Tag / Woche der Anerkennung des Crossing Guard

CGAD_2022_LogoTausende von APS Die Schüler gehen regelmäßig zu Fuß und mit dem Fahrrad zur Schule, unterstützt von den über 20 Crossing Guards, aus denen sich die Schule zusammensetzt Arlington County Polizeibehörde Crossing Guard Unit. Die meisten Wachen decken täglich mehr als eine Schule sowohl bei der Ankunft als auch bei der Entlassung ab. Arlingtons Crossing Guards helfen nicht nur Schülern, die laufen und Fahrrad fahren, sondern sorgen auch dafür, dass Schulbusfahrer sicher in der Schule ankommen.

Crossing Guards sind für SRTS von entscheidender Bedeutung. Sie bieten Erwachsenen Aufsicht über Schüler, die zur und von der Schule gehen, und tragen zur Gewährleistung der Sicherheit der Schüler bei. Crossing Guards modellieren auch das richtige Verhalten von Fußgängern und ermutigen die Schüler, Zebrastreifen und Signale zu nutzen. Dank Crossing Guards kann das Gehen zur Schule einer der besten Teile des Tages eines Schülers sein.

Crossing Guards erledigen ihre Arbeit auch jeden Schultag bei jedem Wetter. Mit kürzeren Tageslichtstunden, kalten Temperaturen und manchmal tückischen Bedingungen kann der Februar für Crossing Guards eine der schwierigsten Zeiten bei der Arbeit sein. Die Crossing Guard Appreciation Week ist eine Möglichkeit, sie daran zu erinnern, wie sehr wir ihren Service jeden Tag schätzen und schätzen.

Tag / Woche der Anerkennung des Crossing Guard ist ein Staatsangehöriger Sichere Schulwege Feier zur Anerkennung der Crossing Guards für ihre entscheidende Rolle im SRTS-Netzwerk. Die jährliche Veranstaltung findet in der zweiten Februarwoche statt. APS ehrt unsere Crossing Guards, indem sie das eintägige Ereignis über eine ganze Woche feiern - Woche der Wertschätzung der Grenzwache. Scrollen Sie nach unten für unsere andere Feier im Februar - Ich liebe die Buswoche!

Crossing Guard Anerkennungswoche 2022 Week

The 2022 APS Die Feier der Anerkennungswoche der Grenzwächter findet vom 7. bis 11. Februar statt. In der Vergangenheit, APS SRTS hat Familien ermutigt, Wachen für Virginias Most Outstanding Crossing Guard Award zu nominieren, Geschenke wie Lunchboxen, Sonnenbrillen und Wasserflaschen verteilt und einzelne Schulen, PTAs und Schüler gebeten, ihre Wertschätzung während unserer einwöchigen Crossing Guard Appreciation nach Belieben zu zeigen Feier.

Finden Sie einen Weg, um Crossing Guards im Februar 2022 zu feiern

APS ermutigt Schüler, Familien und Schulen, diese engagierten Personen im Laufe des Monats Februar als Teil von anzuerkennen APS SRTS Crossing Guard Wertschätzung. Benötigen Sie Ideen? Hier sind RESSOURCEN und Tipps von Virginia SRTS für die Anerkennung unserer Grenzwächter (sehen Virginia SRTS-Ressourcen für Vorlagen, Schilder, Grafiken und mehr):

  • Machen Sie Dankeskarten, die Sie Ihrem Crossing Guard auf dem Weg zur oder von der Schule geben können (finden Sie Dankeskartenvorlagen )
  • Schreiben und singen Sie Lieder oder rezitieren Sie Gedichte, indem Sie Ihrem Crossing Guard für ihre Hilfe danken
  • Bringen Sie Ihrer Wache einige Kekse, Donuts oder andere Leckereien, die sie nach ihrer Schicht genießen können
  • Schreiben Sie Dankesnotizen von Eltern und Schulpersonal, um sie persönlich abzugeben oder mit den Schülern einzusenden. Die Schulleiter können auch offizielle Dankesbriefe an die Schüler schreiben
  • Schauen Sie sich die Ideen in der Virginia Safe Routes to School Crossing Guard-Anerkennung an Lerne es, mache es, lebe es Anleitung
  • Benutze diese Social Media Grafiks, um Ihre Schulgemeinschaft zu informieren!
  • Teilen Sie Ihre Erfahrungen auf Twitter mit dem Hashtag #APSVerkehrspolizei, markieren Sie die Arlington County Police Department, @ArlingtonVaPD und APS Sichere Wege zur Schule, @APSsicherere Wege

