包容性做法

圖片在 2020-21 學年,阿靈頓公立學校從事專業學習,以建立對包容性實踐的普遍理解。 今年,這項工作將繼續進行,並將側重於通過行為-習慣-心態轉變將包容性概念付諸實踐。 特殊教育辦公室 (OSE) 領導團隊很高興與您分享學年期間的包容性實踐工作,並邀請您參與這項重要工作。 除了與我們的示範學校網站進行交流之外,OSE 還將與所有人共享內容 APS 工作人員,並將在此網站上發布給家庭和社區成員的信息。

包容性實踐提示:31 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日

IEP 目標進度監控 本技巧的重點是利用形成性評估來監控 IEP 目標進度 - 具體來說,如何 APS 教育工作者可以思考哪些形成性評估策略對於監控學生的 IEP 目標進展最有效。 在指導工作人員反思和考慮進度監控時,鼓勵家長/監護人:審查 [...]

圖片IEP 目標進度監控
本技巧的重點是利用形成性評估進行 IEP 目標進度監控——具體來說,如何 APS 教育工作者可以思考哪些形成性評估策略對於監控學生的 IEP 目標進展最有效。 在指導工作人員反思和考慮進度監控時,鼓勵家長/監護人:

  • 檢討 虹膜中心 進度監控信息簡介
  • 觀察 正在為您的孩子實施哪些 IEP 進度監控策略
  • 考慮 如何跟踪您孩子的 IEP 目標進度並與您分享,以及您的團隊如何支持您了解有關 IEP 進度目標監控的更多信息

討論如何監控目標進展並與包括家長在內的團隊成員分享,是一種有效且協作的 IEP 團隊會議策略。

包容性實踐提示:15 年 2021 月 XNUMX 日

歡迎回來! 第三個包容性實踐技巧的重點是了解通用學習設計 (UDL) 的原則如何在阿靈頓公立學校內實施以促進包容性實踐。 UDL 是一個框架,它基於對人類學習方式的科學見解,改進和優化所有人的教學和學習。 APS 工作人員是 […]

歡迎回來! 這第三 包容性做法 Tip 重點關注如何實施通用學習設計 (UDL) 的原則,以促進阿靈頓公立學校的包容性實踐。 UDL 是一個框架,它基於對人類學習方式的科學見解,改進和優化所有人的教學和學習。 APS 工作人員正在學習並反思利用 UDL 策略來支持包容性實踐。 家長和社區成員是支持所有學生的協作過程中的重要合作夥伴。

行動步驟 1: 本月,還鼓勵家長更多地了解 UDL。 這裡有一些信息資源可供探索

操作步驟 2:
本文 - 我在家使用 UDL 的三種方式  - 演示了一位家長如何在他的家庭環境中嘗試使用 UDL。 閱讀文章並考慮您可以在家嘗試的 UDL 策略。

優先考慮包容性做法是 APS 在 2018-2019 學年進行的綜合特殊教育審查。 下面是一個snaps熱的推薦。

建議 21:包容性實踐規劃、指導和實施。 選擇並使用有助於促進和支持全納教育最佳實踐的實施的結構化框架,包括提供高收益的聯合教學和專門設計的教學。 為包容性實踐制定清晰明確的學區/學校實施指南,並確定學校在適應其需求方面將扮演什麼角色,而 APS. 圍繞製定包容性碩士學校時間表(包括共同的共同教師計劃時間)制定指導,並協助學校實施。 開發支持性結構,使有效的聯合教學團隊能夠提高效率並建立夥伴關係投資。

包容性實踐:18 年 2021 月 XNUMX 日

正如上個月提到的,特殊教育辦公室正在與幾個示範學校以及所有 APS 接受特殊教育支持的學生的工作人員和家庭。 本月的包容性實踐指南側重於協作和建立團隊規範,以促進包容性實踐 APS. 父母和 […]

圖片

正如上個月提到的,特殊教育辦公室正在與幾個示範學校以及所有 APS 接受特殊教育支持的學生的工作人員和家庭。

本月的包容性實踐指南側重於 合作 並建立團隊規範以促進內部的包容性實踐 APS. 家長和社區成員是支持所有學生的協作過程中的重要合作夥伴。 優先考慮包容性做法是 APS 在 2018-2019 學年進行的綜合特殊教育審查。

工作人員被要求閱讀 特殊教育合作中的高槓桿實踐:研究綜合,並考慮可以採取哪些步驟來建立反映文獻中概述的七項原則的有效合作夥伴關係:

