Centre de ressources pour les parents (PRC)

Avril est le mois de la sensibilisation et de l'acceptation de l'autisme

Contactez nous:
Kathleen Donovan
kathleen.donovan @apsva.us
Numéro direct Google Voice: 657.522.0419, ou laissez un message au 703.228.2135.

Kelly Montagne
kelly.mountain @apsva.us
703.228.2136

PRC Evénements
Bien que nos opportunités et événements d'apprentissage en direct pour les parents soient annulés jusqu'à nouvel ordre, nous proposerons des webinaires et ajouterons des liens vers des opportunités de webinaires communautaires sur notre Page des événements.

Accueil Ressources d'apprentissage
Bon nombre de nos collègues ont travaillé avec diligence pour fournir des ressources pédagogiques aux familles pour soutenir l'apprentissage à domicile. Vous pouvez trouver ces ressources utiles sur le COVID-19 Ressources sur la fermeture d'écoles pour les familles d'élèves handicapés page web.

Général Ressources pour les familles: Restez à jour avec APS annonces et informations pour toutes les familles à ici.


PRC 2

Bienvenue au centre de ressources pour les parents d'éducation spécialisée des écoles publiques d'Arlington (PRC). La PRC est une ressource et des informationscentre de rencontre pour les familles, le personnel et les membres de la communauté. le PRCsa mission est de fournir aux parents le soutien et les informations dont ils ont besoin en tant quey travailler avec le système scolaire pour identifier et répondre aux besoins d'apprentissage uniques de leur enfant.

L' PRC propose un accompagnement et une assistance, des consultations individuelles avec les familles au PRC ou par téléphone, une bibliothèque de prêt, un bulletin d'information pour les parents, des possibilités d'apprentissage pour les parents, et sert de source d'information et de référence pour les familles et les membres du personnel. 

L' PRC's Guide de ressources et d'information pour la famille est conçu pour fournir un soutien étape par étape aux familles qui ont un enfant handicapé, ou qui soupçonnent que leur enfant pourrait avoir un handicap, dans la navigation dans le processus d'éducation spéciale, la collaboration avec le personnel de l'école et l'accès aux ressources communautaires.

Visitez le guide pour en savoir plus sur le processus d'éducation spéciale, et contacter le Centre de ressources pour les parents pour savoir comment procéder si vous êtes préoccupé par le développement scolaire, social et / ou affectif de votre enfant.

Graphique de partenaire parfait

Nous attendons avec impatience la connexion avec vous!

 

APS School Talk graphique HDRecevez un article avec des outils chaque quinzaine APS School Talk & le PRCMises à jour par e-mail!

PRC Les notifications d'événements et les mises à jour sont envoyées via APS School Talk. Si vous souhaitez être ajouté à la PRC liste des annonces, rendez-vous sur la APS School Talk page et inscrivez-vous à notre liste d'intérêt spécial en sélectionnant «Éducation spéciale».


Points de décision critiques VDOE

Le Virginia Department of Education (VDOE), grâce à une subvention fournie par le Virginia Board for People with Disabilities (VBPD) et à l'aide du Centre de formation et d'assistance technique de l'Université James Madison (TTAC), a mis au point cinq formations en ligne modules pour les parents, les professionnels de l'école et d'autres intervenants communautaires qui travaillent avec les familles qui ont un enfant handicapé Les parents et les soignants ont certains objectifs en tête lorsque leurs enfants vont à l'école. Que leurs enfants soient handicapés ou non, tous les parents veulent que leurs enfants apprennent, explorent et expérimentent autant qu'ils le peuvent. Les parents s'efforcent de faire en sorte que leurs enfants terminent leurs études publiques, obtiennent un diplôme et soient pleinement préparés à avancer vers la voie choisie, que ce soit un emploi immédiat, des études supérieures ou autre chose. Pour que les enfants atteignent ces objectifs, certaines décisions devront être prises en cours de route. Les modules créés concernent le Points de décision cruciaux pour les familles d'enfants handicapés programme et sont conçus pour aider les participants à comprendre quatre choses alors qu'ils se préparent à prendre ces décisions:

  • Quelles sont certaines des clés de la réussite scolaire d'un enfant?
  • Quelles décisions devront être prises concernant le parcours scolaire d'un enfant?
  • À quel moment devrions-nous prendre ces décisions?
  • Quelles informations sont nécessaires pour que nous puissions prendre les décisions les plus éclairées possible pour un enfant?

Les modules de formation sont accessibles via le lien Web suivant: Je suis déterminé - Parents - Points de décision cruciaux pour les familles d'enfants handicapés. Il y a un total de cinq modules d'une durée allant de trois minutes à cinq minutes, qui peuvent être complétés en une seule visionnage ou fractionnés dans le temps pour répondre aux contraintes de temps individuelles.

L' Points de décision cruciaux pour les familles d'enfants handicapés (Word) guide a été développé afin d'aider les familles d'enfants handicapés à comprendre les clés de la réussite scolaire de leurs enfants, ainsi que les décisions qu'ils devront prendre tout au long de la carrière de leurs enfants dans l'enseignement public. Des informations sont fournies qui aideront les parents à comprendre non seulement quelles décisions devront être prises, mais aussi quand ces décisions devront commencer à être prises en considération.

