社会情感学习

社会情绪学习 APS

SEL Survey Results

社会情绪学习概述 APS

SEL 调查和退出信息

调查主题和样本调查

SEL 调查:常见问题

SEL Survey Results

阿灵顿公立学校(APS) Social Emotional Learning (SEL) survey results are now available. Conducted for the first time in APS in March 2022, the survey provides insight on topics such as Growth Mindset, Self-Efficacy, Self-Management and Social Awareness. The Social Emotional Learning Survey was conducted by the independent research organization Panorama Education and was completed by students in grades 3-12. District survey results can be found in the Panorama dashboard available 此处.

社会情绪学习概述 APS

社会情感学习 (SEL) 描述了帮助学生在学校、职业和生活中取得成功的心态、技能、态度和感受。 SEL 的核心是关注学生对动机、社会联系和自我调节的基本需求,作为学习的先决条件。

SEL 输入 APS 与 弗吉尼亚 SEL 指导标准学术、社交和情感学习协作 (CASEL) 框架。  SEL 输入 APS:

  • 力求赋予学生技能、知识和理解能力,使其能够对他们的社会情感参与做出积极的选择;
  • 建模、教授和加强与大学、职业和生活准备框架相一致的亲社会技能; 和
  • 为学生提供机会,学习如何以建设性和协作的方式与可能与自己不同的人打交道。
  • SEL 建模、指导和强化是阿灵顿公立学校社区中每个人的责任。

全部商品 APS 学校应定期向学生提供弗吉尼亚 SEL 指导标准的指导。 学校可以使用特定的课程资源或计划通过早会、咨询课程或社区圈子来实现这一目标。

SEL 调查和退出信息

阿灵顿公立学校(APS) 将再次为我们 3-12 年级的学生进行社会情感 (SEL) 调查。 本次调查的目的是确定学区、学校和学生在社会情感能力方面的优势和发展领域,以创建建立和加强亲社会技能的课程。 学生将在 2022-23 学年两次参与此在线调查,以协助 APS 监测该领域的进展情况。 秋季政府将举行 25 年 28 月 2022 日至 XNUMX 日之间. 春季管理将发生在之间 April 24-28, 2023.

SEL 调查是通过 Panorama 提供的,将评估学生应用社交情感技能和理解的能力,与 弗吉尼亚 SEL 指导标准. 这些领域的技能对于在大学、职业和生活中取得成功至关重要。 请注意:

  • SEL 调查数据仅供具有合法教育利益的教师、管理人员和工作人员访问。
  • 结果将保存在只有这些人可以访问的安全文件和数据库中。
  • 家长和监护人将通过以下方式收到个性化报告 ParentVUE 关于每个评估窗口后学生的筛选结果。
  • SEL 调查数据将用于关注 APS 针对特定需求领域的 SEL 课程,确定在发展特定技能方面可能受益于额外支持的学生,并监控学校和学区的进展。

如果您希望您的孩子参与,则无需采取任何行动。 如果您不希望您的孩子参加 SEL 调查y,请点击以下选择退出表格,该表格允许您在 21 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日星期五之前以电子方式提交: APS SEL 调查 2022-23 退出表格

调查主题和样本调查

SEL 调查将涵盖以下四个主题,以告知学校在其 SEL 课程中的重点领域:

  • 自我效能:一个人对自己取得学业成功、学习教学内容和完成学术任务的能力的信念和态度
  • 成长心态: 了解可以开发能力和智力; 对自己适应挑战和坚持不懈的能力充满信心。
  • 社会意识: 同情和感激他人的能力,包括那些具有不同和不同观点、能力、背景和文化的人。
  • 自我管理: 管理和表达自己情绪以在具有挑战性的情况下坚持不懈的策略; 与实现个人和学术目标相关的技能。

请查看以下多种语言的样本调查和完整调查:

  • SEL 调查问题 (3-5)
    • 家庭可以选择 英语阿拉伯语、西班牙语、 阿姆哈拉语 or 蒙古人 在左上角
  • SEL 调查问题 (6-12)
    • 家庭可以选择 英语阿拉伯语, 西班牙语, 阿姆哈拉语 or 蒙古人 在左上角

SEL 调查:常见问题

这是心理健康筛查吗? 调查中是否包含有关我学生心理健康的问题?

不,这不是心理健康检查器。 全景调查内容不是为也不应用于识别需要心理健康或创伤治疗的学生而设计的。 全景调查的目的是帮助教育工作者了解学生的一般社交情感技能和能力,从而为课程和编程决策提供信息。

什么是全景教育?

Panorama Education 与全国各地的 K-12 学校和学区合作,收集和分析有关社会情感学习、学校氛围、家庭参与等方面的数据。 通过研究支持的调查和领先的技术平台,Panorama 帮助教育工作者根据数据采取行动并改善学生的学习成果。 Panorama 为 10 个州的 17,000 所学校和 1,500 个地区的 49 多名学生提供支持。 要了解有关全景教育的更多信息,请访问 www.panoramaed.com or www.panoramaed.com/faqs.

调查是如何开展的?