Teilen Sie Ihre Erfahrungen mit 2022 auf Twitter mit dem Hashtag #CGAD2022 und #crossingguardwertschätzung, markieren Sie die Arlington County Police Department, @ArlingtonVaPD und APS Sichere Wege zur Schule, @APSsicherere Wege

Ich liebe die Buswoche 2022APS Bus-Liebesaufkleber-Grafik

Ich liebe die Buswoche ist eine nationale Veranstaltung der Amerikanischer Schulbusrat die Wertschätzung der Schulbusfahrer zum Ausdruck zu bringen. Wie Crossing Guards melden sich Busfahrer vor Sonnenaufgang und absolvieren ihre letzte Route nach Einbruch der Dunkelheit. Arlington Transportpartner (ATP), APS'Partner bei der Unterstützung APS Gehen!versteht die Bedeutung des Busfahrens. Schließlich ist das Fahren mit dem Bus genau wie Radfahren, Wandern und Fahrgemeinschaften ein gesunder und nachhaltiger Weg für APS Schüler zur / von der Schule pendeln.

Finden Sie einen Weg, um die Liebe der Buswoche im Februar 2022 zu feiern

Schulbus

  • Wenn Ihr Kind schulbustauglich ist, lassen Sie es unbedingt mit!
  • Machen Sie Ihrem Fahrer einen Valentinstag, um Love the Bus im Februar zu feiern.
  • Machen Sie Dankeskarten, zeichnen Sie Bilder, machen Sie Fotos / Videos für Ihren Busfahrer.

ART und Metrobus ArlCo_SmarTrip Karte für Teens_CS6

  • Schüler K-12 können eine bekommen iRide SmarTrip-Karte. Mit der iRide-Karte erhalten Studenten rund um die Uhr ermäßigte Fahrten in ART-Bussen im Wert von 1 USD (Volltarife gelten für Metrobus und Metrorail). Busfahren ist nur eine Möglichkeit Unabhängigkeit fördern im Teenageralter.
  • APS Mitarbeiter und Eltern können reiten öffentliche Busse (und andere Verkehrsmittel) zu erreichen APS Schulen auch! Jeden APS Schule und Standort haben mindestens eine Buslinie, die in einem Umkreis von XNUMX m hält, wodurch der Bus sowohl bequem als auch umweltfreundlich ist.
  • Probieren Sie eine von mehreren Websites aus, um Ihre Reise in einem öffentlichen Bus zu planen, einschließlich Google Maps, Auto frei in meiner Nähe, AutofreiAtoZbezeichnet, oder Trip Planer der Metro. Transit ist eine gute App zum Herunterladen auf Ihr Smartphone für die Reiseplanung vor Ort. Und sehen Sie sich unbedingt die gesamte Liste an Transportmöglichkeiten auf die APS Gehen! Webseite.
  • Teilen Sie Ihre Erfahrungen auf Twitter mit dem Hashtag #APSBusLiebe und tagge die APS Transportabteilung, @APSSchulbussowie Arlington Transportation Partners, @ATPCommutes

Taylor Crossing Guard als einer der herausragendsten in Virginia für den Zeitraum 2019-20 ausgezeichnet

2019 Herausragende Crossing Guard Zeleke TafesseZum vierten Mal in Folge wurde ein Arlington Crossing Guard zum herausragendsten Crossing Guard gekürt. Die Virginia Department of Transportation wählte Taylor Elementary's aus Zeleke Taffesse Unter 70 Grenzschutzbeamten und 300 Nominierungen, die im ganzen Bundesstaat eingegangen sind.

"Herr. Z “, wie er genannt wird, ist ein positives Vorbild, das über 30 Nominierungen von der Taylor Elementary School Community erhalten hat und auch der nahe gelegenen Dorothy Hamm Middle School dient. Lesen Sie mehr über Herrn Z und seinen Kollegen hier.

