Pratiques inclusives

imagesAu cours de l'année scolaire 2020-21, les écoles publiques d'Arlington se sont engagées dans un apprentissage professionnel pour créer une compréhension universelle des pratiques inclusives. Cette année, le travail se poursuivra et se concentrera sur la mise en pratique de concepts inclusifs à travers des changements de comportement, d'habitudes et de mentalité. L'équipe de direction du Bureau de l'éducation spéciale (OSE) est ravie de partager avec vous le travail sur les pratiques inclusives pendant l'année scolaire et vous invite à faire partie de ce travail important. En plus de communiquer avec nos sites d'écoles modèles, l'OSE partagera du contenu avec tous APS personnel et publiera des messages pour les familles et les membres de la communauté sur ce site.

Pratiques inclusives : 18 octobre 2021

Comme mentionné le mois dernier, le Bureau de l'éducation spécialisée partage des pratiques inclusives avec plusieurs sites d'écoles modèles, ainsi qu'avec tous APS les membres du personnel et les familles des élèves recevant un soutien en éducation spécialisée. Le guide sur les pratiques inclusives de ce mois est axé sur la collaboration et l'établissement de normes d'équipe pour promouvoir des pratiques inclusives au sein de APS. Parents et […]

images

Comme mentionné le mois dernier, le Bureau de l'éducation spécialisée partage des pratiques inclusives avec plusieurs sites d'écoles modèles, ainsi qu'avec tous APS les membres du personnel et les familles des élèves recevant un soutien en éducation spécialisée.

Le guide Pratiques inclusives de ce mois-ci est axé sur collaboration et établir des normes d'équipe pour promouvoir des pratiques inclusives au sein APS. Les parents et les membres de la communauté sont des partenaires essentiels dans le processus de collaboration pour soutenir tous les élèves. La priorisation des pratiques inclusives est le résultat direct de la APS Examen complet de l'éducation spécialisée menée au cours de l'année scolaire 2018-2019.

Le personnel a été invité à lire Pratiques à fort effet de levier dans la collaboration en éducation spécialisée : synthèses de recherche, et d'examiner les mesures qui pourraient être prises pour établir des partenariats de collaboration efficaces qui reflètent sept principes décrits dans la littérature :

  • La communication: Les enseignants et les familles communiquent ouvertement et honnêtement dans un milieu qui est confortable pour la famille.
  • Compétence professionnelle: Les enseignants sont hautement qualifiés dans le domaine dans lequel ils travaillent, continuent d'apprendre et de grandir, et ont et communiquent des attentes élevées pour les élèves et les familles.
  • Le respect: Les enseignants traitent les familles avec dignité, honorent la diversité culturelle et affirment leurs forces.
  • Engagement: Les enseignants sont disponibles, cohérents et vont au-delà de ce que l'on attend d'eux.
  • Égalité: Les enseignants reconnaissent les forces de chaque membre d'une équipe, partagent le pouvoir avec les familles et se concentrent sur la collaboration avec les familles.
  • Plaidoyer: Les enseignants se concentrent sur la recherche de la meilleure solution pour l'élève en partenariat avec la famille.
  • Confiance: Les enseignants sont fiables et agissent dans le meilleur intérêt de l'élève, partageant leur vision et leurs actions avec la famille.

Pratiques inclusives : 6 septembre 2021

L'une de nos initiatives les plus importantes cette année sera de soutenir les environnements inclusifs dans nos écoles. Nous savons, grâce à la recherche, que les écoles inclusives profitent et soutiennent tous les apprenants, et améliorent les résultats scolaires, sociaux et émotionnels des élèves handicapés. Nous savons également que la réalisation d'environnements inclusifs nécessite de changer les mentalités. L'année dernière, nous nous sommes engagés dans un apprentissage professionnel […]

L'une de nos initiatives les plus importantes cette année sera de soutenir les environnements inclusifs dans nos écoles. Nous savons par la recherche que les écoles inclusives bénéficient et soutiennent tous apprenants et améliorer les résultats scolaires, sociaux et émotionnels des élèves handicapés. Nous savons également que la réalisation d'environnements inclusifs nécessite de changer les mentalités. L'année dernière, nous nous sommes engagés dans un apprentissage professionnel pour créer une compréhension universelle des pratiques inclusives. Le travail de cette année est axé sur la mise en pratique de concepts inclusifs par le biais de changements de comportement, d'habitudes et de mentalité. L'équipe de direction du Bureau de l'éducation spéciale (OSE) est ravie de partager avec vous le travail sur les pratiques inclusives pendant l'année scolaire et vous invite à faire partie de cet important travail. Nous avons commencé un travail intensif sur plusieurs sites d'écoles modèles, mais cette année, tous Écoles publiques d'Arlington (APS) le personnel recevra un aperçu du contenu des écoles modèles en tant que précurseur d'un déploiement à grande échelle au cours des prochaines années.