  • 通訊: 教師和家庭在適合家庭的媒體中公開、誠實地交流。
  • 專業能力: 教師在他們工作的領域內具有高素質,不斷學習和成長,並對學生和家庭抱有很高的期望。
  • 尊重: 教師尊重家庭,尊重文化多樣性,肯定優勢。
  • 承諾: 教師隨時可用,始終如一,並且超越了對他們的期望。
  • 平等: 教師認識到團隊中每個成員的優勢,與家人分享權力,並專注於與家人一起工作。
  • 倡導: 教師專注於與家庭合作為學生找到最佳解決方案。
  • 信任: 教師是可靠的,並以學生的最大利益行事,與家人分享他們的願景和行動。

包容性實踐:6 年 2021 月 XNUMX 日

我們今年最重要的舉措之一將是支持我們學校的包容性環境。 我們從研究中了解到,包容性學校有益於並支持所有學習者,並改善殘疾學生的學業、社交和情感成果。 我們也知道實現包容性環境需要改變思維方式。 去年,我們從事專業學習 […]

我們今年最重要的舉措之一將是支持我們學校的包容性環境。 我們從研究中了解到,全納學校受益並支持 全部 學習者,並改善殘疾學生的學業、社交和情感成果。 我們也知道實現包容性環境需要改變思維方式。 去年,我們參與了專業學習,以建立對包容性實踐的普遍理解。 今年的工作重點是通過行為習慣思維轉變將包容性概念付諸實踐。 特殊教育辦公室 (OSE) 領導團隊很高興與您分享學年期間的包容性實踐工作,並邀請您參與這項重要工作。 我們已經開始在幾個示範學校進行密集工作,但是今年, 全部 阿靈頓公立學校(APS) 工作人員將收到示範學校內容的預覽,作為未來幾年大規模推廣的先導。

這是一個例子:

內容 媒體 問責步驟
1週 在你的房間裡觀察學生,早上在公交車值班時,在去前台取東西時等等。 屏幕截圖2021-09  -  06 7.07.49在上午 您的建築中的包容性是什麼樣的?
2週 請花點時間觀看 Shelley Moore 關於包容性實踐的剪輯。 在表之下——假定能力的重要性 這與你上週觀察到的一致嗎? 如果是這樣,如何? 如果不是,為什麼?

優先考慮包容性做法是 2018-2019 學年阿靈頓公立學校綜合特殊教育審查的直接結果。 下面是一個snaps熱的推薦。

建議 21:包容性實踐規劃、指導和實施 選擇並使用有助於促進和支持全納教育最佳實踐的實施的結構化框架,包括提供高收益的聯合教學和專門設計的教學。 為包容性實踐制定清晰明確的學區/學校實施指南,並確定學校在適應其需求方面將扮演什麼角色,而 APS. 創建關於製定包容性碩士學校時間表(包括共同的共同教師計劃時間)的指導,並協助學校實施。 開發支持性結構,使有效的聯合教學團隊能夠提高效率並建立夥伴關係投資。 這種持續的專業學習證明了 APS 特殊教育領導層優先為整個學區的殘疾學生提供高質量的節目和包容性機會。

在接下來的幾個月裡, APS 將與您分享更多關於包容性的資源。 如果您有問題或需要更多信息,請聯繫家長資源中心。

Inclusive Practices

imagesDuring the 2020-21 school year, Arlington Public Schools engaged in professional learning to create a universal understanding of inclusive practices. This year, the work will continue and will focus on putting inclusive concepts into practice through behavior-habit-mindset shifts.   The Office of Special Education (OSE) leadership team is excited to share the inclusive practices work with you during the school year and invites you to be part of this important work.  In addition to communicating with our model school sites, the OSE will share content with all APS staff and will post messages for families and community members on this site.

Inclusive Practices Tip: November 15, 2021

Welcome back! This third Inclusive Practices tip is focused on recognizing how the principles of Universal Design for Learning (UDL) are being implemented to promote inclusive practices within Arlington Public Schools. UDL is a framework to improve and optimize teaching and learning for all people based on scientific insights into how humans learn. APS staff members are […]

Welcome back! This third Inclusive Practices tip is focused on recognizing how the principles of Universal Design for Learning (UDL) are being implemented to promote inclusive practices within Arlington Public Schools. UDL is a framework to improve and optimize teaching and learning for all people based on scientific insights into how humans learn. APS staff members are learning about and reflecting on utilizing UDL strategies to support inclusive practices. Parents and members of the community are critical partners in the collaborative process to support all students.

Action Step 1: This month, parents are also encouraged to learn more about UDL.  Here are some informative resources to explore

Action Step 2:
This article – Three Ways I USE UDL at Home – demonstrates how a parent tried using UDL in his home setting. Read the article and consider UDL strategies you can try at home.

