校務委員會諮詢委員會和委員會

學校董事會通過廣泛的委員會和理事會就與學校系統成功運作相關的問題或政策積極徵求社區成員的意見。 校務委員會認為,這種反饋加強了阿靈頓公立學校,並有助於該部門實現其願景。 阿靈頓公立學校就該部門的教學和支持計劃、設施和運營徵求委員會的意見和反饋。

  • 一些委員會在地方、州或國家層面有額外的治理。 政策的“參考資料”部分引用了這種特殊治理。
  • 校務委員會在委員會中尋求阿靈頓公立學校社區的多元化代表,包括學生成員。
  • 委員會的成立或取消只能通過學校董事會的讚成票進行。 可以根據需要建立委員會,就阿靈頓公立學校的教學和支持計劃、設施和運營的各個方面向其提供建議。

根據政策: 政策 B-3.6.30 學校董事會諮詢委員會

請填寫 校務委員會顧問委員會申請 申請以下任何組的預約。

教與學諮詢委員會(ACTL)

教學諮詢委員會(委員會)協助對教學計劃的各個方面進行持續系統的審查,並製定教學改進建議。 理事會報告調查結果,提出解決調查結果的建議,並就改進教學的舉措提供反饋。 理事會使用戰略計劃和計劃評估來集中其工作。 理事會由來自 PTA 和董事會選定的社區團體的任命人員組成。 這些被任命者不受阿靈頓學校董事會的批准。 校董會指定的課題是諮詢委員會支持理事會的工作。 理事會的工作包括:

    1. 審查並提出建議,以改進政策和政策實施程序、課程內容、課程交付和學生成果;
    2. 為新項目和實踐的開發提出建議並提供投入;
    3. 協助學校董事會向社區提供有關學術課程的信息; 和
    4. 不時審查由學校董事會確定的教學主題

政策實施程序 B-3.6.30 PIP-1 ACTL 委員會

主席:貝瑟尼·薩頓

教學諮詢委員會 (ACTL) 小組委員會

教學諮詢委員會小組委員會(小組委員會)通過協助理事會在小組委員會的重點領域執行其職責,支持教學和學習諮詢委員會(委員會)的工作。 小組委員會與理事會領導層和工作人員聯絡員合作,確定年度優先事項、重點領域和可交付成果。 小組委員會每年的可交付成果可能包括但不限於調查結果、解決調查結果的建議、年度報告和其他工作產品。 每個小組委員會負責:

    • 倡導內容和/或程序領域,
    • 審查教學組件和材料
    • 根據需要審查內容/計劃領域特定的學生表現數據,以及
    • 提出建議以支持對教學計劃的改進,從而對學生的成績和員工的發展產生積極影響。

每個小組委員會還關注行業趨勢、與阿靈頓公立學校課程設置、教師專業發展和教師保留相關的職業道路。 根據州和聯邦法律,一些小組委員會可能有額外的責任或必須遵守的指導方針。

政策實施程序 B-3.6.30 PIP-2 ACTL 小組委員會

阿靈頓特殊教育諮詢委員會(ASEAC)

阿靈頓特殊教育諮詢委員會 (ASEAC) 是當地特殊教育諮詢委員會,根據弗吉尼亞州行政法規 8VAC20-81-230(D) 建立,並編入校務委員會政策 B-3.6.30。 根據弗吉尼亞州行政法規 8VAC20-81-230(D) 和校務委員會政策 B-3.6.30,ASEAC 的職能如下:

    1. 就殘疾學生教育方面的需求向當地學校部門提出建議;
    2. 參與製定滿足殘疾學生已確定需求的優先事項和戰略;
    3. 向部門主管提交有關殘疾學生教育的定期報告和建議,以轉交學校董事會;
    4. 協助阿靈頓公立學校向社區解釋計劃,以滿足殘疾學生和兒童對教育服務的特殊需求;
    5. 在提交給當地學校董事會之前,審查提供特殊教育和相關服務的政策和程序; 和
    6. 參與審查當地學區的年度計劃,如 2 VAC 8-20-81 的 B 230 小節所述。

ASEAC 作為與殘疾學生教育有關的小組委員會參與 ACTL 流程。

主席:凱西·佩里卡克

政策實施程序 B3.6.30 PIP5 阿靈頓特殊教育諮詢委員會

學校健康諮詢委員會(SHAB)

