强制性服务

规范特殊教育服务的政策和程序 APS 为符合条件的学生提供的服务旨在满足联邦和州的规定,以便所有符合条件的残疾学生在最少限制的环境中接受免费,适当的公共教育。

找孩子

在认知,沟通,听觉,视觉,社交情感和/或运动技能方面怀疑有延误的儿童,将被转交给学生学习委员会,以确定该儿童是否需要进行评估以考虑是否有资格接受特殊教育服务。

纪律

2004年对《残疾人教育法》(IDEA)的重新授权包括对纪律的几项修正。 残疾学生将受到与其他学生相同的纪律处分,长达XNUMX天。 在一个学年内停学超过十天需要完成功能行为分析。 在进行功能行​​为分析之后,必须制定或修改个人行为管理计划。 必须举行听证会(因果关系)。 如果该行为被确定为残疾的表现,并且在学年内已停止服务十天,则必须提供临时安置。

延长学年(ESY)服务

延长学年服务将提供给合格的学生,他们需要在常规的180天学年之后提供指导或支持服务,以保持从一个学年到下一学年的关键技能领域的熟练水平。 关键技能领域包括肌肉控制,身体活动,自我护理/自助,冲动控制,基本沟通,社交互动和基本认知。

聋哑听力筛查

为所有入学学生,幼儿园,三年级,七年级和十年级的学生,所有正在考虑接受特殊教育服务的学生以及已知听力损失的学生提供耳聋和听力障碍筛查。

聋哑人和听力障碍者

聋哑听觉专家与教学人员紧密合作,为需要口头入耳的听力损失学生在教室中实施听觉康复的各个方面。 所有需要其他服务以帮助聋哑听觉专家的已识别学生都可以使用语言病理学家。

弗吉尼亚聋哑人和听力障碍部门

巡回功能视觉服务

为视力障碍的学生提供服务,使他们可以充分参与其教育计划。 受过培训的人员参与:评估,资格,IEP的开发和实施,提供咨询和/或直接服务,提供经过修改的材料和设备,并充当学校工作人员,学生,父母,眼保健提供者和弗吉尼亚州教育部之间的纽带。视障人士(VDVH)。

视觉服务资源:

以下指向信息和资源的链接摘自弗吉尼亚州教育局(VDOE)的网页, 特殊障碍/感觉障碍。 VDOE的指导文件应提供给这些学生的老师和家长。 学校部门有权提供纸质副本以及其他格式。

教师和家长应获得的其他特定资源包括:

相关服务

适应性体育

为残障学生提供适应性体育教育,他们必须拥有高度个性化的计划,才能从体育教学和参与中受益。

职业理疗

在教育环境中,职业疗法强调个人执行自我保健,教育,职业和娱乐任务的能力。 治疗师评估感觉意识和处理,神经肌肉功能,运动技能,知觉技能和适应性行为,以确定它们如何影响学校成绩。 职业治疗师可能会与学生合作,以改善日常生活技能的活动(例如,服装管理,在自助餐厅就餐,个人卫生),功能精细的运动技能(例如,写作,着色,剪裁)以及职业前的特定技能培训和职业任务。 在这些领域的干预必须与IEP的目的和目标相关。

物理疗法

在教育环境中,物理疗法的目的是移动身体的各个部分,采取和保持姿势并将运动组织成运动的总运动技能。 物理治疗师与学生合作,以增强力量和耐力,促进功能性活动(例如,爬楼梯,开门,搬运材料,进入操场,参加实地考察)。 在这些领域的干预必须与IEP的目的和目标相关。

定向和出行服务

为盲人和视障学生提供定向和行动服务,以确保他们在学校和社区内的独立安全旅行。 训练有素的人员为学生提供有关感官意识,概念发展,拐杖旅行,使用低视力辅助工具以及将这些技能应用于日常工作的评估和培训。

娱乐

娱乐服务包括休闲技能评估,治疗性休闲服务,学校和社区的休闲计划以及休闲教育

交通

交通包括往返学校和学校之间的旅行,在学校建筑内外的旅行以及专用设备。

辅助技术

辅助技术包括设备或服务,或两者兼有,如果需要,则应将其提供给残障儿童,作为其特殊教育,相关服务或补充教具和服务的一部分。

言语服务

言语语言病理学家通过为患有言语,语言或听力障碍的学龄前和学龄儿童提供评估,治疗,咨询和咨询,为已确定的学生制定全面的言语语言课程。

过渡服务

过渡服务包括在以结果为导向的过程中设计的一系列协调活动,以促进从学校到校后活动的转移(包括中学后教育,职业培训,综合就业[包括受支持的就业],继续教育和成人教育,成人服务) ,独立生活或社区参与)。 所有16岁及以上的学生都需要制定单独的过渡计划。 该计划基于个人需求,并且是IEP的一部分。

Mandated Services

The policies and procedures that govern the special education services that APS provides to eligible students are designed to meet the Federal and State mandates so that all students with disabilities of eligible age receive a free, appropriate public education in the least restrictive environment.

