重新開放常見問題解答–特殊教育

以下是針對與接受特殊教育服務的學生重新開放學校相關的常見問題解答(FAQ)。

您能否提供有關使用虛擬評估的最新信息,以幫助團隊確定學生是否有殘障?

特殊教育辦公室(OSE)正在與工作人員一起制定一項計劃,以便在許多領域進行虛擬評估。 我們希望在開學之前製定最終計劃,培訓人員,然後開始對學生進行虛擬評估。 學校將與家庭一起安排考試時間。 有關虛擬評估的更多信息將在XNUMX月下旬或XNUMX月初發布。


如果針對遠程學習調整了個性化教育計劃(IEP),一些父母擔心特殊教育服務“消失”。 正常的30小時教學週恢復後,是否可以恢復服務? 

目前 APS has announced a distance learning model for all students that includes 24 instructional hours.宣布了針對所有學生的遠程學習模型,其中包括24個教學小時。 Schools are reviewing IEPs and reaching out to families to determine together if adjustments need to be made for students to access distance learning and make meaningful progress on their IEP goals, and to align IEPs with the XNUMX instructional hour model.學校正在審查IEP,並與家庭聯繫,共同確定是否需要進行調整,使學生能夠學習遠程學習並在IEP目標方面取得有意義的進步,並使IEP與XNUMX小時教學模式保持一致。 These meetings should not be interpreted as a means to reduce services, but as a forum and opportunity to determine what students needs are during this instructional model.這些會議不應被解釋為減少服務的手段,而應作為確定該教學模式中學生需求的論壇和機會。 As如 APS returns to the face-to-face, 30-hour instructional model, IEP teams will meet again to similarly make needed adjustments together related to student needs in the 30 hour instructional model.回到面對面的XNUMX小時教學模式,IEP團隊將再次開會,根據XNUMX小時教學模式對學生的需求進行類似的調整。 As always, parent input is considered and documented as part of the IEP, and if adjustments are made, the required Prior Written Notice (PWN) form can be used to document why adjustments were made for the current instructional model.與往常一樣,作為IEP的一部分,家長的意見將被考慮並記錄在案,並且如果進行了調整,可以使用所需的事先書面通知(PWN)表格來記錄為何對當前教學模型進行調整。

IEP團隊的注意事項可能包括:

IEP目標 是否需要修改任何目標以反映當前學生的需求和教學模式?

    • 例如:可以寫出社交情感學習和行為目標,以反映學生對同伴的技能運用; 但是,如果他們採用全程遠程學習模式,或者僅與同伴每週面對面兩天,則可能需要修改目標以反映在本學年中要完成的實際工作。
宿舍 是否需要調整住宿以促進遠程學習? 這可能包括:

  • 延長時間
  • 分配塊和優先級
  • 員工經常值機以協助完成工作
  • 休息
  • 調整時間表
相關服務 是否需要調整任何相關服務以反映學生可以虛擬訪問的內容?

 


我的孩子的特殊教育服務將如何提供?

如學生的IEP所示,特殊教育服務實際上將通過全程模式提供,並且將包括一系列服務,包括通識教育環境和特殊教育環境中的教學,例如共同教學,小組教學和/或在IEP上指明的特殊教育環境中的說明。

例如,如果學生的IEP表示在數學的通識教育中提供了支持,則在虛擬數學塊中,特殊教育工作人員可以與通識教育老師一起共同指導會話,或者可以在較小的虛擬分組討論室工作課堂上的一部分,以支持IEP的學生。

如果學生的IEP指示將在特殊教育環境中提供數學指導,則該學生將在較小的虛擬小組環境中接收由特殊教育者提供的數學指導。

以下是教學服務交付的各種模型的一些示例。 (基於IEP,一些學生可能會參加各種模型-例如,英語/語言藝術和自包含數學的資源支持)。 如IEP中所述,將提供特殊教育住宿。

通識教育虛擬課程中的特殊教育支持
特殊教育老師和/或工作人員在特殊教育老師的指導下將提供支持/服務,例如:

        • 在學生參與在線內容之前對其進行審查
        • 課前內容
        • 重新教學內容
        • 通識教育虛擬教室內的小組教學
        • 為執行職能技能提供指導/支持(例如,組織材料,創建大綱,分解作業,與學生簽到以監控工作完成情況)

獨立的班級/專業課程(例如,施萊弗,MIPA,FLS)

        • 由認證教師進行的小組教學
        • 教師講授的教學研究/執行職能
        • 過渡至專上
        • 過渡協調員將繼續與8-12年級學生聯繫
          • 規劃一系列專上課程
          • 職業技能可以通過在家完成的任務或諸如TeachTown之類的程序來解決

家長資源中心將如何(PRC)在來年幫助家庭嗎?

PRC 協調員將繼續提供虛擬服務和支持,並將:

    • 可通過電話和視頻會議進行個別家長諮詢
    • 提供在線家長學習機會
    • 繼續擴大 PRC為家長提供的數字工具和資源
    • 通過每週學校談話信息共享信息,新聞和更新
    • 維護和傳播有關家庭對家庭的支持的信息,例如網絡研討會,會議,資源,社區服務和工具
    • 與特殊教育辦公室和教學部合作,向家庭提供信息,交流和支持
    • 參與並支持阿靈頓特殊教育諮詢委員會和阿靈頓SEPTA
    • 與阿靈頓SEPTA共同贊助特殊教育家長聯絡計劃
    • 與家庭參與辦公室,阿靈頓家庭參與網絡,弗吉尼亞州的特殊教育家庭參與網絡以及其他社區合作夥伴合作,以加強內部的家庭參與計劃 APS 和阿靈頓社區
    • 參加阿靈頓早期干預機構間協調理事會,以支持零至三歲的嬰幼兒家庭
    • 參與並與之合作 APS'過渡小組支持學生家庭為從 APS

PRC 協調員期待在來年與員工和同事合作,歡迎致電703.228.7239和/或 prc@apsva.us。

Re-Opening FAQs – Special Education

Below are responses to Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) related to the school re-opening for students who receive special education services.