Danke, dass Du mitmachst APS bei der Feier unserer Crossing Guards - im Februar und das ganze Jahr über!


** Helfen Sie der Polizei von Arlington County @ArlingtonVaPD Stellen Sie mehr Crossing Guards ein! **

Wenn jemand, den Sie kennen, daran interessiert ist, Crossing Guard zu werden, ist der Arlington County Polizeibehörde stellt ein und würde gerne von Ihnen hören!  HEUTE BEWERBEN! CGAD-LOGO-ORANGE

Jamestown Crossing Guard als einer der herausragendsten in Virginia für 2018-19 ausgezeichnet

C. G. Patterson 3Die Crossing Guard der Jamestown Elementary School, Kathy Patterson, wurde von der Sichere Wege des Verkehrsministeriums von Virginia zur Schule (VA SRTS) Programm als eines von Virginias herausragendste Crossing Guards für 2018-19.

Patterson wurde von mehreren Jamestown-Familien nominiert und ist einer von sechs Crossing Guards im ganzen Bundesstaat, die die Auszeichnung für 2018-19 erhalten. VA SRTS erhielt in diesem Jahr fast 200 Nominierungen für 72 verschiedene Grenzschutzbeamte im gesamten Commonwealth.

Die Anerkennung ist Teil von Woche der Wertschätzung der Grenzwache, ein jährliches Sichere Schulwege Feier zur Anerkennung der Crossing Guards für ihre entscheidende Rolle auf dem sicheren Weg zum Schulnetzwerk.

TREFFE KATHY:  Schau dir diesen Spaß an Video, Kapitel 6 von Arlingtons autofreie Diät Geschichten, der Sie mit Kathy bekannt macht - und einigen Mitgliedern ihres Jamestown /APS Fanclub!

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Kenmore Crossing Guard Almaz Abebe wurde für 2017-18 zu einem der herausragendsten in Virginia ernannt

FOTO-Almaz_Abebe (2)Kenmore Middle School Crossing Guard Almaz Abebe wurde von der anerkannt Sichere Wege des Verkehrsministeriums von Virginia zur Schule (VA SRTS) Programm als eines von Virginias herausragendste Crossing Guards für das Schuljahr 2017-18. VA SRTS erhielt in diesem Jahr über 150 Nominierungen für 76 verschiedene Grenzschutzbeamte im gesamten Commonwealth. Abebe ist einer von sechs Crossing Guards im ganzen Bundesstaat, die als einer der herausragendsten in Virginia anerkannt werden. Die Ehre ist ein Teil von Woche der Wertschätzung der Grenzwache, eine jährliche VA SRTS-Feier, bei der Crossing Guards für ihre entscheidende Rolle auf dem sicheren Weg zum Schulnetzwerk ausgezeichnet werden.

Abebe wurde von einer Kenmore-Familie nominiert und ist die stets wachsame Grenzwächterin, die vor Tagesanbruch und bei jeder Entlassung am Nachmittag bei jedem Wetter auf ihrem Posten in der belebten Carlin Springs Road steht. Bekannt für ihre Stärke, ihr Bewusstsein und ihre Professionalität behält sie die Kontrolle über den Fluss von Bussen, Autos, Baufahrzeugen, Fußgängern und gelegentlichen Radfahrern, die durch ihre Kreuzung fahren, und konzentriert sich weiterhin auf die Gewährleistung der Sicherheit der Schüler.

Die Familie, die Abebe nominiert hat, erinnert sich, wie sie eines Tages Anfang September eine übereifrige Sechstklässlerin davor bewahrt hat, fast überfahren zu werden. Laut den Eltern des Schülers „blinkten alle Ampeln um Kenmore gelb. Die Polizei stationierte einen Kreuzer, um den Verkehr zu stoppen, damit der Grenzwächter die Kinder sicher überqueren kann. Mein Kind, das neu in der Mittelschule war und sich seiner Umgebung nicht bewusst war, stieg vom Bordstein in den Gegenverkehr. Frau Abebe hob sie körperlich von der Straße auf den Bürgersteig zurück. Ich sah den gesamten Vorfall aus zwei Blocks Entfernung und alles, was ich denken konnte, bis Frau Abebe sie wieder auf den Bürgersteig brachte, war: "Mein Kind wäre an ihrem ersten Tag auf dem Weg zur Mittelschule fast gestorben." Ich bin unglaublich dankbar. “

