراديمونيك أوجرادي انضم إلى مجلس مدرسة Arlington County في 1 يناير 2018. O'Grady هو مقيم في أرلينغتون يبلغ من العمر 26 عامًا ويبلغ من العمر 20 عامًا APS أحد الوالدين ، ومدافع المجتمع منذ فترة طويلة ، وأخصائي الاتصالات. قبل انتخابها لعضوية مجلس المدرسة ، عملت داخل المدارس وعبر جميع أنحاء العالم APS نظام لإحداث تغيير إيجابي للطلاب والمعلمين والمجتمع الأكبر. عملت في لجنة حدود ساوث أرلينغتون ، اللجنة الاستشارية للطفولة المبكرة ، APS مجموعة عمل ساوث أرلينغتون ، والمدرسة الابتدائية الجديدة في لجنة تخطيط مستوى المبنى في توماس جيفرسون ، ولجنة التخطيط الاستراتيجي ، واللجنة متعددة المواقع للمرافق المدرسية. شارك O'Grady أيضًا في رئاسة حملة School Bond لعام 2016 وكان عضوًا في لجنة Arlington Arts Commission. هي المستفيدة من APS جائزة المواطنة الفخرية وقد تم الاعتراف بها من قبل الكنيسة والحي لجهودها التطوعية.

الاجتماع القادم لمجلس المدرسة:
سيعقد الاجتماع التالي لمجلس إدارة المدرسة في 25 يوليو في الساعة 7 مساءً. وسيتم نشر جدول الأعمال قبل أسبوع من الاجتماع في بورد دوكس.

لمزيد من المعلومات
يجب على المواطنين الذين يرغبون في التعليق على أي عناصر تمت مناقشتها في اجتماع مجلس المدرسة إرسال بريد إلكتروني إلى مجلس الإدارة على school.board @apsva.us أو اتصل على 703-228-6015. يمكن للمواطنين الاتصال بالرقم 703-228-2400 يوم الاثنين بعد اجتماعات مجلس إدارة المدرسة للاستماع إلى ملخص الاجتماع. يتم أيضًا بث اجتماعات مجلس إدارة المدرسة مباشرة على Comcast Cable Channel 70 و Verizon FiOS Channel 41 ؛ بث مباشر على APS ويعاد بثه يوم الجمعة الساعة 9 مساءً ويوم الاثنين الساعة 7:30 مساءً بعد الاجتماع مباشرة. سيتم نشر جميع المواد والدقائق على موقع الويب على www.apsva.us/schoolboard بناءً على موافقة مجلس المدرسة في اجتماع لاحق.

APS News Release

Tannia Talento Elected as New Arlington School Board Chair for the 2019-20 School Year

Tannia Talento Jan 2017 (2)July 1, 2019—Today, the Arlington School Board held its annual organizational meeting for the 2019-20 school year and elected Tannia Talento as Chair and Monique O’Grady as Vice Chair. The terms for the new Chair and Vice Chair begin immediately and will continue until June 30, 2020.

“I am proud to be the second Latina to serve in the role of Chair of the School Board and especially that alongside me will be serving Ms. O’Grady, the first elected African American woman to the School Board, as my Vice Chair,” said Talento. She continued, “It is important that our students see diversity in their leadership. It is also important that our students see themselves in their leaders and that is happening simultaneously today for our Latinx and African American students as our leadership changes over. I am proud to serve all of the students and families in Arlington Public Schools and I am honored and grateful that we are taking on these leadership roles with the full support and confidence from our entire board.”

In concluding her remarks, Talento said, “It is incumbent upon our Board to continue our focus on the instruction and well-being of our students. Therefore, I will continue my ardent support and advocacy for our work on mental health awareness and education; for our work on equity and the elimination of our opportunity gaps; and for ensuring that our schools are a safe place for all our students, while maintaining our excellent instruction.”

Update on the Superintendent Transition
During the meeting, Talento thanked Superintendent Dr. Patrick Murphy for his ten years of service and contributions to APS and provided an update on the superintendent search. The School Board plans to name an interim superintendent by September for the start of the new school year, and will hire an executive search firm to conduct a national search for a permanent superintendent.

“As a Board, our goal is to find a highly qualified leader who will sustain our positive culture of learning and promote excellence and equity for all students. Finding the right leader and the best fit for our community will take some time,” said Talento. “We are approaching this in phases to fulfill both immediate needs and long-term goals, and we also want to ensure the community has a voice in the process.”

She added, “We plan to appoint an interim superintendent by September 3 to provide stability and leadership in the upcoming school year while we initiate a full, national search for a permanent superintendent. We will hire an executive search firm to aid us with the national search and we have directed APS staff to initiate an RFP. We hope to have a search firm hired by early fall.”

Talento also addressed the timeframe for hiring a new superintendent. “Once the search firm is in place, we expect the process of hiring a new superintendent to take several months and we expect the process to also include input from staff, families and the community. We will share more details about our timeline, ways to engage and other updates on the Engage with APS web page as more information becomes available later this summer.”

About the New Chair and Vice Chair

Tannia Talento joined the Arlington School Board on January 1, 2017.  She is a longtime advocate for schools and the community, and previously served on several key APS citizen committees, including the Career Center Parent Advisory Committee, the joint county and schools Facility Study Committee, the Superintendent’s Master Planning Working Group, and the ESOL/HILT Citizen’s Advisory Committee. Born and raised in the DC area, Talento is a proud Latina American born to immigrant parents from Guatemala. She built her advocacy career by mentoring young adults in Arlington and helping immigrant and minority students and their families navigate Arlington Public Schools and Northern Virginia Community College pathways.  Professionally, Talento spent 15 years in the legal field as key support staff in major corporate and international law firms. She is currently the Chair of the Advisory Board for The Dream Project and a member of the Arlington NAACP chapter.

Monique OGradyMonique O’Grady joined the Arlington County School Board on January 1, 2018. O’Grady is a passionate 26-year Arlington resident, 20-year APS parent, longtime community advocate, and communications professional. Before being elected to the School Board, she worked inside schools and across the APS system to bring positive change for students, teachers, and the greater community. She served on the South Arlington Boundary Committee, Early Childhood Advisory Committee, APS South Arlington Working Group, New Elementary School at Thomas Jefferson Building Level Planning Committee, Strategic Planning Committee, and Multi-Site Committee for School Facilities. O’Grady also co-chaired the 2016 School Bond Campaign and was a member of the Arlington Arts Commission. She is the recipient of the APS Honored Citizen award and has been recognized by her church and neighborhood for her volunteer efforts.

Next School Board Meeting:
The next School Board meeting will be held on July 25 at 7 p.m. The agenda will be posted one week before the meeting on BoardDocs.

FOR MORE INFORMATION:
Citizens who want to comment on any items discussed at the School Board meeting should email the Board at school.board@apsva.us or call 703-228-6015. Citizens may call 703-228-2400 on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary. School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41; live-streamed on the APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 p.m. and Mondays at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting. All materials and minutes will be posted to the website at www.apsva.us/schoolboard upon School Board approval at a subsequent meeting.