مركز صفاقس التعليمي

مدارس أرلينغتون العامة (APS) تقع المكاتب الإدارية بمركز سيفاكس التعليمي (2110 Washington Blvd. أرلينغتون ، فيرجينيا 22204). اعتبارًا من 8 مايو 2018 ، كل شيء APS تم دمج الإدارات ، باستثناء إدارة المرافق والعمليات ، في هذا المبنى لإنشاء مكتب مركزي. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فإن مجلس مدرسة Arlington لديه مكاتب ويعقد اجتماعات مجلس إدارة المدرسة في مركز Syphax التعليمي في الطابق الثاني. الجديد APS يسمح المكتب المركزي لقسم المدرسة بتقديم خدمة أفضل لاحتياجات المجتمع من خلال السماح لهم بسهولة بإكمال احتياجات أعمالهم في مكان واحد. الهدف من دمج جميع إدارات المكتب المركزي في مكان واحد هو السماح APS على الموظفين العمل معًا لتوفير أفضل تعليم عام لكل طفل يعيش في أرلينغتون.

عرض دليل الطابق لمركز Syphax التعليمي


معلومات النقلخريطة سيكويا بلازا

يقع مركز Syphax التعليمي عند تقاطع Washington Blvd. والطريق 50. مجانًا يتوفر موقف للسيارات في المرآب المتصل بمركز Syphax التعليمي على مستويات LL و B1 و B2. استخدم المصعد الموجود في المرآب إلى LL (مستوى الردهة) للوصول إلى مركز Syphax التعليمي.

اتجاهات خطوة بخطوة إلى مركز Syphax التعليمي

معلومات النقل العام وأرقام المسار


تاريخ مركز صفاقس التعليمي

تم تسمية مركز Syphax التعليمي على اسم Evelyn Reid Syphax ، التي كانت مدرسة Arlington العامة السابقة (APS) مدرس ابتدائي خدم على نطاق واسع في مجموعة متنوعة من المجالس المنتخبة والمعينة للمدارس والمنظمات المدنية والمجتمعية. مع خلفية تعليمية ، كرست الكثير من وقتها للمدارس ، وفي أوائل الثمانينيات عملت كرئيسة لمجلس مدرسة أرلينغتون وقادت إصلاحًا ناجحًا لخطة إلغاء الفصل العنصري في المقاطعة لتقليل رحلات الحافلات الطويلة لطلاب الأقليات. وأثناء عضويتها في مجلس مدرسة أرلينغتون ، دافعت أيضًا عن برنامج لتقديم التوجيه والمشورة لمساعدة الأطفال الذين لا ينجزون على تحسين مهارات الاتصال لديهم.

تخرجت السيدة Syphax من جامعة Virginia Union وحصلت على درجة الماجستير في تعليم الطفولة المبكرة من جامعة نيويورك. درست في APS في الخمسينيات من القرن الماضي عندما كان الفصل العنصري لا يزال هو القاعدة في الكومنولث ونظام التعليم في البلاد. في قصة عام 1950 لـ The Washington Post ، تحدثت السيدة Syphax عن إلغاء الفصل العنصري وذكّرت بأن "جميع الكتب كانت مهملة من المدارس البيضاء. كان جميع المعلمين السود منشغلين في تسجيلهم بالشرائط ، وكانت المدارس [السوداء] تنهار عمليا من حولنا ".

حاولت أرلينغتون دمج مدارسها بسرعة ، لكن الدولة أمرت بإغلاق مدارسها بدلاً من الاندماج. استغرق الأمر معركة طويلة ، ودعمًا قويًا من المجتمع ، وأخيراً حكمًا من المحكمة لكسب انتصار جهود Arlington. في 2 فبراير 1959 ، التحق أربعة طلاب سود بمدرسة ستراتفورد جونيور الثانوية في أرلينغتون ، مما يجعلها أول مدرسة عامة متكاملة في فرجينيا. قامت السيدة Syphax بتدريس جميع الطلاب الأربعة كمدرس للصف الثالث في مدرسة لانجستون الابتدائية. لاحقًا ، امتلكت السيدة Syphax أيضًا وعملت كمديرة لمركز تنمية الطفولة المبكرة ، مدرسة مونتيسوري في أرلينغتون ، من 1963 إلى 1987.

بالإضافة إلى عملها كمعلمة وعضو مجلس إدارة مدرسة أرلينجتون ، كانت إيفلين سيفاكس معروفة في جميع أنحاء المجتمع لعملها التطوعي الحماسي. عملت في العديد من مجالس المجتمع وجمع الأموال لمجموعة واسعة من المنظمات المستحقة. إدراكًا لأهمية الحفاظ على تاريخ الأمريكيين من أصل أفريقي ، في عام 1994 ، أنشأت السيدة صفاقس متحف التراث الأسود في أرلينغتون ، فرجينيا ، الذي يكرم تاريخ الأمريكيين من أصل أفريقي هنا في أرلينغتون. يعمل ابنها كريج سيفاكس كرئيس للمتحف اليوم.

