残疾学生家庭的学校重新开放信息

APS 警报: 校董会已采用2020-21学年的日历变更。 开学的第一天是8月XNUMX日,星期二。 所有学生将从一年级开始在线学习,并进行全日制远程学习。 

July 24, 2020

由于父母/监护人正在考虑阿灵顿公立学校(APS)2020年秋季重新开放计划,我们知道接受特殊教育服务和支持的学生家庭可能会有独特的问题和疑虑。 与往常一样,期待与您合作,以确保您的孩子在2020-21学年取得成功。

尽管今年所有学生都将开始全日制远程学习,但还是要求家人选择其中一个。 混合式个人/远程学习模型 或者 全职距离模型 在XNUMX月为他们的学生提供支持,以支持对未来过渡到学校教学的有效计划。

我们首先希望向您保证,授课时间将保持一致和一致,以确保无论选择哪种型号,所有学生都得到公平的授课。 在这两个计划中,教师将使用相同的节奏来介绍新的学习方法。 学生将在星期二至星期五接受识字,计算,科学,社会研究和特色(艺术,音乐和体育)方面的指导。 在星期一,这两种模式的老师将参与协作计划,并在需要时提供小组干预。 两种模式都将提供特殊教育服务和支持,包括直接指导,相关服务和住宿。

接下来,我们认识到可能需要修改个性化教育计划(IEP),以在混合和全日制距离模型中反映学生的需求。 我们的目标是尽最大可能实施IEP。 我们正在努力开始安排今年夏天与家人举行的IEP会议。

最后,学区认识到残疾学生的独特学习需求可能需要重新考虑模型的选择。

特殊教育的支持和服务 混合式个人/远程学习模型
混合式面对面/远程学习模型可在 APS schools, with physical distancing and health and safety measures in place to protect students and staff, per CDC and VDH guidelines.根据CDC和VDH指南,学校采取了物理疏导以及健康和安全措施以保护学生和教职员工。 In this model, students will attend school in-person on two consecutive days each week, and engage in self-directed, asynchronous (independent) distance learning on the other three days*.在这种模式下,学生将每周连续两天亲自上学,而在其他三天里*进行自我指导,异步(独立)的远程学习。 Face coverings/masks are required for students and staff while at school/work unless medically exempt.除非有医疗豁免,否则在学校/工作期间,学生和教职员工都需要使用面罩/口罩。 The graphic below illustrates the model.下图说明了该模型。

混合指令模型的图形表示

 

 


在混合模式中,小学生侧重于识字,计算,社会研究,科学和特色(艺术,音乐,体育)。 初中和高中学生将参加初春时按块计划选择的课程。

  • 学生将在学校和远程学习日从事作业和活动,以探索新内容。
  • 将提供弗吉尼亚州学习标准要求的新内容和所有课程。
  • 常规课堂教学将以整个小组,小组和各个年级的个人支持为特色。
  • 如有需要,还将向英语学习者提供其他指导。
  • 每周为所有年级提供社会情感学习。
  • 将提供亲自和虚拟的特殊教育服务,以尽可能地满足IEP时间的要求。

亲身活动日:
 在面对面会议期间,将有连续的特殊教育服务在普通教育环境和特殊教育环境中提供指导。 这可能包括共同教学,小组指导和/或IEP上指示的特殊教育设置指导。 如IEP中所述,将提供特殊教育住宿。

远程学习日:
 远程学习将利用在线课程资源和老师分配的教学任务,通过动态学习活动补充学校的教学内容,这些活动可以独立完成*。 远程学习活动包括:

    • 小组工作
    • 新内容的视频介绍
    • 独立执业; 能力评估
    • 与同伴的持续有目的的互动
    • 周到地参与课程
    • 干预期间获得帮助
    • 参与教师支持的扩展
    • 审查以前讲授的材料的机会,以补救或加强理解和/或技能

*我们认识到,某些残障学生在远程学习期间可能需要支持和服务才能参加学习活动。 IEP团队将解决在混合模型的远程学习日中如何满足学生的需求。 混合模型中远程学习日的直接/同步虚拟服务的示例可以包括虚拟指令会话,以解决IEP目标,预教学/传授内容和/或为执行功能和工作完成需求提供支持。