Abebe ist seit Februar 2015 bei der Crossing Guard Unit. Sie ist seit ihrem Start in der 3rd Street und der S. Carlin Springs Road stationiert. Sie hat auch eine zweite Kreuzung an der Patrick Henry Elementary School. "Wir sind sehr stolz auf Almaz, diese Anerkennung erhalten zu haben", sagte Kenmore-Direktor David McBride. "Sie gibt den Schülern das Gefühl, sicher zu sein, wenn sie die Carlin Springs Road überqueren, und ihr Lächeln ist das erste, das sie sehen, wenn sie zur Schule kommen."


Ashlawn Crossing Guard Ana Hernandez als eine der herausragendsten in Virginia für 2016-17 anerkannt

Ana Hernandez, Cross Guard Guard der Ashlawn Elementary School, wurde vom Programm für sichere Wege zur Schule des Verkehrsministeriums von Virginia während der Crossing Guard Appreciation Week 2017 als Virginia's herausragendste Crossing Guards anerkannt.

Hernandez, der von Ashlawn-Eltern nominiert wurde, ist einer von sechs Grenzwächtern, die die Ehre erhalten. Hernandez ist der immer lächelnde Grenzwächter in Ashlawn, der Regen, Schnee oder Sonnenschein hat. Sie wird von denen beschrieben, die sie als fröhlich und fürsorglich nominierten und sich immer die Zeit nahmen, den Kindern die Bedeutung der Fußgängersicherheit zu erklären. Es ist bekannt, dass Hernandez eine feste Kontrolle über den Fluss von Bussen, Autos, Baufahrzeugen, Bikern und Fußgängern hat, die durch ihre Kreuzung fahren und geduldig, aber fest daran arbeiten, die Sicherheit der Studenten zu gewährleisten. Wenn Sie unsicher sind, werden Sie sie sicher pfeifen hören!

Ein Elternteil, der Hernandez nominiert hatte, behauptete: "Jeder ist insgeheim froh, wenn man an ihrer Seite warten muss, bis der Verkehr vorbei ist, weil Ana sofort Sonne in Ihr Leben bringt, unabhängig vom tatsächlichen Wetter." Der gleiche Elternteil fuhr fort: „Nach 20 Jahren auf diesem Weg (zwischen meinen eigenen Kindern und jetzt als Ashlawn-Mitarbeiter) kann ich sagen, dass kein anderer Grenzwächter der fröhlichen, geschickten und liebenswürdigen Ana Hernandez nahe kommt! ”

„An jedem Schultag sind unsere Grenzschutzbeamten in der Gemeinde unterwegs und schaffen eine sichere Umgebung, in der Kinder zu Fuß und mit dem Fahrrad zur Schule gehen können. Ana geht konsequent über das hinaus, indem sie Kindern die Bedeutung der Fußgängersicherheit beibringt. Ihr Engagement für das Wohlergehen der Studenten verkörpert den Geist des Cross Guard-Programms und wir freuen uns, dass sie für ihre unermüdlichen Bemühungen Anerkennung erhält “, sagte Polizeichef Jay Farr.

Hernandez ist seit August 2014 bei der Crossing Guard Unit. Seit ihrem Start ist sie in Ashlawn in der N. 8th St. und in der Manchester St. Sie hat auch eine zweite Kreuzung an der Barrett Elementary School.

"Ana ist erstaunlich, was sie tut und wie sie mit unseren Schülern und unserer Gemeinde umgeht", sagte Judy Apostolico-Buck, Direktorin von Ashlawn. „Sie ist energisch und immer glücklich. Ich möchte ihr zu dieser Ehre gratulieren. “

Hernandez wurde am Mittwoch, dem 8. Februar 2017, von der Polizeibehörde des Landkreises Arlington und der Gemeinde Ashlawn am Tag der Anerkennung der Crossing Guard anerkannt.

Der Crossing Guard Appreciation Day ist eine landesweite Veranstaltung, die vom Virginia Safe Routes to School-Programm gesponsert wird, um sich bei denen zu bedanken, die den Schülern helfen, die Straße auf dem Weg zur und von der Schule jeden Tag sicher zu überqueren.

