县级计划K-12

在阿灵顿公立学校中,大多数残疾学生将接受校内教职工在学生家庭学校内实施的个性化教育计划(IEP)。 每所学校都可以提供从“咨询/监控”到“独立”的服务水平。 学生的服务水平的确定基于向学生提供的特殊教育支持的小时数,而不管其设置如何。 相关的服务时间不包括在确定中,因为根据IEP团队对学生要求的确定,可以在任何级别或设置下提供此类服务。

为了最有效地满足有特殊需要的学生的需求, APS 建立了各种县级计划。 这些程序允许 APS 集中资源,以便不断向有类似需求的学生提供强化的,高保真的特殊教育指导。 这样的计划使学生可以从专门设计的指导中受益,这些指导是针对具有特定于自身残疾的知识和技能的员工。 每个程序都遵循学习标准或学习课程的统一标准,同时提供专门设计的指令来满足特定的残疾需求。 将学生安排到全县范围的计划是IEP团队的一项认真考虑的决定,因为此类计划代表了更为严格的安排。 不论安置方式如何,所有学生都希望与非残障同伴有融合的机会和经验。

以下是当前县级计划的简要说明。 计划教室被认为是设备齐全的环境,尽管每个学生都在寻求包容的机会。 在特殊教育办公室的支持下,所有计划教室均由其所在建筑物的校长监督。 每个程序教室都有一名老师和一两个教室助理。 每个程序都由特殊教育办公室的其他人员提供支持,其中包括相关的服务提供者,专家和特殊教育协调员。

通讯课程(仅限初级)

交流课程的重点是提高和增强表达和接受的语言技能。 因严重的语言障碍而与严重的认知障碍无关而接受特殊教育支持的学生可以参加交流课程。 这些课程使用一种全面的交流方法,可以使用辅助技术。 指导基于年级标准,不包括针对适应性技能(例如喂养或上厕所的技巧)的明确指导。 交流计划的目标是确定可以让每个学生取得学术成就的交流方式。 然后,学生将有机会练习整个上学日所学的技能。 一旦学生能够使用所学的技能成功地进行交流,他们就可以返回以前的学校环境。

学校 学校电话号码 学生支持协调员 学生支持协调员电子邮件
爱丽丝西舰队 703-228-5820 唐娜·克劳福德(Donna Crawford) 唐娜·克劳福德(Donna Crawford)

聋哑听力计划

聋哑听觉计划专为需要专业语言丰富课程的失聪或严重听力障碍的学生而设计。 该课程由聋人和听力障碍教师(TDHH)讲授,并得到语言病理学家和听觉病学家的支持。 该计划的目标是提高学生的语言和沟通能力,并提供全面的通识教育课程。 手语,英语口语和/或视觉辅助工具用于在普通教育课程中为学生提供支持。 该计划为学前班至8年级的学生提供服务。 学龄前学生就读小学课程所在的帕特里克·亨利小学。 中学位置在托马斯·杰斐逊中学。 向高中生提供他们选择参加的阿灵顿公立学校学校或计划的任何必要支持。

位置 电话 学生支持协调员 学生支持协调员电子邮件
爱丽丝西舰队 703.228.5820 唐娜·克劳福德(Donna Crawford) 唐娜·克劳福德(Donna Crawford)
杰斐逊中学 703.228.5900 马修·加文(Matthew Gavin) 马修·加文(Matthew Gavin)

功能性生活技能计划(FLS)

初级:  FLS计划(初级)的重点是建立基本的学术技能,增加日常生活技能,沟通,运动/运动技能和感觉发展。 因认知或智力残疾,感觉障碍,骨科障碍或其他健康障碍而接受特殊教育支持的学生,可以参加功能性生活技能计划。 该计划提供高度个性化的教育计划,并提供相关服务。 FLS,小学水平,利用各种研究支持的课程和实践,例如针对学术和职前技能的“独特学习”课程。 作为教学的一个组成部分,“独特学习”在阅读,写作,数学,科学和社会研究等关键技能领域提供个性化的评估,监控和课程。 以团队为导向的方法利用各种策略和干预措施来制定教育计划,以满足学生的需求。 FLS的基本位置是Ashlawn,Barrett和Discovery。

