الخدمات المفوضة

السياسات والإجراءات التي تحكم خدمات التربية الخاصة APS تم تصميمه للطلاب المؤهلين لتلبية التفويضات الفيدرالية والولاية بحيث يتلقى جميع الطلاب ذوي الإعاقة في السن المؤهلة تعليمًا عامًا مجانيًا ومناسبًا في بيئة أقل تقييدًا.

العثور على الطفل

تتم إحالة الأطفال الذين يشتبه في تأخرهم في مجالات الإدراك والتواصل والسمع والرؤية والمهارات الاجتماعية والعاطفية و / أو المهارات الحركية إلى لجنة دراسة الطلاب لتحديد ما إذا كان الطفل يحتاج إلى تقييم للنظر في الأهلية لخدمات التعليم الخاص.

انضباط

تتضمن إعادة تفويض قانون تعليم الأفراد ذوي الإعاقة (IDEA) لعام 2004 العديد من التعديلات المتعلقة بالانضباط. يخضع الطلاب ذوو الإعاقة لنفس الإجراءات التأديبية مثل الطلاب الآخرين لمدة تصل إلى عشرة أيام. تتطلب حالات التعليق لأكثر من عشرة أيام خلال العام الدراسي إكمال تحليل السلوك الوظيفي. بعد التحليل السلوكي الوظيفي ، يجب تطوير أو تعديل خطة إدارة السلوك الفردي. يجب عقد جلسة استماع (سببية). إذا تم تحديد السلوك على أنه مظهر من مظاهر الإعاقة ، وتم حجب الخدمات لمدة عشرة أيام خلال العام الدراسي ، فيجب توفير مكان مؤقت.

خدمات العام الدراسي الممتد (ESY)

يتم تقديم خدمات السنة الدراسية الممتدة للطلاب المؤهلين الذين يحتاجون إلى خدمات تعليمية أو دعم بعد العام الدراسي العادي الذي يبلغ 180 يومًا للحفاظ على مستويات الكفاءة في مجالات المهارات الهامة من عام دراسي إلى العام التالي. تشمل مجالات المهارات الحرجة التحكم العضلي ، والتنقل الجسدي ، والرعاية الذاتية / المساعدة الذاتية ، والتحكم في الانفعالات ، والتواصل الأساسي ، والتفاعل الاجتماعي ، والإدراك الأساسي.

فحص الصم وضعاف السمع

يتم تقديم فحوصات الصم وضعاف السمع لجميع الطلاب الملتحقين ، وطلاب رياض الأطفال ، والصف الثالث ، والسابع ، والعاشر ، وجميع الطلاب الذين يتم اعتبارهم في خدمات التربية الخاصة ، وأولئك الذين يعانون من ضعف سمع معروف

خدمات الصم وضعاف السمع

يعمل أخصائي الصم وضعاف السمع بشكل وثيق مع أعضاء هيئة التدريس لتنفيذ جميع جوانب إعادة التأهيل السمعي في الفصول الدراسية للطلاب الذين يعانون من ضعف السمع والذين يحتاجون إلى نهج شفهي. يتوفر اختصاصي أمراض النطق واللغة لجميع الطلاب المحددين الذين يحتاجون إلى خدمات إضافية لمساعدة أخصائي الصم وضعاف السمع.

قسم فيرجينيا للصم وضعاف السمع

خدمات الرؤية الوظيفية المتجولة

يتم تقديم الخدمات للطلاب ذوي الإعاقات البصرية حتى يتمكنوا من المشاركة الكاملة في برامجهم التعليمية. يشارك الموظفون المدربون في: التقييم ، والأهلية ، وتطوير IEP وتنفيذها ، وتقديم الاستشارات و / أو الخدمة المباشرة ، وتوفير المواد والمعدات المعدلة والعمل كحلقة وصل بين موظفي المدرسة والطلاب وأولياء الأمور ومقدمي العناية بالعيون وقسم فيرجينيا المعاقون بصريا (VDVH).

موارد لخدمات الرؤية:

تم اقتباس الروابط التالية للمعلومات والموارد من صفحة الويب الخاصة بوزارة التعليم في فرجينيا (VDOE) ، إعاقات محددة / إعاقات حسية. يجب تقديم مستندات التوجيه الخاصة بـ VDOE إلى المعلمين وأولياء أمور هؤلاء الطلاب. أقسام المدرسة لديها إذن لتقديم نسخ ورقية وكذلك التنسيقات البديلة.