Crossing Guard Appreciation Day/Week

2021_CGAD_Logo.smallThousands of APS students regularly walk and bike to school with assistance from the 25+ Crossing Guards who make up the Arlington County Police Department Crossing Guard Unit. Most guards cover more than one school at both arrival and dismissal time each day. In addition to helping students who walk and bike, Arlington’s Crossing Guards also help ensure that school bus riders arrive at school safely.

Crossing Guards are vital to SRTS. They provide adult supervision of students walking to and from school and help to ensure student safety. Crossing guards also model proper pedestrian behaviors and encourage students to make use of crosswalks and signals. Thanks to Crossing Guards, walking to school can be one of the best parts of a student’s dayl.

Crossing Guards also do their job every school day, in all weather conditions. With shorter daylight hours, cold temperatures and sometimes treacherous conditions, February can be one of the toughest times on the job for Crossing Guards. Crossing Guard Appreciation Week is a way to remind them how much we appreciate and value their service every day.

Crossing Guard Appreciation Day/Week is a national Safe Routes to School celebration recognizing Crossing Guards for the critical role they play in the SRTS network. The annual event is held during the second week of February. APS honors our Crossing Guards by celebrating the one-day event over an entire week – Crossing Guard Appreciation Week. Scroll down for our other February celebration – Love the Bus Week!

Crossing Guard Appreciation Day 2021

Due to COVID-19 and ongoing school closures, the 2021 APS celebration will be different. In the past, APS SRTS has encouraged families to nominate guards for Virginia’s Most Outstanding Crossing Guard Award, handed out gifts like lunchboxes, sunglasses and water bottles, and asked individual schools, PTAs and students to show their appreciation any way they wanted during our week-long Crossing Guard Appreciation celebration.

This year, since APS schools haven’t reopened, our Crossing Guards are not yet back on the job. And with many school divisions across the state learning virtually, the Virginia SRTS Program has made the decision NOT to host the Most Outstanding Crossing Guard Awards this year. But we still appreciate our Crossing Guards!

Find a Way to Celebrate Crossing Guards in February 2021

APS encourages students, families, and schools to recognize these committed individuals throughout the month of February as part of APS SRTS Crossing Guard Appreciation 2021. Need ideas? Here are resources and tips for 2021 from Virginia SRTS. Scroll down for “evergreen” suggestions from APS SRTS.

How Can You Reach Your Crossing Guard(s)?  Since you may not be seeing your Crossing Guard this February, feel free to forward your greetings (in words, pictures or video), or take a photo of your handmade card, drawing or note and send by e-mail to APS Safe Routes to School Coordinator at headsup@apsva.us.

Or to send directly to the Arlington County Police Department’s Crossing Guard Unit, here is the mailing address:

Linette Robinson
Public Safety Support Supervisor
Arlington County Police Department
1425 N. Courthouse Rd.
Arlington, VA 22201

Be sure to share your 2021 experience on Twitter using the hashtag #CGAD2021 and #crossingguardappreciation, tag the Arlington County Police Department, @ArlingtonVaPD and APS Safe Routes to School, @APSsaferoutes

Hopefully next February we can resume our traditional Crossing Guard Appreciation celebrations and bring back the Most Outstanding Crossing Guard Awards. When that time comes, or once students return to school this year, here are some “evergreen” suggestions for recognizing our Crossing Guards (see Virginia SRTS Resources for templates, signs, graphics, and more):

  • Make thank you cards to give to your Crossing Guard on the way to or from school (find thank you card templates here)
  • Write and sing songs or recite poems thanking your Crossing Guard for their help
  • Bring your guard some cookies, donuts or other treats they can enjoy after their shift
  • Write thank you notes from parents and school staff to deliver in person or send in with students. Principals may also write official letters of appreciation for students to deliver
  • Check out ideas in the Virginia Safe Routes to School Crossing Guard Appreciation Learn It Do It Live It Guide
  • Use these social media graphics to get the word out to your school community!
  • Share your experience on Twitter using the hashtag #APSCrossingGuard, tag the Arlington County Police Department, @ArlingtonVaPD and APS Safe Routes to School, @APSsaferoutes

Love the Bus Week 2021APS Bus Love Sticker Graphic

Love the Bus Week is a national event hosted by the American School Bus Council to express appreciation of school bus drivers. Like Crossing Guards, bus drivers report before sunrise and complete their last route after dark. Arlington Transportation Partners (ATP), APS’ partner in supporting APS Go!, understands the importance of riding buses. After all, riding the bus, just like biking, walking and carpooling, is a healthy, sustainable way for APS students to commute to/from school.