學校健康諮詢委員會 (SHAB) 是阿靈頓公立學校的學校健康諮詢委員會,根據弗吉尼亞法典 §22.1-275.1 成立。 SHAB 協助制定學校部門的衛生政策以及評估學校衛生、健康教育、學校環境和衛生服務的狀況。 SHAB 每年向任何相關學校、阿靈頓學校董事會、弗吉尼亞衛生部和弗吉尼亞教育部報告學區學生健康的狀況和需求。 學校董事會可以要求 SHAB 向學校董事會推薦與患有急性或慢性疾病或病症的兒童有關的程序,包括但不限於針對任何危及生命的情況的適當緊急程序以及指定學校人員實施適當的緊急情況程序。 對患有急性或慢性疾病或病症的兒童的程序應適當考慮管轄範圍內學校的規模和人員編制。 SHAB 作為與健康教育相關事宜的小組委員會參與了教學諮詢委員會的進程。

主席:德西里·賈沃斯基

政策實施程序 B3.6.30 PIP4 學校健康顧問委員會

預算諮詢委員會

預算諮詢委員會 (BAC) 就財政誠信、公眾信心和納稅人資源的明智管理向阿靈頓公立學校提供建議。 BAC 就與運營預算的編制和編制以及學校系統的財務管理相關的政策和做法提出建議; 就預算優先事項向阿靈頓學校董事會提出建議; 就學監的擬議預算在多大程度上支持最佳財務實踐和學校董事會的優先事項提供建議; 協助對社區進行預算編制過程的教育; 並根據董事會的要求提供有關特殊主題或問題的研究和建議。

主席:埃里克·沙利文

政策實施程序 B3.6.30 PIP6 預算諮詢委員會

學校設施和基本建設計劃諮詢委員會

學校設施和基本建設計劃諮詢委員會 (FAC) 通過以下方式協助學校董事會對學校設施和基本建設改進計劃進行持續、系統的審查: 就兩年一次的學校設施和學生住宿計劃向學校董事會提出建議,通知十年資本改善計劃和為此提供資金的建議; 根據要求,就具體問題向學校董事會提供建議; 就理事會確定的有關資本計劃的領域提供建議; 協助學校董事會向社區提供有關學校設施和基本建設計劃的信息; 接收和整合社區關於學校設施和資本改善計劃的意見,以及接收和整合來自建築層面規劃委員會的意見。

主席:羅莎·切尼

政策實施程序 B-3.6.30 PIP-3 設施諮詢委員會

學生顧問委員會

學生諮詢委員會的成立是為了提供校董會與阿靈頓公立學校學生之間的溝通渠道,希望通過更好地了解學生和校董會的觀點和責任,更好地解決相互關心的問題。

主席:奧利弗·安德斯

工作人員聯絡人:Jeannette Allen,中學課程主任

聯合縣委員會和學校委員會諮詢委員會

阿靈頓學校董事會和阿靈頓縣董事會聯合委員會根據為委員會制定的章程進行管理。 成立了以下聯合委員會。

運輸選擇諮詢委員會(ACTC)

由阿靈頓縣董事會和阿靈頓學校董事會聯合特許和任命,旨在為交通選擇聯合委員會提供建議,該委員會將製定和實施旨在為阿靈頓公立學校學生、家庭和教職員工提供更多交通選擇的計劃。 交通選擇諮詢委員會的任務是向交通選擇聯合委員會就制定和促進這些交通選擇的戰略和行動計劃提供建議

主席:空缺

阿靈頓兒童,青年與家庭夥伴關係 (APCYF)

該委員會是由阿靈頓縣董事會和阿靈頓學校董事會聯合特許和任命的諮詢機構。 APCYF 的使命是通過研究年輕人的需求,倡導改進政策和計劃以滿足這些需求,並讓我們社區的所有成員參與,來改善阿靈頓兒童、青年和家庭的健康、福祉和安全作為解決方案的一部分。 APCYF 通過研究和調查確定社區需求,讓社區參與尋找滿足需求的方法,並倡導改進政策和計劃。

有關 APCYF 的更多信息。

聯合設施諮詢委員會(JFAC)

JFAC 將為阿靈頓縣政府(“縣”)和阿靈頓公立學校(“APS“)。

該縣和 APS 每個人都將在兩年周期內製定自己的資本設施需求評估和資本改進計劃。 資本設施需求評估是對縣和 APS 會影響設施容量的服務和預計服務需求。 該縣的需求評估報告是阿靈頓首都設施需求評估,以及 APS' 需求評估報告是阿靈頓設施和學生住宿計劃。 這些報告在資本改善計劃通過前一年提交。 該縣和 APS 資本改進計劃 (CIP) 確定了十年期間的資本項目、時間安排和資金來源,並代表了需求評估報告中包含的預計服務需求的優先順序

主席:凱瑟琳麥克斯威尼

副主席:斯泰西·斯奈德

幾個非教學諮詢委員會也向學校董事會提供建議,包括:

  • 特設委員會和工作隊
  • 建築平面規劃委員會
  • 特殊教育家長資源中心–家長聯絡小組

有關所有阿靈頓公立學校諮詢委員會的更多信息

 

要申請上述任何團體,請填寫 校務委員會顧問委員會申請.