位置 电话 学生支持协调员 学生支持协调员电子邮件
阿什劳恩 703-228-5270 艾丽莎·达摩(Alyssa D'Amore-Yarnall) alyssa.damoreyarnall @aps价值
巴雷特 703.228.6288 辛西娅·埃文斯(Cynthia Evans) cynthia.evans @aps价值
发现 703.228.2685 卡琳·布鲁斯(Karin Bloss) karin.bloss @aps价值

二级:  中学FLS计划旨在为学生提供更大的机会和经验,以帮助他们在提高独立性的同时发展和完善学术和适应能力。 中学FLS利用各种教学资源,包括 独特的学习 学术和职业技能课程。 例如,“独特学习”可以在阅读,写作,数学,科学和社会研究等关键技能领域提供个性化的评估,监控和课程,以及为过渡准备做准备。 此外,FLS次要利用 以生活为中心的职业教育课程由杰出儿童理事会开发,主要针对需要在以下技能领域提供专门指导的严重残疾(即认知障碍,脑外伤,多发性残疾,严重和严重残疾)的学生而设计的:自助,个人/社会,日常生活,职能型学者和工作/职业。 该课程旨在在自然环境中使用,并针对技能开发的具体应用建立了联系。 因此,随着学生在现实生活中练习技能,基于社区的经验在该计划中扮演着重要角色。 参加FLS计划的学生通常会通过 弗吉尼亚替代评估计划 (VAAP)。 但是,每个学生的IEP小组都会确定学生是否参加学习标准(SOL)课程或 统一的学习标准 (ASOL)课程,以及每个学生如何参加全州评估。 每 APS 初中和高中,以及Shriver计划,提供FLS计划


插曲(仅在全国范围内,小学阶段)

Interlude计划的重点是改善因心理或行为障碍而具有重大干扰行为的学生的社交和情感功能。 因情感障碍或重大行为问题而接受特殊教育支持的学生,但其学术技能达到或接近年级水平,则可以参加Interlude。 该计划提供了一种治疗环境,旨在促进自我调节,自我概念的改善,积极的交往能力和学业上的成功。 补充课程强调韧性,自我调节,人际关系和解决问题的能力。 以团队为导向的方法利用学术,治疗,家庭和机构间资源来制定教育计划,以满足学生的需求。 Interlude计划在每所中学和高中均可用。

学校 学校电话号码 学生支持协调员 学生支持协调员电子邮件
坎贝尔 703.228.6770 玛莎·爱丽丝·拉德玛彻 m.rademacher @aps价值

自闭症学生多重干预计划(MIPA)

MIPA计划的重点是增加沟通,独立生活技能,社交技能和学习成绩。 因自闭症而接受特殊教育支持的学生可能是MIPA课程的候选人。 该计划为自闭症提供了高度结构化的环境以及基于研究的学术和行为干预。 该计划采用多种策略来帮助学生过渡到限制较少的环境。 MIPA课程中使用的课程示例包括STAR计划(基于自闭症研究的教学策略,Arick,Loos,Falco,Krug,2004年)和 链接课程.

PreK程序
(迷你MIP-A)
学校电话号码 学生支持协调员 学生支持协调员电子邮件地址
阿灵顿传统学校 703.228.6290 艾米丽·吉莱斯皮(Emily Gillespie)  emily.gillespie @aps价值
巴雷特 703.228.6288 辛西娅·埃文斯(Cynthia Evans) cynthia.evans @aps价值
霍夫曼波士顿 703.228.5845 卡罗琳·丹伦(Caroline Damren) caroline.damren @aps价值
长科 703.228.4220 玛丽莉·鲍曼(Marilee Bowman) marilee.bowman @aps价值
橡树岭 703.228.5840 梅吉·斯科尼亚(Meggie Scogna) meggie.scogna @aps价值
里德 703.228.5180 莎拉·肖 莎拉·肖
基础课程
巴雷特(2节课) 703.228.6288 辛西娅·埃文斯(Cynthia Evans) cynthia.evans @aps价值
查尔斯·德鲁博士
(2堂课)
703.228.5285 卡莱特·布莱恩(Carlette Bryan) carlette.bryan @aps价值
霍夫曼波士顿 703.228.5845 唐娜·汤森(Donna Townsend) donna.townsend @aps价值
詹姆斯敦 703-228-5275 卡琳·布鲁斯(Karin Bloss) karin.bloss @aps价值
长科 703-228-4220 克里斯汀·希莫尼亚克(Kristen Shymoniak) kristen.shymoniak @aps价值
麦金利 703-228-5280 卡罗琳·丹伦(Caroline Damren) caroline.damren @aps价值
橡树岭 703-228-5840 梅吉·斯科尼亚(Meggie Scogna) meggie.scogna @aps价值
泰勒(2节课) 703-228-6275 卡罗琳·丹伦(Caroline Damren) caroline.damren @aps价值
中学程序
肯莫尔(2节课) 703-228-6800 凯特琳·古吉欧(Katelyn Gurgiolo) 凯特琳·古吉欧(Katelyn Gurgiolo)
韦克菲尔德 703-228-6700 克里斯塔尔·布吉罗·海因斯(Krystal Bujeiro-Hines) krystal.hines @aps价值

