次要期權和轉讓常見問題解答

什麼是選擇學校或課程?

APS 提供選修學校和提供專業指導學習的課程。 通過中學階段的申請過程,我們提供以下學校/程序:HB Woodlawn中學項目,Gunston *的蒙台梭利課程,Gunston *的西班牙沉浸課程。

*只有新來的學生 APS or APS 學生 參加蒙特梭利和浸入式基礎課程的學生需要申請。 APS 當前就讀浸入式或蒙台梭利基礎課程的學生將自動過渡到中學課程,除非家庭做出其他選擇。

通過高中階段的申請過程,我們提供以下學校/課程:HB Woodlawn中學項目,韋克菲爾德(Wakefield)的AP網絡,職業中心的Arlington Tech,韋克菲爾德*(Wakefield *)的浸入計劃和華盛頓自由大學(International Washington)的國際文憑(IB)。 

*僅新來的學生 APS or APS 學生 入讀沉浸式中學課程需要申請。 APS 當前在Gunston浸入式課程就讀的學生將自動過渡到高中課程,除非家庭做出其他選擇。

什麼是鄰里轉移?

鄰里學校根據學監向招生局的年度更新報告,在財政限制和能力限制的情況下,盡可能接受轉學。 對於2020年秋季,預計完成後,將在2020年XNUMX月確定學校和可用座位數。 有些學校可能沒有席位,有些席位很少,而另一些席位卻很多。

如何完成選擇學校和/或鄰里轉移的申請?

家庭應訪問以下網站的“期權和轉讓在線申請門戶”  https://apsva.schoolmint.net完成申請。 家庭必須使用電子郵件地址或電話號碼創建一個帳戶。

期權和轉讓過程中是否可以使用書面申請?

否。需要在線門戶幫助的家庭可以聯繫歡迎中心。 如果需要,工作人員可以遠程完成家庭申請。

有哪些語言的應用程序可用?

英語和西班牙語。

當前參加蒙台梭利或浸入式學習的學生是否仍需要完成申請?

否。次級蒙台梭利和浸入式應用程序用於 新產品 學生來 APS 只要。 如果希望繼續參加蒙台梭利和/或浸入式學習計劃的學生,當前正在阿靈頓,基和/或克萊蒙特蒙特梭利公立學校就讀的所有學生都將被接受。 他們將填寫退回書的意圖,並在春季晚些時候完成課程選擇時,確認打算通過學校繼續參加浸入式或蒙台梭利中學計劃。

我的孩子可以去接送車嗎?

可供選擇的學校/課程的學生乘坐交通工具。 但是,為了解決公共汽車路線的長度以及準時表現方面所面臨的挑戰,可以將學生分配到最近的公共汽車站,但是有些站點離學生住所的距離可能更長。 父母在接受鄰居接送座位時必須提供自己的交通工具。

我是否會在抽獎當天找出我的孩子是否在選修學校或課程中獲得了座位?

不可以,我們會在8年2021月XNUMX日通過電子郵件和/或短信以書面形式通知家庭彩票結果。

如果我的孩子沒有參加彩票,我能找到他們的候補名單號嗎?

是的,家庭將在8年2021月22日收到有關其候補名單號碼的信息。2021年XNUMX月XNUMX日之後,如果有空缺,家庭必須確認或拒絕其座位。 APS 將開始從候補名單中提取姓名。 家庭可以登錄其帳戶以查看其候補名單狀態,並查看候補名單上是否有任何動靜。

如果我被多家選擇學校錄取會怎樣?

家庭將在8年2021月11日得到通知,其子女所在的選擇學校將在59年22月2021日晚上XNUMX:XNUMX之前接受或拒絕任何提議。 通過應用程序門戶發送響應。 如果學生被多個選項計劃錄取,則在2021年秋季做出承諾後,該學生的姓名將從任何其他錄取和/或候補名單中刪除。

如何查看我的候補名單狀態?

家庭可以登錄其帳戶以檢查其候補名單狀態和/或確定候補名單上是否有任何動靜。

HB-伍德勞恩有多少個座位? HB-Woodlawn的彩票與其他選擇學校的彩票有何不同?

