LGBTQIA + شهر الفخر

كبرياء ويبAPS هو الاعتراف والاحتفال فخر الشهر في شهر يونيو من هذا العام لدعم طلابنا وموظفي LGBTQIA + ولتشجيع الجميع على تكريم مجتمعنا المتنوع. هذا جزء من التزامنا القوي بالمساواة والشمول ، لضمان APS هو مكان يتم فيه الترحيب بجميع الموظفين والطلاب والعائلات وتقديرهم واحترامهم.

نحن نشجعك على الانضمام إلى المحادثة عبر الإنترنت باستخدام #APSالكبرياء 22.


تاريخ التنمية

السحاقيات ، والمثليون ، ومزدوجو الميل الجنسي ، والمتحولون جنسيًا ، واللوطيون ، والخنثى ، واللاجنون (تدرك علامة + في هذا السياق أن فهمنا للتسميات والمفردات أمر شخصي ، ويستمر في التطور.) (LGBTQIA +) فخر الشهر يتم الاحتفال به حاليًا من كل عام في شهر يونيو لتكريم 1969 Stonewall Uprising في مانهاتن. كانت انتفاضة الجدار الحجري نقطة تحول بالنسبة لحركة تحرير المثليين في الولايات المتحدة. تعرف على المزيد حول تاريخ شهر الفخر.


الضمائر (تبدأ من mypronouns.org)

في اللغة الإنجليزية ، سواء أدركنا ذلك أم لا ، كثيرًا ما يشير الناس إلينا باستخدام الضمائر عند التحدث عنا. في كثير من الأحيان ، عند الحديث عن شخص مفرد في ضمير المخاطب ، فإن هذه الضمائر لها جنس ضمني - مثل "هو" للإشارة إلى رجل / فتى أو "هي" للإشارة إلى امرأة / فتاة. هذه الارتباطات ليست دائمًا دقيقة أو مفيدة. يعد استخدام الضمائر الشخصية الصحيحة طريقة لاحترامهم وخلق بيئة شاملة ، تمامًا كما يمكن أن يكون استخدام اسم الشخص وسيلة لاحترامهم.

عندما الشخص يشارك ضمائرهم، يقومون بتسمية الضمائر التي يريدون الإشارة إليها في صيغة الشخص الثالث المفرد (عند الإشارة إلى ذلك الشخص أثناء التحدث إلى شخص آخر). لا تختلف الضمائر المنفردة في ضمير المتكلم (عند الإشارة إلى نفسك) أو ضمير المخاطب (عند الإشارة إلى شخص عند التحدث إلى نفس الشخص).

معرفة المزيد عن طريق زيارة mypronouns.org وفكر في إضافة الضمائر الخاصة بك إلى توقيع البريد الإلكتروني الخاص بك ، وملفات تعريف الوسائط الاجتماعية ، وما إلى ذلك.


APS المناسبات

كل APS المدرسة المتوسطة والثانوية تحالف الجنسين والجنس (GSA) تخطط المجموعات وتستضيف العديد من الفعاليات على مدار شهر يونيو. في مدرسة سوانسون المتوسطة، يساهم طلاب GSA في شرائح للإعلانات الصباحية التي تسلط الضوء على الشخصيات البارزة في التاريخ الأمريكي التي تم تحديدها / تحديدها على أنها LGBTQIA +. سيشارك الطلاب أيضًا في العديد من الأحداث الممتعة التي تهدف إلى إشراك طلاب وحلفاء LGBTQIA + لتثقيف المجتمع المدرسي. في مدرسة جيفرسون المتوسطة، يخطط الطلاب والموظفون لأسبوع برايد سبيريت السنوي من 5 إلى 10 يونيو.

سنضيف المزيد من الأحداث على مدار الشهر.