في مارس من عام 2006 ، صوت مجلس مدرسة أرلينجتون بالإجماع على تسمية مبنى ملحق مركز التعليم ، والذي كان يقع بعد ذلك في ملكية باك في 1439 شارع نورث كوينسي ، مركز إيفلين سيفاكس الأكاديمي. كان المركز يضم معظم ما كان يعرف آنذاك باسم قسم التدريس. بينما كان ملحق Quincy Street مرفقًا مؤقتًا للمكتب ، فقد وافق المجلس في ذلك الوقت على تحويل اسم Syphax إلى منشأة أكثر ديمومة في المستقبل.

في 2012، APS تم دمج الموظفين في مركز Syphax (أو الملحق) مع موظفين في مكاتب Clarendon Education Center ، إلى الطابقين الأولين في المبنى في سكويا بلازا. اليوم ، ما يقرب من جميع APS موظفو الإدارة ومجلس مدرسة أرلينغتون في مكان واحد ، و APS تكريم ذكرى Evelyn Reid Syphax بنقل اسم مركز Syphax التعليمي إلى المبنى الإداري الموحد حديثًا.

Syphax Education Center

The Arlington Public Schools (APS) Administrative Offices are located at the Syphax Education Center (2110 Washington Blvd. Arlington, VA 22204). As of May 8, 2018, all APS departments, except for the Facilities & Operations Department, were consolidated into this building to create a centralized office. In addition, the Arlington School Board has offices and conducts School Board meetings at the Syphax Education Center on the second floor. The new APS central office allows the school division to better serve the needs of the community by easily allowing them to complete their business needs at one location. The goal of consolidating all central office departments in one location is to allow APS staff to work together to provide the best public education for every child that lives in Arlington.

View the floor directory of the Syphax Education Center


Transportation Informationmap of sequoia plaza

The Syphax Education Center is at the intersection of Washington Blvd. and Route 50. FREE parking is available in the garage connected to the Syphax Education Center on the LL, B1, and B2 levels. Take the elevator in the garage to LL (lobby level) to access the Syphax Education Center.

Turn-by-turn directions to the Syphax Education Center

Public transit information and route numbers


Syphax Education Center History

The Syphax Education Center is named after Evelyn Reid Syphax, who was a former Arlington Public School (APS) elementary school teacher who served extensively on a variety of elected and appointed boards for schools, civic, and community organizations. With a background in education, she devoted much of her time to schools, and in the early 1980s she served as Chairman of the Arlington School Board and led a successful overhaul of the county’s desegregation plan to reduce long bus rides for minority students. While on the Arlington School Board, she also championed a program to provide mentoring and counseling to help underachieving children improve their communication skills.

Mrs. Syphax was a graduate of Virginia Union University, and earned her master’s degree in early childhood education from New York University. She taught at APS in the 1950s when racial segregation was still the rule in the commonwealth’s and the country’s education system. In a 1996 story for The Washington Post, Mrs. Syphax talked about desegregation and recalled that, “All the books were discards from the white schools. All the black teachers were busy taping them up, and the [black] schools were practically crumbling around us.”

Arlington tried to integrate its schools quickly, but was ordered by the state to close its schools rather than integrate. It took a long battle, strong community support, and finally a court ruling to earn a victory for Arlington integration efforts. On Feb. 2, 1959, four black students entered Arlington’s Stratford Junior High School, making it the first integrated public school in Virginia. Mrs. Syphax had taught all four of the students as their third-grade teacher at Langston Elementary School. Later, Mrs. Syphax also owned and served as Director of the Early Childhood Development Center, a Montessori school in Arlington, from 1963 to 1987.

In addition to her work as a teacher and Arlington School Board member, Evelyn Syphax was known throughout the community for her spirited volunteer work. She served on many community boards and raised funds for a wide range of deserving organizations. Recognizing the importance of preserving the history of African Americans, in 1994, Mrs. Syphax founded the Black Heritage Museum of Arlington, VA, which honors the history of African Americans here in Arlington. Her son Craig Syphax serves as President of the museum today.

In March of 2006, the Arlington School Board voted unanimously to name the Education Center Annex building, which was then located on the Buck property at 1439 North Quincy Street the Evelyn Syphax Academic Center. The Center housed most of what was then known as the Department of Instruction. While the Quincy Street Annex was a temporary office facility, the Board agreed at that time that the Syphax name would be transferred to a more permanent facility in the future.

Then in 2012, APS consolidated staff at the Syphax Center (or the Annex), as well as those who were in the Clarendon Education Center offices, to the first two floors in the building at Sequoia Plaza. It may have taken some time, but almost all of the APS administration staff and Arlington School Board are in a single location today, and APS honors the memory of Evelyn Reid Syphax by transferring the name of the Syphax Education Center to the newly consolidated administrative building.