School Board Advisory Councils and Committees

The School Board actively seeks the advice of community members through a wide range of committees and councils on issues or policies related to the successful operation of the school system. The School Board believes that this feedback strengthens Arlington Public Schools and helps the division achieve its vision.  Arlington Public Schools solicits committee input and feedback on the instructional and support programs, facilities, and operations of the division.

  • Some committees have additional governance at the local, state, or national levels. This special governance is referenced in the References section of the policy.
  • The School Board seeks a diverse representation of the Arlington Public Schools community on committees, including student members.
  • The establishment or elimination of committees occurs only by an affirmative vote of the School Board. Committees may be established, as needed, to advise Arlington Public Schools on all aspects of its instructional and support programs, facilities, and operations.

In accordance to policy: Policy B-3.6.30 School Board Advisory Committees

Please fill out the School Board Advisory Committee Application to apply for an appointment in any of the groups listed below.

Advisory Council on Teaching & Learning (ACTL)

The Advisory Council on Teaching & Learning (Council) assists in the continuous systematic review of various aspects of the teaching and learning program and in the development of recommendations for instructional improvement. The Council reports findings, develops recommendations to address findings, and provides feedback on initiatives to improve instruction. The Council uses the Strategic Plan and Program Evaluations to focus its work. The Council consists of appointees from PTAs and Board selected community groups. These appointees are not subject to Arlington School Board approval. School Board-appointed subjects are advisory committees support the work of the Council. The Council’s work includes:

    1. Reviewing and making recommendations to improve policies and policy implementation procedures, curriculum content, curriculum delivery, and student outcomes;
    2. Making recommendations for and providing input into the development of new programs and practices;
    3. Assisting the School Board in providing the community with information concerning academic programs; and
    4. Reviewing instructional topics from time to time as determined by the School Board

Policy Implementation Procedure B-3.6.30 PIP-1 ACTL Council

Chair: Bethany Sutton

Advisory Council on Teaching & Learning (ACTL) Subcommittees

The Advisory Council on Teaching and Learning Subcommittees (subcommittees) support the work of the Advisory Council on Teaching and Learning (Council) by assisting the Council with executing its charge in the area of focus of the subcommittee. Subcommittees work with Council leadership and staff liaisons to establish annual priorities, areas of focus, and deliverables. Subcommittee deliverables from year to year may include but are not limited to findings, recommendations to address findings, annual reports, and other work products. Each subcommittee is charged with:

    • Advocating for the content and/or program area,
    • Reviewing instructional components and materials
    • Reviewing content/program area-specific student performance data as needed, and
    • Making recommendations in support of improvements to the instructional program that positively impact student achievement and staffs’ development.

Each subcommittee also looks at industry trends, career pathways in relation to Arlington Public Schools course offerings, teacher professional development, and teacher retention. Some subcommittees may have additional responsibilities or guidelines they must meet according to state and federal law.

Policy Implementation Procedures B-3.6.30 PIP-2 ACTL Subcommittees

Arlington Special Education Advisory Committee (ASEAC)

The Arlington Special Education Advisory Committee (ASEAC) is the local advisory committee for special education, establish per the Virginia Administrative Code 8VAC20-81-230(D) and codified in School Board Policy B-3.6.30. In accordance with Virginia Administrative Code 8VAC20-81-230(D) and School Board Policy B-3.6.30, ASEAC’s functions shall be as follows:

    1. Advise the local school division of needs in the education of students with disabilities;
    2. Participate in the development of priorities and strategies for meeting the identified needs of students with disabilities;
    3. Submit periodic reports and recommendations regarding the education of students with disabilities to the division superintendent for transmission to the School Board;
    4. Assist Arlington Public Schools in interpreting plans to the community for meeting the special needs of students and children with disabilities for educational services;
    5. Review the policies and procedures for the provision of special education and related services prior to submission to the local school board; and
    6. Participate in the review of the local school division’s annual plan, as outlined in subdivision B 2 of 8 VAC 20-81-230.

ASEAC participates in the ACTL process as a subcommittee for matters relating to the education of students with disabilities.

Chair: Kathy Pericak

Policy Implementation Procedure B3.6.30 PIP5 Arlington Special Education Advisory Committee

School Health Advisory Board (SHAB)

The School Health Advisory Board (SHAB) is Arlington Public Schools’ school health advisory board established per the Code of Virginia §22.1-275.1. SHAB assists with the development of health policy in the school division and the evaluation of the status of school health, health education, the school environment, and health services. SHAB annually reports on the status and needs of student health in the school division to any relevant school, the Arlington School Board, the Virginia Department of Health, and the Virginia Department of Education. The School Board may request that SHAB recommend to the School Board procedures relating to children with acute or chronic illnesses or conditions, including, but not limited to, appropriate emergency procedures for any life-threatening conditions and designation of school personnel to implement the appropriate emergency procedures. The procedures relating to children with acute or chronic illnesses or conditions shall be developed with due consideration of the size and staffing of the schools within the jurisdiction. SHAB participates in the Advisory Council on Teaching and Learning process as a subcommittee for matters relating to health education.