الفعاليات المجتمعية

ستستضيف مكتبة أرلينغتون العامة فعاليات الكبرياء:

ستستضيف مقاطعة أرلينغتون فعاليات الكبرياء:

    • 7 و 8 يونيو ، 7-8: 30 مساءً: تدريب المنطقة الآمنة للمجتمع (افتراضي عند التكبير)
      • يعد تدريب المنطقة الآمنة فرصة لاستكشاف مفاهيم النشاط الجنسي والجنس ، ومعرفة المزيد عن هويات LGBTQIA + ، وفحص التحيز والافتراضات والامتيازات. انضم إلينا حتى نتمكن من العمل معًا لخلق بيئات أكثر أمانًا وشمولية. يجب على المشاركين حضور كلتا الليلتين. استعلم اكثر وسجل هنا.
    • 14 حزيران (يونيو) ، 6:30 مساءً - 7:30 مساءً: الصحة العقلية في مجتمع المثليين: عوامل الخطر وتقديم الدعم (افتراضي عند التكبير)
      • تستكشف هذه الجلسة عوامل الخطر المرتبطة بارتفاع معدل الأمراض العقلية في مجتمع LGBTQ +. تعلم طرقًا يمكنك من خلالها دعم الأشخاص في مجتمع Queer لمواجهة عوامل الخطر هذه. سجل وتعلم المزيد هنا.
    • 15 يونيو ، 12:00 ظهرًا - 1:30 مساءً: إعلان واحتفال شهر الفخر بمقاطعة أرلينغتون (شخصيًا ، تاريخ المطر 22 يونيو)
      • انضم إلى أعضاء OUTstanding ومجموعة Arlington Employee Resource Group (ERG) التي تمثل مجتمع Rainbow وغيرهم من موظفي المقاطعة للاحتفال بالحياة والعمل والازدهار في مجتمع آمن وداعم. اعرف المزيد هنا.

أحداث المنطقة الأخرى:

  • 4 يونيو ، 12:00 - 6:00 ريستون برايد أنت تنتمي إلى هنا في بحيرة آنا - مهرجان ريستون السنوي الخامس برايد في بحيرة آنا. يدعو Reston Pride المجتمع للاستمتاع بمساحة مريحة وممتعة وزيارة أكثر من 5 بائعًا من منظمات LGBTQIA + المحلية والمجموعات الدينية والشركات المحلية والفنانين والمزيد. هناك أيضًا مجموعة من وسائل الترفيه الهائلة بما في ذلك فناني الأداء.
  • 4 يونيو ، 1:00 - 4:00 الإسكندرية برايد في مركز تشارلز هيوستن الترفيهي - تحتفل الإسكندرية بعيد الفخر السنوي الخامس الذي استضافته فرقة عمل الإسكندرية LGBTQ +. اجمع غنيمة الفخر ، واستمتع بالموسيقى والطعام ، وكن مبدعًا ، والتقط الصور ، واجتمع مع المنظمات المحلية الشاملة لمجتمع الميم. يتوفر اختبار فيروس نقص المناعة البشرية المجاني والسري في الموقع.
  • June 11, 2:00-9:00 كبرياء على الرصيف في The Wharf - يعتبر مهرجان برايد أون ذا بيير السنوي الثالث بديلاً مناسبًا للعائلة لاستعراض كابيتال برايد برعاية واشنطن بليد بالشراكة مع LURe DC و The Wharf. الجديد هذا العام في Family Pier هو التزلج على الجليد للشباب! إيجارات الزلاجات هي 3 دولارات ؛ يجب على البالغين إحضار الزلاجات الخاصة بهم. يتوفر دي جي مباشر ورقص وترفيه في هذا الحدث المجاني. يوفر مبنى Dockmasters تجربة VIP (تذاكر) مع مشروبات وأطعمة مجانية. تختتم الليلة بعرض للألعاب النارية على الماء.
  • 18 يونيو ، 1:00 - 9:00 مساءً بورتسايد في مهرجان صيف المدينة القديمة في ووترفرونت بارك - تستضيف مدينة الإسكندرية مهرجانها المجاني للموسيقى الحية والمزيد ، بما في ذلك ، انضم إلى Safe Space NOVA لبعض الألعاب المناسبة للعائلة وقم بزيارة البائعين المحليين أثناء الاستماع إلى الموسيقى الحية والاستمتاع بالبيرة الحرفية المحلية من شركة Port City Brewing Company.
  •  24 يونيو ، 7:00 - 11:00 مساءً: ذات مرة في حفلة موسيقية (وحفلة) في سانت جيمس في سبرينجفيلد ، فيرجينيا - تفخر Safe Space NOVA بتقديم حفلة موسيقية فخر إقليمية لطلاب الصف التاسع إلى الثاني عشر من جميع أنحاء منطقة مترو العاصمة! هذا العام ، بالإضافة إلى الحفلة الراقصة نفسها ، سنقيم حفلة في Super Awesome and Amazing مع حديقة الترامبولين وألعاب الواقع الافتراضي والطعام ودورة الحواجز وأبراج التسلق والمزيد. قابل البائعين المؤكدين ، وتسوق سلع الفخر ، واربح جوائز ، وتعرّف على ملوك وملكات السحب. تذكرة واحدة تسمح لك بالدخول إلى كل شيء. تعال ارقص ، وتسلق ، وتسابق ، وحلّق ، واحلم معنا ، في أحد الأيام في حفلة موسيقية.
  • 25 حزيران (يونيو) ، 1:00 - 8:00 مساءً: لودون برايد في كلود مور بارك - يفتخر Loudoun Pride بفخر بأنه "أكبر وأجرأ وأكثر مهرجان فخر ملونًا في شمال فيرجينيا." انضم إلى العشرات من البائعين المجتمعيين لحضور حدث فخر مناسب للعائلة يضم أعمالًا موسيقية حية بما في ذلك Crys Matthews & Heather Mae و Justin Trawick و Tracy Hamlin & DJ Pope. تذاكر مطلوبة للدخول.

