Special Education Parent Liaisons

The Special Education Parent Liaison project is a joint project of the Arlington Public School’s Parent Resource Center (PRC) and the Arlington Special Education PTA (SEPTA). The goal for the project is for each elementary, middle, and high school in Arlington to have at least two parent volunteers who will serve as Special Education Parent Liaisons to support and encourage the flow of information between each of the schools, the PRC, and SEPTA.

Liaisons share PRC and SEPTA information with their schools, and serve in an advisory capacity, providing ideas for trainings and materials, and input from individual school communities.  The Parent Liaisons group meets once or twice each year. Finally, Liaisons serve as points of contact for families interested in connecting with another parent of a child with special needs in individual schools.

 

PRESCHOOL PROGRAMS 
LITTLE BEGINNINGS – PIP PROGRAM
REED Patrick Walsh
patrickswalsh@yahoo.com
414.467.6829
ELEMENTARY SCHOOLS 
ABINGDON Courtney Forrest
croberts8@gmail.com
617.851.4544
ARLINGTON SCIENCE FOCUS Susan Shuckra
susanshuckra@gmail.com
ARLINGTON TRADITIONAL Amy Miller
amymillerphd@gmail.com
C: 202.657.9672
ASHLAWN Kristin Niemi Gillig
kngillig@yahoo.com
BARCROFT Erica Froyd
ericafroyd@yahoo.com
C: 703.303.8102
Kimiko Lighty
kimikolighty@gmail.com
C: 301.437.7943
BARRETT Margy Dunn
margy.johnston@gmail.com
CAMPBELL Melissa Wadman
mel@billwadman.com
C: 203.528.7618
CARLIN SPRINGS Ericka Bismarck
ericka_bismarck@yahoo.com
703.474.9750
CLAREMONT Dan Brady
danbrady82@gmail.com
C: 703.402.4503
DISCOVERY Shannon Dippold
shannonmichele23@gmail.com
732.684.7183
DR. CHARLES R. DREW Melissa Thierry
melissathierry@outlook.com
214.674.0023Joe Thierry
josephnthierry@gmail.com
703.568.5158
ALICE WEST FLEET Jenn Seiff
jseiff@gmail.com
202.441.5082
GLEBE Monica Aquino-Thieman
aquino.thieman@gmail.com
C: 202.210.1929
HOFFMAN BOSTON Mungunzaya Coughlin*
(Fluent in Mongolian)*
ms_044@yahoo.com
C: 703.231.2842
JAMESTOWN Alison Cassels
amb720@aol.com
H: 703.300.9149
Keith Chanon
keithchanon@yahoo.com
Leslie Goodman*(Fluent in Spanish)*
charlieandleslie@gmail.com
GoodmanLN@state.gov
C: 305.586.0418
KEY Martha Madrid
rozada_madrid@yahoo.com
C: 703.283.0963
LONG BRANCH Clarette Yen
clarette@gmail.com
MCKINLEY Cristina Camacho-Yacobucci*
(Fluent in Spanish,French)*
cristinaecamacho@gmail.com
Kathleen Clark
clark_kathleen@verizon.net
703.407.8498
Melissa Craig
Melissa_Craig@uhc.com
202.725.8447
Jennifer Myers
jencmyers@gmail.com
202.286.1680
Midori Rome
midorihargrave@gmail.com
MONTESSORI PUBLIC SCHOOL OF ARLINGTON Hannah Grieco
Hannah.grieco@gmail.com
C: 908.956.2336
Kia Haynes
khaynes74@gmail.com
202.247.7253
NOTTINGHAM Janet Pence
janetpence@comcast.net
OAKRIDGE
RANDOLPH Cherie Fowler
cherieaf@yahoo.com
386.283.3572
David Siu
davidcsiu@gmail.com
TAYLOR Danielle Bastarache
daniellebastarache@hotmail.com
C:703. 919.2629
TUCKAHOE Jenny Hommel
jennymattingley@gmail.com
Kathryn Linehan
Kathylizzy@gmail.com
David Siu
Davidcsiu@gmail.com
MIDDLE SCHOOLS 
GUNSTON Michelle Best
mczero@yahoo.com
C: 703.283.3877
DOROTHY HAMM Keri Cupples
keri_cupples@hotmail.com
C: 703.403.8248
Maria Votsch
mwvotsch@gmail.com
C: 703.217.6227
THOMAS JEFFERSON Melody Kisor
melodykisor@gmail.com
KENMORE Jill Buzby
jillbuzby@aol.com
H: 703.527.6013
SWANSON Tim Evans
timothy.j.evans1@gmail.com
C: 571.334.4777
Christina Hyatt
christina.hyatt@gmail.com
WILLIAMSBURG Melissa McCoy
mellarae@gmail.com
SECONDARY PROGRAMS (6th – 12th Grade) 
CAREER CENTER/ARLINGTON TECH Sheryl Stein
wrekehavoc@gmail.com
Sharon White
SharonGWhite@gmail.com
703.307.6091
HB WOODLAWN Caroline Butler
carolinebutler77@gmail.com
703.819.6228
Nick Walkosak
walkosak@gmail.com
C: 703.772.7628
LANGSTON Vacancy
Eunice Kennedy SHRIVER PROGRAM Caroline Levy
gracelevy@gmail.com
C: 703.447.6616
Janet M. Sater
jsater@ida.org
H: 703.892.5620
NEW DIRECTIONS ALTERNATIVE PROGRAM Vacancy
HIGH SCHOOLS 
ARLINGTON COMMUNITY HIGH SCHOOL Doris Salazar
dlumana7@gmail.com
703.980-3541
WAKEFIELD Maria Callier
cecile0422@gmail.com
C: 703.715.7787
Juliet Hiznay
Juliet@jdhiznay.com
Melody Kisor
melodykisor@gmail.com
Theresa Waddell
theresa.waddell@gmail.com
C: 703.801.7594
WASHINGTON-LIBERTY Jill Buzby
jillbuzby@aol.com
H: 703.527.6013
YORKTOWN Michelle Best
mczero@yahoo.com
C: 703.283.3877

Seeking Special Education Parent Liaisons

Volunteer online to serve as a Special Education Parent Liaison:
https://goo.gl/forms/d9DaUpllNrYHfQD33

Special Education Parent Liaisons Resources


Need more information?  You can contact the Parent Resource Center at 703.228.2739 or emma.parralsanchez@apsva.us.  We look forward to talking with you.