Child Find

Children with suspected delays in the areas of cognition, communication, hearing, vision, social-emotional skills, and/or motor skills are referred to a student study committee to determine whether the child requires assessment for consideration of eligibility for special education services.

Discipline

The 2004 reauthorization of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) includes several amendments regarding discipline. Students with disabilities are subject to the same disciplinary procedures as other students for up to ten days. Suspensions of more than ten days within a school year require that a functional behavioral analysis be completed. Following the functional behavioral analysis, an individual behavior management plan must be developed or modified. A manifestation hearing (causal) must be held. If the behavior is determined to be a manifestation of the disability, and services have been withheld for ten days within the school year, an interim placement must be provided.

Extended School Year (ESY) Services

Extended School Year services are provided to eligible students who require instructional or support services beyond the regular 180-day school year to maintain proficiency levels in critical skill areas from one school year to the next. Critical skill areas include muscular control, physical mobility, self-care/self-help, impulse control, basic communication, social interaction, and basic cognition.

Hearing Screening

Hearing screenings are provided for all entering students, students in kindergarten, third, seventh, and tenth grades, all students being considered for special education services, and those students with a known hearing loss.

Hearing Services

The hearing specialist works closely with the teaching staff to implement all aspects of aural rehabilitation in the classrooms for students with hearing losses who require an oral approach. A speech-language pathologist is available to all identified students who require additional services to assist the hearing specialist.

Virginia Department for the Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing

Itinerant Functional Vision Services

Services are provided to students with visual impairments so they may fully participate in their educational programs. Trained personnel are involved in: assessment, eligibility, IEP development and implementation, providing consultation and/or direct service, providing adapted material and equipment and serving as a link between school staff, students, parents, eye care provider and the Virginia Department for the Visually Handicapped (VDVH).

Resources for Vision Services:

The following links to information and resources are excerpted from the Virginia Department of Education’s (VDOE) Web page, Specific Disabilities/Sensory Disabilities. VDOE’s guidance documents should be provided to teachers and parents ofthese students. School divisions have permission to provide paper copies aswell as alternate formats.

Other specific resources that should beavailable to teachers and parents include the following:

Related Services

Adapted Physical Education

Adapted Physical Education is provided for students with disabilities who must have a highly individualized program to benefit from instruction and participation in physical education.

Occupational Therapy

In the educational setting, occupational therapy addresses the individual’s ability to perform self-care, education, vocational, and play tasks. Therapists assess sensory awareness and processing, neuromuscular function, motor skills, perceptual skills, and adaptive behavior to determine how they are affecting school performance. Occupational therapists may work with students to improve activities of daily living skills (e.g., clothing management, eating in the cafeteria, personal hygiene), functional fine motor skills (e.g., writing, coloring, cutting), and specific skill training for pre-vocational and vocational tasks. Intervention in these areas must be related to the IEP goals and objectives.

Physical Therapy

In the educational setting, physical therapy addresses the ability to move parts of the body, to assume and maintain postures, and organize movement into functional gross motor skills. Physical therapists work with students to build strength and endurance for functional mobility (e.g., climbing stairs, opening doors, carrying materials, accessing the playground, participating in field trips). Intervention in these areas must be related to the IEP goals and objectives.

Orientation and Mobility Services

Orientation and mobility services are provided to blind and visually impaired students to ensure independent and safe travel within the school and community. Trained personnel provide assessment and training to students in sensory awareness, concept development, cane travel, use of low vision aids and implementation of these skills into daily routines.

Recreation

Recreation services includes assessment of leisure skills, therapeutic recreation service, recreation programs in schools and community, and leisure education

Transportation

Transportation includes travel to and from school and between schools, travel in and around school building, and specialized equipment.

Assistive Technology

Assistive technology includes devices or services, or both, which should be made available to a child with a disability if required as part of the child’s special education, related service or supplementary aids and services.

Speech-language Services

Speech- language pathologists develop comprehensive speech language programs for identified students by providing evaluation, treatment, counseling and consultation for preschool and school-aged children with speech, language, or hearing disorders.

Transition Services

Transition services include a coordinated set of activities designed within an outcome-oriented process that promotes movement from school to post-school activities (including post-secondary education, vocational training, integrated employment [including supported employment], continuing and adult education, adult services, independent living, or community participation). An individual transition plan in required for all students age 16 and above. This plan is based on individual needs, and is part of the IEP.