全景学生调查是在加州大学圣巴巴拉分校副教授兼全景教育研究主任 Hunter Gehlbach 博士的领导下制定的。 研究团队遵循了严格的调查开发流程,其中涉及多轮试点和改进、对学生的认知访谈、对调查文献的广泛审查以及来自全国各地专家的反馈。

调查测量什么?

SEL 调查旨在捕捉学生对其社交情感能力的认识。 调查问题属于能力领域,如自我效能、自我管理、社会意识和成长心态。 这些技能领域对于在校内外取得成功至关重要。

Social Emotional Learning

Social-Emotional Learning in APS

Overview of Social-Emotional Learning in APS

SEL Survey and Opt-Out Information

Survey Topics & Sample Surveys

SEL Survey: Frequently Asked Questions

Overview of Social-Emotional Learning in APS

Social-emotional learning (SEL) describes the mindsets, skills, attitudes, and feelings that help students succeed in school, career, and life. At its core, SEL focuses on students’ fundamental needs for motivation, social connectedness, and self-regulation as prerequisites for learning.

SEL in APS is aligned to the Virginia SEL Guidance Standards and the Collaborative for Academic, Social, and Emotional Learning (CASEL) Framework.  SEL in APS:

  • Seeks to empower students with the skills, knowledge, and understandings to make positive choices about their social-emotional engagement;
  • Models, teaches, and reinforces prosocial skills that align to college, career, and life readiness frameworks; and
  • Provides students with opportunities to learn how to engage with people who may be different than themselves in constructive and collaborative ways.
  • SEL modeling, instruction, and reinforcement is the responsibility of everyone in the Arlington Public Schools community.

All APS schools are expected to provide regular instruction in the Virginia SEL Guidance Standards to students.  Schools may use specific curricular resources or programs to accomplish this through morning meetings, advisory lessons, or community circles.

SEL Survey and Opt-Out Information

Arlington Public Schools (APS) will again be conducting a social-emotional (SEL) survey for our students in grades 3-12. The purpose of this survey is to identify district, school, and students’ strengths and areas for growth in social-emotional competencies in order to create curriculum that builds and reinforces prosocial skills. Students will be participating in this online survey two times during the 2022-23 school year to assist APS in monitoring progress in this area. The fall administration will take place between Oct. 25-28, 2022. The spring administration will occur between April 24-28, 2023.

The SEL survey is provided through Panorama, and will assess students’ ability to apply social-emotional skills and understandings, in alignment with the Virginia SEL Guidance Standards. Skills in these areas are essential to success in college, career, and life. Please note:

  • SEL survey data will only be accessible to teachers, administrators, and staff with a legitimate educational interest.
  • Results will be maintained in secure files and databases accessible only to these individuals.
  • Parents and guardians will receive an individualized report through ParentVUE regarding their student’s screener results following each assessment window.
  • SEL survey data will be used to focus the APS SEL curriculum on specific areas of need, identify students who might benefit from additional support in developing specific skills, and monitor school and district progress.

If you wish for your child to participate, no action is needed. If you do NOT wish for your child to participate in the SEL survey, please click on the following opt-out form which allows you to submit electronically by Fri, Oct. 21, 2022: APS SEL Survey 2022-23 Opt-Out Form

Survey Topics & Sample Surveys

The SEL Survey will cover the four topics below to inform schools’ areas of focus in their SEL curriculum:

  • Self-Efficacy: One’s beliefs and attitudes about one’s capabilities to achieve academic success, learn instructional content, and fulfill academic tasks
  • Growth Mindset: Understanding that abilities and intelligence can be developed; confidence in one’s ability to adapt and persevere through challenges.
  • Social Awareness: The ability to empathize with and show gratitude for others, including those with different and diverse perspectives, abilities, backgrounds, and cultures.
  • Self-Management: Strategies for managing and expressing one’s own emotions to persevere in challenging situations; skills related to achieving personal and academic goals.

Please review the sample surveys and full surveys in multiple languages below:

SEL Survey: Frequently Asked Questions

Is this a mental health screener? Are there questions included in the survey that ask about the mental health of my student?

No. This is not a mental health screener. Panorama survey content is not designed for nor should be used to identify students who require mental health or trauma treatment. The purpose of the Panorama survey is to help educators understand students’ general social-emotional skills and competencies to inform curricular and programming decisions.

What is Panorama Education?

Panorama Education partners with K-12 schools and districts across the country to collect and analyze data about social-emotional learning, school climate, family engagement and more. With research-backed surveys and a leading technology platform, Panorama helps educators act on data and improve student outcomes. Panorama supports more than 10 million students in 17,000 schools and 1,500 districts across 49 states. To learn more about Panorama Education, visit www.panoramaed.com or www.panoramaed.com/faqs.

How was the survey developed?

The Panorama Student Survey was developed under the leadership of Dr. Hunter Gehlbach, Associate Professor at the University of California, Santa Barbara, and Director of Research at Panorama Education. The research team followed a rigorous survey development process that involved multiple rounds of piloting and refinement, following cognitive interviews with students, an extensive review of survey literature, and feedback from experts around the country.

What does the survey measure?

The SEL survey is designed to capture students’ awareness of their social-emotional competencies. Survey questions fall under competency areas such as self-efficacy, self-management, social awareness and growth mindset.  These skill areas are essential to success both in and outside of school.