LGBTQIA+ 驕傲月

驕傲網APS 正在認可和慶祝 驕傲月 今年六月支持我們的 LGBTQIA+ 學生和教職員工,並鼓勵大家尊重我們多元化的社區。 這是我們對公平和包容的堅定承諾的一部分,以確保 APS 是一個歡迎、重視和尊重所有員工、學生和家庭的地方。

我們鼓勵您使用以下方式在線加入對話 #APS驕傲22.


歷史

女同性戀、男同性戀、雙性戀、變性人、酷兒、雙性人和無性戀(在這種情況下,+ 號表示我們對標籤和詞彙的理解是個人的,並且會繼續發展。) (LGBTQIA+) 驕傲月 目前每年六月舉行慶祝活動,以紀念 1969 年在曼哈頓舉行的石牆起義。 石牆起義是美國同性戀解放運動的轉折點。 了解更多關於驕傲月曆史的信息.


代詞 ( mypronouns.org)

在英語中,無論我們是否意識到,人們在談論我們時經常使用代詞來指代我們。 通常,當以第三人稱談論單數人時,這些代詞暗示了性別——例如“he”指的是男人/男孩或“she”指的是女人/女孩。 這些關聯並不總是準確或有幫助的。 使用某人的正確人稱代詞是一種尊重他們並創造包容性環境的方式,就像使用一個人的名字可以是一種尊重他們的方式一樣。

當一個人 分享他們的代詞,他們用單數第三人稱來命名他們想要被提及的代詞(在與其他人交談時提及該人時)。 第一人稱(指自己時)或第二人稱(指與同一人交談時)的單數代詞沒有變化。

通過訪問了解更多信息 mypronouns.org 並考慮將您的代詞添加到您的電子郵件簽名、社交媒體資料等。


APS 最新活動

每 APS 初中和高中 性別與性行為聯盟 (GSA) 整個六月,團體正在計劃和舉辦許多活動。 在 斯旺森中學, GSA 學生正在為早間公告提供幻燈片,這些幻燈片突出了美國歷史上識別/識別為 LGBTQIA+ 的傑出人物。 學生還將參加許多有趣的活動,旨在吸引 LGBTQIA+ 學生和盟友來教育學校社區。 在 杰斐遜中學,學生和教職員工計劃在 5 月 10 日至 XNUMX 日舉辦一年一度的驕傲精神週。

我們將在整個月中添加更多活動。


社區活動

阿靈頓公共圖書館將舉辦驕傲活動:

阿靈頓縣將舉辦驕傲活動:

    • 7 月 8 日和 7 日,晚上 8 點至 30 點:社區安全區培訓 (虛擬變焦)
      • 安全區培訓是一個探索性和性別概念、了解更多關於 LGBTQIA+ 身份以及檢驗偏見、假設和特權的機會。 加入我們,讓我們一起努力創造更安全、更具包容性的環境。 參與者必須參加兩個晚上。 了解更多並在此處註冊。
    • 14 月 6 日,下午 30:7-30:XNUMX:酷兒社區的心理健康:風險因素和給予支持 (虛擬變焦)
      • 本次會議探討了與 LGBTQ+ 社區中較高的精神疾病發病率相關的風險因素。 了解如何支持酷兒社區的人們應對這些風險因素。 在此處註冊並了解更多信息。
    • 15 月 12 日,中午 00:1 至下午 30:XNUMX:阿靈頓縣驕傲月宣言和慶祝活動 (面對面,下雨日期 22 月 XNUMX 日)
      • 加入 OUTstanding 成員、代表彩虹社區的阿靈頓員工資源小組 (ERG) 和其他縣員工,慶祝在安全和支持性社區中生活、工作和繁榮。 在這裡了解更多。

其他地區活動:

  • 4月12日 00:6 – 00:XNUMX 雷斯頓驕傲 你屬於這裡 在安娜湖——雷斯頓在安娜湖舉辦的第五屆年度驕傲節。 Reston Pride 邀請社區享受輕鬆有趣的空間,並參觀來自當地 LGBTQIA+ 組織、宗教團體、當地企業、藝術家等的 5 多家供應商。 還有一系列非凡的娛樂節目,包括變裝表演者。
  • 4月1日 00:4 – 00:XNUMX 亞歷山大的驕傲 在查爾斯休斯頓娛樂中心—— 亞歷山大慶祝由亞歷山大 LGBTQ+ 工作組主辦的第五屆年度驕傲。 收集驕傲的贓物,享受音樂和美食,發揮創意,擺姿勢拍照,並與當地的 LGBTQ 包容性組織會面。 現場提供免費和保密的 HIV 檢測。
  • June 11, 2:00-9:00 碼頭上的驕傲 在碼頭—— 第 3 屆年度碼頭驕傲活動是由 The Washington Blade 與 LURe DC 和 The Wharf 合作贊助的 Capital Pride Parade 的家庭友好型替代活動。 家庭碼頭今年的新活動是適合年輕人的輪滑運動! 滑板租金為 10 美元; 成人必須自帶冰鞋。 此免費活動提供現場 DJ、舞蹈和娛樂活動。 Dockmasters Building 提供 VIP(售票)體驗,提供免費飲料和食物。 夜晚以水上煙花表演結束。
  • 18月1日下午00:9-00:XNUMX 舊城區夏季節日的港口邊 在海濱公園—— 亞歷山大市舉辦免費的現場音樂節等活動,包括加入 Safe Space NOVA 參加一些適合家庭的遊戲,並與當地供應商一起參觀,同時聆聽現場音樂並享用 Port City Brewing Company 的當地精釀啤酒。
  •  24月7日晚上00:11-00:XNUMX: 從前的舞會(和派對) 在弗吉尼亞州斯普林菲爾德的聖詹姆斯酒店—— Safe Space NOVA 自豪地為來自 DC 都會區的 9 至 12 年級學生舉辦區域驕傲舞會! 今年,除了舞會本身,我們還將在 Super Awesome and Amazing 舉辦一場派對,其中包括蹦床公園、VR 遊戲、美食、障礙訓練場、攀岩塔等等。 會見肯定的供應商,購買驕傲的商品,贏取獎品,並會見變裝國王和皇后。 一張票讓你進入一切。 來和我們一起跳舞、攀爬、比賽、翱翔和夢想吧,黃飛鴻舞會。
  • 25 月 1 日,下午 00:8 – 00:XNUMX: 勞登驕傲 在克勞德摩爾公園—— 勞登驕傲節自豪地擁有“北弗吉尼亞州最大、最大膽、最豐富多彩的驕傲節”。 與數十家社區供應商一起參加適合家庭的驕傲活動,其中包括 Crys Matthews 和 Heather Mae、Justin Trawick 和 Tracy Hamlin 和 DJ Pope 等現場音樂表演。 幫助 需要進入。

學生和家庭資源


教育工作者的課堂資源

LGBTQIA+ Pride Month

Pride WebAPS is recognizing and celebrating Pride Month this June to support our LGBTQIA+ students and staff and to encourage everyone to honor our diverse community. This is part of our strong commitment to equity and inclusion, to ensure APS is a place where all staff, students and families are welcome, valued and respected.

We encourage you to join in the conversation online using #APSPride22.


History

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Intersex and Asexual (The + sign in this context recognizes that our understanding of labels and vocabulary is personal, and continues to evolve.) (LGBTQIA+) Pride Month is currently celebrated each year in the month of June to honor the 1969 Stonewall Uprising in Manhattan. The Stonewall Uprising was a tipping point for the Gay Liberation Movement in the United States. Learn more about the history of Pride Month.


Pronouns (from mypronouns.org)

In English, whether we realize it or not, people frequently refer to us using pronouns when speaking about us. Often, when speaking of a singular human in the third person, these pronouns have a gender implied — such as “he” to refer to a man/boy or “she” to refer to a woman/girl. These associations are not always accurate or helpful. Using someone’s correct personal pronouns is a way to respect them and create an inclusive environment, just as using a person’s name can be a way to respect them.

When a person shares their pronouns, they are naming the pronouns that they want to be referred to by in the singular third person (when referring to that person while talking to someone else). Singular pronouns in the first person (when referring to yourself) or second person (when referring to a person when talking to that same person) do not vary.

Learn more by visiting mypronouns.org and consider adding your pronouns to your email signature, social media profiles, etc.


