通用筛选器

什么是通用筛选器?

通用筛选器是对特定年级水平的所有学生进行的简短评估 APS 参与以帮助衡量增长并确定未达到年底年级水平预期的风险。 学生每年最多参加这些评估三次。 目前, APS 在英语语言艺术和数学领域使用通用筛选器。

为什么 APS 管理通用筛选器?

在分层支持系统中主动使用通用筛选器。 它们被认为是帮助确定学生优势以及哪些学生需要额外支持的重要第一步。 教师使用通用筛查数据就循证干预和应遵循的进度监测做出明智的决定。 通用筛选器也可用于帮助衡量学生的成长。

哪些通用筛选器可以 APS 使用? 

下表包含不同的通用筛选评估 APS 用于英语语言艺术和数学领域。

通用筛选器 管理的年级 通用筛选器的描述
 
需求来源
儿童行为评定量表(CBRS) PreKindergarten (4岁) – 幼儿园 儿童行为评定量表 (CBRS) 是弗吉尼亚幼儿园准备计划 (VKRP) 的一部分,是一种由您孩子的老师完成的 XNUMX 个问题评定量表,用于衡量学生社交情感技能的两个方面:自我调节和社交技能。 自我调节侧重于控制自己的注意力、情绪和行为以应对学校环境要求的技能。 社交技能包括成功导航与同龄人和成年人的互动和关系的能力。 州/领地

早期数学评估系统 (EMAS)

PreKindergarten (4岁) – 幼儿园

早期数学评估系统 (EMAS) 是弗吉尼亚幼儿园准备计划 (VKRP) 的一部分,衡量数学思维,包括几何、模式、算术和计算领域的问题。 评估模块包括:

几何:形状识别和形状属性(PreK); 形状匹配与识别、形状特性、组合形状(幼儿园)

图案化: 识别花样、再现花样、扩展花样和创建花样

算术: 计​​数和基数,subitizing,描述集合和数字的变化(PreK); 计数和基数,子化,比较和排序数字,组合和分解数字,识别和书写数字,描述集合,序数,公平分享(幼儿园)

计算: 加减法

州/领地

语音意识识字筛查 (PALS)

PreKindergarten (4岁) – 幼儿园

语音意识识字筛查 (PALS) 评估是一种非正式的筛查清单,用于整个弗吉尼亚联邦的 PreK-2 年级。 它旨在为教师提供有关学生阅读进度的信息。 这些子任务用于筛选和识别需要额外指导以提高基础阅读技能的学生。 有关 PALS 评估的更多信息,请单击以下链接:

阿灵顿公立学校 ELA 评估页面链接

州/领地
基本早期识字技能的动态指标 (DIBELS) 

幼儿园–六年级

基本早期识字技能动态指标 (DIBELS) 评估是阿灵顿的识字筛选器,用于确定 K-5 年级学生在早期识字技能方面的进展。 这些信息将使教师能够了解您的学生是否有望在阅读方面取得成功,或者是否需要额外的时间和小组指导进行早期干预。 有关 DIBELS 评估的更多信息,请单击以下链接:

阿灵顿公立学校 ELA 评估页面链接

数学清单 3.1 (MI)

等级2-8

Math Inventory 3.1 评估是一种基于课堂的计算机自适应通用筛选器和进度监控工具,用于衡量从幼儿园到代数 II 的数学成绩和成长。 Math Inventory 3.1 旨在评估学生的数学表现,监控他们的进步,支持干预或扩展的安置,并设定教学目标。 有关 Math Inventory 3.1 的更多信息,请单击以下链接:

Math Inventory 3.1 网站链接

阅读清单 (RI)

等级6-8

 阅读清单(RI) 是全国范围内使用的非正式筛选程序,不会评分。 这是一项低风险、基于课堂的评估,旨在评估学生的阅读表现、监控他们的阅读进度并支持学生选择书籍。  RI 是一种基于计算机的自适应评估,大约需要 20 分钟。 在这个理解力评估中,学生被要求阅读简短的段落并回答省略单词的问题。  RI 提供教师用于针对学生学习的信息 gaps 并提供住宿和干预。

如何在分层支持系统中使用通用筛选器数据?