如IEP中所述,将提供特殊教育住宿。

特殊教育的支持和服务 全职距离模型

在此模型中,各个年级的学生每周4周至周五每周XNUMX天都可以在线,同步和异步学习。 星期一将给老师一些时间进行计划,并根据需要同步进行小组干预。 所有学生将在星期一参加独立/异步学习。

远程学习模型图

 

 

 

New instructional content will be offered to all students, attendance will be required, and student work will be graded.新的教学内容将提供给所有学生,要求出勤率,并对学生的工作进行评分。 Middle and high school students will participate in courses which they selected in early spring.中学生和初中学生将参加他们在初春选择的课程。 At the high school level,在高中阶段 APS 希望能够招收大部分的学生 APS core and elective courses.核心和选修课程。 It is important to note that there are some limitations based on student interest and our ability to provide appropriate staffing for each course.重要的是要注意,基于学生的兴趣和我们为每门课程提供适当人员配备的能力,存在一些限制。

而 APS will do everything possible to offer Advanced Placement (AP), International Baccalaureate (IB) and Dual Enrollment (DE) classes virtually, these classes are not guaranteed and will depend on many factors including the number of students who opt for the distance model.我们将竭尽所能提供虚拟大学预科课程(AP),国际文凭课程(IB)和双学位课程(DE),但这些课程无法得到保证,取决于许多因素,包括选择距离模型的学生人数。 Some specialized programs and course offerings may not be supported, such as those with significant lab or in-person participation requirements, and certain career and technical education (CTE) courses.某些专业计划和课程可能无法获得支持,例如那些具有重大实验室或亲自参与要求以及某些职业和技术教育(CTE)课程的计划。 Students may choose to take courses not offered through学生可以选择参加非通过提供的课程 APS 通过像Virtual Virginia这样的外部在线提供商。

学生将每周接受一次社会情感学习(SEL)课程。

高风险健康类别的学生或不愿亲自返回学校的学生可以使用全日制远程学习。 如学生的IEP所示,特殊教育服务实际上将通过全程模式提供,并且将包括一系列服务,包括通识教育环境和特殊教育环境中的教学,例如共同教学,小组教学和/或在IEP上指明的特殊教育环境中的说明。 例如,如果学生的IEP指示在数学的通识教育中提供了支持,则在虚拟数学块中,特殊教育工作人员可以与通识教育老师一起共同教导该会话,或者可以在较小的虚拟分组讨论室工作课堂上的一部分,以支持IEP的学生。 如果学生的IEP指示将在特殊教育环境中提供数学指导,则该学生将在较小的虚拟小组环境中接收由特殊教育者提供的数学指导。 以下是教学服务交付的各种模型的一些示例。 (基于IEP,一些学生可能会参加各种模型-例如,英语/语言艺术和自包含数学的资源支持)。

如IEP中所述,将提供特殊教育住宿。

通识教育虚拟课程中的特殊教育支持
特殊教育老师和/或工作人员在特殊教育老师的指导下将提供支持/服务,例如:

  • 在学生参与在线内容之前对其进行审查
  • 课前内容
  • 重新教学内容
  • 通识教育虚拟教室内的小组教学
  • 为执行职能技能提供指导/支持(例如,组织材料,创建大纲,分解作业,与学生签到以监控工作完成情况)

 独立的班级/专业课程(例如,施莱弗,MIPA,FLS)

  • 由认证教师进行的小组教学
  • 教师讲授的教学研究/执行职能
  • 过渡到专上
  • 过渡协调员将继续与8-12年级学生联系
    • 规划一系列专上课程
    • 职业技能可以通过在家完成的任务或诸如TeachTown之类的程序来解决

查看样本基本混合和全时距离模型时间表
查看样本中学混合和全日制距离模型时间表
查看样本高中混合和全日制距离模型时间表

IEP团队的注意事项:

  • 是否需要调整服务时间以反映混合/全程学习模型的每周时间表?
  • 是否需要调整任何相关服务?
  • 远程学习是否需要增加住宿?
  • 是否需要修改任何目标以反映当前学生的需求和教学模式?
    • 例如:可以写出社交情感学习(SEL)和行为目标,以反映学生对同伴的技能运用; 但是,如果他们采用全程远程学习模式,或者仅与同龄人面对面地每周面对两天,则可能需要修改目标以反映在本学年中要完成的实际工作。

IEP团队可以使用IEP附录对IEP进行较小的调整。

特殊教育助理的作用:
所有特殊教育助手将配备设备,并有望在特殊教育老师的指导下为学生提供支持。 这可以包括但不限于:

  • 检查插件
  • 支持工作完成和执行职能需求
  • 社会情感支持
  • 宿舍

随着计划的发展,我们期待与特殊教育社区紧密合作,并感谢您的参与,因为我们计划满足所有学习者的需求。 整个暑假期间,家长资源中心的工作人员都可提供服务,敬请致电703.228.7239或 prc@aps价值.

