Countywide Programs Pre-K

 Multi-Intervention Program for Students with Autism (MIPA)

The focus of the MIPA program is on increasing communication, independent life skills, social skills, and academic performance.  Students who are receiving special education support due to autism may be candidates for the MIPA program.  The program provides a highly structured environment and research-based academic and behavioral interventions for autism. The program uses a variety of strategies to prepare students to transition to less restrictive settings.  Examples of curricula used in MIPA classes include the STAR Program (Strategies for Teaching based on Autism Research, Arick, Loos, Falco, Krug, 2004) and the Links Curriculum.

Preschool Location Phone Student Support Coordinator
Arlington Traditional 703-228-6290 Sue Essman
Hoffman-Boston 703-228-5845 Donna Crawford-Townsend
Long Branch 703-228-4220 Kristen Shymoniak
Integration Station 703-462-5184 Sara Shaw
Barrett 703-228-6288 Cynthia Evans
Drew Model 703-228-5825 Carlette Bryan

Two Year Old Toddler Program Preschool Special Education Programs (Cross Categorical)

Location Phone Special Education Coordinator Phone
Ashlawn 703-228-5270 Krystal Bujeiro-Hines 703-228-6045
Drew Model 703-228-5825 Shannon Sterling Hunter 703-228-6045
Jamestown 703-228-5275 Shannon Sterling Hunter 703-228-8630
Integration Station 703-462-5184 Sara Shaw 703-462-5184
Hoffman-Boston 703-228-5845 Donna  Crawford-Townsend 703-228-5845
Carlin Springs 703-228-6645 Carlette Bryan 703-228-6048

Three-Five Year Old Programs

School School Phone Number Student Support
Coordinator
Student Support
Coordinator Email
Abingdon 703-228-6650 Dr. Patricia Jones patricia.jones@apsva.us
Ashlawn 703-228-5270 Alyssa D’Amore-Yarnall alyssa.damoreyarnall@apsva.us>;
Barcroft 703-228-5838 Kristen Shymoniak kristen.shymoniak@apsva.us
Barrett 703-228-6288 Cynthia Evans cynthia.evans@apsva.us
Carlin Springs 703-228-6645 Erica Midboe erica.midboe@apsva.us
Discovery 703-228-2685 Karin Bloss karin.bloss@apsva.us
Dr. Charles R. Drew 703-228-5825 Carlette Bryan carlette.bryan@apsva.us
Glebe 703-228-6280 Martha-Alice Rademacher m.rademacher@apsva.us
Hoffman-Boston 703-228-5845 Donna Townsend donna.townsend@apsva.us
Integration Station 703-228-5184 Sara Shaw Sara Shaw
Jamestown 703-228-5275 Karin Bloss karin.bloss@apsva.us
Oakridge 703-228-5840 Meggie Scogna meggie.scogna@apsva.us
Randolph 703-228-5830 Leo Ribeiro leandro.ribeiro@apsva.us
Taylor 703-228-6275 Caroline Damren caroline.damren@apsva.us
Tuckahoe 703-228-5288 Katie Hawkins kathryn.hawkins@apsva.us

 

Integration Station

Integration Station (IS) has several pre-Kindergarten special education programs that serve Arlington Public School (APS) students ages 2-5 who have disabilities. IS is co-located with The Children’s School (TCS) in Ballston, and provides an integrated educational program for 2-5 year old children with disabilities. The collaboration between APS/IS and TCS has provided students with disabilities opportunities to integrate with students without disabilities for over 20 years.In addition, a special education program for toddlers and a pre-kindergarten multi-intervention program for students with autism (MIPA) are a part of the IS program. Students in the toddler and MIPA programs experience a range of integrated opportunities based on their needs. IS also includes our Community-Based Preschool Support Program serving students with disabilities in community-based settings like private pre-Kindergartens, Head Start and child care centers across the county.Together TCS and IS serve over 200 children consisting of infants, toddlers and pre-kindergarteners.

Integration Station Classrooms

Parent Information

4420 N. Fairfax Dr., Suite 224. For more information, please call 703-462-5184.