道后警卫欣赏日/周

CGAD_2022_Logo数千 APS 学生们定期步行和骑自行车上学,并由20多名 阿灵顿县警察局过境警卫队。 大多数警卫每天在到达和解雇时间覆盖一所学校。 除了帮助步行和骑自行车的学生外,阿灵顿的过路警卫队还帮助确保校车乘客安全到达学校。

交叉后卫对于SRTS至关重要。 他们为学生上下学提供成人指导,并帮助确保学生安全。 人行横道警卫人员还可以模仿适当的行人行为,并鼓励学生使用人行横道和信号灯。 多亏了Crossing Guards,步行去学校可以成为学生一日游中最好的部分之一。

过境警卫队也要在每个天气情况下,在所有天气条件下做好工作。 由于白天时间较短,气温较低,有时甚至是危险的天气,XNUMX月对于过境警卫队来说可能是最艰难的时期之一。 穿越警卫队感谢周是一种提醒他们每天我们赞赏和重视他们的服务的方式。

道后警卫欣赏日/周 是一个国家 学校的安全路线 庆祝活动表彰了穿越警卫队在SRTS网络中发挥的关键作用。 年度活动在XNUMX月的第二周举行。 APS 在整整一周内庆祝为期一天的活动,以此来纪念我们的过路警卫队– 过境警卫欣赏周。 向下滚动以查看我们XNUMX月的其他庆祝活动– 爱公交周!

2022年过境警卫欣赏周

MTT综合医学训练疗法国际教学中心 APS Crossing Guard Appreciation Week 庆祝活动将于 7 月 11 日至 XNUMX 日举行。 在过去, APS SRTS鼓励家庭提名弗吉尼亚州最杰出的过路警卫队奖的警卫人员,发放午餐盒,太阳镜和水瓶等礼物,并要求个别学校,PTA和学生在我们为期一周的过境警卫队感谢期间以任何方式表达他们的赞赏庆典。

寻找一种方式庆祝2022年XNUMX月的过境警卫

APS 鼓励学生,家庭和学校在XNUMX月份中认可这些敬业的个人,作为 APS SRTS穿越后卫欣赏。 需要想法吗? 这是 资源来自弗吉尼亚 SRTS 的提示 承认我们的过境警卫 (见 弗吉尼亚州SRTS资源 用于模板,标牌,图形等):

  • 制作感谢卡,以便在上学或上学时送给Crossing Guard(查找感谢卡模板) 此处)
  • 写作和唱歌或背诵诗歌,感谢您的Crossing Guard的帮助
  • 带上您的警卫人员一些饼干,甜甜圈或其他在轮班后可以享受的美食
  • 写下家长和学校工作人员的感谢信,以便亲自交付或与学生一起寄出。 校长还可以写正式的感谢信,供学生讲授
  • 在“弗吉尼亚过马路警卫队感谢之路”中查看想法 学习做到这一点 产品指南
  • 使用这些 社交媒体图形s将您的消息传播到您的学校社区!
  • 使用主题标签在Twitter上分享您的经验 #APS穿越后卫标记为阿灵顿县警察局, @ArlingtonVaPD 和 APS 安全上学路线, @APS安全路线

确保使用标签在Twitter上分享您2022年的经历 #CGAD2022 #crossingguard赞赏标记为阿灵顿县警察局, @ArlingtonVaPD 和 APS 安全上学路线, @APS安全路线

爱2022年的巴士周APS 巴士爱贴纸图形

爱公交周 是由 美国校车理事会 对校车司机表示感谢。 像过境警卫一样,公交车司机在日出之前报告,并在天黑后完成最后一条路线。 阿灵顿运输合作伙伴 (ATP), APS合作伙伴 APS 搜寻!,了解乘坐巴士的重要性。 毕竟,就像骑自行车,步行和拼车一样,乘坐公交车是一种健康,可持续的生活方式 APS 往返学校的学生。

寻找一种方式庆祝2022年XNUMX月的爱公交周

校车

  • 如果您的孩子符合校车资格,请务必让他们乘坐校车!
  • 制作一个情人节送给您的司机,以庆祝二月份的 Love the Bus。
  • 制作感谢卡,画图,为公共汽车司机拍照/录像。