就业准备计划(PEP)

就业准备计划(PEP)该项目于2014-15学年启动,位于阿灵顿职业中心,是一项职业培训和过渡计划。 该计划是多层计划,旨在创建动态且有针对性的方法来满足学生的过渡需求。 PEP基于与弗吉尼亚联邦大学(VCU)协商开发的特定能力,使用诸如弗吉尼亚州的资源 联邦的工作场所准备技能。 PEP根据当前的业务趋势和需求为学生提供体验和学习机会,以便学生可以获得在当今市场上获得就业的相关技能,包括确保和维持长期有意义的就业所必需的必要社交技能。 该计划旨在让学生获得实习和学徒经历,贸易证明,执照,大学学分和/或人脉关系,这可能会导致他们在毕业后直接就业。 在学生参加高中的最后一年,应转介给PEP,具体的过渡准备计划将在接受后确定。 学生的参与可以根据需要进行个性化设置,如果适合学生,则可以同时修读课程以获得学分。中学毕业后在上学日的50%或以上的时间获得特殊教育支持的残疾中学生可以作为候选人用于PEP。 该计划是非分类的,可能会推荐各种残疾的学生。

位置 电话 学生支持协调员 学生支持协调员电子邮件
职业中心 703-228-5800 珍妮·约克 珍妮·约克

自闭症学生中学课程(SPSA)

由于自闭症而被确定接受特殊教育服务并且正在学习年级(或更高)课程的学生可以访问专门设计的课程,这些课程涉及社交技能和执行功能。 该程序设计将着重于人际和组织技能的发展,同时鼓励具有挑战性的学术经验。 学生将在其IEP的每项服务中融入普通教育课程,并接受有关年级SOL课程的指导。 补充课程可能包括 Unstuck and On-target !:一项执行功能课程,可提高自闭症谱系障碍儿童的灵活性,并 PEERS课程,用于自闭症谱系障碍青少年的校本社交技能培训.

次要位置 电话 学生支持协调员 学生支持协调员电子邮件
杰斐逊 703-228-5900 马修·加文(Matthew Gavin) matthew.gavin @aps价值
HB伍德劳恩 703-228-6363 梅格·戴维斯(Meg Davis) meg.davis @aps价值
华盛顿自由 703-228-6200 珍妮弗·约克 jenny.york @aps价值
约克敦 703-228-5400 卡罗琳·蒂尔(Carolyn Thiell) carolyn.thiell @aps价值

Eunice肯尼迪·施莱弗计划

缩水计划 为规模较小的学校中严重残疾的学生提供高度个性化的支持性环境,并且整个计划的学生与员工比例较低。 Shriver计划的学生需要在功能性学术和职业技能以及基于社区的教育计划方面进行深入,明确的指导。 HB Woodlawn计划主要在自给自足的特殊教育环境中提供教学,并为您提供与非残障同伴在现场融合和互动的机会。 施莱弗计划中的特定课程遵循功能性生活技能(FLS)或自闭症多干预计划(MIPA)课程。 在学生与员工比例低的小型学校中需要FLS或MIPA的学生,可以在Shriver接受那些课程。 除了提供实用的学术知识和适应性技能方面的指导外,“施莱弗计划”还提供特定的培训,以使学生为进入中等后教育环境做好准备,例如庇护工场,半庇护飞地,辅助工作和竞争性工作。 制定单独的学生计划以实现最大的社交,情感,身体和认知发展,同时获得尽可能独立地在社区中运作所必需的相关技能。 学生可以参加22岁以下(截至30月XNUMX日)的Shriver计划。