School Reopening Information for Families of Students with Disabilities

APS Alert: The School Board has adopted a calendar change for the 2020-21 school year. The first day of school will be Tuesday, September 8. All students will begin the year online, with full-time distance learning. 

July 24, 2020

As parents/guardians are contemplating Arlington Public Schools (APS) Fall 2020 reopening plans, we know families of students who receive special education services and supports may have unique questions and concerns.  As always, look forward to collaborating with you to ensure that your child has a successful 2020-21 academic year.

Although all students will begin the year with full-time distance learning, families were requested to select either the Hybrid In-Person/Distance Learning Model or the Full-Time Distance Model for their students in July to support effective planning for future transitions to in-school instruction.

We first wish to assure you that instructional hours will be aligned and consistent to ensure equitable instruction for all students regardless of which model was selected. In both plans, teachers will use the same pacing to introduce new learning. Students will receive instruction in literacy, numeracy, science, social studies and specials (art, music and PE) Tuesday-Friday.  On Mondays, teachers in both models will engage in collaborative planning and will provide small-group interventions, when needed. Special education services and supports including direct instruction, related services, and accommodations, will be provided through both models.

Next, we recognize that Individualized Education Programs (IEPs), may need to be revised to reflect student needs in both the hybrid and full-time distance models. Our goal is to implement IEPs to the fullest extent possible. We are working to begin scheduling IEP meetings with families this summer.

Finally, the school district recognizes that the unique learning needs of students with disabilities may require a reconsideration of the model selection.

Special Education Supports and Services in the Hybrid In-Person/Distance Learning Model
The hybrid in-person/distance-learning model delivers in-person instruction in APS schools, with physical distancing and health and safety measures in place to protect students and staff, per CDC and VDH guidelines. In this model, students will attend school in-person on two consecutive days each week, and engage in self-directed, asynchronous (independent) distance learning on the other three days*. Face coverings/masks are required for students and staff while at school/work unless medically exempt. The graphic below illustrates the model.

graphic representation of hybrid instruction model

 

 


In the hybrid model, elementary students focus on literacy, numeracy, Social Studies, Science, specials (Art, Music, PE). Middle & high school students would participate in courses which they selected in early spring via block schedule.

  • Students will engage in assignments and activities that explore new content on both in-school and distance learning days.
  • New content and all courses required by Virginia standards of learning will be offered.
  • General classroom instruction will feature whole group, small group, and individual support at all grade levels.
  • Additional instruction will be provided to English Learners as required.
  • Social-Emotional Learning will be provided weekly for all grades.
  • Special education services will be provided both in person and virtually to meet IEP hours to every extent possible.

In-Person Days:
 During the in-person sessions, there will be a continuum of special education services to deliver instruction in both general education settings and special education settings. This may include co-teaching, small group instruction, and/or instruction in special education settings as indicated on IEPs.  Special education accommodations will be provided as outlined in IEPs.

Distance Learning Days:
 Distance learning will complement in-school instruction with dynamic learning activities that can be completed independently*, using online curriculum resources and instructional tasks assigned by teachers. Distance learning activities include:

    • Small group work
    • Video introduction of new content
    • Independent practice; assessment of proficiency
    • Continued purposeful interaction with peers
    • Thoughtful engagement with curriculum
    • Access help during intervention period
    • Engagement in teacher-supported extensions
    • Opportunities to review previously taught material to remediate or strengthen understanding and/or skills

*We recognize that some students with disabilities may require supports and services to access learning activities during distance learning days. IEP teams will address how the needs of students can be met during the hybrid model’s distance learning days. Examples of direct/synchronous virtual services on distance learning days in the hybrid model may include virtual instruction sessions to address IEP goals, pre-teaching/reteaching content, and/or providing support for executive functioning and work completion needs.

