秋季2020: ATSS 和學生支持流程

2020年秋季家庭信息:阿靈頓分層支持系統(ATSS)和學生支持流程
8月25日, 2020
今年秋天,學校將繼續利用 ATSS 虛擬環境中的框架,以確保所有學生都收到他們需要的目標指導。 在指導下 ATSS 辦公室,學校將繼續虛擬地完善和適應以下5個主要方面: ATSS 包括:

1)嚴格的差異化1層指令,
2)普遍篩选和評估,
3)進度監控,
4)基於研究的干預措施,以及
5)基於數據的決策。

學校將繼續使用三層 ATSS 響應學生個人學術,行為和社會情感需求的框架。 對於那些需要額外支持的學生,將對其進行某些調整和修改,以在虛擬環境中容納這些支持。 這些支持可能包括:

  • 經常與個人簽到 APS 員工
  • 持續的診斷評估
  • 直接,明確和系統的同步指令
  • 小組指導和/或乾預的頻率和持續時間的增加
  • 並採用通用學習設計指南來區分和搭建Tier 1同步和異步指令。

APS 員工將在虛擬環境中繼續為有需要的學生提供多種干預措施,包括但不限於Orton-Gillingham,Do the Math和規管區域。 此外,每所學校的學生支持團隊將可以合作並支持教師確定如何虛擬地滿足所有學生的需求。 協作學習團隊(CLT)將繼續每週舉行一次會議,以分析單個學生的數據/進度並相應地調整指導。

學生支持小組會議:

對學生的學業,社交情感和/或行為發展有疑慮的教職員工或家長可以將學生轉至學生支持小組。 鼓勵希望將孩子帶到學生支持小組會議上討論問題和/或要求特殊教育評估的父母與孩子的老師以書面形式分享他們的請求。

對於小學生,應與校長或助理校長共享一份。

對於中學生和高中生,應與學生的顧問和輔導主任共享一份副本。

要介紹尚未成為阿靈頓公立學校學生的XNUMX *至XNUMX歲的兒童,請聯繫阿靈頓公立學校 找孩子辦公室.
(*孩子必須在本學年的30月XNUMX日之前兩歲,才能在該學年接受服務。)

SST會議將從推薦之日起10個工作日內舉行。 如果需要減少浪費員工提供直接服務的時間,學校可以使用其他團隊成員來擔任SPED和通識教育職位。

不完整的特殊教育評估:
員工將與家人溝通,以繼續特殊教育評估流程的實施,該流程在三月學校意外關閉時被暫停,並將提供有關虛擬評估的更多信息。

 

有關學生支持團隊,CLT和其他流程的更多信息 APS 可以用來支持學生  這裡 在 APS 學生支持手冊 (修訂,2020年XNUMX月)。

Fall 2020: ATSS and Student Support Process

Fall 2020 Information for Families: Arlington Tiered System of Supports (ATSS) and Student Support Process
August 25, 2020
This fall, schools will continue to utilize the ATSS framework in a virtual setting to ensure that all students are receiving the targeted instruction they need.  With the guidance of the ATSS office, schools will continue to virtually refine and adapt the 5 main components of ATSS including:

1) rigorous, differentiated Tier 1 instruction,
2) universal screening and assessment,
3) progress monitoring,
4) research-based interventions, and
5) data-based decision making.

Schools will continue to use the three tiers of the ATSS framework to respond to the individual academic, behavioral, and social-emotional needs of students.  For those students who require additional supports, certain adaptations and modifications will be implemented to accommodate these supports in a virtual setting. These supports could include:

  • frequent individual check-ins with APS staff
  • on-going diagnostic assessments
  • direct, explicit, and systematic synchronous instruction
  • increased frequency and duration of small group instruction and/or intervention
  • and differentiated and scaffolded Tier 1 synchronous and asynchronous instruction utilizing Universal Design for Learning guidelines.

APS staff will continue to offer a wide variety of interventions for students in need, including but not limited to Orton-Gillingham, Do the Math, and Zones of Regulation, in a virtual setting.  Furthermore, each school’s Student Support Team will be available to collaborate and support teachers in determining how to support the needs of all students virtually.  Collaborative Learning Teams (CLTs) will continue to meet on a weekly basis to analyze individual student data/progress and adjust instruction accordingly.

Student Support Team Meetings:

Staff or parents who have concerns regarding a student’s academic, social-emotional, and/or behavioral development may refer a student to a Student Support Team. Parents wishing to refer their child to a Student Support Team meeting to discuss concerns and/or request a special education evaluation are encouraged to share their request in writing with their child’s teacher.

For elementary school students, a copy should be shared with the principal or assistant principal.

For middle and high school students, a copy should be shared with the student’s counselor and the Director of Counseling.

To refer children ages two* through five who are not yet Arlington Public Schools students, contact the Arlington Public Schools Child Find Office.
(*Children need to be two years old by September 30th of the current school year in order to receive services in that school year.)

SST meetings will be held within 10 business days from the date of a referral.  Schools may use alternative team members to fill SPED and general education roles if needed to reduce the time staff are pulled from providing direct services.

Incomplete Special Education Evaluations:
Staff will communicate with families regarding continuation of special education evaluation processes that were suspended when schools closed unexpectedly in March, and additional information on virtual evaluations will be forthcoming.

 

More information about Student Support Teams, CLTs, and additional processes APS uses to support students can be found  here in the APS Student Support Manual (Revised, August, 2020).