Special Education Parent Liaisons

The Special Education Parent Liaison project is a joint project of the Arlington Public School’s Parent Resource Center (PRC) and the Arlington Special Education PTA (SEPTA). The goal for the project is for each elementary, middle, and high school in Arlington to have at least two volunteers (parents of students with disabilities) to serve as Special Education Parent Liaisons  to support and encourage the flow of information between each of the schools, the PRC, and SEPTA.

Liaisons share PRC and SEPTA information with their schools, and serve in an advisory capacity, providing ideas for trainings and materials, and input from individual school communities.  The Parent Liaisons group meets once or twice each year. Finally, Liaisons serve as points of contact for families interested in connecting with another parent of a child with special needs in individual schools.

PRESCHOOL PROGRAMS 
INTEGRATION STATION Patrick Walsh
patrickswalsh@yahoo.com
414.467.6829
LITTLE BEGINNINGS – PIP PROGRAM VACANT
ELEMENTARY SCHOOLS 
ABINGDON Courtney Forrest
croberts8@gmail.com
617.851.4544
ARLINGTON SCIENCE FOCUS Karrie Beaudry
Karrie@onyxav.com
ARLINGTON TRADITIONAL Amy Miller
amymillerphd@gmail.com
C: 202.657.9672
ASHLAWN Kristin Niemi Gillig
kngillig@yahoo.com
BARCROFT Erica Froyd
ericafroyd@yahoo.com
C: 703.303.8102
Kimiko Lighty
kimikolighty@gmail.com
C: 301.437.7943
BARRETT Margy Dunn
margy.johnston@gmail.com
CAMPBELL Melissa Wadman
mel@billwadman.com
C: 203.528.7618
CARLIN SPRINGS Ericka Bismarck
ericka_bismarck@yahoo.com
703.474.9750
CLAREMONT Dan Brady
danbrady82@gmail.com
C: 703.402.4503
DISCOVERY Shannon Dippold
shannonmichele23@gmail.com
732.684.7183
DR. CHARLES R. DREW Joe Thierry
josephnthierry@gmail.com
703.568.5158
Melissa Thierry
melissathierry@outlook.com
214.674.0023
ALICE WEST FLEET Jenn Seiff
jseiff@gmail.com
202.441.5082
GLEBE VACANCY
HOFFMAN BOSTON Mungunzaya Coughlin*
(Fluent in Mongolian)*
ms_044@yahoo.com
C: 703.231.2842
JAMESTOWN Alison Cassels
amb720@aol.com
H: 703.300.9149
Keith Chanon
keithchanon@yahoo.com
Janna Dressel
janna.dressel@gmail.com
703.283.3970
KEY Martha Madrid
rozada_madrid@yahoo.com
C: 703.283.0963
LONG BRANCH Taylor Jones
rtljones@gmail.com
MCKINLEY Cristina Camacho-Yacobucci*
(Fluent in Spanish,French)*
cristinaecamacho@gmail.com
Kathleen Clark
clark_kathleen@verizon.net
703.407.8498
Jennifer Myers
jencmyers@gmail.com
202.286.1680
MONTESSORI PUBLIC SCHOOL OF ARLINGTON Kia Haynes
khaynes74@gmail.com
202.247.7253
NOTTINGHAM Janet Pence
janetpence@comcast.net
OAKRIDGE VACANCY
RANDOLPH Cherie Fowler
cherieaf@yahoo.com
386.283.3572
David Siu
davidcsiu@gmail.com
TAYLOR Danielle Bastarache
daniellebastarache@hotmail.com
C:703.919.2629
TUCKAHOE Jenny Mattingley Hommel
jennymattingley@gmail.com
Kathryn Linehan
Kathylizzy@gmail.com
David Siu
Davidcsiu@gmail.com
MIDDLE SCHOOLS 
GUNSTON VACANCY
DOROTHY HAMM Michelle Best
mczero@yahoo.com
703.283.3877
Keri Cupples
keri_cupples@hotmail.com
703.403.8248
Kristin Niemi Gillig
kngillig@yahoo.com
Maria Votsch
mwvotsch@gmail.com
703.217.6227
THOMAS JEFFERSON VACANCY
KENMORE Jill Buzby
jillbuzby@aol.com
703.527.6013
SWANSON Tim Evans
timothy.j.evans1@gmail.com
571.334.4777
Christina Hyatt
christina.hyatt@gmail.com
WILLIAMSBURG Melissa McCoy
mellarae@gmail.com
SECONDARY PROGRAMS (6th – 12th Grade) 
CAREER CENTER/ARLINGTON TECH Chelsea Fallon
fallon.chelsea@gmail.com
Sheryl Stein
wrekehavoc@gmail.com
HB WOODLAWN Nick Walkosak
walkosak@gmail.com
C: 703.772.7628
LANGSTON Vacancy
EUNICE KENEDY SHRIVER PROGRAM Caroline Levy
gracelevy@gmail.com
C: 703.447.6616
Janet M. Sater
jsater@ida.org
H: 703.892.5620
NEW DIRECTIONS ALTERNATIVE PROGRAM Vacancy
HIGH SCHOOLS 
ARLINGTON COMMUNITY HIGH SCHOOL Doris Salazar
dlumana7@gmail.com
703.980-3541
WAKEFIELD Maria Callier
cecile0422@gmail.com
703.715.7787
Theresa Waddell
theresa.waddell@gmail.com
703.801.7594
WASHINGTON-LIBERTY Jill Buzby
jillbuzby@aol.com
703.527.6013
YORKTOWN Michelle Best
mczero@yahoo.com
703.283.3877

Seeking Special Education Parent Liaisons

Volunteer online to serve as a Special Education Parent Liaison:
https://goo.gl/forms/d9DaUpllNrYHfQD33

Special Education Parent Liaisons Resources


Need more information?  You can contact the Parent Resource Center at 703.228.2739 or emma.parralsanchez@apsva.us.  We look forward to talking with you.