قسم 504

القسم 504 من قانون إعادة التأهيل لعام 1973


الغرض من القسم 504

القسم 504 هو قانون اتحادي مصمم لحماية حقوق الأفراد ذوي الإعاقة في البرامج والأنشطة التي تتلقى مساعدة مالية فيدرالية من وزارة التعليم الأمريكية. على وجه التحديد ، يشير القسم 504 إلى أنه لا يجوز استبعاد أي فرد مؤهل من ذوي الإعاقة ، فقط بسبب إعاقته أو إعاقته ، من المشاركة في أو حرمانه من مزايا أو التعرض للتمييز بموجب أي برنامج أو نشاط يتلقى الأموال الفيدرالية.


تعريف

يغطي تعريف الفرد المؤهل من ذوي الإعاقة بموجب المادة 504 مجموعة سكانية أوسع من قانون تحسين تعليم الأفراد ذوي الإعاقة الذي يغطي ما يعرف بالتعليم الخاص. الفرد المؤهل بموجب القسم 504 هو أي شخص (1) يعاني من إعاقة جسدية أو عقلية تحد بشكل كبير من نشاط أو أكثر من أنشطة الحياة الرئيسية ، أو (2) لديه سجل بمثل هذا الضعف ، أو (3) يعتبر لديه مثل هذا تلف.

  1. يُقصد بمصطلح "ضعف جسدي أو عقلي" (أ) أي اضطراب أو حالة فسيولوجية أو تشوه تجميلي أو خسارة تشريحية تؤثر على واحد أو أكثر من أجهزة الجسم التالية: الجهاز العصبي والعضلي والهيكل العظمي والحواس الخاصة والجهاز التنفسي بما في ذلك أعضاء النطق والقلب والأوعية الدموية والتناسلية والجهاز الهضمي ، والجلد البولي التناسلي ، والجلد اللمفاوي ، والغدد الصماء ، أو (ب) أي اضطراب عقلي أو نفسي مثل الإعاقة الذهنية أو متلازمة الدماغ العضوية أو المرض العاطفي أو العقلي أو إعاقة التعلم المحددة أو اضطرابات الانتباه أو اضطرابات المزاج أو صعوبات التعلم (هذه القائمة هي غير شامل).
  2. يقصد بمصطلح "لديه سجل بمثل هذا الضعف" أن لديه تاريخًا ، أو تم تصنيفه بشكل خاطئ على أنه يعاني من ضعف عقلي أو جسدي يحد بشكل كبير من نشاط أو أكثر من أنشطة الحياة الرئيسية.
  3. يقصد بمصطلح "يعاني من إعاقة" (أ) إعاقة جسدية أو عقلية لا تحد بشكل كبير من الأنشطة الحياتية الرئيسية ، ولكن يعاملها المتلقي على أنها تشكل مثل هذا القيد ، (ب) يعاني من إعاقة جسدية أو عقلية تحد بشكل كبير الأنشطة الحياتية الرئيسية فقط كنتيجة لمواقف الآخرين تجاه هذا الضعف ؛ أو (ج) ليس لديه أي من أوجه القصور المحددة في القسم الأول أعلاه ، ولكن يعامله المتلقي على أنه يعاني من هذا الضعف.

تشمل "أنشطة الحياة الرئيسية" وظائف مثل: الاهتمام بالنفس ، وأداء المهام اليدوية ، والرؤية ، والسمع ، والأكل ، والنوم ، والمشي ، والوقوف ، والرفع ، والانحناء ، والتحدث ، والتنفس ، والتعلم ، والقراءة ، والتركيز ، والتفكير ، والتواصل ، والعمل. (هذه القائمة ليست شاملة).


الوثائق والموارد:

للحصول على معلومات حول القسم 504 ، يرجى الاتصال بـ منسق دعم الطلاب تم تعيينه إلى مدرسة طفلك أو مسؤول الامتثال ، الدكتور داريل سامبسون ، في 703-228-6061


القسم 504 مهام المنسق

تواصل مع منسق الدعم المدرسي الخاص بك

Section 504

Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973


Purpose of Section 504

Section 504 is a federal law designed to protect the rights of individuals with disabilities in programs and activities that receive federal financial assistance from the U.S. Department of Education.  Specifically, Section 504 indicates that no otherwise qualified individual with a disability shall, solely because of her or his disability, be excluded from the participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination under any program or activity receiving federal funds.


Definition

The definition of a qualified individual with a disability under Section 504 covers a broader population than the Individuals with Disabilities Education Improvement Act which covers what is known as Special Education. A qualified individual under Section 504 is any person who (1) has a physical or mental impairment which substantially limits one or more major life activities, (2) has a record of such an impairment, or (3) is regarded as having such an impairment.

  1. “Physical or mental impairment” means (a) any physiological disorder or condition, cosmetic disfigurement or anatomical loss affecting one or more of the following body systems: neurological, musculo skeletal, special sense organs, respiratory including speech organs, cardiovascular, reproductive, digestive, genitourinary, hemic and lymphatic skin, and endocrine, or (b) any mental or psychological disorder such as intellectual disability, organic brain syndrome, emotional or mental illness, specific learning disability, attention disorders, mood disorders or learning disabilities (this list is not exhaustive).
  2. “Has a record of such an impairment” means has a history of, or has been misclassified as having, a mental or physical impairment that substantially limits one or more major life activities.
  3. “Is regarded as having an impairment” means (a) has a physical or mental impairment that does not substantially limit major life activities, but is treated by a recipient as constituting such limitation, (b) has a physical or mental impairment that substantially limits major life activities only as a result of the attitudes of others toward such impairment; or (c) has none of the impairments defined in section one above, but is treated by a recipient as having such an impairment.

“Major life activities” include functions such as: caring for one’s self, performing manual tasks, seeing, hearing, eating, sleeping, walking, standing, lifting, bending, speaking, breathing, learning, reading, concentrating, thinking, communicating and working (this list is not exhaustive).


Documents and Resources:

For information on Section 504, please contact the Section 504 Coordinator assigned to your child’s school  or Compliance Officer, Dr. Laura Newton, at 703-228-6061


Section 504 Coordinator Assignments

Jennifer Lambdin

(Monday, Wednesday)

 

Karen Reich

(Tuesday, Friday)

 

Christine Zelenak

(Tuesday, Thursday, Friday)

Barcroft Abingdon Arlington Science Focus
Carlin Springs Arlington Career Center/Community H.S./Teen Parenting Ashlawn
Discovery Arlington Traditional School Barrett
HB Woodlawn Campbell Claremont
Jamestown Drew Glebe
McKinley Hoffman-Boston Gunston
Nottingham Key Jefferson
Patrick Henry Long Branch Kenmore
Swanson Wakefield Langston
Williamsburg Washington-Lee New Directions
 Oakridge
 Randolph
 Taylor
 Tuckahoe
 Yorktown