ART 和 Metrobus 青少年ArlCo_SmarTrip卡_CS6

  • 学生K-12可以得到 iRide SmarTrip卡。 iRide卡为学生提供全天候1/24的ART公交车7美元的折扣(Metrobus和Metrorail票价为全价)。 乘坐巴士只是前往 鼓励独立 在十几岁。
  • APS 员工和父母可以骑 公共巴士(和其他公交) 到达,得到 APS schools as well!学校也一样! Every每一个 APS 学校和站点至少有一条公交车路线在半英里半径内停靠,这使公交车既方便又环保。
  • 尝试以下几个网站之一,以帮助您计划乘坐公共巴士的行程,包括 谷歌Maps, 我附近的无车, 汽车之星地铁旅行计划. 过境 是一个很好的应用程序,可以将其下载到您的智能手机以进行当场旅行计划。 并确保检查出整个清单 交通选择 在 APS Go!走! website.网站。
  • 使用#标签在Twitter上分享您的经验APSBusLove并标记了 APS 运输部 @APS校车以及阿灵顿运输合作伙伴, @ATP通勤

泰勒·克罗斯(Taylor Crossing)后卫被授予弗吉尼亚州2019-20年度最杰出人物之一

2019杰出的过路后卫Zeleke Tafesse阿灵顿过境警卫连续第四年被评为最杰出的过境警卫。 弗吉尼亚交通运输部选择了泰勒小学 泽莱克·塔菲斯(Zeleke Taffesse) 全州共收到70名过境警卫和300个提名。

“先生。 众所周知,“ Z”是一个积极的榜样,他获得了泰勒小学社区的30多个提名,还为附近的多萝西·哈姆中学(Dorothy Hamm Middle School)服务。 进一步了解Z先生和他的 获奖者在这里.

谢谢你加入 APS 庆祝我们的过境卫兵-在二月和全年!


**帮助阿灵顿县警察 @ArlingtonVaPD 雇用更多的穿越警卫!**

如果您认识的任何人有兴趣成为一名过路警卫, 阿灵顿县警察局 正在招聘,希望收到您的来信!  立即申请! CGAD徽标橙色

Jamestown Crossing Guard荣获2018-19年度弗吉尼亚州最杰出之一

CG帕特森3詹姆斯敦小学交叉口卫兵凯西·帕特森(Kathy Patterson)已获得 弗吉尼亚州交通运输部上学的安全路线 (VA SRTS)程序之一 弗吉尼亚州最杰出的过境警卫 对于2018-19。

帕特森(Patterson)由詹姆斯敦(Jamestown)多个家庭提名,是全州获得2018-19年度荣誉的六名过境警卫之一。 VA SRTS今年获得了整个英联邦200个不同过境点的近72个提名。

认可是 过境警卫欣赏周,每年 学校的安全路线 庆祝活动向交叉警卫队授予了他们在通往学校网络的安全路线中所发挥的关键作用。

认识凯蒂:  看看这个乐趣 视频,第6章 阿灵顿的无车饮食 我们的故事,向您介绍Kathy,以及她的Jamestown /APS 粉丝俱乐部!

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Kenmore Crossing后卫Almaz Abebe被评为2017-18年度弗吉尼亚最杰出的球员之一

照片-Almaz_Abebe(2)肯莫尔中学路口警卫 阿尔玛兹·安倍(Almaz Abebe) 已被 弗吉尼亚州交通运输部上学的安全路线 (VA SRTS)程序之一 弗吉尼亚州最杰出的过境警卫 为2017-18学年。 VA SRTS今年在整个英联邦地区共获得150个不同的过境警卫的76多个提名。 安倍晋三是全州被公认为弗吉尼亚最杰出的六名近卫之一。 荣誉是 过境警卫欣赏周,这是每年一次的VA SRTS庆祝活动,旨在奖励交叉警卫队在安全的学校网络路线中发挥的关键作用。

