空气质量和通风常见问题

下载为PDF

4月7更新,2021年–持续改善所有教室的空气质量和通风的工作,并且这里的信息将随着时间的流逝而更新。

有哪些缓解措施 APS 到位以减少学校的传播风险?

APS 已实施了弗吉尼亚卫生部和美国疾病控制与预防中心推荐的所有缓解策略,以确保学校安全重新开放。 空气质量和通风是更广泛的健康和安全计划的重要组成部分,其中包括:

    • 日常健康检查,包括体温检查
    • 强烈要求所有员工和学生都戴好合适的口罩
    • 计划和程序更改,以支持六英尺长的距离和学生群体的有限混合频繁的清洁和消毒,洗手和卫生规程
    • 改善通风,以确保所有教室和设施均符合美国供暖,制冷和空调工程师协会(ASHRAE)的指导
    • 应对员工或学生疾病或COVID病例的清晰程序

哈佛大学陈健公共卫生学院副院长,健康建筑计划主任约瑟夫·艾伦博士说,口罩是最重要的防御层。鸣叫)。 维持面对面的运作要求我们社区的所有成员始终遵守所有缓解策略。

有什么步骤 APS 是否采取措施确保学校和教室的室内空气质量和通风对员工和学生安全返回?

空气质量是我们减少学校病毒传播风险的工作的重要组成部分。 APS 与独立顾问CMTA合作,对学校通风系统进行全面审查,以确保设施按照美国供暖,制冷和空调工程师协会(ASHRAE)的指导进行操作。 这项工作已经进行了几个月。 步骤包括:

  1. 通过增加外部空气的循环来提高通风率
    • 最大限度地提高HVAC设备的室外空气流通能力在所有有窗户可提供更多外部空气的房间中,打开窗户
    • 审查了教室通风系统的效率,并根据需要进行了改进。全面评估了通风设备,控制装置和过滤器的安装
  2. 开发了 返回学校教室容量表 确定员工和学生将要使用的所有教室,以作为指导,以作为空气质量评估和改善的初步基础
    • 对所有教室所需的经认证的空气净化设备(CACD)进行了仔细的审查,以确保每个指导方针每小时至少进行四次换气(ACH)
    • 根据哈佛大学陈陈公共卫生学院的建议,为教室设定4-6 ACH的目标
  3. 购买了必要的设备以补充通风。
    • 为教室中确定的每个教室购买了一个CACD 返回学校教室容量表,以达到4-6 ACH的目标(迄今为止已购买1,850个)
    • 为低于4个ACH目标的任何教室购买了两张CACD(查看评估报告)
    • CACD的安装时间表
      • 22月1日:为2级和1级2期和XNUMX期教室安装了CACD。
      • 1月2日:为第3阶段第3阶段和第1阶段第XNUMX阶段的教室安装了CACD。
      • 8月3日:为第2级第XNUMX阶段教室安装了CACD。

是否所有教室都符合建议的每小时换气量(4-6 ACH),并且每个教室都按建议使用一个CACD? 每个教室在被教职员工占用之前,是否会安装或运行一个或两个新的CACD?

是的,所有占用的教室都将达到建议的换气条件。 截至24月98日,由CMTA评估的教室中有4%符合6–XNUMX ACH标准,且教室中只有一个CACD。 根据上述安装时间表,在员工和学生入住之前,将向未达到此目标的教室提供第二个CACD。 查看通风评估报告

CMTA的资格是什么?

CMTA是一家全国认可的咨询工程公司,也是提供高性能,可持续发展和健康学校的领导者。 他们是零能耗设计的领导者,设计了美国第一所零能耗学校。 CMTA致力于设计和交付高性能建筑物,了解最佳学习环境和室内空气质量的重要性。 CMTA设计 APS首家零能耗学校Discovery Elementary,并继续与 APS 其他零能耗学校,例如舰队小学和里德基地的新小学。

什么是ASHRAE?为什么 APS 遵循他们的指导方针?

ASHRAE是美国供热,制冷和空调工程师协会。 ASHRAE为成员和行业专业人员设计和维护建筑环境建立了标准和准则。 ASHRAE 62.1为所有商业建筑(包括学校设施)建立了通风指南和标准。 APS 学校必须遵守《弗吉尼亚统一州建筑标准》,该标准遵循ASHRAE标准62.1规定的室内空气质量通风标准。

为什么 APS 使用额定值低于MERV 13的过滤器提供有关等效外部空气的信息?

