学生疾病和COVID

  在学校生病疾病在家  |  患病后重返学校  |  课堂回应  |  COVID测试

在学校的疾病

如果学生在上学期间生病, APS 遵循与阿灵顿县公共卫生部门制定的协议。 表现出以下症状的学生将被放学回家:

  • 发烧(100.4或更高)
  • 畏寒
  • 咳嗽
  • 气短
  • 味觉/气味丧失
  • 咽喉痛
  • 疲劳
  • 肌肉疼痛
  • 流鼻涕/充血
  • 腹痛
  • 腹泻
  • 恶心,呕吐
  • 头痛

家长/监护人将收到通知,学生将需要回家。 每种疾病将根据ACPHD建立的COVID和联系人跟踪协议进行单独处理。 APS 将遵循与父母/监护人交流信息的既定准则。 欲了解更多信息,请访问 www.vdh.virginia.gov.

学校卫生诊所和隔离室

隔离室
每所学校都将有一个指定的隔离室,允许在校期间表现出类似于COVID-19症状或任何疾病迹象的学生与其他教职员工及学生隔离在一个单独的区域,直到学生被接走为止。 如果学生在教室里有医疗投诉,工作人员将通过电话联系健康诊所,以提供建议和电话评估。 如果学生有生病迹象,他们将被护送。 APS 隔离室的工作人员,并受到监督 APS 学校职员直到接机

学校诊所
诊所将由学校卫生人员配备,并将为学生提供以下服务:药物管理,伤害评估和急救,慢性病(如糖尿病和癫痫发作)的护理以及定期评估(如听力和视力) 。 所有诊所访问将由学校卫生人员和老师/APS 工作人员在学生抵达之前。 为了减少暴露和传播的风险,除紧急情况外,不接受任何现场探访。 轻微的划伤和划痕等疾病将在教室内进行护理,并需要获得健康诊所的电话支持,以减少不必要的暴露风险。

有关学校健康计划和COVID-19的更多信息,请访问 学校卫生网站.


疾病在家

每日症状筛查仪旨在帮助父母进行计划,并确保学生生病时不上学。 筛选器中没有发烧或其他疾病迹象的学生应亲自上学。 家长需要联系学校并报告其孩子缺席的原因,并按照以下概述的具体步骤进行操作,学校健康部门将通知他们,以便其孩子获准返回。


在COVID或类似COVID的疾病后重返学校

家庭将收到来自美国的书面指导,包括免责信。 APS 关于学生返回亲身学习需要哪些许可。 这是基于CDC和VDH的最新建议以及学校卫生的建议。 家庭可以联系其学校医务人员,以进一步了解症状和其他个人因素将如何影响他们的返回时间表。

在没有已知暴露于COVID-19的情况下表现出类似COVID的疾病迹象的学生可以在以下情况下重返学校: 

  • 医护人员已经看过该学生并记录了COVID-19以外的其他症状的原因,并提供了返回学校的书面许可或
  • A PCR COVID-19测试结果已收到并提交给学校,并且该学生至少24小时无症状,没有发烧药物
  • 没有症状的学生,如果没有与提供者见面或没有通过COVID-19替代测试以了解已知状况,应在家中隔离,并在出现症状后10天和至少24小时无症状无发热的情况下被送回学校。减少药物

确认暴露的学生(与Covid-19可能或已证实的人“密切接触”): (暴露被定义为在6小时内与确诊或怀疑感染COVID-19的人的15英尺内接触,累积时间超过24分钟或更长)

  • 密切接触的学生应在家中隔离,从最后一次暴露于阳性或可疑的COVID-14病例起,将被隔离19天
  • 即使根据缩短的CDC隔离建议(7天或10天)将学生从“主动监控”中清除,也将其排除在外 APS 根据CDC关于完全隔离和隔离的建议,亲自学习和活动将持续14天。
  • 对于在家中连续暴露的情况,直到COVID-19阳性个体结束其传染期后,学生的隔离期才会开始
  • 如果暴露的学生在隔离期间出现症状,他们将被视为可疑的阳性病例,应从其医疗提供者那里寻求进一步的测试和评估,并通知学校诊所。

课堂回应

单教室或单教室COVID案例  

如果教室中有一例确诊的COVID病例,则教室将从发病之日起最多14天过渡到全日制远程学习。 APS 将在此期间启动联系人跟踪过程。 由以下人员识别的学校职员,学生和其他职员,例如交通运输人员和相关服务提供商 APS/质量将过渡到远程学习或远程办公。 这些人将收到来自的通知 APS 关于向虚拟的过渡。 该教室中学生的工作人员和家庭也将收到以下通知: APS 他们的学生与疑似或阳性的COVID-19病例密切接触。 结束接触者追踪并进行清洁和消毒后,将通过以下方式通知学生和教职员工: APS 关于何时他们将返回面对面学习。

多种情况 

APS 会与ACPHD紧密合作,根据接触者的追踪来决定是否要求整个学校过渡到全日制远程学习。 如果确定存在多个关联的案例,社区将立即爆发疫情,所有学生将在一段时间内过渡到远程学习。 来自的后续沟通 APS 当可以进行面对面的学习时,它将外出到员工和社区。

员工健康与安全及能力监控 

学校中广泛的疾病影响着我们的维持运营能力。 APS 有大量的替补人员可以被要求提供帮助; 但是,如果有更多的员工因COVID-19症状而无法报告工作,或者由于接触者追踪而被隔离,则学校可能会暂时无法提供现场指导。 发生这种情况时 APS 将尽快与家人沟通,以了解过渡到远程学习的必要性。