Voici un exemple:

du Paquet Media Étape de responsabilité
Semaine 1 Observez les étudiants dans votre chambre, au service du bus le matin, lorsqu'ils vont chercher quelque chose à la réception, etc. Capture d'écran à 2021 09-06-7.07.49 AM À quoi ressemble l'inclusion dans votre bâtiment?
Semaine 2 Veuillez prendre un moment pour regarder ce clip de Shelley Moore sur les pratiques inclusives. Sous la table – L'importance de la présomption de compétence Cela correspond-il à ce que vous avez observé la semaine dernière ? Si c'est le cas, comment? Si non, pourquoi ?

La priorisation des pratiques inclusives est le résultat direct de l'examen complet de l'éducation spécialisée des écoles publiques d'Arlington menée au cours de l'année scolaire 2018-2019. Ci-dessous est un snapschaud de la recommandation.

Recommandation 21 : Planification, orientation et mise en œuvre des pratiques inclusives Sélectionnez et utilisez un cadre structuré qui aidera à promouvoir et à soutenir la mise en œuvre des meilleures pratiques pour l'éducation inclusive, y compris la fourniture d'un co-enseignement à haut rendement et d'un enseignement spécialement conçu. Élaborer un guide de mise en œuvre du district/de l'école clairement articulé pour les pratiques inclusives et déterminer le rôle que les écoles auront pour l'adapter à leurs besoins par rapport à ce qui sera requis par APS. Créer des conseils sur l'élaboration d'horaires d'école maîtres inclusifs (qui incluent un temps de planification commun des co-enseignants) et aider les écoles à les mettre en œuvre. Développer des structures de soutien qui permettent à des équipes de co-enseignement efficaces de créer de l'efficacité et des investissements dans la construction de partenariats. Cet apprentissage professionnel continu sert de preuve de APS La direction de l'éducation spéciale accorde la priorité à des programmes de haute qualité et à des opportunités inclusives pour les étudiants handicapés desservis dans tout le district.

Au cours des prochains mois, APS partagera avec vous plus de ressources sur l'inclusion. Veuillez contacter le Centre de ressources pour les parents si vous avez des questions ou souhaitez des informations supplémentaires.

Inclusive Practices

imagesDuring the 2020-21 school year, Arlington Public Schools engaged in professional learning to create a universal understanding of inclusive practices. This year, the work will continue and will focus on putting inclusive concepts into practice through behavior-habit-mindset shifts.   The Office of Special Education (OSE) leadership team is excited to share the inclusive practices work with you during the school year and invites you to be part of this important work.  In addition to communicating with our model school sites, the OSE will share content with all APS staff and will post messages for families and community members on this site.

Inclusive Practices Tip: November 15, 2021

Welcome back! This third Inclusive Practices tip is focused on recognizing how the principles of Universal Design for Learning (UDL) are being implemented to promote inclusive practices within Arlington Public Schools. UDL is a framework to improve and optimize teaching and learning for all people based on scientific insights into how humans learn. APS staff members are […]

Welcome back! This third Inclusive Practices tip is focused on recognizing how the principles of Universal Design for Learning (UDL) are being implemented to promote inclusive practices within Arlington Public Schools. UDL is a framework to improve and optimize teaching and learning for all people based on scientific insights into how humans learn. APS staff members are learning about and reflecting on utilizing UDL strategies to support inclusive practices. Parents and members of the community are critical partners in the collaborative process to support all students.

Action Step 1: This month, parents are also encouraged to learn more about UDL.  Here are some informative resources to explore

Action Step 2:
This article – Three Ways I USE UDL at Home – demonstrates how a parent tried using UDL in his home setting. Read the article and consider UDL strategies you can try at home.

Prioritizing inclusive practices is a direct result of the APS Comprehensive Special Education Review conducted during the 2018-2019 school year. Below is a snapshot of the recommendation.