位置 电话 学生支持协调员 学生支持协调员电子邮件
缩水计划 703-228-6440 布雷顿纳·霍顿 布雷顿纳·霍顿


45日计划

因长期停学而需要其他课程的学生。

Countywide Programs K-12

In Arlington Public Schools, the majority of students with disabilities will receive Individualized Education Programs (IEP’s) implemented within the student’s home school by school-based staff.  Each school is able to provide levels of service from “consult/monitor” through “self-contained.”  Determination of a student’s level of service is based on the number of hours of special education support provided to the student, regardless of setting.  Related service hours are not included in the determination as such services may be provided at any level or setting, based on the IEP team’s determination of what the student requires.

In order to most effectively meet the needs of students with specialized needs, APS has established a variety of countywide programs.  These programs allow APS to concentrate resources in order to provide intensified, high fidelity special education instruction in a continuous manner to students with similar needs.  Such programs allow students to benefit from specially-designed instruction with staff that have knowledge and skills specific to their individual disabilities.  Each program follows the standards of learning or the aligned standards of learning curriculum while providing specially designed instruction to address specific disability needs. Placement of a student into a countywide program is a carefully considered IEP team decision, since such programs represent a more restrictive placement.  Inclusion opportunities and experiences with non-disabled peers are expected for all students, regardless of placement.

Below are brief descriptions of current countywide programs.  Program classrooms are considered self-contained settings, although opportunities for inclusion are sought for each student.  All program classrooms are supervised by the principal of the building in which they are located, with support from the Office of Special Education.  Each program classroom has one teacher and one or two classroom assistants.  Each program is supported by additional staff from the Office of Special Education, to include related service providers, specialists, and special education coordinators.

Communications Classes (Elementary only)

The focus of the Communication classes is on increasing and enhancing expressive and receptive language skills.  Students who are receiving special education support due to significant language impairments which are not associated with significant cognitive impairments may be candidates for the Communications classes.  These classes use a total communication approach with access to assistive technology.  Instruction is based on grade-level standards, and does not include explicit instruction for adaptive skills, such as feeding or toileting skills.  The goal of the communication program is to determine the mode(s) of communication that will allow each student to achieve academic success.  Students are then given opportunities to practice the skills they have learned throughout the school day.  Once a student is able to successfully communicate using the skills they have learned, they can return to their previous school setting.

School School Phone Number Student Support Coordinator Student Support Coordinator Email
Alice West Fleet 703-228-5820 Donna Crawford-Townsend Donna Crawford-Townsend

Deaf and Hard of Hearing Program

The Deaf and Hard of Hearing program is designed for students with deafness or significant hearing impairment who require a specialized language rich program. It is taught by a Teacher of the Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing (TDHH) with support from a speech-language pathologist and audiologist.  The goal of the program is to improve the language and communication skills of students and provide full access to the general education curriculum. Sign Language, spoken English, and/or visual aids are used to support students in general education classes.  The program serves students Pre-K  through 8th grade. Preschool students attend Patrick Henry Elementary, where the elementary program is located.  The middle school location is at Thomas Jefferson Middle school. High school students are provided any necessary supports in the Arlington Public Schools school or program they choose to attend.

Location Phone Student Support Coordinator Student Support Coordinator Email
Alice West Fleet 703.228.5820 Donna Crawford-Townsend Donna Crawford-Townsend
Jefferson Middle School 703.228.5900 Shannon Sterling-Hunter shannon.hunter@apsva.us

Functional Life Skills Program (FLS)

Elementary:  The focus of the FLS program, elementary level, is on establishing basic academic skills, increasing daily living skills, communication, motor/mobility skills, and sensory development. Students who receive special education support due to cognitive or intellectual disabilities, sensory impairments, orthopedic impairments, or other health impairments, may be candidates for the Functional Life Skills program.  The program provides highly individualized educational programming with intensified related services. FLS, elementary level, utilizes a variety of research supported curricula and practices, such as the Unique Learning curriculum for academic and pre-vocational skills.  As one component of instruction, Unique Learning provides individualized assessment, monitoring, and lessons in the critical skill areas of reading, writing, math, science and social studies.  The team-oriented approach draws upon a variety of strategies and interventions to develop educational plans to serve the needs of the students.  Elementary FLS locations are Ashlawn, Barrett, and Discovery.

