الطفل كله ومنع التنمر

بقلم بام ماكليلان ، مشرف خدمات الاستشارة

CmIQs_wWMAInaBTيعمل مجتمع مدرستنا كل يوم لمساعدة الطلاب على الازدهار والنجاح ؛ في الواقع ، فإن كل مدارس أرلينغتون العامة (APS) قسم المدرسة والأسرة يساهم في تلبية احتياجات الطفل ككل. على سبيل المثال ، نعلم أن هناك بعض الظروف المثلى التي تحافظ على النمو والتنمية ؛ يحتاج الأطفال إلى الطعام والمأوى والرعاية الطبية والملابس ؛ يجب أن يشعروا بالأمان والأمان ، ويجب أن يشعروا أنهم ينتمون إليه APS.

عندما يتم تلبية هذه الاحتياجات ، يتم تعزيز انفتاح الطفل على الأكاديميين ، ويزدهر احترام الذات. من خدمة الطعام إلى موظفي سلامة الحرم الجامعي إلى المدربين ورعاة الأندية ، APS يعمل على رعاية الطفل كله.

عندما يواجه الطفل سلوكًا تنمرًا أو مضايقة من شخص آخر ، فإن النتيجة يمكن أن تحرم الطفل من غداءه ، وتجعله يشعر بالخوف والمرض ، وتتركه يشعر بالاستبعاد - في أي سن. يمكن أن يحدث ذلك في خط الغداء وعلى الإنترنت ، في الحمام وفي الفصل الدراسي. من خلال التجربة السلبية لسلوك التنمر أو التحرش ، يمكن أن يعاني الأطفال من انتكاسة - قد لا يعود يشعر / هي بالانتماء ، وقد لا يرغبون في الذهاب إلى المدرسة. يجب استعادة هذا الشعور بالانتماء ونظرة المدرسة كمكان آمن حتى يستأنف الطالب تركيزه على التدريس.

بالطبع نأمل في إحباط سلوك التنمر / المضايقة من خلال الوقاية. كنظام مدرسي ، عندما نبني علاقات بين الأطفال وبين الأطفال والبالغين ، فإننا نجهز الأطفال ليكونوا مرنين في مواجهة سلوك التنمر / التحرش ، ونزيد من فرصة إخبار الكبار عند حدوثه و كونوا حلفاء وليسوا متفرجين عندما يلاحظون البلطجة / المضايقة. تستهدف استراتيجيات التدخل لدينا كل من الطالب الذي يظهر سلوكًا تنمرًا / مضايقة ، والطالب الذي عانى من هذا السلوك. إن التعامل بشكل منهجي مع سلوكيات التنمر / المضايقة يسهل الوقاية والتدخل الشامل ، ويعزز المسؤولية المشتركة من الفصل الدراسي إلى غرفة المعيشة.

لإحداث فرق ، نحتاج إلى أن يأتي الأطفال ويتحدثون إلينا عندما يسمعون أو يرون شيئًا. هذا أكثر أهمية عندما لا نستطيع نحن البالغين رؤية الإجراءات لأنهم متصلون بالإنترنت. إذا كنت ترغب في معرفة المزيد عن APS الوقاية من التنمر توجد العديد من الموارد على صفحة الويب الخاصة بنا تحت مكتب خدمات الطلاب ، بما في ذلك نصائح للآباء. تم إدراج جهة اتصال مدرستك لمنع التنمر هناك. تشارك جميع المدارس في أنشطة منع التنمر ؛ من فضلك لا تتردد في التواصل مع مستشار المدرسة المهنية لطفلك لمعرفة المزيد. بتوجيه من وزارة التعليم في فرجينيا ، يرجى أيضًا العثور على السياسة المعتمدة من مجلس مدرستنا بشأن APS صفحة ويب تحت رابط مجلس المدرسة (APS السياسة 25-1.17).

The Whole Child and Bullying Prevention

by Pam McClellan, Supervisor of Counseling Services

CmIQs_wWMAInaBTOur school community works every day to help students thrive and succeed; in fact each Arlington Public Schools (APS) department and school family contributes to meeting the needs of the whole child. For example, we know that there are certain optimal conditions that sustain growth and development; children need food, shelter, medical attention, and clothing; they need to feel safe and secure, and they must feel that they belong in APS.

When these needs are met, a child’s openness to academics is enhanced, and self-esteem blossoms. From food service to campus safety staff to coaches and club sponsors, APS works to foster the whole child.

When a child faces bullying or harassing behavior from another person, the result can deprive a child of their lunch, cause them to feel fearful and sick, and leave them feeling excluded – at any age. It can happen in the lunch line and online, in the bathroom, and in the classroom. Through the adverse experience of bullying or harassing behavior, children can experience a setback – s/he may no longer feel a sense of belonging, and they may not want to go to school. That sense of belonging and the view of school as a safe place must be restored for the student to resume their focus on instruction.

Of course we hope to thwart bullying/harassing behavior through prevention. As a school system, when we build relationships both between children, and between children and adults, we equip children to be resilient in the face of bullying/harassing behavior, and we increase the chance that they will tell an adult when it does occur and be allies not bystanders when they observe bullying/harassment. Our intervention strategies target both the student who demonstrates bullying/harassing behavior, and the student who has suffered from the behavior. Dealing systemically with bullying/harassing behaviors facilitates comprehensive prevention and intervention, and fosters shared responsibility from the classroom to the living room.

To make a difference, we need children to come and talk to us when they hear or see something. This is even more important when we as adults cannot see the actions because they are online. If you would like to know more about APS bullying prevention there are several resources on our webpage under the Office of Student Services, including tips for parents. Your school’s contact for bullying prevention is listed there. All schools engage in bullying prevention activities; please do not hesitate to reach out to your child’s professional school counselor to learn more. Guided by the Virginia Department of Education, please also find our School Board’s adopted policy on the APS webpage under the School Board link (APS Policy 25-1.17).