Recommendation 21: Inclusive Practices Planning, Guidance, and Implementation. Select and use a structured framework that will help promote and support the implementation of best practices for inclusive education including the provision of high yield co-teaching and specially designed instruction. Develop a clearly articulated district/school implementation guide for inclusive practices and determine what role schools will have in adapting it to their needs versus what will be required by APS. Create guidance around developing inclusive master school schedules (which includes common co-teacher planning time) and assist schools with implementing it. Develop supportive structures that allow effective co-teaching teams to create efficiency and partnership build investment.

Inclusive Practices: October 18, 2021

As mentioned last month, the Office of Special Education is sharing inclusive practices with several model school sites, as well as with all APS staff members and families of students receiving special education support. This month’s Inclusive Practices guidance is focused on collaboration and establishing team norms to promote inclusive practices within APS. Parents and […]

images

As mentioned last month, the Office of Special Education is sharing inclusive practices with several model school sites, as well as with all APS staff members and families of students receiving special education support.

This month’s Inclusive Practices guidance is focused on collaboration and establishing team norms to promote inclusive practices within APS. Parents and members of the community are critical partners in the collaborative process to support all students. Prioritizing inclusive practices is a direct result of the APS Comprehensive Special Education Review conducted during the 2018-2019 school year.

Staff were asked to read High-Leverage Practices in Special Education Collaboration: Research Syntheses, and to consider what steps could be taken to establish effective, collaborative partnerships that reflect seven principles outlined in the literature:

  • Communication: Teachers and families communicate openly and honestly in a medium that is comfortable for the family.
  • Professional competence: Teachers are highly qualified in the area in which they work, continue to learn and grow, and have and communicate high expectations for students and families.
  • Respect: Teachers treat families with dignity, honor cultural diversity, and affirm strengths.
  • Commitment: Teachers are available, consistent, and go above and beyond what is expected of them.
  • Equality: Teachers recognize the strengths of every member of a team, share power with families, and focus on working together with families.
  • Advocacy: Teachers focus on getting to the best solution for the student in partnership with the family.
  • Trust: Teachers are reliable and act in the best interest of the student, sharing their vision and actions with the family.

Inclusive Practices: September 6, 2021

One of our most important initiatives this year will be supporting inclusive environments in our schools. We know from research that inclusive schools benefit and support all learners, and improve academic, social and emotional outcomes for students with disabilities.  We also know achieving inclusive environments requires changing mindsets. Last year, we engaged in professional learning […]

One of our most important initiatives this year will be supporting inclusive environments in our schools. We know from research that inclusive schools benefit and support all learners, and improve academic, social and emotional outcomes for students with disabilities.  We also know achieving inclusive environments requires changing mindsets. Last year, we engaged in professional learning to create a universal understanding of inclusive practices.  The work this year is focused on putting inclusive concepts into practice through behavior-habit-mindset shifts.  The Office of Special Education (OSE) leadership team is excited to share the inclusive practices work with you during the school year and invite you to be part of this important work. We have begun intensive work at several model school sites, but this year, all Arlington Public Schools (APS) staff will receive a preview of the model schools’ content as a precursor to large-scale roll-out over the coming years.

Here is an example:

Content Media Accountability Step
Week 1 Observe students in your room, at bus duty in the morning, when going to pick something up from the front office, etc. Screen Shot 2021-09-06 at 7.07.49 AM What does inclusion look like in your building?
Week 2 Please take a moment to watch this clip from Shelley Moore on inclusive practices. Under the Table – The Importance of Presuming Competence Does this align with what you observed last week? If so, how? If not, why?

Prioritizing inclusive practices is a direct result of the Arlington Public Schools Comprehensive Special Education Review conducted during the 2018-2019 school year. Below is a snapshot of the recommendation.

Recommendation 21: Inclusive Practices Planning, Guidance, and Implementation Select and use a structured framework that will help promote and support the implementation of best practices for inclusive education including the provision of high yield co-teaching and specially designed instruction. Develop a clearly articulated district/school implementation guide for inclusive practices and determine what role schools will have in adapting it to their needs versus what will be required by APS. Create guidance around developing inclusive master school schedules (which includes common co-teacher planning time) and assist schools with implementing it. Develop supportive structures that allow effective co-teaching teams to create efficiency and partnership build investment.  This on-going professional learning serves as evidence of APS Special Education leadership prioritizing high-quality programming and inclusive opportunities for students with disabilities served across the district.

Over the course of the coming months, APS will be sharing more resources on inclusion with you. Please reach out to the Parent Resource Center if you have questions or want additional information.