Location Phone Student Support Coordinator Student Support Coordinator Email
Ashlawn 703-228-5270 Alyssa D’Amore-Yarnall alyssa.damoreyarnall@apsva.us
Barrett 703.228.6288 Cynthia Evans cynthia.evans@apsva.us
Discovery 703.228.2685 Karin Bloss karin.bloss@apsva.us

Secondary:  The FLS program, secondary level, is designed to provide students with opportunities and experiences for developing and refining academic and adaptive skills as they move toward greater independence.  FLS, secondary level, utilizes a variety of instructional resources, including the Unique Learning curriculum for academic and vocational skills.  Unique Learning, for example, provides individualized assessment, monitoring, and lessons in the critical skill areas of reading, writing, math, science and social studies, as well as transition readiness preparation. In addition, FLS, secondary utilizes the Life Centered Career Education Curriculum, developed by the Council for Exceptional Children, and designed primarily for students with severe disabilities (i.e. cognitive disabilities, traumatic brain injury, multiple disabilities, severe and profound disabilities) who require specialized instruction in the following skill areas: self-help, personal/social, daily living, functional academics, and job/vocational.  The curriculum is designed to be used in natural settings with connections made for concrete applications of skill development.   Therefore, community-based experiences play a large role in the program as students practice skills in real life settings. Students in the FLS program usually participate in state-wide assessment via the Virginia Alternative Assessment Program (VAAP).  However, each student’s IEP team determines whether students participate in the Standards of Learning (SOL) curriculum or the Aligned Standards of Learning (ASOL) curriculum, as well as how the individual student will participate in state-wide assessments.  Each APS middle and high school, as well as the Shriver program, provides an FLS program


Interlude (Countywide at Elementary level only)

The focus of the Interlude program is on improving social and emotional functioning in students who have significant interfering behaviors due to psychological or behavioral disorders. Students who are receiving special education support due to an emotional disability or significant behavioral issues, but whose academic skills are at or near grade-level, may be candidates for Interlude. The program provides a therapeutic environment designed to foster increased self-regulation, improved self-concept, positive relationship skills, and academic success. Supplemental curriculum emphasizes resiliency, self-regulation, interpersonal and problem-solving skills. The team-oriented approach draws upon academic, therapeutic, family and interagency resources to develop educational plans to serve the needs of the students.  The Interlude Program is available at each of the middle and high schools.

School School Phone Number Student Support Coordinator Student Support Coordinator Email
Campbell 703.228.6770 Martha-Alice Rademacher m.rademacher@apsva.us

Multi-Intervention Program for Students with Autism (MIPA)

The focus of the MIPA program is on increasing communication, independent life skills, social skills, and academic performance.  Students who are receiving special education support due to autism may be candidates for the MIPA program.  The program provides a highly structured environment and research-based academic and behavioral interventions for autism. The program uses a variety of strategies to prepare students to transition to less restrictive settings.  Examples of curricula used in MIPA classes include the STAR Program (Strategies for Teaching based on Autism Research, Arick, Loos, Falco, Krug, 2004) and the Links Curriculum.

PreK Programs
(Mini MIP-A)
School Phone Number Student Support Coordinator Student Support Coordinator Email Address
Arlington Traditional School 703.228.6290 Sue Essman  Sue Essman
Barrett 703.228.6288 Cynthia Evans cynthia.evans@apsva.us
Hoffman-Boston 703.228.5845 Donna Townsend donna.townsend@apsva.us
Long Branch 703.228.4220 Kristen Shymoniak kristen.shymoniak@apsva.us
Oakridge 703.228.5840 Meggie Scogna meggie.scogna@apsva.us
Reed 703.228.5180 Sara Shaw Sara Shaw
Elementary Programs
Barrett (2 classes) 703.228.6288 Cynthia Evans cynthia.evans@apsva.us
Dr. Charles Drew
(2 classes)
703.228.5285 Carlette Bryan carlette.bryan@apsva.us
Hoffman-Boston 703.228.5845 Donna Townsend donna.townsend@apsva.us
Jamestown 703-228-5275 Karin Bloss karin.bloss@apsva.us
Long Branch 703-228-4220 Kristen Shymoniak kristen.shymoniak@apsva.us
McKinley 703-228-5280 Caroline Damren caroline.damren@apsva.us
Oakridge 703-228-5840 Meggie Scogna meggie.scogna@apsva.us
Taylor (2 classes) 703-228-6275 Caroline Damren caroline.damren@apsva.us
Secondary Programs
Kenmore (2 classes) 703-228-6800 Katelyn Gurgiolo Katelyn Gurgiolo
Wakefield 703-228-6700 Krystal Bujeiro-Hines krystal.hines@apsva.us

