无家可归

阿灵顿公立学校(APS)致力于为遇到无家可归的学生提供支持。  项目额外步骤 为这些学生的成功学习经验提供支持。 的 APS 无家可归的联络人负责确保识别,注册和访问由以下人员提供的学术课程: APS。 有关更多信息,家庭应联系孩子所在学校的社工或致电 项目额外步骤 办公室请致电703-228-6046或无家可归者联络处请致电703-228-2585。

无家可归的定义 

无论谁, 由于缺乏住房,生活:

  • 在紧急或过渡收容所中;
  • 在汽车旅馆,旅馆,拖车公园,露营地;
  • 在汽车,公园,公共场所,公共汽车或火车站或废弃建筑中;
  • 与亲戚或朋友加倍;
  • 在这种情况下,儿童或青年没有成年人的监护权(无人陪伴的青年);
  • 在这种情况下,是一个迁徙的孩子或青年。

要确定无家可归者,请考虑 持久性和充分性 生活状况 无人陪伴的无家可归的青年人是指没有固定,定期和适当住房的青年,该青年不受父母或监护人的身体监护。 其中将包括流离失所者,无家可归者,以及被家庭剥夺住房的人(有时被称为儿童和青少年)。

无家可归的家庭需要知道什么  

  • 经历无家可归的儿童和青少年有权上学。
  • 您不需要永久地址就可以让您的孩子上学。
  • 遇到无家可归的儿童和青年可以根据自己的最大兴趣,留在原学校或就读于同一出勤地区学生有资格参加的任何公立学校。 如果发生安置冲突,学校必须向您提供书面说明,您可以对他们的决定提出上诉。 (联系无家可归的联络人。)
  • 不能仅仅因为无法立即获得学校记录或其他入学文件而拒绝您的孩子入学。 如果确定可行,您的孩子可能有权往返母校。
  • 您的孩子有权参加课外活动以及他或她有资格参加的所有联邦,州或地方计划。 这些活动可能无法使用交通工具。
  • 无家可归的无家可归的青年人享有同样的权利。 (联系无家可归的联络人。)

免费和减少午餐程序

根据《联邦食品和营养法》,无家可归的学生有权免费和/或减少午餐。 家长无需完成免费和减少午餐的常规申请。 注册为无家可归者后,您的孩子将自动获得免费和/或减价午餐。 通过无家可归的联络人授权请求。

运输程序

阿灵顿公立学校必须为无家可归的学生提供交通帮助,以便他们能够(如果选择)留在原籍学校。 交通安排通过无家可归者联络处的办公室工作人员进行。 交通选择可能包括校车,出租车和/或公共交通工具。 一旦安排好交通(通常3-5个工作日),就会通知父母/监护人。 为了提供出租车和/或公共交通工具,需要签名的放行表格。 安排交通时,会向父母/监护人提供规则和规章。 您孩子学校的学校社工将与无家可归者联络,以安排交通。

 

推荐表格 了解方案 

推荐人方程式 普雷西奥·阿奎

无家可归学生的权利 了解方案

德雷克什·德洛斯·阿尔明诺斯·卡尔森·德霍加·菲霍 普雷西奥内阿基

项目额外步骤手册

英语

西班牙文-西班牙文

عربى-阿拉伯语

Монгол-蒙古语

አማርኛ*-阿姆哈拉语

বাংলা-孟加拉语

资源 

公共服务部负责管理阿灵顿县 住房选择券计划 以及 住房补助金计划,确保社区所有成员都能获得负担得起的住房。 有关住房支持的更多信息,请访问: http://publicassistance.arlingtonva.us/housing/

联系人和资源

公共服务部建立了多个社区安全网计划,以帮助有短期需求的人们,包括食品,儿童保育,公用事业,医疗保健和无家可归者。 有关更多信息,请访问: http://publicassistance.arlingtonva.us/

芭芭拉·费雪(Barbara Fisher),无家可归者和寄养人联络
艾丽西亚马丁内斯弗洛雷斯,行政助理

阿灵顿公立学校
学生服务办公室
Syphax教育中心,华盛顿大道2110号阿灵顿VA 22204
办公室:703-228-2585或703-228-6046
电邮: alicia.flores @aps价值

Homelessness

Arlington Public Schools (APS) is committed to providing support to our students experiencing homelessness.  Project Extra Step provides support for successful academic experiences for these students.  The APS homeless liaison is responsible for ensuring the identification, enrollment and access to the academic programs offered by APS. For more information families should contact the social worker at their child’s school or call the Project Extra Step office at 703-228-6046 or the Homeless Liaison at 703-228-2585.