موارد للطلاب والعائلات


موارد الفصول الدراسية للمعلمين

LGBTQIA+ Pride Month

Pride WebAPS is recognizing and celebrating Pride Month this June to support our LGBTQIA+ students and staff and to encourage everyone to honor our diverse community. This is part of our strong commitment to equity and inclusion, to ensure APS is a place where all staff, students and families are welcome, valued and respected.

We encourage you to join in the conversation online using #APSPride22.


History

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Intersex and Asexual (The + sign in this context recognizes that our understanding of labels and vocabulary is personal, and continues to evolve.) (LGBTQIA+) Pride Month is currently celebrated each year in the month of June to honor the 1969 Stonewall Uprising in Manhattan. The Stonewall Uprising was a tipping point for the Gay Liberation Movement in the United States. Learn more about the history of Pride Month.


Pronouns (from mypronouns.org)

In English, whether we realize it or not, people frequently refer to us using pronouns when speaking about us. Often, when speaking of a singular human in the third person, these pronouns have a gender implied — such as “he” to refer to a man/boy or “she” to refer to a woman/girl. These associations are not always accurate or helpful. Using someone’s correct personal pronouns is a way to respect them and create an inclusive environment, just as using a person’s name can be a way to respect them.

When a person shares their pronouns, they are naming the pronouns that they want to be referred to by in the singular third person (when referring to that person while talking to someone else). Singular pronouns in the first person (when referring to yourself) or second person (when referring to a person when talking to that same person) do not vary.

Learn more by visiting mypronouns.org and consider adding your pronouns to your email signature, social media profiles, etc.


APS Events

Each APS middle and high school Genders & Sexualities Alliance (GSA) groups are planning and hosting many events throughout the month of June. At Swanson Middle School, GSA students are contributing slides for the morning announcements that highlight prominent figures in American history that identified/identify as LGBTQIA+. Students will also participate in many fun events meant to engage LGBTQIA+ students and allies to educate the school community. At Jefferson Middle School, students and staff are planning an annual Pride Spirit Week June 5-10.

