中学选择学校和课程

APS provides educational options in which students may enroll, recognizing that individual students may thrive in varied educational settings.提供了可供学生入学的教育选择,认识到个别学生可以在各种教育环境中蓬勃发展。 Option Schools require an期权学校要求 从收集 入场是基于彩票过程。

2022-23 学年的申请期为 1 年 2021 月 21 日至 2022 年 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日。选项和转学政策概述于 校务委员会政策J-5.3.31.

Gunston的英语和西班牙语浸入课程

Gunston中学提供的西班牙语沉浸式课程是Key and Claremont小学的基础的双向西班牙沉浸式课程的延续。

目前就读的学生 APS elementary immersion programs will complete an Intent-to-Return form through their school.初级浸入式课程将通过他们的学校填写“返回意向表”。 Students not currently in an目前不在学校的学生 APS 浸入式课程需要符合语言要求才能被中学课程录取。

  • 学校概况
  • 服务的人口 曾在Key或Claremont参加过西班牙沉浸式课程的学生,以及展示了参加该课程所需的语言技能的学生。
  • 运输— 提供给距离学校1.5英里以外的学生。

冈斯顿蒙特梭利中学课程

甘斯顿中学(Gunston Middle School)提供的蒙特梭利中学课程遵循玛丽亚·蒙特梭利(Maria Montessori)的理念,孩子们可以在多年龄,秩序井然的物理环境中进行自己选择的学习活动。 目前就读的学生 APS Montessori program will complete an Intent-to-Return form through the elementary Montessori program.蒙台梭利计划将通过基本的蒙台梭利计划填写一份意向返回表格。 Students entering this program from outside of学生从外部进入该计划 APS 您需要满足蒙台梭利经验要求,才能被中学课程录取。

  • 学校概况
  • 服务的人口 合格的蒙特梭利学生。
  • 运输— 提供给距离学校1.5英里以外的学生。

HB伍德劳恩

HB Woodlawn计划的重点是学生的选择。 学生可以在三个大致领域中做出选择:时间和个人行为的使用,教育目标和学校管理。 观看 HB Woodlawn演讲 在中学信息之夜。

  • 学校概况
  • 服务的人口 HB Woodlawn是一项县级计划,通过申请6年级或9年级入学水平,向所有中高中学生开放。
  • 运输— HB Woodlawn学生可以通过位于中心位置的枢纽站为校车提供交通服务,几个社区的学生汇聚在一起,乘搭公共汽车到学校。 全县共有37个HB Woodlawn枢纽站。 您可以在学校的总办公室查看地图和停靠点列表。 此外,HB Woodlawn位于交通便利的地区,许多学生正在使用公共交通往返学校。 高地大厦的HB Woodlawn中学项目没有家长下车区。
  • 插槽分配- 根据 APS 选项和转学程序,将根据包括选择学校在内的每所小学的五年级班级规模,并根据之前未入学的学生人数,分配HB Woodlawn六年级班级的名额 APS 谁申请了该计划。 今年调整了座位分配,为有兴趣参加 HB Woodlawn 的学生提供更公平的机会。 有兴趣在 6-12 学年参加 HB Woodlawn 的 2022-23 年级学生需要在 在线申请门户 因为前几年的候补名单不会延续到新的 2022-23 申请期。 75-2022 学年共有 23 个六年级名额。

HB Woodlawn 2022-23学年每所小学的空位分配如下:

校名 老虎机 校名 老虎机
阿宾登 4 格里布 3
阿灵顿科学聚焦 2 霍夫曼波士顿 2
阿灵顿传统 4 创新 2
阿什劳恩 3 詹姆斯敦 3
巴克罗夫特 2 长科 3
巴雷特 3 阿灵顿蒙特梭利公立学校 2
坎贝尔 2 诺丁汉 3
枢机主教 4 橡树岭 4
卡林温泉 3 兰多夫 2
克莱蒙特 4 泰勒 4
发现 3 茯苓 3
德鲁 2 在外面 APS 1
 埃斯库拉·基 4 总计 75
舰队 3

有关其他信息或问题,请联系 APS 欢迎中心703-228-8000或 学校选择@aps价值.

