ماري كاديرا

ضربة رأس في سبتمبر 2021انضمت ماري كاديرا إلى مجلس مدرسة مقاطعة أرلينغتون في 1 يناير 2022. كانت ماري داعية مدى الحياة للتعليم العام وهي نفسها خريجة فخورة لنظام التعليم العام في فرجينيا ، من روضة الأطفال حتى درجة الماجستير.

التحقت بمدارس مقاطعة فيرفاكس العامة وكلية ويليام وماري ، وتخصصت في اللغة الإنجليزية وعلم الأحياء ثم قامت بتدريس كلا المادتين على مستوى المدرسة الثانوية في وينشستر وتشارلوتسفيل. درجة الماجستير في الدراسات الأمريكية من جامعة UVA.

غادرت ماري الفصل الدراسي للعمل في PBS في الأيام الأولى للإنترنت ، حيث طورت محتوى وبرامج عبر الإنترنت لمعلمي وطلاب K-12. في نهاية المطاف ، قادت قسم التعليم الوطني في PBS ، وأشرفت على برامج المنح الفيدرالية الخاصة بها ونسقت ودعمت عمل أكثر من 300 محطة محلية. بعد أن تركت PBS ، تشاورت مع مجموعة متنوعة من المنظمات التعليمية الوطنية غير الربحية ، وساعدتها على التحليل والدعوة لسياسة تعليمية جيدة ؛ فهم احتياجات العائلات والموظفين والطلاب ؛ وإطلاق وتحسين البرامج لقادة المدارس والمعلمين والشباب. تعمل الآن في مبادرات TED الرائدة للمتعلمين مدى الحياة.

ماري وزوجها فريزر متزوجان منذ عام 2004 وانتقلا من الإسكندرية إلى أرلينغتون في عام 2013. يدرس ابنهما إيان في مدرسة يوركتاون الثانوية وابنتهما روبي مسجلة في مدرسة كينمور الإعدادية. في أرلينغتون ، كانت ماري قائدة لمدرسة الآباء الابتدائية لأطفالها ومجلس مقاطعة منطقة التجارة التفضيلية ، ومتطوعة نشطة مع مجموعة نهر بوتوماك التابعة لنادي سييرا. الأشياء التي لم يعد لدى ماري متسع من الوقت لها ، ولكنها تستمتع بها حقًا ، تشمل قراءة الروايات ، وخياطة اللحف ، والتخييم ، وخبز الفطائر.

هاتف المكتب: 703-228-6015

البريد: mary.kadera @apsva.us / لوحة المدرسة@apsva.us

تنتهي المدة في 31 ديسمبر 2025

Mary Kadera

headshot sept 2021Mary Kadera joined the Arlington County School Board on January 1, 2022. Mary has been a lifelong advocate for public education and is herself a proud graduate of Virginia’s public education system, from kindergarten through her masters degree.

She attended Fairfax County Public Schools and the College of William and Mary, double-majoring in English and Biology and then teaching both subjects at the high school level in Winchester and Charlottesville. Her masters degree is in American Studies from UVA.

Mary left the classroom to work at PBS in the early days of the Internet, where she developed online content and programs for K-12 teachers and students. Eventually she led PBS’s national education division, overseeing its federal grant programs and coordinating and supporting the work of more than 300 local member stations. After leaving PBS, she consulted with a variety of national education nonprofits, helping them to analyze and advocate for good education policy; understand the needs of families, staff and students; and launch and improve programs for school leaders, teachers and young people. She now works at TED leading initiatives for lifelong learners.

Mary and her husband Fraser have been married since 2004 and moved from Alexandria to Arlington in 2013. Their son Ian attends Yorktown High School and their daughter Ruby is enrolled at Kenmore Middle School. In Arlington, Mary’s been a leader of her children’s elementary PTA and the County Council of PTAs, and an active volunteer with the Potomac River Group of the Sierra Club. Things Mary no longer has a lot of time for, but really enjoys, include reading novels, quilting, camping, and baking pies.

Office Phone: 703-228-6015

Email: mary.kadera@apsva.us / school.board@apsva.us

Term expires December 31, 2026