Find a Way to Celebrate Love the Bus Week in February 2021

  • If your child is school-bus eligible, be sure to let them ride the bus when schools reopen!
  • If your student is back on the school bus already, suggest they make a Valentine to give to their driver to celebrate Love the Bus in February.
  • Whether or not your student is on the bus this February:
    • Make thank you cards, draw pictures, take photos/videos for your bus driver.
    • Complete this I Love the Bus Because Worksheet to tell your bus driver why you love the bus
    • Write thank you notes from parents and school staff
  • Then to deliver your greetings, send any messages, photos and videos — or take a photo of your handmade work — and send by e-mail to APS Safe Routes to School Coordinator at headsup@apsva.us.
    Or
    Send by USPS mail to:

    Safe Routes to School Coordinator
    APS Facilities & Operations
    2770 South Taylor Street
    Arlington, VA 22206
  • Students K-12 can get an iRide SmarTrip card. The iRide card gives students discounted $1 rides on ART buses 24/7 (full-price fares apply on Metrobus and Metrorail). Riding the bus is just one way to encourage independence in teens.
  • APS employees and parents can ride public buses (and other transit) to get to APS schools as well! Every APS school and site has at least one bus route that stops within a half-mile radius, making the bus convenient as well as environmentally friendly.
  • Try one of several websites to help plan your trip on a public bus, including Google Maps, Car Free Near Me, CarFreeAtoZ, or Metro’s Trip Planner. Transit is a good app to download to your smart phone for trip planning on the spot. And be sure to check out the whole list of Transportation Choices on the APS Go! website.
  • Share your experience on Twitter using the hashtag #APSBusLove and tag the APS Transportation Department, @APSSchoolBus, as well as Arlington Transportation Partners, @ATPCommutes

Taylor Crossing Guard Honored as One of Virginia’s Most Outstanding for 2019-20

2019 Outstanding Crossing Guard Zeleke TafesseFor the fourth consecutive year, an Arlington crossing guard has been named Most Outstanding Crossing Guard. The Virginia Dept. of Transportation selected Taylor Elementary’s Zeleke Taffesse from among 70 crossing guards and 300 nominations received throughout the state.

“Mr. Z,” as he is known, is a positive role model, who received over 30 nominations from the Taylor Elementary School community and also serves nearby Dorothy Hamm Middle School. Read more about Mr. Z and his fellow honorees here.

Thank you for joining APS in celebrating our Crossing Guards — in February and all year long!


**Help Arlington County Police @ArlingtonVaPD Hire More Crossing Guards!**

If anyone you know is interested in becoming a Crossing Guard, the Arlington County Police Department is hiring and would love to hear from you!  APPLY TODAY! CGAD LOGO-ORANGE

Jamestown Crossing Guard Honored as One of Virginia’s Most Outstanding for 2018-19

CG Patterson 3Jamestown Elementary School Crossing Guard Kathy Patterson has been recognized by the Virginia Department of Transportation’s Safe Routes to School (VA SRTS) program as one of Virginia’s Most Outstanding Crossing Guards for 2018-19.

Nominated by multiple Jamestown families, Patterson is one of six Crossing Guards state-wide to receive the honor for 2018-19.  VA SRTS received nearly 200 nominations for 72 different crossing guards throughout the Commonwealth this year.

The recognition is part of Crossing Guard Appreciation Week, an annual Safe Routes to School celebration recognizing Crossing Guards for the critical role they play in the safe routes to school network.

MEET KATHY:  Check out this fun video, Chapter #6 of Arlington’s Car-Free Diet Stories, which introduces you to Kathy — and a few members of her Jamestown/APS fan club!