تشمل الموارد المحددة الأخرى التي يجب أن تكون متاحة للمعلمين وأولياء الأمور ما يلي:

الخدمات ذات الصلة

التربية الرياضية المكيفة

يتم توفير التربية البدنية المعدلة للطلاب ذوي الإعاقة الذين يجب أن يكون لديهم برنامج فردي للغاية للاستفادة من التدريس والمشاركة في التربية البدنية.

علاج بالممارسة

في البيئة التعليمية ، يعالج العلاج المهني قدرة الفرد على أداء مهام الرعاية الذاتية والتعليم والمهنية واللعب. يقوم المعالجون بتقييم الإدراك الحسي والمعالجة والوظيفة العصبية العضلية والمهارات الحركية والمهارات الإدراكية والسلوك التكيفي لتحديد كيفية تأثيرها على الأداء المدرسي. قد يعمل المعالجون المهنيون مع الطلاب لتحسين أنشطة مهارات الحياة اليومية (على سبيل المثال ، إدارة الملابس ، وتناول الطعام في الكافيتريا ، والنظافة الشخصية) ، والمهارات الحركية الدقيقة الوظيفية (مثل الكتابة ، والتلوين ، والقطع) ، والتدريب على المهارات المحددة لمرحلة ما قبل التدريب المهني والمهام المهنية. يجب أن يرتبط التدخل في هذه المجالات بأهداف وغايات IEP.

علاج بدني

في البيئة التعليمية ، يعالج العلاج الطبيعي القدرة على تحريك أجزاء من الجسم ، واتخاذ المواقف والحفاظ عليها ، وتنظيم الحركة في المهارات الحركية الإجمالية الوظيفية. يعمل المعالجون الفيزيائيون مع الطلاب لبناء القوة والقدرة على التحمل للتنقل الوظيفي (على سبيل المثال ، تسلق السلالم ، وفتح الأبواب ، وحمل المواد ، والوصول إلى الملعب ، والمشاركة في الرحلات الميدانية). يجب أن يرتبط التدخل في هذه المجالات بأهداف وغايات IEP.

خدمات التوجيه والتنقل

يتم توفير خدمات التوجيه والتنقل للطلاب المكفوفين وضعاف البصر لضمان السفر المستقل والآمن داخل المدرسة والمجتمع. يقدم الموظفون المدربون التقييم والتدريب للطلاب في مجال الوعي الحسي ، وتطوير المفهوم ، وسفر قصب السكر ، واستخدام الوسائل المساعدة لضعف الرؤية ، وتنفيذ هذه المهارات في الروتين اليومي.

استجمام

تشمل خدمات الاستجمام تقييم مهارات أوقات الفراغ ، وخدمة الاستجمام العلاجي ، وبرامج الترفيه في المدارس والمجتمع ، والتعليم الترفيهي.

وسائل النقل

يشمل النقل السفر من وإلى المدرسة وبين المدارس ، والسفر داخل مبنى المدرسة وحوله ، والمعدات المتخصصة.

التكنولوجيا المساعدة

تشمل التكنولوجيا المساعدة الأجهزة أو الخدمات ، أو كليهما ، والتي يجب إتاحتها للطفل ذي الإعاقة إذا لزم الأمر كجزء من التعليم الخاص للطفل أو الخدمة ذات الصلة أو المساعدات والخدمات التكميلية.

خدمات النطق واللغة

يقوم أخصائيو أمراض النطق واللغة بتطوير برامج لغة التخاطب الشاملة للطلاب الذين تم تحديدهم من خلال توفير التقييم والعلاج والاستشارة والاستشارة للأطفال في سن ما قبل المدرسة وفي سن المدرسة الذين يعانون من اضطرابات النطق أو اللغة أو السمع.

الخدمات الانتقالية

تشمل خدمات الانتقال مجموعة منسقة من الأنشطة المصممة ضمن عملية موجهة نحو النتائج تعزز الانتقال من المدرسة إلى أنشطة ما بعد المدرسة (بما في ذلك التعليم بعد الثانوي والتدريب المهني والتوظيف المتكامل [بما في ذلك التوظيف المدعوم] والتعليم المستمر وتعليم الكبار وخدمات الكبار أو العيش المستقل أو المشاركة المجتمعية). مطلوب خطة انتقالية فردية لجميع الطلاب الذين تبلغ أعمارهم 16 عامًا فما فوق. تعتمد هذه الخطة على الاحتياجات الفردية ، وهي جزء من IEP.