下 APS 選項和轉移程序,HB Woodlawn六年級班級的空缺將根據包括選擇學校在內的每所小學的五年級班級規模進行分配,並根據之前未入學的學生人數分配 APS 誰申請了該程序。 有興趣參加6年至12學年的HB Woodlawn的2020-2021年級學生,需要完成中學選項申請,因為前幾年的候補名單不會在新的申請期內延期。


有關其他信息或問題,請聯繫 APS 歡迎中心703-228-8000或 學校選擇@apsva.us.

Secondary Options and Transfers FAQs

What is an option school or program?

APS offers option schools and programs that provide specialized instructional learning. We have the following schools/programs available through an application process at the middle school level:H-B Woodlawn Secondary Program, Montessori at Gunston* and Spanish Immersion at Gunston*.

*Only students who are new to APS or APS students not enrolled in Montessori and Immersion elementary programs need to apply. APS students currently enrolled in the Immersion or Montessori elementary programs will automatically rollover to the middle school program unless the family makes a different choice.

We have the following schools/programs available through an application process at the high school level:H-B Woodlawn Secondary Program, AP Network at Wakefield, Arlington Tech at the Career Center, Immersion Program at Wakefield*, and International Baccalaureate (IB) at Washington-Liberty. 

*Only students who are new to APS or APS students not enrolled in the Immersion middle school program need to apply. APS students currently enrolled in the Immersion program at Gunston will automatically rollover to the high school program unless the family makes a different choice.

What is a neighborhood transfer?

Neighborhood schools accept transfers to the extent possible given financial constraints and capacity limits based on the Superintendent’s annual update to the School Board on enrollment. For fall 2020, the schools and number of available seats will be determined in January 2020 after projections are completed. Some schools might not have any seats, some very few seats, and others large number of seats.

How do I complete an application for an option school and/or a neighborhood transfer?

Families should visit the Options and Transfers Online Application Portal at  https://apsva.schoolmint.netto complete an application. Families must create an account using an email address or phone number.

Are paper applications available for the options and transfers process?

No. Families who need assistance with the online portal may contact the Welcome Center. If needed, staff is able to complete the application for families remotely.

In what languages are the applications available?

English and Spanish.

Do students currently attending Montessori or Immersion still need to complete an application?

No. The secondary Montessori and Immersion applications are for New students to APS ONLY. All students currently attending the Montessori Public School of Arlington, Key and/or Claremont will be accepted if they want to continue in the Montessori and/or Immersion program. They will confirm their intent to continue in Immersion or in the Montessori Middle Years Program through the school by filling out the intent to return form and when completing their course selection later in the spring.

Will there be transportation for my child?

Transportation is available for students attending option schools/programs. However, to address the ongoing challenges with the length of bus routes, as well as on-time performance, students may be assigned to the closest bus stop, but some stops may be a longer distance from the student’s residence. Parents must provide their own transportation when they accept a neighborhood transfer seat.

Will I find out on the day of the lottery if my child was offered a seat at an option school or program?

No, families will be notified in writing through email and/or text on Feb. 8, 2021 of the results of the lottery.

If my child does not get a seat in the lottery, will I find out their waitlist number?

Yes, families will receive information about their waitlist number on Feb. 8, 2021. After February 22, 2021 when families must confirm or decline their seat if vacancies become available. APS will start pulling names from the waitlists. Families can login to their accounts to check on their waitlist status and to find out if there has been any movement on the waitlist.

What happens if I get accepted at multiple option schools?

Families will be notified on Feb. 8, 2021 which option school(s) their children have received a seat at and will have until 11:59 p.m. on February 22, 2021 to accept or decline any offers by sending a response through the application portal. If students have been accepted to more than one option program, once a commitment is made for the fall of 2021, the student’s name will be removed from any other admission and/or waitlist(s).

How can I check on my waitlist status?

Families can log into their accounts to check on their waitlist status and/or to find out if there has been any movement on the waitlist.

How many seats are available at HB-Woodlawn? How is the lottery at HB-Woodlawn different than the lottery for other option schools?

Under the APS options and transfers procedures, slots in the sixth-grade class at H-B Woodlawn will be assigned based on the size of fifth-grade cohorts in each elementary school, including options schools, and based on the number of students who were not previously enrolled in APS who applied to the program. Students in grades 6-12 interested in attending H-B Woodlawn for the 2020-2021 school year will need to complete the Secondary School Options Application because the waiting list from the previous years will not rollover for the new application period.


For additional information or questions, please contact the APS Welcome Center at 703-228-8000 or schooloptions@apsva.us.