普遍筛查是识别学生优势和确定哪些学生可能在学年结束时无法达到年级水平期望的关键的第一步。 这些评估在分层支持系统中主动使用,以指导教师进行教学。

一旦管理了通用筛选器,教师就会在他们的协作学习团队 (CLT) 中分析学生成绩以及其他可用的学生数据,以确定每个学生的独特学习需求。 教师将使用这些数据来区分所有学生接受的核心(第 1 级)教学。 如果学生不符合通用筛选器评估的基准,则针对未完成学习的附加诊断目标领域,提供扩展和加速的机会,以及有针对性的小组教学计划。

进行评估以进一步确定学生的需求并确定干预的重点领域(如果适用)。 干预可以以不同程度的强度发生,这通常描述了第 2 级和第 3 级干预之间的差异。 干预的强度取决于学生的需求和学生在未达到年级水平期望方面的风险水平。 除了作为任何学生核心(第 2 层)教学的一部分而发生的强大的差异化教学之外,还提供第 3 层和第 1 层干预。

如果学生需要 Tier 2 或 Tier 3 干预,家长/监护人将收到书面通知,并会收到学生干预计划的详细副本。 此类详细信息将包括针对需要区域的干预的描述、干预开始日期、干预计划的长度、您的学生每周将参与干预的次数、负责提供干预的工作人员以及后续行动日期以了解您的学生在干预中的进展情况。

如果家长/监护人对学生的评估结果和/或他们的干预有任何疑问,请联系学生的课堂和/或内容区域老师。 需要支持的员工应联系 ATSS 或适当的内容区办公室。

如何通知家长他们的孩子正在参加通用筛查?

APS 家长通过学校谈话和/或 ParentVUE 通知他们他们的学生将参加通用筛选器评估。 这些通知在评估窗口开始之前发送,通常在 XNUMX 月、XNUMX 月和 XNUMX 月。

下表提供了特定通信的链接 APS 家长们收到了关于年初普遍筛查评估的通知。

年级 链接到接受面对面教学的学生的家长通知信 链接到虚拟学习计划的家长通知信
幼儿园前 PreK 家长通知信 PreK 虚拟家长通知信
幼儿园 Kinder 家长通知信 Kinder 虚拟家长通知信
1级 一年级家长通知信 一年级虚拟家长通知信
2级 一年级家长通知信 一年级虚拟家长通知信
等级3-5 3-5 年级家长通知信 3-5 年级虚拟家长通知信
等级6-8 6-8 年级家长通知

家长如何从通用筛选器获得学生分数的通知?

APS 父母收到一封信 ParentVUE 在通用筛选器的测试窗口关闭后不久。 该通知在秋季、冬季和春季发出。 这些字母描述了学生根据年级选择的筛选器,以及筛选器的预期基准分数和学生分数。

下表提供了特定通信的链接 APS 家长收到通知,告知他们学生在通用筛选器上的分数。

年级 学生成绩报告的家长通知信链接 
幼儿园 幼儿园学生成绩报告信
1级 一年级学生成绩报告信
2级 一年级学生成绩报告信
等级3-5 3-5 年级学生成绩报告信
等级6-8 6-8 年级学生成绩报告信

Universal Screeners

What are universal screeners?

Universal screeners are brief assessments that all students in specific grade levels within APS participate in to help measure growth and determine risk of not meeting end of year grade-level expectations.  Students participate in these assessments up to three times per year.  Currently, APS uses universal screeners in the areas of English Language Arts and mathematics.

Why does APS administer universal screeners?

Universal screeners are used proactively within a tiered system of support.  They are considered an important first step in helping identify student strengths, as well as which students are in need of additional support.  Teachers use universal screening data to make informed decisions about evidence-based interventions and the progress monitoring that should follow.  Universal screeners can also be used to help measure student growth.

Which universal screeners does APS use? 

The table below contains the different universal screening assessments APS uses in the areas of English Language Arts and mathematics.

Universal Screener Grade Level(s) Administered Description of the Universal Screener
 
Requirement Source
Child Behavior Rating Scale(CBRS) PreKindergarten (Age 4) – Kindergarten The Child Behavior Rating Scale (CBRS), part of the Virginia Kindergarten Readiness Program (VKRP), is a seventeen question rating scale completed by your child’s teachers and used to measure two areas of a student’s social-emotional skills: self-regulation and social skills. Self-regulation focuses on the skills to control one’s own attention, emotions, and behaviors to cope with the demands of the school environment. Social skills include the ability to navigate interactions and relationships with peers and adults successfully. State

Early Mathematics Assessment System (EMAS)

PreKindergarten (Age 4) – Kindergarten

The Early Mathematics Assessment System (EMAS), part of the Virginia Kindergarten Readiness Program (VKRP), measures mathematical thinking including questions in the areas of geometry, patterning, numeracy, and computation. The modules of the assessment include:

Geometry: Shape recognition and shape properties (PreK); shape matching and identification, shape properties, composing shapes (Kindergarten)

Patterning: Recognizing patterns, reproducing patterns, extending patterns, and creating patterns

Numeracy: Counting and cardinality, subitizing, describing changes in sets, and numerals (PreK); counting and cardinality, subitizing, comparing and ordering numbers, composing and decomposing numbers, recognizing and writing numerals, describing sets, ordinal numbers, sharing fairly (Kindergarten)