Chair: Desiree Jaworski

Policy Implementation Procedure B3.6.30 PIP4 School Health Advisory Board

Budget Advisory Council

The Budget Advisory Council (BAC) advises Arlington Public Schools on fiscal integrity, public confidence, and wise stewardship of taxpayer resources. The BAC makes recommendations on policies and practices related to the presentation and preparation of the operating budget and the financial management of the school system; makes recommendations to the Arlington School Board on budget priorities; advises on the degree to which the Superintendent’s Proposed Budget supports best fiscal practices and the School Board’s priorities; assists in educating the community about the budgeting process; and provides, upon the Board’s request, study and recommendations on special topics or issues.

Chair: Erik Sullivan

Policy Implementation Procedures B3.6.30 PIP6 Budget Advisory Council

Advisory Council on School Facilities and Capital Programs

Advisory Council on School Facilities and Capital Programs (FAC) assists the School Board in the continuous, systematic review of school facilities and the capital improvement program by: making recommendations to the School Board on the biannual school facilities and student accommodation plan, which informs the ten-year capital improvement plan and recommendations for funding thereon; providing, upon request, recommendations to the School Board on specific issues; providing advice on areas identified by the Council regarding the capital program; assisting the School Board in providing the community with information concerning school facilities and the capital improvement program; receiving and integrating input from the community concerning school facilities and the capital improvement program, and receiving and integrating input from Building Level Planning Committees.

Chair: Rosa Cheney

Policy Implementation Procedure B-3.6.30 PIP-3 Facilities Advisory Committee

Student Advisory Board

The Student Advisory Board is established to provide a channel of communication between the School Board and the students of the Arlington Public Schools with the hope that mutual concerns might be better solved through greater understanding of the views and responsibilities of students and the School Board.

Chair: Oliver Andress

Staff Liaison: Jeannette Allen, Director of Secondary Curriculum

Joint County Board and School Board Advisory Committees

Joint Arlington School Board and Arlington County Board Committees are governed according to the bylaws established for the committee.  The following joint committees have been established.

Advisory Committee on Transportation Choices (ACTC)

The jointly chartered and appointed by the Arlington County Board and the Arlington School Board for the purpose of advising the Joint Committee on Transportation Choices, which will develop and implement programs that further transportation choices for Arlington Public Schools students, families, and staff. The mission of the Advisory Committee on Transportation Choices is to advise the Joint Committee on Transportation Choices on strategies and plans of action that will develop and promote those transportation choices

Chair: Vacant

Arlington Partnership for Children, Youth & Families (APCYF)

The commission is an advisory body jointly chartered and appointed by the Arlington County Board and the Arlington School Board. The mission of the APCYF is to improve the health, well-being, and safety of children, youth, and families in Arlington through researching young people’s needs, advocating for improved policies and programs to meet those needs, and engaging all members of our community as part of the solution. The APCYF identifies community needs through research and surveys, engages the community to find ways to meet the needs, and advocates for improved policies and programs.

More information on APCYF.

Joint Facilities Advisory Commission (JFAC)

The JFAC is to provide input to the Boards on capital facilities needs assessment, capital improvement plans and long-range facility planning for both the Arlington County Government (the “County”) and Arlington Public Schools (“APS”).

The County and APS will each develop their own capital facilities needs assessments and capital improvement plans over the course of a two-year cycle. The capital facilities needs assessments are comprehensive reviews of the current facility capacity for County and APS services and projected service demand that will affect facility capacity. The County’s needs assessment report is the Arlington Capital Facilities Needs Assessment, and APS’ needs assessment report is the Arlington Facilities and Student Accommodation Plan. These reports are presented one year in advance of the adoption of the capital improvement plans. The County and APS capital improvement plans (CIPs) identify capital projects, their timing, and their funding sources over a ten-year period – and represent a prioritization of the projected service demands included in the needs assessment reports

Chair: Kathleen McSweeney

Vice Chair: Stacy Snyder

The School Board is also advised by several non-Instructional Advisory Committees, including:

  • Ad Hoc Committees and Tasks Forces
  • Building Level Planning Committees
  • Special Education Parent Resource Center – Parent Liaison Group

More information on all Arlington Public Schools Advisory Committees

 

To apply to any of the groups above, please fill out the School Board Advisory Committee Application.