@APS_PRC

APS_PRC

ParentResourceCenter

@APS_PRC
C'est formidable de pratiquer les stratégies de la CAR avec des collègues pour soutenir les compétences en communication et en littératie. Excellentes ressources à: https://t.co/sja9IvpIJb @APS_AsTech
Publié le 03 mai 21 11:55
                                        
Recevez nos offres et nouveautés

Parent Resource Center (PRC)

COVID-19 Closure/Operating Status: During the COVID-19 Closure, the PRC Coordinators, Kathleen & Kelly, will be working remotely. We will regularly be checking our email and voicemail, and look forward to connecting with you. Our contact information is provided below.

Kathleen Donovan
kathleen.donovan@apsva.us
703.228.2135

Kelly Mountain
kelly.mountain@apsva.us
703.228.2136

PRC Events
Although our parent learning opportunities and events are cancelled until further notice, we are attempting to add links to webinar opportunities on our Events page.

Home Learning Resources
Many of our colleagues have been working diligently to provide instructional resources for families to support home learning. You can find these helpful resources at the COVID-19 School Closure Resources for Families of Students with Disabilities webpage.

General Resources for Families: Keep up to date with APS announcements and information for all families at here.


PRC 2

Welcome to the Arlington Public Schools Special Education Parent Resource Center (PRC). The PRC is a resource and information center for families, staff and community members. The PRC’s mission is to provide parents the support and information they need as they work with the school system to identify and meet their child’s unique learning needs.

The PRC offers support and assistance, individual consultations with families at the PRC or by phone, a lending library, a parent newsletter, parent learning opportunities, and serves as an information and referral source for families and staff members. 

The PRC’s Family Resource and Information Guide is designed to provide step by step support to families who have a child with a disability, or suspect their child may have a disability, in navigating the special education process, collaborating with school staff, and accessing community resources.

Visit the Guide to learn more about the special education process, and contact the Parent Resource Center for information on how to proceed if you are concerned about your child’s academic, social and/or emotional development.

Perfect Partner Graphic

We look forward to connecting with you!

 

APS School Talk graphicSubscribe to APS School Talk & the PRC’s Email Updates!

PRC Event notices and updates are sent out through APS School Talk. If you would like to be added to the PRC announcements list, please go to the APS School Talk page and sign up for our Special Interest list by selecting “Special Education”.


Arlington SEPTA’s Awards for Excellence in Supporting Special Education

Now until April 6th, Arlington Special Education PTA (SEPTA) will be taking nominations for excellence in supporting APS students with disabilities. Take time to recognize that exceptional teacher, parent, support staff or student who has gone above and beyond to champion students of all abilities.
Turner Award – Outstanding Administrator
Crawford Award – outstanding educatorQR Code to SEPTA 2020 Awards
Exceptional Support Award –  outstanding aide/assistant or support staff
McBride Award – outstanding school or program
Howie Award – outstanding volunteer
Nannini Award – outstanding student advocate
Exceptional Ally Award – outstanding student ally
For more details on award descriptions and links to submit nominations, visit https://tinyurl.com/SEPTA2020Awards


APS Debuts New Student Support Process

During the spring of 2019, Arlington Public Schools (APS) developed a streamlined process for supporting student learning and responding to concerns. As we recognize and value the importance of family engagement, we want to be sure that you are knowledgeable about the new process, and are aware of ways in which you can partner with your child’s school should concerns arise regarding your child’s academic, social-emotional, and/or behavioral needs.To learn more about the process, visit https://www.apsva.us/post/aps-debuts-new-student-support-process/


download-1

VDOE Critical Decision Points

The Virginia Department of Education (VDOE), through grant funding provided by the Virginia Board for People with Disabilities (VBPD), and assistance provided by the Training and Technical Assistance Center at James Madison University (TTAC),  has developed five web-based training modules for parents, school professionals, and other community stakeholders that work with families who have a child with a disability.  Parents and caregivers have certain goals in mind when their children go to school.  Regardless of whether or not their children have disabilities, all parents want their children to learn, explore, and experience as much as they possibly can.  Parents strive for their children to complete their public education, obtain a diploma, and be fully prepared to move on toward their chosen path, whether that is immediate employment, higher education, or something else.  In order for children to achieve these goals, there are certain decisions that will have to be made along the way.  The modules created relate to the Critical Decision Points for Families of Children with Disabilities curriculum and are designed to assist participants in understanding four things as they prepare to make these decisions:

  • What are some of the keys to a child’s academic success?
  • What decisions will need to be made regarding a child’s educational path?
  • At what point should we be making these decisions?
  • What information is needed so that we can make the most well informed decisions possible for a child?

The training modules are accessible at the following web link: I’m Determined – Parents – Critical Decision Points for Families of Children with Disabilities.  There are a total of five modules that range in length from three minutes to five minutes, which can be completed in a single viewing or broken up over time to meet individual time constraints.

The Critical Decision Points for Families of Children with Disabilities (Word) guide was developed in order to assist families of children with disabilities with understanding keys to their children’s academic success, as well as decisions that they will have to make throughout their children’s careers in public education.  Information is provided that will assist parents with understanding not only what decisions will need to be made, but also when those decisions need to start being considered.

@APS_PRC

APS_PRC

ParentResourceCenter

@APS_PRC
RT @APSface: Join Dr. Constantino in this FREE webinar series for educators. Design learning for home that promote family engagement and ef…
Published March 25, 20 5:00AM
                                        
APS_PRC

ParentResourceCenter

@APS_PRC
RT @APSKenmore: Effective Monday, 3/16/20 Comcast Internet Essentials is free for the next 60 days for new customers that qualify. More in…
Published March 14, 20 4:43AM
                                        
Follow