Definition of Homelessness 

Anyone who, due to a lack of housing, lives:

  • In emergency or transitional shelters;
  • In motels, hotels, trailer parks, campgrounds;
  • In cars, parks, public places, bus or train stations, or abandoned buildings;
  • Doubled up with relatives or friends;
  • In these conditions and is a child or youth not in the physical custody of an adult (unaccompanied youth);
  • In these conditions and is a migratory child or youth.

To determine homelessness, consider the permanence and adequacy of the living situation. Unaccompanied homeless youth refers to a youth without fixed, regular, and adequate housing who is not in the physical custody of a parent or guardian. This would include runaways living in homeless situations and those denied housing by their families (sometimes referred to as throwaway children and youth).

What Families Experiencing Homelessness Need To Know  

  • Children and youth experiencing homelessness have a right to attend school.
  • You do not need a permanent address to enroll your child in school.
  • Children and youth experiencing homelessness can stay in their original school or enroll in any public school that students living in the same attendance area are eligible to attend, according to their best interest. Schools must provide you with a written explanation if a placement dispute occurs, and you may appeal their decision. (Contact the homeless liaison.)
  • Your child cannot be denied school enrollment just because school records or other enrollment documentation are not immediately available. Your child may have the right to transportation services to and from the school of origin, if determined feasible.
  • Your child has the right to participate in extracurricular activities and all federal, state, or local programs for which he or she is eligible. Transportation may not be available for these activities.
  • Homeless unaccompanied youth have these same rights. (Contact the homeless liaison.)

Free and Reduced Lunch Procedures

Students who are experiencing homelessness are entitled to free and/or reduced lunch under the Federal Food and Nutrition Act.  Parents do not need to complete a regular application for free and reduced lunch.  Your child will automatically be enrolled in free and/or reduced lunch when registered as homeless.  Requests are authorized through the homeless liaison.

Transportation Procedures

Arlington Public Schools is required to provide transportation help for students experiencing homelessness in order that they are able, if they choose, to remain in their school of origin.  Transportation is arranged through the homeless liaison’s office staff.  Transportation options may include school bus, taxi cab and/or public transportation.  Once transportation is arranged (usually 3-5 working days) the parent/guardian is notified.  A signed release form is required in order to provide taxi cab and/or public transportation.  Rules and regulations are provided to the parent/guardian at the time transportation is arranged.  The school social worker at your child’s school will contact the homeless liaison in order to set up transportation.

 

Referral Form Click Here

Formulario de Referencia Presione aqui

Rights of Homeless Students Click Here

Derechos de los Alumnos que Carecen de Hogar Fijo Presione aqui

Brochures for Project Extra Step

English

Español-Spanish

عربى-Arabic

Монгол-Mongolian

አማርኛ*-Amharic

বাংলা-Bengali

RESOURCES 

The Department of Human Services administers Arlington County’s Housing Choice Voucher Program and Housing Grants Program, ensuring access to affordable housing for all members of the community.  For more information on housing supports, visit: http://publicassistance.arlingtonva.us/housing/

Contacts & resources

The Department of Human Services has established several community safety net programs to help people with short-term needs that include food, child care, utilities, medical care and homelessness prevention. For more information, visit: http://publicassistance.arlingtonva.us/

Barbara Fisher, Homeless and Foster Care Liaison
Arlington Public Schools
Office of Student Services
Syphax Education Center, 2110 Washington Blvd Arlington VA 22204
Office:  703-228-2585 or 703-228-6046