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Kenmore Crossing Guard Almaz Abebe Named One of Virginia’s Most Outstanding for 2017-18

PHOTO-Almaz_Abebe (2)Kenmore Middle School crossing guard Almaz Abebe has been recognized by the Virginia Department of Transportation’s Safe Routes to School (VA SRTS) program as one of Virginia’s Most Outstanding Crossing Guards for the 2017-18 school year. VA SRTS received over 150 nominations for 76 different crossing guards throughout the Commonwealth this year. Abebe is one of six crossing guards state-wide to be recognized as one of Virginia’s Most Outstanding. The honor is part of Crossing Guard Appreciation Week, an annual VA SRTS celebration recognizing Crossing Guards for the critical role they play in the safe routes to school network.

Nominated by a Kenmore family, Abebe is the ever-vigilant crossing guard who is at her post on busy Carlin Springs Road before dawn and again at afternoon dismissal every school day, in all weather conditions. Known for her strength, awareness, and professionalism, she maintains firm control over the flow of buses, cars, construction vehicles, pedestrians, and occasional cyclists who travel through her intersection, remaining focused on ensuring student safety.

The family who nominated Abebe recalls how, “One day in early September, she saved an over-eager sixth grader from nearly being run over.” According to the student’s parent, “All of the traffic lights surrounding Kenmore were blinking yellow. The police department stationed a cruiser to stop traffic so that the crossing guard would be able to cross the children safely. My child, new to middle school and oblivious to her surroundings, stepped off the curb into oncoming traffic. Ms. Abebe physically lifted her out of the street and back onto the sidewalk. I saw the entire incident from two blocks away, and all I could think until Ms. Abebe got her back onto the sidewalk was ‘My child almost died on her first day walking to middle school.’ I am incredibly thankful.”

Abebe has been with the crossing guard unit since February 2015. She has been stationed at 3rd Street and S. Carlin Springs Road since she started. She also has a second crossing at Patrick Henry Elementary School. “We are very proud of Almaz for receiving this recognition,” said Kenmore Principal David McBride. “She makes students feel safe while crossing Carlin Springs Rd., and hers is the first smile they see as they come to school.”


Ashlawn Crossing Guard Ana Hernandez Recognized as One of Virginia’s Most Outstanding for 2016-17

Ashlawn Elementary School crossing guard Ana Hernandez was recognized by the Virginia Department of Transportation’s Safe Routes to School program as Virginia’s Most Outstanding Crossing Guards during Crossing Guard Appreciation Week 2017.

Hernandez, who was nominated by Ashlawn parents, is one of six crossing guards to receive the honor. Hernandez is the ever smiling crossing guard at Ashlawn who is present rain, snow, or shine. She is described by those who nominated her as cheerful and caring, always taking the time to explain to kids the importance of pedestrian safety. Hernandez is known to have a firm control over the flow of buses, cars, construction vehicles, bikers, and pedestrians who travel through her intersection, working patiently but firmly to ensure the safety of students. If you are being unsafe, you are sure to hear her whistle!

One parent who nominated Hernandez claimed that, “everyone is secretly glad when one has to wait by her side for traffic to pass because Ana brings instant sun into your life, no matter the actual weather.” The same parent went on to say that, “after 20 years of walking this route (between my own children attending and now as Ashlawn staff), I can say no other crossing guard comes close to the cheerful, skilled, and gracious Ana Hernandez!”

“Each school day, our crossing guards are out in the community creating a safe environment for children to walk and bike to school. Ana consistently goes above and beyond by teaching children the importance of pedestrian safety. Her dedication to the well being of students embodies the spirit of the crossing guard program and we are pleased she is receiving recognition for her tireless efforts” said Chief of Police Jay Farr.

Hernandez has been with the crossing guard unit since August 2014. She has been at Ashlawn at N. 8th St. and Manchester St. since she started. She also has a second crossing at Barrett Elementary School.

“Ana is amazing at what she does and how she interacts with our students and our community,” said Ashlawn Principal Judy Apostolico-Buck. “She is energetic and is always happy. I want to congratulate her on this honor.”

Hernandez was recognized by the Arlington County Police Department and the Ashlawn community on Crossing Guard Appreciation Day, Wednesday, February 8, 2017.

Crossing Guard Appreciation Day is a statewide event sponsored by the Virginia Safe Routes to School program as a way of saying thank you to those who help students cross the street safely on their way to and from school every day.