常見問題

我懷疑我的孩子可能有殘疾。 我該怎麼辦?

知道孩子的任何人如懷疑有殘疾,都可以將孩子轉到學生學習委員會(SSC)討論問題。 對於入學年齡的學生,鼓勵關注孩子的學業,社交和/或情感發展的父母與孩子的老師交談。 鼓勵懷疑有殘疾並希望將孩子轉介到學生研究委員會會議上討論問題和/或要求特殊教育評估的父母,應與孩子的老師以書面形式分享他們的要求並完成孩子的學習。 SSC推薦表格。 對於小學生,應與校長或助理校長共享一份。 對於中學生和高中生,應與學生的輔導員和輔導主任共享一份副本。

*了解有關學生學習委員會的更多信息。

要介紹尚未成為阿靈頓公立學校學生的XNUMX *至XNUMX歲的兒童,請聯繫阿靈頓公立學校 找孩子辦公室。 (*孩子必須在本學年的30月XNUMX日之前年滿兩歲,才能在該學年接受服務。)懷疑有發育遲緩的嬰幼兒應轉診至 阿靈頓父母嬰兒教育(PIE)計劃.


我對我的孩子有疑問,不確定與誰聯繫。 我應該給誰打電話?

在合作解決問題和解決疑慮時,最好總是盡可能與您孩子的老師,案件承運人或相關服務提供商聯繫(如果問題涉及相關服務). 下表提供了建議的通信順序。 請隨時通過703.228.7239與家長資源中心聯繫,或 prc@apsva.us,如果我們可能會提供幫助。
PreK和基本通信流程圖
二次交流流程圖(初中和高中)
PreK和基本流程圖圖像二次通訊流程圖圖像

FAQs

I suspect my child might have a disability. What should I do?

Anyone with knowledge of a child who suspects a disability may refer a child to a Student Study Committee (SSC) to discuss concerns. For school age students, parents who are concerned about their child’s academic, social and/or emotional development are encouraged to speak with their child’s teacher. Parents who suspect a disability and wish to refer a child to a Student Study Committee meeting to discuss concerns and/or request a special education evaluation are encouraged to share their request in writing with their child’s teacher and complete the SSC Referral Form. For elementary school students, a copy should be shared with the principal or assistant principal. For middle and high school students, a copy should be shared with the student’s counselor and the Director of Counseling.

*Learn more about the Student Study Committee.

To refer children ages two* through five who are not yet Arlington Public Schools students, contact the Arlington Public Schools Child Find Office. (*Children need to be two years old by September 30th of the current school year in order to receive services in that school year.) Infants and toddlers with suspected developmental delays should be referred to the Arlington Parent Infant Education (PIE) program.


I have a question about my child and am not sure who to contact. Who should I call?

In collaborating to address questions and resolve concerns, it is always best when possible to start with your child’s teacher, case carrier, or related service provider (if the concern involves a related service). The charts below provide a recommended communication sequence. Please feel free to contact the Parent Resource Center at 703.228.7239 or prc@apsva.us if we may be of assistance.
 PreK and Elementary Communication Flow Chart
Middle and Secondary Communication Flow Chart
GENERIC Communication Flow Chart PreK and Elementary ImageCommunication Flow Chart Middle and Secondary Image