Can you provide an update on the use of virtual assessments to help teams determine if a student has a disability?

The Office of Special Education (OSE) is working with staff to create a plan to conduct virtual assessments in many areas. We hope to have a finalized plan before school starts, train staff, and then begin to virtually assess students. Schools will work with families to schedule testing sessions. More information on virtual assessments will be forthcoming in late August or early September.


Some parents are worried about special education services “disappearing” if Individualized Education Programs (IEPs)  are adjusted for distance learning. Can services be reinstated when the normal 30-hour instructional week resumes? 

Currently APS has announced a distance learning model for all students that includes 24 instructional hours. Schools are reviewing IEPs and reaching out to families to determine together if adjustments need to be made for students to access distance learning and make meaningful progress on their IEP goals, and to align IEPs with the 24 instructional hour model. These meetings should not be interpreted as a means to reduce services, but as a forum and opportunity to determine what students needs are during this instructional model. As APS returns to the face-to-face, 30-hour instructional model, IEP teams will meet again to similarly make needed adjustments together related to student needs in the 30 hour instructional model. As always, parent input is considered and documented as part of the IEP, and if adjustments are made, the required Prior Written Notice (PWN) form can be used to document why adjustments were made for the current instructional model.

Considerations for IEP Teams may include:

IEP Goals Do any goals need to be revised to reflect current student needs and instructional models?

    • For example: Social Emotional Learning and Behavior goals may be written to reflect a student’s application of skills with peers; however, if they are in a full distance learning model or only with peers face to face two days a week, the goal may need to be revised to reflect what is realistic to accomplish during this school year.
Accommodations Do accommodations need to be adjusted to facilitate distance learning? This might include:

  • Extended Time
  • Assignments chunks and prioritized
  • Frequent check-ins from staff to assist with work completion
  • Breaks
  • Adjusted schedule
Related Services Do any related services need to be adjusted to reflect what the student can access virtually?

 


How will my child’s special education services be delivered?

As indicated on students’ IEPs, special education services will be delivered virtually through the full-distance model, and will include a continuum of services including instruction in both general education settings and special education settings such as co-teaching, small group instruction, and/or instruction in special education settings as indicated on IEPs.

For example, if a student’s IEP indicated support provided in general education for mathematics, during the virtual math block a special education staff member might co-teach the session along with the general education teacher, or might work in a smaller virtual break-out room for part of the class to support a student with an IEP.

If a student’s IEP indicates that mathematics instruction will be delivered in a special education setting, then the student would receive mathematics instruction provided by a special educator in a smaller virtual group setting.

Below are a few examples of varying models of instructional service delivery. (Based on IEPs, some students might participate in a variety of models – for example, resource support for English/Language Arts and self-contained mathematics). Special education accommodations will be provided as outlined in IEPs.

Special education support in general education virtual classes
A special education teacher and or staff member under the guidance of a special education teacher would provide supports/services such as:

        • Reviewing online content before students engage with it
        • Pre-teaching content
        • Re-teaching content
        • Small group instruction within the general education virtual classroom
        • Providing instruction/support for executive functioning skills (i.e. organizing material, creating outlines, breaking down assignments, check-in with students to monitor work completion)

Self-contained classes/specialized programs (i.e. Shriver, MIPA, FLS)

        • Small-group instruction by certified teachers
        • Instructional Studies/Executive functioning addressed by teacher
        • Transition to Post-Secondary
        • Transition Coordinators will continue outreach to 8th-12th graders
          • Planning for a spectrum of post-secondary experiences
          • Vocational skills can be addressed by tasks done from home or programs such as TeachTown

How will the Parent Resource Center (PRC) be helping families during the coming year?

The PRC Coordinators will continue to offer virtual services and supports, and will:

    • Be available for individual parent consultations via phone and videoconferencing
    • Offer online parent learning opportunities
    • Continue to expand the PRC’s collection of digital tools and resources for parents
    • Share information, news and updates through weekly School Talk messages
    • Maintain and disseminate information on community supports for families such as webinars, meetings, resources, community services and tools
    • Collaborate with the Office of Special Education and the Department of Teaching and Learning to provide information, communication and supports to families
    • Participate in and support the Arlington Special Education Advisory Committee and Arlington SEPTA
    • With Arlington SEPTA, co-sponsor the Special Education Parent Liaisons program
    • Collaborate with the Office of Family Engagement, the Arlington Family Engagement Network, Virginia’s Special Education Family Engagement Network, and other community partners in strengthening family engagement initiatives within APS and the Arlington community
    • Participate in the Arlington Early Intervention Interagency Coordinating Council to support families of infants and toddlers ages zero to three
    • Participate in and collaborate with APS’ Transition Team to support families of students preparing for transitions from APS

The PRC Coordinators look forward to collaborating with staff and colleagues during the upcoming year, and can be reached at 703.228.7239 and/or prc@apsva.us.