APS Events

Each APS middle and high school Genders & Sexualities Alliance (GSA) groups are planning and hosting many events throughout the month of June. At Swanson Middle School, GSA students are contributing slides for the morning announcements that highlight prominent figures in American history that identified/identify as LGBTQIA+. Students will also participate in many fun events meant to engage LGBTQIA+ students and allies to educate the school community. At Jefferson Middle School, students and staff are planning an annual Pride Spirit Week June 5-10.

We will be adding more events throughout the month.


Community Events

Arlington Public Library will host Pride events:

Arlington County will host Pride events:

    • June 7 & 8, 7-8:30pm: Safe Zone Training for the Community (Virtual on Zoom)
      • Safe Zone training is an opportunity to explore concepts of sexuality and gender, learn more about LGBTQIA+ identities, and examine prejudice, assumptions, and privilege. Join us so that we can work to create safer and more inclusive environments together. Participants must attend both nights. LEARN MORE AND REGISTER HERE.
    • June 14th, 6:30pm-7:30pm: Mental Health in the Queer Community: Risk Factors and Giving Support (Virtual on Zoom)
      • This session explores the risk factors associated with the higher rate of mental illnesses in the LGBTQ+ community. Learn ways you can support people in the Queer Community to counter these risk factors. REGISTER AND LEARN MORE HERE.
    • June 15, 12:00pm-1:30pm: Arlington County Pride Month Proclamation and Celebration (In-Person, Rain Date June 22)
      • Join members of OUTstanding, the Arlington Employee Resource Group (ERG) representing the Rainbow Community, and other County employees to celebrate living, working, and thriving in a safe and supportive community. LEARN MORE HERE.

Other Area Events:

  • June 4, 12:00 – 6:00 Reston Pride You Belong Here at Lake Anna – Reston’s 5th annual Pride Festival at Lake Anna. Reston Pride invites the community to enjoy a relaxing and fun space and visit over 65 vendors from local LGBTQIA+ organizations, religious groups, local businesses, artists, and more.  There is also a lineup of phenomenal entertainment including drag performers.
  • June 4, 1:00 – 4:00 Alexandria Pride at the Charles Houston Recreation Center – Alexandria celebrates the 5th Annual Pride hosted by the Alexandria LGBTQ+ task force.  Collect pride swag, enjoy music and food, get creative, pose for pictures, and meet with local LGBTQ-inclusive organizations. Free and confidential HIV testing is available on site.
  • June 11, 2:00-9:00 Pride on the Pier at The Wharf – The 3rd Annual Pride on the Pier is a family-friendly alternative to the Capital Pride Parade sponsored by The Washington Blade in partnership with LURe DC and The Wharf. New this year on the Family Pier is roller skating for youth!  Skate rentals are $10; adults must bring their own skates. A live DJ, dancing, and entertainment are available at this free event. The Dockmasters Building provides a VIP (ticketed) experience with complimentary drinks and food.  The night concludes with a fireworks display on the water.
  • June 18, 1:00-9:00 pm Portside in Old Town Summer Festival at Waterfront Park – The City of Alexandria a hosts their free festival of live music and more including, Join Safe Space NOVA for some family friendly games and visit with local vendors while listening to live music and enjoying local craft beer from Port City Brewing Company.
  •  June 24, 7:00-11:00 PM: Once Upon a Prom (and Party) at The St. James in Springfield, Virginia – Safe Space NOVA is proud to present a regional pride prom for 9th-12th grade students from across the DC Metro area!  This year, in addition to the prom itself, we will have a party in Super Awesome and Amazing with a trampoline park, VR games, food, an obstacle course, climbing towers and more. Meet affirming vendors, shop pride merchandise, win prizes, and meet drag kings and queens. A single ticket gets you entry to everything.  Come dance, climb, race, soar, and dream with us, Once Upon a Prom.
  • June 25, 1:00 – 8:00 PM: Loudoun Pride at Claude Moore Park – Loudoun Pride proudly boasts the “biggest, boldest, and most colorful pride festival in Northern Virginia.”  Join dozens of community vendors for a family-friendly pride event featuring live musical acts including Crys Matthews & Heather Mae, Justin Trawick, and Tracy Hamlin & DJ Pope. Tickets are required for entry.

Resources for Students & Families


Classroom Resources for Educators