恢復服務

弗吉尼亞教育部(VDOE)已為學校提供恢復服務指南:

STEP 1:

  • 在6-8週的教學(虛擬或親自授課)之後,IEP團隊應考慮個人學生數據,以記錄技能補償或持續存在的技能缺陷。
  • 與延長放學期間所有學生的進度相比,IEP團隊應考慮學生的進度。 還請記住,技能的喪失和技能的恢復可能會因年級和主題而異。
  • IEP小組在仔細審查了學生的表現和數據後確定了COVID-19的恢復服務,這些數據包括COVID-19之前的停課,COVID-19停課期間的學生參與和表現以及返校後的表現。
  • 這意味著IEP團隊將需要一段時間來收集有關學生表現的數據,並評估他們與COVID-19考試前關閉有關的技能以及與同齡人相比的學習率,並考慮到LEA提供的教育經驗。

無需LEA(學校)在返校後為每位殘疾學生自動舉行IEP會議。

步驟2:在以下情況之一時,IEP小組的學校成員應考慮發起IEP小組會議:

  • 在適當的情況下,在實現年度目標和總體課程方面缺乏預期的進展;
  • 重新評估的結果需要解決父母共享的有關孩子的信息;
  • 和/或LEA預計孩子可能需要COVID-19康復服務。

此外,LEA必須記住,當父母要求COVID-19恢復服務時,這是對IEP小組會議的要求。 因此,父母應在提出要求後的十個工作日內收到LEA的答复。 如果團隊拒絕了這樣的請求,並且可能包含證明拒絕的理由的其他信息,例如需要時間來評估學生的進步,則必鬚髮出事先書面通知。 如果家長要求開會討論COVID-19恢復服務,則IEP應該明確傳達解決COVID-19恢復服務所需的數據量和類型。

步驟3:傳達決策所需的數據後,IEP團隊可以: 

  1. 舉行會議以聽取父母的要求,並為他們何時召開會議討論數據並做出決定做出計劃; 要么
  2. 尋求父母的同意,以安排會議在將來某個日期提供所需的決策數據。 如果家長同意在有足夠數據的情況下安排將來的會議,則應明確記錄在案。
在事先書面通知(PWN)的相應部分中,記錄將提供的所有恢復服務的範圍。
問:IEP團隊應考慮哪些問題?每個IEP團隊應考慮是否適合使用COVID-19恢復服務,滿足個別學生需求所需的恢復服務的數量和類型,包括:

    • 補充以前學到的技能的其他服務; 和
    • 以前沒有提供的新服務和支持以幫助成功重新進入學校環境(例如,心理健康需求或與學生殘疾有關的服務,以解決因學校停課時間延長而導致的嚴重脫離接觸)。並非所有的殘疾學生都會需要COVID-19恢復服務。 在確定對COVID-19恢復服務的需求和數量之前,每個IEP團隊都應考慮來自各種來源的數據。 其中包括從COVID-19以前的連續數據到重返學校的數據,重點是減少停課和適合學生的重返學生進度的影響。IEP小組應使用單獨的學生進度數據和有關在COVID-19關閉期間以及考慮服務時返回學校時LEA產品的數據。 對COVID-19康復服務的需求應基於學生是否繼續在通識教育課程中或他們的IEP中指定的替代學習課程中繼續取得進展,或者是否朝著實現其個性化IEP目標和/或是否有顯著回歸的方向進行發生在學校關閉期間。COVID-19恢復服務應該是唯一的,應針對學生進行個性化設置,並由IEP小組確定。 教育工作者應仔細記錄為殘障學生提供的COVID-19康復服務,並監控和跟踪學生的個人進步。 無需幾分鐘就可以替換COVID-19恢復服務,以替代在建築物關閉期間未提供的服務。

Recovery Services

The Virginia Department of Education (VDOE) has provided Guidance for Schools on Recovery Services:

Step 1:

  • After 6-8 weeks of instruction (virtual or in person), IEP Teams should consider individual student data to document recoupment of skills or persisting skill deficits.
  • The IEP team should consider the student’s progress compared to the progress of all students during the extended school closure. Also remember that skill loss and recovery of skills may vary by grade and subject matter.
  • The determination of COVID-19 recovery services is made by the IEP Team after a careful review of student performance and data including pre-COVID-19 closures, student participation and performance during COVID-19 closures, and performance upon return to school.
  • This means that IEP Teams will need a period of time to gather data on the student’s performance and assess their skills in relation to pre-COVID-19 closure and their learning rate compared to peers and with consideration of the educational experiences being offered by the LEA.

LEAs (Schools) are not required to automatically hold IEP meetings for every student with a disability upon return to school.

Step 2: School members of the IEP Team should consider initiating an IEP Team meeting when either:

  • there is a lack of expected progress toward the annual goals and in the general curriculum, if appropriate;
  • the results of any reevaluation conducted, information about the child shared by the parent needs to be addressed;
  • and/or if the LEA anticipates that the child may need COVID-19 recovery services.

Additionally, the LEA must remember that when a parent requests COVID-19 recovery services, this is a request for an IEP team meeting.  Thus, the parent should receive a response from the LEA within ten business days from the time the request was made.  A Prior Written Notice must be issued if the team declines such a request and could contain additional information justifying the refusal such as, the need for time to assess student progress. If a parent requests a meeting to discuss COVID-19 recovery services, the IEP should communicate clearly the amount and types of data required to address COVID-19 recovery services.

Step 3: After communicating the data required to make the decision, the IEP Team may either: 

  1. Hold the meeting to hear the parent’s request and make a plan for when they will reconvene to discuss the data and make a determination; or
  2. Seek parental agreement to schedule the meeting for a date in the future when the required data for decision making will be available. If the parent agrees to schedule a meeting in the future when sufficient data is available, this should be clearly documented.
Document all recovery services, to the extent they will be provided, in the appropriate sections of the Prior Written Notice (PWN).
Q. What Questions Should the IEP Team Consider?Each IEP Team should consider if COVID-19 recovery services are appropriate, the amount and type of recovery services required to address individual students’ needs including:

    • additional services to recoup previously learned skills; and
    • new services and supports that were not previously provided to assist with successfully re-entering the school environment (e.g., mental health needs or services related to a student’s disability to address significant disengagement resulting from the extended school closure).Not all students with disabilities will require COVID-19 recovery services. Prior to determining the need for and amount of COVID-19 recovery services, each IEP Team should consider data from a variety of sources. This includes data spanning the continuum of pre-COVID-19 to the return to school with a focus on reducing the impact of the school closure and a return to student progress that is appropriate for the student.IEP Teams should use individual student progress data and data about LEA offerings during COVID-19 closure and upon return to school when considering services. The need for COVID-19 recovery services should be based on whether or not the student continued making progress in the general education curriculum, or alternative course of study specified in their IEP, or toward meeting their individualized IEP goals and/or if any significant regression occurred during the period of school closure.COVID-19 recovery services should be unique, individualized to the student, and determined by the IEP Team. Educators should carefully document the COVID-19 recovery services provided to students with disabilities and monitor and track individual student progress. COVID-19 recovery services do not need to be a minute for minute replacement for services that were not provided during the building closures.