由肯莫尔(Kenmore)家族提名,安倍晋三(Abebe)始终保持警惕,在黎明前在繁忙的卡林斯普林斯大街(Carlin Springs Road)上班,在各个天气条件下的每个学校每天下午解散。 她以自己的力量,意识和专业素养着称,对通过交叉路口行驶的公交车,汽车,工程车辆,行人和不定期骑自行车的人保持严格的控制,始终致力于确保学生安全。

提名安倍晋三的家人回忆说:“ XNUMX月初的一天,她救了一个急切的六年级生免于被逼倒。” 根据学生家长的说法,“肯莫尔周围的所有交通信号灯都闪烁黄色。 警察局派出巡洋舰阻止交通,以使过境警卫能够安全地越过孩子。 我的孩子刚上初中,对周围的环境一无所知,便从路旁驶入了迎面而来的交通。 安倍贝女士身体将她抬出街道,然后回到人行道上。 我从两个街区以外的地方看到了整个事件,直到阿贝贝女士回到人行道上,我所能想到的是:“我的孩子上初学的第一天差点丧命。” 我非常感谢。”

自2015年3月起,安倍晋(Abebe)就一直在过境警卫队任职。自从她开始任职以来,她一直驻扎在第三街和S. Carlin Springs Road。 她还在帕特里克·亨利小学进行第二次穿越。 肯莫尔校长戴维·麦克布莱德(David McBride)说:“我们为Almaz受到这一认可感到自豪。 “她穿过加林斯普林斯路时使学生感到安全,这是他们上学时看到的第一个微笑。”


阿什劳恩穿越后卫安娜·埃尔南德斯被公认为弗吉尼亚州2016-17年度最杰出球员之一

阿什劳恩小学过境警卫安娜·埃尔南德斯(Ana Hernandez)在2017年过境警卫感谢周期间被弗吉尼亚州交通运输部的安全上学路线计划认可为弗吉尼亚州最杰出的过境警卫。

由阿什劳恩父母提名的埃尔南德斯是获得此项荣誉的六名过境警卫之一。 埃尔南德斯(Hernandez)是阿什劳恩(Ashlawn)面带微笑的过境后卫,时常下雨,下雪或发光。 那些提名她为开朗和关怀的人形容她,总是花时间向孩子们解释行人安全的重要性。 众所周知,埃尔南德斯(Hernandez)对通过交叉路口行驶的公共汽车,汽车,工程车辆,骑自行车的人和行人的流量有严格的控制,他们会耐心而坚定地工作以确保学生的安全。 如果您不安全,则一定会听到她的哨声!

提名埃尔南德斯(Hernandez)的一位父母声称:“每个人都必须为她的交通而倍感欣慰,因为无论实际天气如何,安娜都会为您带去阳光。” 同一位家长接着说:“经过这条路线走了20年(在我自己的孩子就读之间,现在是Ashlawn的工作人员之间),我不能说其他的过境点能接近开朗,熟练和亲切的Ana Hernandez! ”

“每个上学日,我们的过境人员都在社区中,为孩子们步行和骑自行车上学创造了一个安全的环境。 安娜通过教导孩子们行人安全的重要性,不断超越自我。 她为学生的健康奉献体现了道口警卫计划的精神,我们很高兴她的不懈努力得到了认可。”警察局长杰伊·法尔(Jay Farr)说。

埃尔南德斯(Hernandez)自2014年8月以来一直在过境警卫队任职。自从她开始工作以来,她就一直在N. XNUMXth St.和Manchester St.的Ashlawn工作。 她还在Barrett小学进行第二次穿越。

阿什劳恩校长Judy Apostolico-Buck说:“安娜在她的工作以及她与我们的学生和社区的互动方面令人赞叹。” “她精力充沛,总是很开心。 我要祝贺她获得这一荣誉。”

埃尔南德斯在8年2017月XNUMX日星期三的过境警卫感谢日被阿灵顿县警察局和阿什劳恩社区承认。

穿越警卫队感谢日是一项全州性活动,由弗吉尼亚州安全入学路线计划赞助,向那些每天帮助学生在往返学校的途中安全过马路的人表示感谢。

Crossing Guard Appreciation Day/Week

2021_CGAD_Logo.smallThousands of APS students regularly walk and bike to school with assistance from the 25+ Crossing Guards who make up the Arlington County Police Department Crossing Guard Unit. Most guards cover more than one school at both arrival and dismissal time each day. In addition to helping students who walk and bike, Arlington’s Crossing Guards also help ensure that school bus riders arrive at school safely.