ASHRAE的最新流行病工作组发布了 更新的建筑物准备指南 在2年2021月4日,研究人员根据从MERV 16到MERV XNUMX的不同MERV(最小效率报告值)过滤器查看了等效的室外空气,并对过滤器液滴核效率进行了研究。 什么时候 APS 首先要求CMTA提供通风检查和报告,但方法是遵循ASHRAE标准和指南,因为它们是适用于我们建筑物的建筑规范的基础。 CMTA根据这些准则对我们的学校进行了评估,着眼于外部空气通风和包括循环空气在内的整体通风。 CMTA确定了一组需要进行额外评估的学校,因为它们的原始设计外部空气流通少。

为什么不能 APS 升级所有过滤器到MERV 13?

关于MERV 13,ASHRAE指出:“通常,提高过滤器效率会导致压降增加,这可能会导致通过HVAC系统的空气流量减少,风扇使用更多的能量以补偿增加的阻力,或两者并存。 如果系统中无法容纳MERV 13过滤器,则可以使用最高的MERV等级。” APS 正在审查哪些系统可以升级到MERV 13,而不会影响设备的运行或空气流通量。 APS 将升级到我们设备可能使用的最高MERV过滤器。

什么是哈佛。 陈陈公共卫生学院对教室的建议?

哈佛大学陈陈泰山公共卫生学院认为,如果学校遵循建议的风险缓解策略,则可以并且应该开放。 他们有个 卫生学校:COVID 19 共享重要信息(包括他们的信息)的网站 教室检查通风的五步指南,有关的报告 重新开放学校的降低风险策略课堂上有用的计算器.

哈佛大学公共卫生学院的约瑟夫·艾伦(Joseph Allen)博士建议教室使用4-6 ACH的目标。

如果要按每小时换气量(ACH)进行计算,该如何计算?

ACH  = 外部气流(每分钟立方英尺)x 60(每小时分钟)
房间体积(房间面积x天花板高度)

我们如何依靠 APS为有效的ACH计算这些输入?

CMTA研究了教室的外部空气流通设计,对我们的学校进行了调查,以验证天花板高度,并将ASHRAE信息以立方英尺/分钟(CFM)转换为ACH。 CMTA然后使用哈佛大学公共卫生学院提供的计算器将CACD的清洁空气输送率用于根据房间的体积确定CACD的ACH。 添加了外部通风ACH和CACD ACH,以确定教室是否达到4–6 ACH目标。

我们如何验证 APS 是否有正确的数据可以满足所有占用学校和教室的目标?

CMTA已完成其原始通风研究,最终将其转换为用于外部空气通风的ACH加CACD ACH,此数据为 张贴在“设施和运营”页面上.

下 APS'更新了通风计划,是否所有教室都符合4–6 ACH标准,并且每个教室都有一个CACD?

截至24月98日,由CMTA评估的教室中有4%符合6-XNUMX ACH标准,并且教室中只有一个CACD。 其余未达到此目标的教室将获得第二个CACD。 查看通风报告

是否可以打开窗户以增加室外空气流通?

APS 鼓励员工在教室里有窗户时打开窗户,以提供更多的室外空气流通。 为何 APS 在其HVAC系统中未安装紫外线灯?APS 拥有各种类型的HVAC系统和设备。 并非所有人都可以使用紫外线灯进行改装。 一些学校有集中式的HVAC系统,而另一些学校的教室中有单独的单元。 尽管在大流行期间,建议和指南仍在不断发展, APS 感到哈佛公立健康学校推荐的低成本策略目前为我们提供了最佳选择。 这些措施包括在可能的情况下增加室外空气流通,将过滤器升级到最高水平,并在每个教室中安装一个CACD。

做了什么样的CACD APS 购买?

与几位社区成员讨论了有关便携式空气净化器的问题,并查看了AHAM(家用电器制造商协会)和CARB(加利福尼亚空气资源委员会)以及哈佛大学CU便携式空气净化器计算器的认证便携式空气净化器之后, APS 购买了BlueAir 211+ CACD。 这些单元已通过CARB和AHAM认证。

什么是CARB?

CARB负责保护公众免受空气污染的有害影响,并制定应对气候变化的计划和行动。 从对清洁汽车和燃料的要求到采用减少温室气体排放的创新解决方案,加利福尼亚州率先采用了一系列有效方法,为美国乃至全世界的有效空气和气候计划树立了标准。2007年,CARB采用了限制室内空气清洁设备中臭氧排放的法规。 300多家制造商已提交测试结果,并根据我们的法规要求获得了其空气净化设备的CARB认证。 认证基于设备的低臭氧排放量(通常接近零)和电气安全性。

Air Quality and Ventilation Frequently Asked Questions

Download as PDF

Updated April 7, 2021 – Work continues to improve the air quality and ventilation of all classrooms, and information here will be updated as needed over time.