Computation: Adding and subtracting

State

Phonological Awareness Literacy Screening (PALS)

PreKindergarten (Age 4) – Kindergarten

The Phonological Awareness Literacy Screening (PALS) assessment is an informal screening inventory used across the Commonwealth of Virginia in grades PreK-2.  It is designed to provide teachers with information on your student’s progress in reading. The subtasks are used to screen and identify students in need of additional instruction for foundational reading skills.  For additional information on the PALS assessment, please click on the following link:

Arlington Public School ELA assessment page link

State
Dynamic Indicators of Basic Early Literacy Skills (DIBELS) 

Kindergarten – Grade 5

The Dynamic Indicators of Basic Early Literacy Skills (DIBELS) assessment is Arlington’s literacy screener used to determine student progress on early literacy skills in grades K-5. This information will allow teachers to know if your student is on track for success in reading or if additional time and small group instruction are needed for early intervention. For additional information on the DIBELS assessment, please click on the following link:

Arlington Public School ELA assessment page link

Division
Math Inventory 3.1 (MI)

Grades 2-8

The Math Inventory 3.1 assessment is a classroom-based, computer-adaptive universal screener and progress monitoring tool that measures mathematics achievement and growth from Kindergarten through Algebra II. The Math Inventory 3.1 is designed to evaluate students’ mathematics performance, monitor their progress, support placement for intervention or extensions, and set goals for instruction.  For additional information on the Math Inventory 3.1, please click on the following link:

Math Inventory 3.1 Website Link

Division
Reading Inventory (RI)

Grades 6-8

The Reading Inventory (RI) is an informal screening process used across the country and will not be graded. It is a low-stakes, classroom-based assessment designed to evaluate students’ reading performance, monitor their reading progress, and support student book selection.  RI is a computer-based, adaptive assessment that takes approximately 20 minutes. During this comprehension assessment, students are asked to read brief passages and answer questions in which words are omitted.  RI provides information that teachers use to target student learning gaps and provide accommodations and interventions. Division

How is universal screener data used within a tiered system of support?

Universal screening is a critical first step in identifying student strengths and determining which students might be at risk of not achieving grade-level expectations by the end of the school year.  These assessments are used proactively within a tiered system of support to guide teachers in their instruction.

Once universal screeners are administered, teachers work in their Collaborative Learning Teams (CLTs) to analyze student results, along with other available student data, to determine each student’s unique learning needs. Teachers will use this data to differentiate their core (Tier 1) instruction which all students receive. If a student does not meet the benchmark on a universal screener assessment, additional diagnostic targeting areas of unfinished learning, providing opportunities for extension and acceleration, and planning for targeted small group instruction.

Assessments are given to further identify the student’s needs and determine the area of focus for an intervention (if applicable). Interventions can occur at varying degrees of intensity which often delineates the difference between a Tier 2 and Tier 3 intervention. The intensity of an intervention is determined by student need and the level of risk the student is at in terms of not meeting grade level expectations. Tier 2 and Tier 3 interventions are provided in addition to the robust differentiated instruction happening as part of any student’s core (Tier 1) instruction.

If a student requires a Tier 2 or Tier 3 intervention, parents/guardians will be notified in writing and will receive a detailed copy of their student’s intervention plan. Such details will include a description of the intervention targeting the area of need, intervention start date, length of intervention plan, how many times per week your student will participate in the intervention, staff member responsible for providing the intervention, and a follow-up date to learn how your student is progressing within the intervention.

If parents/guardians have any questions about a student’s assessment results and/or their intervention, please reach out to the student’s classroom and/or content area teacher.  Staff who need support should reach out to ATSS or the appropriate content area office.

How are parents notified that their child is participating in a universal screener?

APS parents receive a notification via School Talk and/or ParentVUE informing them that their student will be participating in a universal screener assessment.  These notifications are sent before the start of the assessment windows, usually in September, January, and April.

The table below provides a link to the specific communication APS parents received notifying them of beginning of year universal screener assessments.

Grade Level(s) Link to Parent Notification Letter for Students Receiving In-Person Instruction Link to Parent Notification Letter for Virtual Learning Program
Pre- Kindergarten PreK Parent Notification Letter PreK Virtual Parent Notification Letter
Kindergarten Kinder Parent Notification Letter Kinder Virtual Parent Notification Letter
Grade 1 Grade 1 Parent Notification Letter Grade 1 Virtual Parent Notification Letter
Grade 2 Grade 2 Parent Notification Letter Grade 2 Virtual Parent Notification Letter
Grades 3-5 Grades 3-5 Parent Notification Letter Grades 3-5 Virtual Parent Notification Letter
Grades 6-8 Grades 6-8 Parent Notification