Crossing Guards are vital to SRTS. They provide adult supervision of students walking to and from school and help to ensure student safety. Crossing guards also model proper pedestrian behaviors and encourage students to make use of crosswalks and signals. Thanks to Crossing Guards, walking to school can be one of the best parts of a student’s dayl.

Crossing Guards also do their job every school day, in all weather conditions. With shorter daylight hours, cold temperatures and sometimes treacherous conditions, February can be one of the toughest times on the job for Crossing Guards. Crossing Guard Appreciation Week is a way to remind them how much we appreciate and value their service every day.

Crossing Guard Appreciation Day/Week is a national Safe Routes to School celebration recognizing Crossing Guards for the critical role they play in the SRTS network. The annual event is held during the second week of February. APS honors our Crossing Guards by celebrating the one-day event over an entire week – Crossing Guard Appreciation Week. Scroll down for our other February celebration – Love the Bus Week!

Crossing Guard Appreciation Day 2021

Due to COVID-19 and ongoing school closures, the 2021 APS celebration will be different. In the past, APS SRTS has encouraged families to nominate guards for Virginia’s Most Outstanding Crossing Guard Award, handed out gifts like lunchboxes, sunglasses and water bottles, and asked individual schools, PTAs and students to show their appreciation any way they wanted during our week-long Crossing Guard Appreciation celebration.

This year, since APS schools haven’t reopened, our Crossing Guards are not yet back on the job. And with many school divisions across the state learning virtually, the Virginia SRTS Program has made the decision NOT to host the Most Outstanding Crossing Guard Awards this year. But we still appreciate our Crossing Guards!

Find a Way to Celebrate Crossing Guards in February 2021

APS encourages students, families, and schools to recognize these committed individuals throughout the month of February as part of APS SRTS Crossing Guard Appreciation 2021. Need ideas? Here are resources and tips for 2021 from Virginia SRTS. Scroll down for “evergreen” suggestions from APS SRTS.

How Can You Reach Your Crossing Guard(s)?  Since you may not be seeing your Crossing Guard this February, feel free to forward your greetings (in words, pictures or video), or take a photo of your handmade card, drawing or note and send by e-mail to APS Safe Routes to School Coordinator at headsup@apsva.us.

Or to send directly to the Arlington County Police Department’s Crossing Guard Unit, here is the mailing address:

Linette Robinson
Public Safety Support Supervisor
Arlington County Police Department
1425 N. Courthouse Rd.
Arlington, VA 22201

Be sure to share your 2021 experience on Twitter using the hashtag #CGAD2021 and #crossingguardappreciation, tag the Arlington County Police Department, @ArlingtonVaPD and APS Safe Routes to School, @APSsaferoutes

Hopefully next February we can resume our traditional Crossing Guard Appreciation celebrations and bring back the Most Outstanding Crossing Guard Awards. When that time comes, or once students return to school this year, here are some “evergreen” suggestions for recognizing our Crossing Guards (see Virginia SRTS Resources for templates, signs, graphics, and more):

  • Make thank you cards to give to your Crossing Guard on the way to or from school (find thank you card templates here)
  • Write and sing songs or recite poems thanking your Crossing Guard for their help
  • Bring your guard some cookies, donuts or other treats they can enjoy after their shift
  • Write thank you notes from parents and school staff to deliver in person or send in with students. Principals may also write official letters of appreciation for students to deliver
  • Check out ideas in the Virginia Safe Routes to School Crossing Guard Appreciation Learn It Do It Live It Guide
  • Use these social media graphics to get the word out to your school community!
  • Share your experience on Twitter using the hashtag #APSCrossingGuard, tag the Arlington County Police Department, @ArlingtonVaPD and APS Safe Routes to School, @APSsaferoutes

Love the Bus Week 2021APS Bus Love Sticker Graphic

Love the Bus Week is a national event hosted by the American School Bus Council to express appreciation of school bus drivers. Like Crossing Guards, bus drivers report before sunrise and complete their last route after dark. Arlington Transportation Partners (ATP), APS’ partner in supporting APS Go!, understands the importance of riding buses. After all, riding the bus, just like biking, walking and carpooling, is a healthy, sustainable way for APS students to commute to/from school.