Prioritizing inclusive practices is a direct result of the APS Comprehensive Special Education Review conducted during the 2018-2019 school year. Below is a snapshot of the recommendation.

Recommendation 21: Inclusive Practices Planning, Guidance, and Implementation. Select and use a structured framework that will help promote and support the implementation of best practices for inclusive education including the provision of high yield co-teaching and specially designed instruction. Develop a clearly articulated district/school implementation guide for inclusive practices and determine what role schools will have in adapting it to their needs versus what will be required by APS. Create guidance around developing inclusive master school schedules (which includes common co-teacher planning time) and assist schools with implementing it. Develop supportive structures that allow effective co-teaching teams to create efficiency and partnership build investment.

Inclusive Practices: October 18, 2021

As mentioned last month, the Office of Special Education is sharing inclusive practices with several model school sites, as well as with all APS staff members and families of students receiving special education support. This month’s Inclusive Practices guidance is focused on collaboration and establishing team norms to promote inclusive practices within APS. Parents and […]

images

As mentioned last month, the Office of Special Education is sharing inclusive practices with several model school sites, as well as with all APS staff members and families of students receiving special education support.

This month’s Inclusive Practices guidance is focused on collaboration and establishing team norms to promote inclusive practices within APS. Parents and members of the community are critical partners in the collaborative process to support all students. Prioritizing inclusive practices is a direct result of the APS Comprehensive Special Education Review conducted during the 2018-2019 school year.

Staff were asked to read High-Leverage Practices in Special Education Collaboration: Research Syntheses, and to consider what steps could be taken to establish effective, collaborative partnerships that reflect seven principles outlined in the literature:

  • Communication: Teachers and families communicate openly and honestly in a medium that is comfortable for the family.
  • Professional competence: Teachers are highly qualified in the area in which they work, continue to learn and grow, and have and communicate high expectations for students and families.
  • Respect: Teachers treat families with dignity, honor cultural diversity, and affirm strengths.
  • Commitment: Teachers are available, consistent, and go above and beyond what is expected of them.
  • Equality: Teachers recognize the strengths of every member of a team, share power with families, and focus on working together with families.
  • Advocacy: Teachers focus on getting to the best solution for the student in partnership with the family.
  • Trust: Teachers are reliable and act in the best interest of the student, sharing their vision and actions with the family.

Inclusive Practices: September 6, 2021

One of our most important initiatives this year will be supporting inclusive environments in our schools. We know from research that inclusive schools benefit and support all learners, and improve academic, social and emotional outcomes for students with disabilities.  We also know achieving inclusive environments requires changing mindsets. Last year, we engaged in professional learning […]

One of our most important initiatives this year will be supporting inclusive environments in our schools. We know from research that inclusive schools benefit and support all learners, and improve academic, social and emotional outcomes for students with disabilities.  We also know achieving inclusive environments requires changing mindsets. Last year, we engaged in professional learning to create a universal understanding of inclusive practices.  The work this year is focused on putting inclusive concepts into practice through behavior-habit-mindset shifts.  The Office of Special Education (OSE) leadership team is excited to share the inclusive practices work with you during the school year and invite you to be part of this important work. We have begun intensive work at several model school sites, but this year, all Arlington Public Schools (APS) staff will receive a preview of the model schools’ content as a precursor to large-scale roll-out over the coming years.

Here is an example:

Content Media Accountability Step
Week 1 Observe students in your room, at bus duty in the morning, when going to pick something up from the front office, etc. Screen Shot 2021-09-06 at 7.07.49 AM What does inclusion look like in your building?
Week 2 Please take a moment to watch this clip from Shelley Moore on inclusive practices. Under the Table – The Importance of Presuming Competence Does this align with what you observed last week? If so, how? If not, why?

Prioritizing inclusive practices is a direct result of the Arlington Public Schools Comprehensive Special Education Review conducted during the 2018-2019 school year. Below is a snapshot of the recommendation.

Recommendation 21: Inclusive Practices Planning, Guidance, and Implementation Select and use a structured framework that will help promote and support the implementation of best practices for inclusive education including the provision of high yield co-teaching and specially designed instruction. Develop a clearly articulated district/school implementation guide for inclusive practices and determine what role schools will have in adapting it to their needs versus what will be required by APS. Create guidance around developing inclusive master school schedules (which includes common co-teacher planning time) and assist schools with implementing it. Develop supportive structures that allow effective co-teaching teams to create efficiency and partnership build investment.  This on-going professional learning serves as evidence of APS Special Education leadership prioritizing high-quality programming and inclusive opportunities for students with disabilities served across the district.

Over the course of the coming months, APS will be sharing more resources on inclusion with you. Please reach out to the Parent Resource Center if you have questions or want additional information.