Middle School Option Schools and Programs

Arlington Public Schools provides families the opportunity to attend an option school/program as an alternative to attending their neighborhood school. In order to be considered for an option school, families must submit an application online between Nov. 1, 2022 and Jan. 13, 2023 by 4 p.m. Learn about the application process. If more applications are received than there are seats available, APS will conduct a random, double-blind lottery to determine admission.  The Options and Transfers policy is outlined in School Board Policy J-5.3.31.

Dual Language English and Spanish Immersion Program at Gunston

The Dual Language English and Spanish Immersion Program offered at Gunston Middle School is a continuation of the elementary Dual Language Immersion programs at Escuela Key and Claremont Elementary School.

Students currently enrolled in the APS elementary dual language immersion programs will complete an Intent-to-Return form in the spring through their school. Students not currently in an APS dual language immersion program will need to meet language requirements for acceptance into the middle school program.

  • School overview
  • Population it serves — Students who attended the Dual Language Immersion programs at Escuela Key or Claremont, and students who demonstrate the language skills needed for entry into the program.
  • Transportation — Provided to students living more than 1.5 miles away from the school.

Montessori Middle Years Program at Gunston

The Montessori Middle Years program offered at Gunston Middle School follows Maria Montessori’s philosophy, children engage in learning activities of their own choosing in a multi-age, well-ordered physical environment. Students currently enrolled in the APS Montessori program will complete an Intent-to-Return form in the Spring through the elementary Montessori program. Students entering this program from outside of APS will need to meet Montessori experience requirements for acceptance into the middle school program.

  • School overview
  • Population it serves — Qualified Montessori students.
  • Transportation — Provided to students living more than 1.5 miles away from the school.

H-B Woodlawn

The H-B Woodlawn program’s central focus is student choice. Students make choices in three general areas: use of time and personal behavior, educational goals and school governance. View the H-B Woodlawn presentation at Middle School Information Night.

  • School overview
  • Population it serves — H-B Woodlawn is a countywide program open to all students in middle and high school through application to the 6th or 9th grade entry levels.
  • Transportation — School bus transportation is provided for H-B Woodlawn students through hub stops placed in central locations where students from several neighborhoods meet to catch the bus to their school. There are 37 H-B Woodlawn hub stops located throughout the County. A map and list of stop locations is available to view at the school’s main office. In addition, H-B Woodlawn is located in a transit friendly area and many students are using public transit to get to and from school. There is no parent drop-off area for the H-B Woodlawn Secondary Program at the Heights Building.
  • Slot allotment — Pursuant to APS options and transfers procedures, slots in the sixth-grade class at H-B Woodlawn will be assigned based on the size of fifth-grade cohorts in each elementary school, including option schools, and based on the number of students who were not previously enrolled in APS who applied to the program. The seat allocations were adjusted this year to provide more equitable access to students interested in attending H-B Woodlawn. Students in grades 6-12 interested in attending H-B Woodlawn for the 2023-24 school year will need to complete an application in the online application portal.  A total of 75 sixth-grade slots were available for the 2022-23 school year.

The H-B Woodlawn 2023-24 school year slot allocation for each elementary school will be announced shortly.

The H-B Woodlawn 2022-23 school year slot allocation for each elementary school is as follows:

School Name Slots School Name Slots
Abingdon 4 Glebe 3
Arlington Science Focus 2 Hoffman-Boston 2
Arlington Traditional 4 Innovation 2
Ashlawn 3 Jamestown 3
Barcroft 2 Long Branch 3
Barrett 3 Montessori Public School of Arlington 2
Campbell 2 Nottingham 3
Cardinal 4 Oakridge 4
Carlin Springs 3 Randolph 2
Claremont 4 Taylor 4
Discovery 3 Tuckahoe 3
Drew 2 Outside of APS 1
 Escuela Key 4 Total 75
Fleet 3

For additional information or questions, please contact the APS Welcome Center at 703-228-8000 (option 3) or schooloptions@apsva.us.