Find a Way to Celebrate Love the Bus Week in February 2021

  • If your child is school-bus eligible, be sure to let them ride the bus when schools reopen!
  • If your student is back on the school bus already, suggest they make a Valentine to give to their driver to celebrate Love the Bus in February.
  • Whether or not your student is on the bus this February:
    • Make thank you cards, draw pictures, take photos/videos for your bus driver.
    • Complete this I Love the Bus Because Worksheet to tell your bus driver why you love the bus
    • Write thank you notes from parents and school staff
  • Then to deliver your greetings, send any messages, photos and videos — or take a photo of your handmade work — and send by e-mail to APS Safe Routes to School Coordinator at headsup@apsva.us.
    Or
    Send by USPS mail to:

    Safe Routes to School Coordinator
    APS Facilities & Operations
    2770 South Taylor Street
    Arlington, VA 22206
  • Students K-12 can get an iRide SmarTrip card. The iRide card gives students discounted $1 rides on ART buses 24/7 (full-price fares apply on Metrobus and Metrorail). Riding the bus is just one way to encourage independence in teens.
  • APS employees and parents can ride public buses (and other transit) to get to APS schools as well! Every APS school and site has at least one bus route that stops within a half-mile radius, making the bus convenient as well as environmentally friendly.
  • Try one of several websites to help plan your trip on a public bus, including Google Maps, Car Free Near Me, CarFreeAtoZ, or Metro’s Trip Planner. Transit is a good app to download to your smart phone for trip planning on the spot. And be sure to check out the whole list of Transportation Choices on the APS Go! website.
  • Share your experience on Twitter using the hashtag #APSBusLove and tag the APS Transportation Department, @APSSchoolBus, as well as Arlington Transportation Partners, @ATPCommutes

Taylor Crossing Guard Honored as One of Virginia’s Most Outstanding for 2019-20

2019 Outstanding Crossing Guard Zeleke TafesseFor the fourth consecutive year, an Arlington crossing guard has been named Most Outstanding Crossing Guard. The Virginia Dept. of Transportation selected Taylor Elementary’s Zeleke Taffesse from among 70 crossing guards and 300 nominations received throughout the state.

“Mr. Z,” as he is known, is a positive role model, who received over 30 nominations from the Taylor Elementary School community and also serves nearby Dorothy Hamm Middle School. Read more about Mr. Z and his fellow honorees here.

Thank you for joining APS in celebrating our Crossing Guards — in February and all year long!


**Help Arlington County Police @ArlingtonVaPD Hire More Crossing Guards!**

If anyone you know is interested in becoming a Crossing Guard, the Arlington County Police Department is hiring and would love to hear from you!  APPLY TODAY! CGAD LOGO-ORANGE

Jamestown Crossing Guard Honored as One of Virginia’s Most Outstanding for 2018-19

CG Patterson 3Jamestown Elementary School Crossing Guard Kathy Patterson has been recognized by the Virginia Department of Transportation’s Safe Routes to School (VA SRTS) program as one of Virginia’s Most Outstanding Crossing Guards for 2018-19.

Nominated by multiple Jamestown families, Patterson is one of six Crossing Guards state-wide to receive the honor for 2018-19.  VA SRTS received nearly 200 nominations for 72 different crossing guards throughout the Commonwealth this year.

The recognition is part of Crossing Guard Appreciation Week, an annual Safe Routes to School celebration recognizing Crossing Guards for the critical role they play in the safe routes to school network.

MEET KATHY:  Check out this fun video, Chapter #6 of Arlington’s Car-Free Diet Stories, which introduces you to Kathy — and a few members of her Jamestown/APS fan club!