Mandated Services

The policies and procedures that govern the special education services that APS provides to eligible students are designed to meet the Federal and State mandates so that all students with disabilities of eligible age receive a free, appropriate public education in the least restrictive environment.

Child Find

Children with suspected delays in the areas of cognition, communication, hearing, vision, social-emotional skills, and/or motor skills are referred to a student study committee to determine whether the child requires assessment for consideration of eligibility for special education services.

Discipline

The 2004 reauthorization of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) includes several amendments regarding discipline. Students with disabilities are subject to the same disciplinary procedures as other students for up to ten days. Suspensions of more than ten days within a school year require that a functional behavioral analysis be completed. Following the functional behavioral analysis, an individual behavior management plan must be developed or modified. A manifestation hearing (causal) must be held. If the behavior is determined to be a manifestation of the disability, and services have been withheld for ten days within the school year, an interim placement must be provided.

Extended School Year (ESY) Services

Extended School Year services are provided to eligible students who require instructional or support services beyond the regular 180-day school year to maintain proficiency levels in critical skill areas from one school year to the next. Critical skill areas include muscular control, physical mobility, self-care/self-help, impulse control, basic communication, social interaction, and basic cognition.

Hearing Screening

Hearing screenings are provided for all entering students, students in kindergarten, third, seventh, and tenth grades, all students being considered for special education services, and those students with a known hearing loss.

Hearing Services

The hearing specialist works closely with the teaching staff to implement all aspects of aural rehabilitation in the classrooms for students with hearing losses who require an oral approach. A speech-language pathologist is available to all identified students who require additional services to assist the hearing specialist.

Virginia Department for the Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing

Itinerant Functional Vision Services

Services are provided to students with visual impairments so they may fully participate in their educational programs. Trained personnel are involved in: assessment, eligibility, IEP development and implementation, providing consultation and/or direct service, providing adapted material and equipment and serving as a link between school staff, students, parents, eye care provider and the Virginia Department for the Visually Handicapped (VDVH).

Resources for Vision Services:

The following links to information and resources are excerpted from the Virginia Department of Education’s (VDOE) Web page, Specific Disabilities/Sensory Disabilities. VDOE’s guidance documents should be provided to teachers and parents ofthese students. School divisions have permission to provide paper copies aswell as alternate formats.

Other specific resources that should beavailable to teachers and parents include the following:

Related Services

Adapted Physical Education

Adapted Physical Education is provided for students with disabilities who must have a highly individualized program to benefit from instruction and participation in physical education.

Occupational Therapy

In the educational setting, occupational therapy addresses the individual’s ability to perform self-care, education, vocational, and play tasks. Therapists assess sensory awareness and processing, neuromuscular function, motor skills, perceptual skills, and adaptive behavior to determine how they are affecting school performance. Occupational therapists may work with students to improve activities of daily living skills (e.g., clothing management, eating in the cafeteria, personal hygiene), functional fine motor skills (e.g., writing, coloring, cutting), and specific skill training for pre-vocational and vocational tasks. Intervention in these areas must be related to the IEP goals and objectives.

Physical Therapy

In the educational setting, physical therapy addresses the ability to move parts of the body, to assume and maintain postures, and organize movement into functional gross motor skills. Physical therapists work with students to build strength and endurance for functional mobility (e.g., climbing stairs, opening doors, carrying materials, accessing the playground, participating in field trips). Intervention in these areas must be related to the IEP goals and objectives.

Orientation and Mobility Services

Orientation and mobility services are provided to blind and visually impaired students to ensure independent and safe travel within the school and community. Trained personnel provide assessment and training to students in sensory awareness, concept development, cane travel, use of low vision aids and implementation of these skills into daily routines.

Recreation

Recreation services includes assessment of leisure skills, therapeutic recreation service, recreation programs in schools and community, and leisure education

Transportation

Transportation includes travel to and from school and between schools, travel in and around school building, and specialized equipment.

Assistive Technology

Assistive technology includes devices or services, or both, which should be made available to a child with a disability if required as part of the child’s special education, related service or supplementary aids and services.

Speech-language Services

Speech- language pathologists develop comprehensive speech language programs for identified students by providing evaluation, treatment, counseling and consultation for preschool and school-aged children with speech, language, or hearing disorders.

Transition Services

Transition services include a coordinated set of activities designed within an outcome-oriented process that promotes movement from school to post-school activities (including post-secondary education, vocational training, integrated employment [including supported employment], continuing and adult education, adult services, independent living, or community participation). An individual transition plan in required for all students age 16 and above. This plan is based on individual needs, and is part of the IEP.