第504

504年《康復法案》第1973條


第504節的目的

第504節是聯邦法律,旨在在接受美國教育部聯邦資助的計劃和活動中保護殘疾人的權利。 具體而言,第504節指出,在任何其他獲得聯邦資金資助的計劃或活動中,沒有其他資格的殘疾人,僅由於其殘障而不能被排除在參與之外,不被剝奪其利益或受到歧視。


定義

第504節對合格殘疾人的定義所涵蓋的人群比《殘疾人教育改善法》所涵蓋的人群要廣,後者涵蓋了所謂的特殊教育。 第504條規定的合格人員是指(1)身體或精神上的損害嚴重限制一項或多項主要生活活動的人,(2)記錄有這種損害的人,或(3)被認為具有這種損害的人。損害。

  1. “身體或精神上的損害”是指(a)影響以下一個或多個身體系統的任何生理失常或狀況,美容毀容或解剖結構喪失:神經系統,肌肉骨骼,特殊感覺器官,包括言語器官在內的呼吸系統,心血管,生殖,消化系統,泌尿生殖道,血液和淋巴皮膚以及內分泌,或(b)任何精神或心理疾病,例如智力障礙,器質性腦綜合徵,情緒或精神疾病,特定的學習障礙,注意力障礙,情緒障礙或學習障礙(此列表為不詳盡)。
  2. “具有此類損害的記錄”是指具有嚴重限制一項或多項主要生活活動的精神或身體損害的歷史或被錯誤分類為患有精神或身體損害。
  3. “被視為有損害”是指(a)身體或精神上的損害並沒有實質性限制主要生活活動,但被接受者視為構成這種限制,(b)身體或精神上的損害實質上是限制重大生活活動僅是由於他人對這種損害的態度所致; (c)沒有上述第一節中定義的任何減值,但被接受者視為具有這種減值。

“重大生活活動”包括以下功能:照顧自己,執行手動任務,看,聽,吃飯,睡覺,走路,站立,舉重,彎曲,說話,呼吸,學習,閱讀,專心,思考,溝通和工作(此列表並不詳盡)。


文件和資源:

有關第504節的信息,請聯繫 學生支持協調員 分配給您孩子的學校或合規官Laura Newton博士,電話:703-228-6061


第504條協調員分配

珍妮佛·蘭丁(Jennifer Lambdin)

  凱倫·賴希(Karen Reich)  
約克敦 華盛頓自由
阿靈頓職業中心/阿靈頓技術

Section 504

Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973


Purpose of Section 504

Section 504 is a federal law designed to protect the rights of individuals with disabilities in programs and activities that receive federal financial assistance from the U.S. Department of Education.  Specifically, Section 504 indicates that no otherwise qualified individual with a disability shall, solely because of her or his disability, be excluded from the participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination under any program or activity receiving federal funds.


Definition

The definition of a qualified individual with a disability under Section 504 covers a broader population than the Individuals with Disabilities Education Improvement Act which covers what is known as Special Education. A qualified individual under Section 504 is any person who (1) has a physical or mental impairment which substantially limits one or more major life activities, (2) has a record of such an impairment, or (3) is regarded as having such an impairment.

  1. “Physical or mental impairment” means (a) any physiological disorder or condition, cosmetic disfigurement or anatomical loss affecting one or more of the following body systems: neurological, musculo skeletal, special sense organs, respiratory including speech organs, cardiovascular, reproductive, digestive, genitourinary, hemic and lymphatic skin, and endocrine, or (b) any mental or psychological disorder such as intellectual disability, organic brain syndrome, emotional or mental illness, specific learning disability, attention disorders, mood disorders or learning disabilities (this list is not exhaustive).
  2. “Has a record of such an impairment” means has a history of, or has been misclassified as having, a mental or physical impairment that substantially limits one or more major life activities.
  3. “Is regarded as having an impairment” means (a) has a physical or mental impairment that does not substantially limit major life activities, but is treated by a recipient as constituting such limitation, (b) has a physical or mental impairment that substantially limits major life activities only as a result of the attitudes of others toward such impairment; or (c) has none of the impairments defined in section one above, but is treated by a recipient as having such an impairment.

“Major life activities” include functions such as: caring for one’s self, performing manual tasks, seeing, hearing, eating, sleeping, walking, standing, lifting, bending, speaking, breathing, learning, reading, concentrating, thinking, communicating and working (this list is not exhaustive).


Documents and Resources:

For information on Section 504, please contact the Section 504 Coordinator assigned to your child’s school  or Compliance Officer, Dr. Laura Newton, at 703-228-6061


Section 504 Coordinator Assignments

Jennifer Lambdin

(Monday, Wednesday)

 

Karen Reich

(Tuesday, Friday)

 

Christine Zelenak

(Tuesday, Thursday, Friday)

Barcroft Abingdon Arlington Science Focus
Carlin Springs Arlington Career Center/Community H.S./Teen Parenting Ashlawn
Discovery Arlington Traditional School Barrett
HB Woodlawn Campbell Claremont
Jamestown Drew Glebe
McKinley Hoffman-Boston Gunston
Nottingham Key Jefferson
Patrick Henry Long Branch Kenmore
Swanson Wakefield Langston
Williamsburg Washington-Lee New Directions
 Oakridge
 Randolph
 Taylor
 Tuckahoe
 Yorktown