What mitigation measures has APS put in place to reduce transmission risk in schools?

APS has implemented all mitigation strategies recommended by the Virginia Department of Health and U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention for safe reopening of school. Air quality and ventilation is an important part of a broader health and safety plan that includes:

    • Daily health screening including temperature checks
    • Strong requirement that all employees and students wear properly fitted masks
    • Scheduling and procedural changes to support six-foot distancing and limited mixing of student groupsFrequent cleaning and disinfecting, handwashing, and hygiene protocols
    • Ventilation improvements to ensure all classrooms and facilities meet the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) guidance
    • Clear procedures for responding to employee or student illnesses or COVID cases

Masks are the most important layer of defense, according to Dr. Joseph Allen, Director of the Healthy Buildings program and an Associate Professor at Harvard’s T. H. Chan School of Public Health (tweet). Maintenance of in-person operations requires consistent adherence to all mitigation strategies by all members of our community.

What steps has APS taken to ensure the indoor air quality and ventilation in schools and classrooms is safe for employees and students to return?

Air quality is an important component of our efforts to reduce the risk of virus transmission in schools. APS partnered with an independent consultant, CMTA, to conduct a comprehensive review of school ventilation systems to ensure facilities are operating in accordance with the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) guidance. This work has been conducted over the course of several months. Steps have included:

  1. Improved the ventilation rate by increasing the circulation of outside air
    • Maximize outside air ventilation for HVAC equipment to extent possible Open windows in all rooms where windows are available to provide additional outside air
    • Reviewed the efficiency of classroom ventilation systems and made improvements as necessary Thoroughly evaluated ventilation equipment, controls, and filter fit
  2. Developed a Return to School Classroom Capacity Matrix to identify all classrooms that will be occupied by employees and students for instruction to serve as an initial basis for the air quality assessment and improvements
    • Conducted a careful review of Certified Air Cleaning Devices (CACDs) needed for all classrooms to ensure a minimum of four air changes per hour (ACH) per guidelines
    • Set a target of 4-6 ACH for classrooms based on the recommendation from the Harvard T. H. Chan School of Public Health
  3. Purchased the necessary equipment to supplement ventilation.
    • Purchased one CACD for every classroom identified in the Return to School Classroom Capacity Matrix, to meet the 4-6 ACH target (1,850 total purchased to date)
    • Purchased two CACDs for any classroom below the minimum 4 ACH target (See assessment reports)
    • Installation schedule for CACDs
      • February 22nd: CACDs installed for Level 1 and Level 2 Phase 1 and Phase 2 classrooms.
      • March 1st: CACDs installed for Level 2 Phase 3 and Level 3 Phase 1 classrooms.
      • March 8th: CACDs installed for Level 3 Phase 2 classrooms.

Do all classrooms meet the recommended air changes per hour (4–6 ACH) with one CACD in every classroom as recommended? Will every classroom have one or two new CACD installed and operating before being occupied by staff and students?

Yes, all occupied classrooms will meet the recommended air changes. As of Feb. 24, 98% of classrooms evaluated by CMTA meet the 4–6 ACH with one CACD in the classroom. The classrooms that do not meet this target will be provided a second CACD prior to occupancy by staff and students based on the installation schedule outlined above. See the ventilation assessment reports

What are CMTA’s qualifications?

CMTA is a nationally recognized consulting engineering firm and leader in delivering high performance, sustainable and healthy schools. They are the leaders in zero energy design designing the first zero energy school in the United States. CMTA is committed to designing and delivering high performance buildings understanding the importance of optimal learning environments and indoor air quality. CMTA designed APS’ first zero energy school, Discovery Elementary and continues to work with APS on other zero energy schools such as Fleet Elementary and the new elementary school at the Reed site.

What is ASHRAE and why does APS follow their guidelines?

ASHRAE is the American Society for Heating, Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Engineers. ASHRAE establishes standards and guidelines for members and industry professionals for the design and maintenance of building environments. ASHRAE 62.1 establishes ventilation guidelines and standards for all commercial buildings including school facilities. APS schools must comply with the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code, which follows ASHRAE Standard 62.1 Ventilation for Acceptable Indoor Air Quality.