We will be adding more events throughout the month.


Community Events

Arlington Public Library will host Pride events:

Arlington County will host Pride events:

    • June 7 & 8, 7-8:30pm: Safe Zone Training for the Community (Virtual on Zoom)
      • Safe Zone training is an opportunity to explore concepts of sexuality and gender, learn more about LGBTQIA+ identities, and examine prejudice, assumptions, and privilege. Join us so that we can work to create safer and more inclusive environments together. Participants must attend both nights. LEARN MORE AND REGISTER HERE.
    • June 14th, 6:30pm-7:30pm: Mental Health in the Queer Community: Risk Factors and Giving Support (Virtual on Zoom)
      • This session explores the risk factors associated with the higher rate of mental illnesses in the LGBTQ+ community. Learn ways you can support people in the Queer Community to counter these risk factors. REGISTER AND LEARN MORE HERE.
    • June 15, 12:00pm-1:30pm: Arlington County Pride Month Proclamation and Celebration (In-Person, Rain Date June 22)
      • Join members of OUTstanding, the Arlington Employee Resource Group (ERG) representing the Rainbow Community, and other County employees to celebrate living, working, and thriving in a safe and supportive community. LEARN MORE HERE.

Other Area Events:

  • June 4, 12:00 – 6:00 Reston Pride You Belong Here at Lake Anna – Reston’s 5th annual Pride Festival at Lake Anna. Reston Pride invites the community to enjoy a relaxing and fun space and visit over 65 vendors from local LGBTQIA+ organizations, religious groups, local businesses, artists, and more.  There is also a lineup of phenomenal entertainment including drag performers.
  • June 4, 1:00 – 4:00 Alexandria Pride at the Charles Houston Recreation Center – Alexandria celebrates the 5th Annual Pride hosted by the Alexandria LGBTQ+ task force.  Collect pride swag, enjoy music and food, get creative, pose for pictures, and meet with local LGBTQ-inclusive organizations. Free and confidential HIV testing is available on site.
  • June 11, 2:00-9:00 Pride on the Pier at The Wharf – The 3rd Annual Pride on the Pier is a family-friendly alternative to the Capital Pride Parade sponsored by The Washington Blade in partnership with LURe DC and The Wharf. New this year on the Family Pier is roller skating for youth!  Skate rentals are $10; adults must bring their own skates. A live DJ, dancing, and entertainment are available at this free event. The Dockmasters Building provides a VIP (ticketed) experience with complimentary drinks and food.  The night concludes with a fireworks display on the water.
  • June 18, 1:00-9:00 pm Portside in Old Town Summer Festival at Waterfront Park – The City of Alexandria a hosts their free festival of live music and more including, Join Safe Space NOVA for some family friendly games and visit with local vendors while listening to live music and enjoying local craft beer from Port City Brewing Company.
  •  June 24, 7:00-11:00 PM: Once Upon a Prom (and Party) at The St. James in Springfield, Virginia – Safe Space NOVA is proud to present a regional pride prom for 9th-12th grade students from across the DC Metro area!  This year, in addition to the prom itself, we will have a party in Super Awesome and Amazing with a trampoline park, VR games, food, an obstacle course, climbing towers and more. Meet affirming vendors, shop pride merchandise, win prizes, and meet drag kings and queens. A single ticket gets you entry to everything.  Come dance, climb, race, soar, and dream with us, Once Upon a Prom.
  • June 25, 1:00 – 8:00 PM: Loudoun Pride at Claude Moore Park – Loudoun Pride proudly boasts the “biggest, boldest, and most colorful pride festival in Northern Virginia.”  Join dozens of community vendors for a family-friendly pride event featuring live musical acts including Crys Matthews & Heather Mae, Justin Trawick, and Tracy Hamlin & DJ Pope. Tickets are required for entry.

Resources for Students & Families


Classroom Resources for Educators