Program for Employment Preparedness (PEP)

The Program for Employment Preparedness (PEP), launched in school year 2014-15 and located at the Arlington Career Center, is a job training and transition program.  This program is multi-tiered and creates a dynamic and targeted approach to meeting the transitional needs of students. PEP is based on specific competencies developed in consultation with Virginia Commonwealth University (VCU) using resources such as Virginia’s Workplace Readiness Skills for the Commonwealth. PEP provides students with experiences and learning opportunities based on current business trends and needs so that students may gain relevant skills for obtaining employment in today’s market, including the requisite social skills necessary to secure and maintain long-term, meaningful employment. The program is designed for students to receive internship and apprenticeship experiences, trade certifications, licenses, college credit and/or networking connections that may lead to employment directly upon graduation. Referrals should be made to PEP during the student’s final year of high school participation, with specific transition preparation programming to be determined subsequent to acceptance.  Student participation is individualized, according to needs, and if appropriate for the student, courses may simultaneously be taken for academic credit.Secondary students with disabilities accessing special education support for 50% or more of the school day as they exit high school may be candidates for PEP.  The program is non-categorical and students with various disabilities may be referred.

Location Phone Student Support Coordinator Student SupportCoordinator Email
Career Center 703-228-5800 Jenny York Jenny York

Secondary Program for Students with Autism (SPSA)

Students who are identified to receive special education services due to autism and who are working on grade-level (or higher) curriculum may access specially designed classes which address social skills and executive functioning.  This programming will focus on the development of interpersonal and organizational skills, while encouraging a challenging academic experience. Students will integrate into general education classes per services on their IEP’s and are instructed on grade-level SOL curriculum.  Supplemental curricula may include Unstuck and On-Target!:  An Executive Function Curriculum to Improve Flexibility for Children with Autism Spectrum Disorders, and the PEERS Curriculum for School-Based Social Skills Training for Adolescents with Autism Spectrum Disorder.

Secondary Location Phone Student Support Coordinator Student Support Coordinator Email
Jefferson 703-228-5900 Shannon Sterling-Hunter shannon.hunter@apsva.us
HB Woodlawn 703-228-6363 Meg Davis meg.davis@apsva.us
Washington-Liberty 703-228-6200 Jennifer York jenny.york@apsva.us
Yorktown 703-228-5400 Carolyn Thiell carolyn.thiell@apsva.us

Eunice Kennedy Shriver Program

The Shriver Program provides a highly individualized, supportive environment for students with significant disabilities within a smaller school setting with a low student-to-staff ratio throughout the program.  Students in the Shriver Program require intensive, explicit instruction in functional academic and vocational skills, as well as community-based educational program. Instruction is provided primarily in a self-contained special education setting with opportunities for inclusion and interaction with non-disabled peers on-site, at the H.B. Woodlawn Program. Specific classes within the Shriver Program follow the Functional Life Skills (FLS) or Multi-Intervention Program for Autism (MIPA) curricula.  Students who require FLS or MIPA in a small school setting with a low student-to-staff ratio, may receive those programs at Shriver. In addition to instruction in functional academics and adaptive skills, the Shriver Program provides specific training to prepare students for participation in post-secondary settings, such as sheltered workshops, semi-sheltered enclaves, supported work, and competitive job placement. Individual student programs are developed to achieve maximum social, emotional, physical, and cognitive growth while acquiring the related skills necessary to function in the community as independently as possible. Students may participate in the Shriver Program up to age 22 (as of September 30).

Location Phone Student Support Coordinator Student Support Coordinator Email
Shriver Program 703-228-6440 Shirtona Horton Shirtona Horton


45-Day Program

Students who require an alternative program as a result of long-term suspension.