Washington-Liberty-Highschool

WLAdresse: 1301 N Stafford Street, Arlington, VA 22201
Telefon: 703-228-6200

Fax: 703-524-9814

Schulleiter: Antonio Halle, antonio.hall @apsva.us.

Schulzeiten:
Ganzer Tag - 8:20 bis 3:10 Uhr
Vorzeitige Veröffentlichung - 8:20 bis 12:35 Uhr

Geschäftszeiten: 7:30 bis 4:XNUMX Uhr

Test Ergebnisse und Statistik

Website: wl.apsva.us.

Washington-Liberty war die erste von drei umfassenden High Schools, die in Arlington gegründet wurden. Die Schule, die jetzt in ihrem 96. Jahr in Betrieb ist, verfügt über eine vielfältige Studentenpopulation aus mehr als 70 Ländern auf der ganzen Welt, die in über 100 Clubs und Organisationen mitmachen. Washington-Liberty ist stolz auf seine Geschichte und Traditionen, zu denen Ehrungen durch das US-Bildungsministerium, das Virginia Board of Education, das Virginia Department of Education und die Washington Post gehören. Washington-Liberty wurde von der Virginia School Boards Association als „Showcase for Success“ ausgezeichnet.

Schüler, die in der neunten Klasse in Washington-Liberty eintreten, nehmen an der 9th Grade Connection teil, einem Übergangsprogramm, das den Übergang von der Mittelschule zur High School erleichtern soll. Die Schüler sind in kleinen Lerngemeinschaften mit vier Kernfachlehrern und einem Sonderpädagogen und einem Englischlehrer (EL) für Englischlerner-Schüler gruppiert. Neuntklässler erhalten koordinierte Unterstützung von Lehrern, Administratoren und Beratern.

Das International Baccalaureate (IB) Diploma wurde erstmals 1998 an der Washington-Liberty angeboten, als die erste Kohorte von 13 Studenten ihren Abschluss machte. Seitdem haben 1,231 Studenten am IB Diploma Program in Verbindung mit dem Virginia Advanced Studies Diploma teilgenommen. Viele andere Studenten haben einzelne IB-Zertifikatskurse belegt. Der erfolgreiche Abschluss von IB-Kursen und -Prüfungen kann zu College-Credits und/oder einem höheren Ansehen an Colleges und Universitäten führen.

Washington-Liberty bietet auch eine umfangreiche Auswahl an Advanced Placement (AP) -Kursen an, bei denen die Studenten eine Abschlussprüfung absolvieren müssen, die zu Studienleistungen führen kann. Die Schüler können bereits in ihrem ersten Jahr mit dem AP-Unterricht beginnen.

Absolventen der Washington-Liberty im Jahr 2021 verdienten Stipendien in Höhe von mehr als 20 Millionen US-Dollar. Zweiundneunzig Prozent der Absolventen gehen direkt zur Hochschulbildung, wobei sich mehr als 81 Prozent an vierjährigen Colleges und Universitäten einschreiben.

Das Senior Experience Program von Washington-Liberty, Exploring Work from Theory to Practice, ist jetzt in seinem 17. Jahr. 2021 Prozent der Senioren nahmen am Senior Experience Program XNUMX teil.

Washington-Liberty High School

W-LAddress: 1301 N Stafford St, Arlington, VA 22201
Phone: 703-228-6200

Fax: 703-524-9814

Principal: Antonio Hall, antonio.hall@apsva.us

School hours:
Full Day – 8:20 a.m. to 3:10 p.m.
Early Release – 8:20 a.m to 12:35 p.m.

Office hours: 7:30 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Test Scores and Statistics

Website: wl.apsva.us

Washington-Liberty was the first of three comprehensive high schools to be established in Arlington. Now in its 96th year of operation, the school boasts a diverse student population representing more than 70 countries across the globe, who participate in over 100 clubs and organizations. Washington-Liberty is proud of its history and traditions, which include honors by the U.S. Department of Education, The Virginia Board of Education, the Virginia Department of Education, and The Washington Post. Washington-Liberty was featured by the Virginia School Boards Association as a “Showcase for Success.”.

Students entering Washington-Liberty in ninth grade participate in the 9th Grade Connection, a transition program designed to ease the process of entering high school from middle school. Students are grouped in Small Learning Communities with four core subject area teachers and a special education teacher, and an English Language (EL) teacher for English Learner students. Ninth graders receive coordinated support from teachers, administrators, and counselors.

The International Baccalaureate (IB) Diploma was first offered at Washington-Liberty in 1998, when the first cohort of 13 students graduated. Since that time, 1,231 students have participated in the IB Diploma Programme in conjunction with the Virginia Advanced Studies Diploma. Many other students have taken individual IB certificate courses. Successful completion of IB courses and exams may lead to college credit and/or advanced standing at colleges and universities.

Washington-Liberty also offers an extensive selection of Advanced Placement (AP) courses that require students to complete an exit exam that may lead to college credit. Students may begin AP classes as early as their freshman year.

Washington-Liberty graduates in 2021 earned more than $20 million in scholarship awards. Ninety two percent of graduates go directly on to higher education, with more than 81 percent enrolling in four-year colleges and universities.

Washington-Liberty’s Senior Experience Program, Exploring Work from Theory to Practice, is now in its 17th year. Ninety-eight percent of seniors participated in the 2021 Senior Experience Program.