COVID-19 测试

APS与阿灵顿县政府合作,与CLIA实验室ResourcePath建立了联系,以在学校和办公室进行有症状的COVID-19测试。  更多信息

Student Illness & COVID

  Illness at SchoolIllness at Home  |  Returning to School after Illness  |  Classroom Response  |  COVID Testing

Illnesses at School

If a student becomes ill during the school day, APS follows protocols developed with the Arlington County Public Health Department. Students demonstrating any of the following symptoms will be sent home from school:

  • Fever (100.4 or greater)
  • Chills
  • Cough
  • Shortness of breath
  • Loss of taste/smell
  • Sore throat
  • Fatigue
  • Muscle aches
  • Runny Nose/Congestion
  • Stomachache
  • Diarrhea
  • Nausea/Vomiting
  • Headaches

The parent/guardian will be notified, and the student will need to return home. Each illness will be handled individually in accordance with the ACPHD established COVID and contact tracing protocols. APS will follow established guidelines for communicating information to parents/guardians. For more information visit www.vdh.virginia.gov.

School Health Clinics and Isolation Rooms

Isolation Rooms
Each school will have a designated Isolation Room to allow for students who exhibit COVID-19-like symptoms or any signs of illness while in school to be monitored in a separate area from other staff and students until student is picked up. If a student has a medical complaint while in the classroom, staff will contact the Health Clinic by phone for recommendations and phone evaluation. If student is showing signs of illness, they will be escorted by an APS staff member to the Isolation Room and monitored by APS school staff until pick-up

School Clinics
Health Clinics will be staffed by School Health staff and will provide the following services for students: medication administration, evaluation and first aid for injuries, care of chronic conditions (such as diabetes and seizures), and scheduled assessments (such as hearing and vision). All clinic visits will be coordinated between School Health staff and teacher/APS staff prior to student arrival. To reduce exposure and transmission risks, no walk-in visits will be accepted, other than emergencies. Minor ailments such as cuts and scratches will be cared for in the classroom with telephone support from the Health Clinic to reduce risk of unnecessary exposure.

For more information on the School Health Program and on COVID-19, please visit the School Health website.


Illnesses at Home

The Daily Symptom Screener is intended to help parents plan, and to ensure students do not come to school if they are sick. No students with fever or other signs of illness noted in the screener should attend school in person. Parents need to contact the school and report the reason for their child’s absence and follow specific steps as outlined below and as will be communicated by School Health for their child to be cleared to return.


Returning to School After COVID or COVID-Like Illness

Families will receive written guidance in the form of an exclusion letter from the APS as to what clearance is needed for a student to return to in-person learning. This is based on current recommendations from CDC and VDH with input from School Health. Families can contact their school health staff for further clarification on how symptoms and other individual factors will affect their timeline for return.

Students who are showing signs of COVID-like illness with no known exposure to someone with COVID-19 may return to school when: 

  • A healthcare provider has seen the student and documented a reason for the symptoms other than COVID-19 and has provided written documentation of clearance to return to school OR
  • A negative PCR COVID-19 test result has been received and submitted to the school and the student has been symptom free for at least 24 hours without fever-reducing medication
  • Student with symptoms who does not see a provider or receive a COVID-19 test of alternate clearance for a known condition should isolate at home and will be cleared for return to school 10 days after start of symptoms and at least 24 hours symptom free without fever-reducing medication

Students with a confirmed exposure (“close contact” to a probable or confirmed person with Covid-19): (An exposure is defined as contact within 6 feet of a confirmed or suspected COVID-19 infected person for a cumulative period of 15 minutes or more in a 24-hour period)

  • Student who is a close contact should quarantine at home and will be excluded for 14 days from last exposure to positive or suspected COVID-19 case
  • Even if a student is cleared from Active Monitoring in accordance with shortened CDC quarantine recommendations (7 or 10 days), exclusion from APS in-person learning and activities will remain 14 days based on the CDC recommendation for full quarantine and isolation.
  • For continuous exposures in the home, student’s quarantine period will not begin until the COVID-19 positive individual has ended their infectious period
  • If the exposed student develops symptoms during the quarantine period, they will be treated as a suspected positive case and should seek further testing and assessment from their medical provider and inform the school clinic.

Classroom Response

Individual or Single Classroom COVID Case  

With one confirmed case of COVID in a classroom, the classroom will transition to full-time distance learning for up to 14 days from the date of onset. APS will initiate the contact tracing process during this time. School staff, students and additional staff, such as transportation staff and related services providers, that are identified by APS/Qualtrics will be transitioned to distance learning or teleworking. These individuals will receive notification from APS regarding the transition to virtual.  The staff and families of students in that classroom will also be notified by APS that their student was in close contact with a suspected or positive COVID-19 case. Upon the conclusion of contact tracing, and cleaning and disinfecting have been performed, students and staff will be notified by APS as to when they will return to in-person learning.

Multiple Cases 

APS will work closely with ACPHD to decide whether or not an entire school will be required to transition to full-time distance learning based on contact tracing. The community will receive immediate communication of an outbreak and all students would be transitioned to distance learning for a period of time IF there are determined to be multiple linked cases. A follow up communication from APS will go out to the staff and community when in-person learning may resume.

Staff Health and Safety and Capacity Monitoring 

Widespread illness in school impacts our ability to maintain operations. APS has a pool of substitutes who can be called to assist; however, when there are higher numbers of staff unable to report to work due to COVID-19 symptoms or they have been directed to quarantine as a result of contact tracing, schools may be temporarily unable to offer in-person instruction for a period of time. When this occurs, APS will communicate with families as soon as possible regarding the need to transition to distance learning.


COVID-19 Testing

APS, in collaboration with Arlington County Government, has established a relationship with ResourcePath, a CLIA laboratory, for symptomatic COVID-19 testing in schools and offices.  More information