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Kenmore Crossing Guard Almaz Abebe Named One of Virginia’s Most Outstanding for 2017-18

PHOTO-Almaz_Abebe (2)Kenmore Middle School crossing guard Almaz Abebe has been recognized by the Virginia Department of Transportation’s Safe Routes to School (VA SRTS) program as one of Virginia’s Most Outstanding Crossing Guards for the 2017-18 school year. VA SRTS received over 150 nominations for 76 different crossing guards throughout the Commonwealth this year. Abebe is one of six crossing guards state-wide to be recognized as one of Virginia’s Most Outstanding. The honor is part of Crossing Guard Appreciation Week, an annual VA SRTS celebration recognizing Crossing Guards for the critical role they play in the safe routes to school network.

Nominated by a Kenmore family, Abebe is the ever-vigilant crossing guard who is at her post on busy Carlin Springs Road before dawn and again at afternoon dismissal every school day, in all weather conditions. Known for her strength, awareness, and professionalism, she maintains firm control over the flow of buses, cars, construction vehicles, pedestrians, and occasional cyclists who travel through her intersection, remaining focused on ensuring student safety.

The family who nominated Abebe recalls how, “One day in early September, she saved an over-eager sixth grader from nearly being run over.” According to the student’s parent, “All of the traffic lights surrounding Kenmore were blinking yellow. The police department stationed a cruiser to stop traffic so that the crossing guard would be able to cross the children safely. My child, new to middle school and oblivious to her surroundings, stepped off the curb into oncoming traffic. Ms. Abebe physically lifted her out of the street and back onto the sidewalk. I saw the entire incident from two blocks away, and all I could think until Ms. Abebe got her back onto the sidewalk was ‘My child almost died on her first day walking to middle school.’ I am incredibly thankful.”

Abebe has been with the crossing guard unit since February 2015. She has been stationed at 3rd Street and S. Carlin Springs Road since she started. She also has a second crossing at Patrick Henry Elementary School. “We are very proud of Almaz for receiving this recognition,” said Kenmore Principal David McBride. “She makes students feel safe while crossing Carlin Springs Rd., and hers is the first smile they see as they come to school.”


Ashlawn Crossing Guard Ana Hernandez Recognized as One of Virginia’s Most Outstanding for 2016-17

Ashlawn Elementary School crossing guard Ana Hernandez was recognized by the Virginia Department of Transportation’s Safe Routes to School program as Virginia’s Most Outstanding Crossing Guards during Crossing Guard Appreciation Week 2017.

Hernandez, who was nominated by Ashlawn parents, is one of six crossing guards to receive the honor. Hernandez is the ever smiling crossing guard at Ashlawn who is present rain, snow, or shine. She is described by those who nominated her as cheerful and caring, always taking the time to explain to kids the importance of pedestrian safety. Hernandez is known to have a firm control over the flow of buses, cars, construction vehicles, bikers, and pedestrians who travel through her intersection, working patiently but firmly to ensure the safety of students. If you are being unsafe, you are sure to hear her whistle!

One parent who nominated Hernandez claimed that, “everyone is secretly glad when one has to wait by her side for traffic to pass because Ana brings instant sun into your life, no matter the actual weather.” The same parent went on to say that, “after 20 years of walking this route (between my own children attending and now as Ashlawn staff), I can say no other crossing guard comes close to the cheerful, skilled, and gracious Ana Hernandez!”

“Each school day, our crossing guards are out in the community creating a safe environment for children to walk and bike to school. Ana consistently goes above and beyond by teaching children the importance of pedestrian safety. Her dedication to the well being of students embodies the spirit of the crossing guard program and we are pleased she is receiving recognition for her tireless efforts” said Chief of Police Jay Farr.

Hernandez has been with the crossing guard unit since August 2014. She has been at Ashlawn at N. 8th St. and Manchester St. since she started. She also has a second crossing at Barrett Elementary School.

“Ana is amazing at what she does and how she interacts with our students and our community,” said Ashlawn Principal Judy Apostolico-Buck. “She is energetic and is always happy. I want to congratulate her on this honor.”

Hernandez was recognized by the Arlington County Police Department and the Ashlawn community on Crossing Guard Appreciation Day, Wednesday, February 8, 2017.

Crossing Guard Appreciation Day is a statewide event sponsored by the Virginia Safe Routes to School program as a way of saying thank you to those who help students cross the street safely on their way to and from school every day.