欺凌預防

欺凌預防是什麼樣的 APS?

APS 致力於確保所有學生在安全、健康和支持性的環境中學習和成長。 每年, APS 從事欺凌預防工作,以教育和授權學生幫助創建安全和支持性的學校社區。 所有學生都參加課程,以加強他們對識別、拒絕和報告欺凌行為、旁觀者在預防欺凌中的作用以及建立積極、尊重關係的策略的理解和意識。

每年 XNUMX 月,為了紀念全國欺凌預防月,所有學生都使用適合年齡的語言和示例參加諮詢課程,以建立和加強他們識別、報告和拒絕欺凌的能力。

所有學校也參加 團結日, 今年19年2022月XNUMX日,由國家欺凌預防中心主辦。 鼓勵教職員工和學生穿橙色衣服,“以表現出對善良、接納和包容的團結,並傳達一個明顯的信息,即任何孩子都不應該遭受欺凌。”

什麼是欺凌?

APS 政策 J-6.8.1 學生安全 - 欺凌/騷擾預防 將欺凌定義為:

  • 旨在傷害、恐嚇或羞辱的攻擊性和不受歡迎的行為
  • 涉及攻擊者/攻擊者和學生之間的權力不平衡
  • 重複施加或試圖施加傷害、不適或羞辱
  • 隨著時間的推移反復發生的攻擊性、故意或敵對行為模式
  • 網絡欺凌,當通過使用電子手段發生時

如果您擔心您的學生受到欺凌,請與您的學生的 輔導員或管理員 制定計劃,幫助您的孩子在學校感到安全。

任何學生、家長/監護人或學校工作人員都可以通過填寫表格為自己或另一方發起投訴 欺凌騷擾事件表。

政策實施程序 J-6.8.1 PIP-1:學生安全 - 欺凌-騷擾預防 聲明學校管理人員負責調查每個事件提交。 我們能幫你什麼嗎? 教你的學生大聲反對欺凌。 如果他們觀察到欺凌事件,他們應該通知成年人。 充當觀察者並報告情況的事實不是“閒聊”,做正確的事需要勇氣。 鼓勵您的學生善意地接觸被欺負的學生,並幫助他們與成年人交談。

資源:

 

有關預防欺凌的信息,請聯繫您學生的學校,或學生服務(諮詢)主管 Kristin Devaney 博士, 克里斯汀·德瓦尼@aps價值 或703-228-6061。

Bullying Prevention

What does bullying prevention look like in APS?

APS is committed to ensuring all students learn and thrive in safe, healthy, and supportive environments. Each year, APS engages in bullying prevention efforts to educate and empower students to help create safe and supportive school communities. All students participate in lessons to strengthen their understanding and awareness of recognizing, refusing and reporting bullying behavior, the role of bystanders in bullying prevention, and strategies for building positive, respectful relationships.

Each October, in recognition of National Bullying Prevention month, all students participate in counseling lessons using age-appropriate language and examples to build and strengthen their ability to recognize, report and refuse bullying.

All schools also participate in Unity Day, this year on October 19, 2022, sponsored by the National Bullying Prevention Center. Staff and students are encouraged to wear orange “to show unity for kindness, acceptance, and inclusion, and to send a visible message that no child should ever experience bullying.”

What is Bullying?

APS Policy J-6.8.1 Student Safety – Bullying/Harassment Prevention defines bullying as:

  • aggressive and unwanted behavior that is intended to harm, intimidate, or humiliate
  • involving a power imbalance between the aggressor/aggressors and student
  • repeating infliction or attempting infliction of injury, discomfort, or humiliation
  • a pattern of aggressive, intentional or hostile behavior that occurs repeatedly and over time
  • cyberbullying, when occurring through the use of electronic means

If you are concerned that your student is being bullied, share your concerns with your student’s counselor or administrator to develop a plan to help your child feel safe at school.

Any student, parent/guardian, or school staff may initiate a complaint for themselves or another party by completing the Bully Harassment Incident Form.

The Policy Implementation Procedure J-6.8.1 PIP-1: Student Safety – Bullying-Harassment Prevention states that school administrators are responsible for investigating each incident submission. How can we help? Teach your student to speak out against bullying. If they observe an incident of bullying, they should inform an adult. Acting as an observer and reporting the facts of the situation is not “tattling” and it takes courage to do the right thing. Encourage your student to reach out to a student being bullied with kindness and help them talk to an adult.

Resources:

 

For information on Bullying Prevention, please contact your student’s school, or the Supervisor of Student Services (Counseling), Dr. Kristin Devaney, kristen.devaney@apsva.us or 703-228-6061.