Why does APS provide information on equivalent outside air using filters rated less than MERV 13?

ASHRAE’s most recent epidemic task force released an updated building readiness guide on February 2, 2021, that looked at equivalent outdoor air based on different MERV (minimum efficiency reporting values) filters from MERV 4 through MERV 16 and studies conducted on filter droplet nuclei efficiency. When APS first asked CMTA to provide a ventilation review and report, the approach was to follow ASHRAE standards and guidelines because they are the basis of our construction codes that apply to our buildings. CMTA evaluated our schools based on these guidelines looking at outside air ventilation and overall ventilation which includes recirculated air. CMTA identified a group of schools that required additional evaluation since their original design had low outside air ventilation.

Why can’t APS upgrade all filters to MERV 13?

Regarding MERV 13, ASHRAE states, “Generally, increasing filter efficiency leads to increased pressure drop which can lead to reduced air flow through the HVAC system, more energy use for the fan to compensate for the increased resistance, or both. If a MERV 13 filter cannot be accommodated in the system, then use the highest MERV rating you can.” APS is reviewing what systems can be upgraded to MERV 13 without impacting the equipment’s operation or air flow capacity. APS will upgrade to the highest MERV filter possible for our equipment.

What are the Harvard. T.H. Chan School of Public Health recommendations for classrooms?

The Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health believes schools can and should open if they follow recommended risk mitigation strategies. They have a Schools for Health: COVID 19 site that shares important information including their 5-Step Guide to Checking Ventilation in the Classroom, a report on risk reduction strategies for reopening schools, and helpful calculators for the classroom.

Dr. Joseph Allen from the Harvard School of Public Health recommends a target of 4–6 ACH for classrooms.

If air changes per hour (ACH) is the way to go, how is it calculated?

ACH  = OUTSIDE AIR FLOW (cubic feet per minute) x 60 (minutes per hour)
ROOM VOLUME (square footage of room x ceiling height)

How can we rely on APS’ calculation of these inputs for effective ACH?

CMTA looked at design outside air flow for classrooms, surveyed our schools to verify ceiling heights, and converted the ASHRAE information in cubic feet per minute (CFM) to ACH. CMTA then used the clean air delivery rate for the CACD with the calculator provided by the Harvard School of Public Health to determine the ACH for the CACD based on a room’s volume. The outside air ventilation ACH and the CACD ACH were added to determine if a classroom met the 4–6 ACH target.

How can we verify that APS has the correct data to meet its target for all occupied schools and classrooms?

CMTA has finalized its original ventilation study with the conversion to ACH for outside air ventilation plus the CACD ACH, and this data is posted on the Facilities & Operations pages.

Under APS’ updated ventilation plan, do all classrooms meet the 4–6 ACH with one CACD in every classroom?

As of Feb. 24, 98% of classrooms evaluated by CMTA meet the 4 – 6 ACH with one CACD in the classroom. The remaining classrooms that do not meet this target will be provided a second CACD. See the ventilation reports

Can windows be opened to increase outside air ventilation?

APS encourages staff to open windows if they have them in their classrooms to provide more outside air ventilation. Why did APS not install UV lights in their HVAC systems?APS has various types of HVAC systems and equipment. Not all can be retrofitted with UV lights. Some schools have a centralized HVAC system while others have individual units in their classrooms. While recommendations and guidelines continue to evolve during the pandemic, APS feels that the lower cost strategies recommended by the Harvard Public School for Health offers us the best options at this time. These include increasing outside air ventilation where possible, upgrading filters to the highest level, and installing one CACD in every classroom.

What kind of CACDs did APS Purchase?

After speaking with several community members regarding certified portable air cleaners and looking at certified portable air cleaners from AHAM (Association of Home Appliance Manufacturer’s) and CARB (California Air Resource Board) as well as the Harvard-CU Portable Air Cleaner Calculator, APS purchased BlueAir 211+ CACDs. These units are certified by CARB and AHAM.

What is CARB?

CARB is charged with protecting the public from the harmful effects of air pollution and developing programs and actions to fight climate change. From requirements for clean cars and fuels to adopting innovative solutions to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, California has pioneered a range of effective approaches that have set the standard for effective air and climate programs for the nation, and the world.In 2007, CARB adopted a regulation to limit ozone emissions from indoor air cleaning devices. Over 300 manufacturers have submitted test results and obtained CARB certification of their air cleaning devices as required under our regulation. Certification is based on a device’s low (usually near-zero) ozone emissions and electrical safety.