Special education accommodations will be provided as outlined in IEPs.

Special Education Supports and Services in the Full-Time Distance Model

In this model, students in all grade levels would engage in both online, synchronous and asynchronous learning 4 days per week, Tuesday through Friday. Mondays would give teachers time for planning and also for small-group interventions conducted synchronously, as necessary. All students will participate in independent/asynchronous learning on Monday.

Distance learning model graphic

 

 

 

New instructional content will be offered to all students, attendance will be required, and student work will be graded. Middle and high school students will participate in courses which they selected in early spring. At the high school level, APS expects to be able to enroll students in the majority of APS core and elective courses. It is important to note that there are some limitations based on student interest and our ability to provide appropriate staffing for each course.

While APS will do everything possible to offer Advanced Placement (AP), International Baccalaureate (IB) and Dual Enrollment (DE) classes virtually, these classes are not guaranteed and will depend on many factors including the number of students who opt for the distance model. Some specialized programs and course offerings may not be supported, such as those with significant lab or in-person participation requirements, and certain career and technical education (CTE) courses. Students may choose to take courses not offered through APS via an outside online provider like Virtual Virginia.

Students will receive weekly Social-Emotional Learning (SEL) lessons.

Full-time distance learning is available for students in high-risk health categories or who are not comfortable returning to school in-person. As indicated on students’ IEPs, special education services will be delivered virtually through the full-distance model, and will include a continuum of services including instruction in both general education settings and special education settings such as co-teaching, small group instruction, and/or instruction in special education settings as indicated on IEPs. For example, if a student’s IEP indicated support provided in general education for mathematics, during the virtual math block a special education staff member might co-teach the session along with the general education teacher, or might work in a smaller virtual break-out room for part of the class to support a student with an IEP. If a student’s IEP indicates that mathematics instruction will be delivered in a special education setting, then the student would receive mathematics instruction provided by a special educator in a smaller virtual group setting. Below are a few examples of varying models of instructional service delivery. (Based on IEPs, some students might participate in a variety of models – for example, resource support for English/Language Arts and self-contained mathematics).

Special education accommodations will be provided as outlined in IEPs.

Special education support in general education virtual classes
A special education teacher and or staff member under the guidance of a special education teacher would provide supports/services such as:

  • Reviewing online content before students engage with it
  • Pre-teaching content
  • Re-teaching content
  • Small group instruction within the general education virtual classroom
  • Providing instruction/support for executive functioning skills (i.e. organizing material, creating outlines, breaking down assignments, check-in with students to monitor work completion)

 Self-contained classes/specialized programs (i.e. Shriver, MIPA, FLS)

  • Small-group instruction by certified teachers
  • Instructional Studies/Executive functioning addressed by teacher
  • Transition to Post-Secondary
  • Transition Coordinators will continue outreach to 8th-12th graders
    • Planning for a spectrum of post-secondary experiences
    • Vocational skills can be addressed by tasks done from home or programs such as TeachTown

View Sample Elementary Hybrid and Full-Time Distance Model Schedules
View Sample Middle School Hybrid and Full-Time Distance Model Schedules
View Sample High School Hybrid and Full-Time Distance Model Schedules

Considerations for IEP Teams:

  • Do service hours need to be adjusted to reflect the hybrid/full distance learning model weekly schedule?
  • Do any related services need to be adjusted?
  • Do additional accommodations need to be added for distance learning?
  • Do any goals need to be revised to reflect current student needs and instructional models?
    • For example: Social Emotional Learning (SEL) and Behavior goals may be written to reflect a student application of skills with peers; however, if they are in a full distance learning model or only with peers face to face two days a week, the goal may need to be revised to reflect what is realistic to accomplish during this school year.

IEP Teams may be able to make minor adjustments to IEPs using an IEP addendum.

Role of Special Education Assistants:
All special education assistants will have devices and will be expected to support students under the direction of a special education teacher. This can include but is not limited to:

  • Check-ins
  • Support for work completion and executive functioning needs
  • Social emotional support
  • Accommodations

As plans evolve, we look forward to closely collaborating with the special education community, and appreciate your engagement as we plan to address the needs of all learners. The Parent Resource Center staff is available throughout the summer, and can be reached at 703.228.7239 or prc@apsva.us.