投影–常见问题

问 -  尽管实行了新的招生政策,但克莱蒙特的人数仍在继续增加,这可能导致一旦不再实行祖父制,将会减少进入K学生的人数。

A -  With the opening of new seats, plans to provide relief to option schools included reducing the number of K classes from six to four at Claremont and Key in 2019-20.随着新席位的开放,为选修学校提供救济的计划包括在2019-20年度将克莱尔蒙特和基厄的K类课程数量从六个减少到四个。 Reviews with elementary school principals of PreK program moves, building capacity and XNUMX-XNUMX enrollment estimates led to a recommendation to maintain six K classes at both schools.对PreK计划的小学负责人的举动,建设能力和XNUMX-XNUMX年度入学率的评估导致建议在两所学校维持XNUMX千个班级。 This recommendation to maintain six K classes was shaped by conversations in the immersion community.在沉浸式社区中的对话形成了维持六个K类的建议。 APS 致力于沉浸式学习,并根据学监的拟议预算中的一项声明,力求确保有足够的学生升入5年级并发展该计划,并可能在将来确定第三个沉浸式学习场所。APS 已经升级了预测过程,在此处记录: apsva.us/statistics/enrollment-projections/

  • 十年的预测中假定与本学年相同的可选学校入学课程/座位数。
  • - 监督的年度更新 详细介绍了PreK计划的动向以及可选的学校入学课程/座位的数量,这是在XNUMX月校长和中央管理人员进行的审查中得知的。
  • 社区可以通过以下渠道了解调整预测的方法 APS 例如,在幼儿园信息之夜和春季提供的通讯更新了对下一学年的预测(XNUMX月发布)。

问 -  即使考虑到估计明年将有27名学生因新的边界而离开学校并进入德鲁(Drew)的情况下,阿宾登(Abingdon)的预计入学人数也大大低于秋季边界过程中使用的人数。 ?

A –预测差异可以通过以下方式解释:

  • 每个预测中使用的入学数据来自不同的年份,这导致估计有不同数量的K入学学生估计要就读于附近的学校。 预测基于当时可用的最新注册数据。
    • 2018年秋季边界过程预测:这项边界程序始于2018年夏季,并基于30年2017月XNUMX日的入学数据进行了预测(最新数据)
    • 十年入学预测: 这些预测于2019年30月发布,并基于2018年XNUMX月XNUMX日的入学数据进行预测(最新数据)
  • APS 考虑到2019年XNUMX月的K学生是根据修订后的``选项与转学''政策首次被录取的,这影响了即将来临的预测以及对学生升入下一年级水平的估计。
    • 2018年秋季边界过程预测:根据新政策,没有可用的学生入学数据,因此采用了一个保守的公式来计算邻里席位,并确保边界过程不会使学校拥挤。
    • 十年入学率预测:根据调整后的政策,可获得第一个K队列入学学生的入学信息,并将其用于2019年XNUMX月的十年入学率预测。

问–在2020年边界过程之前,还会有另一个预测修订吗?

A -  是的,“规划与评估”每年都会更新这些预测,并希望每年在此过程中进一步改进: apsva.us/statistics/enrollment-projections/。 2020年边界流程将再次使用基于计划部门(PU)的入学预测估计值。 数据将反映修订后的``选项与转让''政策下的实际入学模式,取代2018年使用的估计数。

问 - 在2019-28年度CIP流程中,您能否提供用于人口增长的人口预测中的假设列表? 

A -   此处包含18年2018月XNUMX日的回复。

Projections – FAQ

Q –  Claremont’s numbers continue to increase, despite the new admissions policy put in place that would presumably result in a reduction of entering K students once grandfathering is no longer in place.

A –  With the opening of new seats, plans to provide relief to option schools included reducing the number of K classes from six to four at Claremont and Key in 2019-20. Reviews with elementary school principals of PreK program moves, building capacity and 2019-20 enrollment estimates led to a recommendation to maintain six K classes at both schools. This recommendation to maintain six K classes was shaped by conversations in the immersion community. APS is committed to immersion and seeks to ensure there are sufficient students to progress through Grade 5 and grow the program, as well as potentially identify a third immersion site in the future, per a statement in the Superintendent’s Proposed Budget.APS has been upgrading the projections process, which are documented here: apsva.us/statistics/enrollment-projections/

  • The same number of option school entry classes/seats are assumed in the ten-year projections as exist in the current school year.
  • The Superintendent’s Annual Update details the PreK program moves and the number of option school entry classes/seats, which were informed by a review with principals and central administrators in December.
  • The community can learn about adjustments to projections via APS communications provided, for example, at Kindergarten Information Night and in the Spring update to projections for the next school year (published in April).

Q –  Abingdon’s projected enrollments are significantly lower than the numbers used during the fall boundary process even when taking into account the estimated 27 students that will leave the school next year and attend Drew as a result of the new boundaries.Can someone explain the dramatic differential in projections?

A – The difference in projections can be explained by:

  • The enrollment data used in each projection comes from different years, which resulted in different numbers of incoming K students estimated to attend their neighborhood schools.  Projections are based on the most current enrollment data available at the time.
    • Fall 2018 Boundary Process Projections: This boundary process began in Summer 2018 and based projections on Sept. 30, 2017 enrollment data (the most current available)
    • Ten-year Enrollment Projections: These projections were published in January 2019 and based projections on Sept. 30, 2018 enrollment data (the most current available)
  • APS took into account that the K students in September 2019 were the first to be admitted under the revised Options & Transfer policy, which affected incoming projections as well as estimates for how students transition to the next grade level.
    • Fall 2018 Boundary Process Projections: With no student enrollment data available under the new policy, a conservative formula was used to calculate neighborhood seats and ensure the boundary process would not overcrowd a school.
    • Ten-year Enrollment Projections: Student enrollment information was available on the first K cohort entering school under the adjusted policy and this was used for the January 2019 ten-year enrollment projections.

Q – Will there be another projection revision prior to the 2020 boundary process?

A – Yes, Planning &Evaluation updates the projections annually and expects additional improvements in the process each year: apsva.us/statistics/enrollment-projections/. The 2020 Boundary Process will again use Planning Unit (PU)-based enrollment projection estimates. Data will reflect actual enrollment patterns under the revised Option & Transfer policy, replacing estimates used in 2018.

Q – For the 2019-28 CIP process, can you provide a list of assumptions used in the demographic projections for student growth? 

A –  The response from June 18, 2018 is included here.