Countywide Programs Pre-K

Multi-Intervention Program for Students with Autism (MIPA)

The focus of the MIPA program is on increasing communication, independent life skills, social skills, and academic performance.  Students who are receiving special education support due to autism may be candidates for the MIPA program.  The program provides a highly structured environment and research-based academic and behavioral interventions for autism. The program uses a variety of strategies to prepare students to transition to less restrictive settings.  Examples of curricula used in MIPA classes include the STAR Program (Strategies for Teaching based on Autism Research, Arick, Loos, Falco, Krug, 2004) and the Links Curriculum.

Preschool Location Phone Student Support Coordinator
Arlington Traditional 703-228-6290 Nancy Routson nancy.routson@apsva.us
Hoffman-Boston 703-228-5845 Kristen Shymoniak kristen.shymoniak@apsva.us
Long Branch 703-228-4220 Danielle Miles danielle.miles@apsva.us
Integration Station 703-462-5184 Sara Shaw Sara.shaw@apsva.us
Barrett 703-228-6288 Adam Meyersieck adam.meyersieck@apsva.us
Dr. Charles R. Drew 703-228-5825 Carlette Bryan carlette.bryan@apsva.us

Two Year Old Toddler Program Preschool Special Education Programs (Cross Categorical)

Location Phone Special Education Coordinator Phone
Ashlawn 703-228-5270 Alyssa D’Amore-Yarnall 703-228-6045
Dr. Charles R. Drew 703-228-5825 Carlette Bryan 703-228-6045
Jamestown 703-228-5275 Karin Bloss 703-228-8630
Integration Station 703-462-5184 Sara Shaw 703-462-5184
Hoffman-Boston 703-228-5845 Kristen Shymoniak 703-228-5845
Carlin Springs 703-228-6645 Deirdre Groh 703-228-6048

Three-Five Year Old Programs

School School Phone Number Student Support
Coordinator
Student Support
Coordinator Email
Abingdon 703-228-6650 Shirtona Horton shirtona.horton@apsva.us
Ashlawn 703-228-5270 Alyssa D’Amore-Yarnall alyssa.damoreyarnall@apsva.us>;
Barcroft 703-228-5838 Natalie White natalie.white@apsva.us
Barrett 703-228-6288 Adam Meyersieck adam.meyersieck@apsva.us
Carlin Springs 703-228-6645 Deirdre Groh deirdre.groh@apsva.us
Discovery 703-228-2685 Cynthia Evans cynthia.evans@apsva.us
Dr. Charles R. Drew 703-228-5825 Carlette Bryan carlette.bryan@apsva.us
Glebe 703-228-6280 Kristen Shymoniak Kristen Shymoniak
Hoffman-Boston 703-228-5845 Kristen Shymoniak  Kristen Shymoniak
Integration Station 703-462-5184 Sara Shaw Sara Shaw
Jamestown 703-228-5275 Karin Bloss karin.bloss@apsva.us
Oakridge 703-228-5840 Jennifer Crain jennifer.crain@apsva.us
Randolph 703-228-5830 Emily Gillespie emily.gillespie@apsva.us
Taylor 703-228-6275 Amy Apgar amy.apgar@apsva.us
Tuckahoe 703-228-5288 Katie Hawkins kathryn.hawkins@apsva.us

 

Integration Station

Integration Station (IS) has several pre-Kindergarten special education programs that serve Arlington Public School (APS) students ages 2-5 who have disabilities. IS is co-located with The Children’s School (TCS) in Ballston, and provides an integrated educational program for 2-5 year old children with disabilities.

Learn More

4420 N. Fairfax Dr., Suite 224. For more information, please call 703-462-5184.