新任总监弗朗西斯科·杜兰博士

Dr. Francisco Duran7年2020月XNUMX日,阿灵顿学校董事会任命弗朗西斯科·杜兰博士为新任阿灵顿公立学校(APS)。 杜兰博士加入 APS from Fairfax County Public Schools where he has served as Chief Academic and Equity Officer since 2015. He has a diverse background in education spanning 26 years, including top-level leadership and superintendent experience in a variety of large urban school divisions with culturally diverse populations.他于2018年从费尔法克斯县公立学校(Fairfax County Public Sc​​hools)担任首席学术和股权官。他在教育领域拥有XNUMX年的不同背景,包括高层领导和负责人的经验,他们在各种大型的城市学校部门中拥有不同的文化背景。 He has served in various roles as a teacher, director, principal, administrator and superintendent.他曾担任过教师,董事,校长,行政人员和总监等各种职务。 In XNUMX, Dr. Durán was appointed to the Virginia State Board of Education where he played a key role in the adoption of the new Standards of Quality for Virginia.杜兰博士于XNUMX年被任命为弗吉尼亚州教育委员会委员,他在采用新的弗吉尼亚质量标准方面发挥了关键作用。

Durán博士拥有新墨西哥大学的教育学士学位,旧金山州立大学的教育管理硕士学位,哥伦比亚大学的组织与领导硕士学位和博士学位。

Durán博士是一位双语教育家,他的职业生涯始于Albuquerque公立学校的特殊教育助理,他还曾在Albuquerque和加利福尼亚州担任中学语言艺术和社会研究老师五年。 他继续在旧金山联合学区和费城城市学校担任行政和领导职务。

在2015年加入费尔法克斯县公立学校之前,Durán博士曾是新泽西州特伦顿公立学校的负责人,在那里他被一致任命为第二个五年任期。 在费尔法克斯县(Fairfax County),杜兰(Durán)博士作为股权领导者的工作受到他的背景和对支持所有学生的承诺的推动。 他帮助制定,发起和实施“ One Fairfax”政策,以关闭机遇,获取机会和成就。aps,这是与费尔法克斯县共同制定的一项社会和种族平等政策。

杜兰(Durán)博士将取代自1年2019月1日以来一直领导学校部门的临时校长Cintia Johnson。当杜兰(Duran)博士于2020年XNUMX月XNUMX日上任时,约翰逊女士将重新担任行政服务助理学长的角色,并将与他协调以确保顺利过渡。

杜兰博士将于XNUMX月开始与员工,学生,家庭和社区成员进行远程会面,包括一系列的在线市政厅会议,邀请公众提出问题。 这些会议的日期将很快分享。 要提交杜兰博士六月市政厅会议的问题,请发送电子邮件 从事@aps价值。 有关Durán博士时间表的更多信息和更新将发布在主管搜索页面上,该页面位于 APS 用户参与度 网页,并通过School Talk和Facebook,Twitter和Instagram进行交流。

有关全国范围内的搜索和任命过程的更多信息,请访问 APS 参与网页.

校务委员会备注

阅读杜兰博士的讲话副本  |  西班牙语  | Монгол  |  አማርኛ  |   عربى

New Superintendent Dr. Francisco Durán

Dr. Francisco DuranOn May 7, 2020, the Arlington School Board named Dr. Francisco Durán as the new Superintendent of Arlington Public Schools (APS). Dr. Durán joins APS from Fairfax County Public Schools where he has served as Chief Academic and Equity Officer since 2015. He has a diverse background in education spanning 26 years, including top-level leadership and superintendent experience in a variety of large urban school divisions with culturally diverse populations. He has served in various roles as a teacher, director, principal, administrator and superintendent. In 2018, Dr. Durán was appointed to the Virginia State Board of Education where he played a key role in the adoption of the new Standards of Quality for Virginia.

Dr. Durán has a bachelor’s degree in education from the University of New Mexico, a master’s degree in educational administration from San Francisco State University, and a master’s degree and doctorate in organization and leadership from Columbia University.

Dr. Durán is a bilingual educator who began his career as a special education assistant in Albuquerque Public Schools, and he also served for five years as a middle school language arts and social studies teacher in Albuquerque and California. He went on to hold administrative and leadership positions in the San Francisco Unified School District and Philadelphia City Schools.

Prior to joining Fairfax County Public Schools in 2015, Dr. Durán was Superintendent of Trenton Public Schools in New Jersey, where he was unanimously appointed for a second five-year term. In Fairfax County, Dr. Durán’s work as an equity leader is driven by his background and commitment to support all students. He helped develop, initiate and implement the “One Fairfax” policy to close opportunity, access and achievement gaps, a joint social and racial equity policy with Fairfax County.

Dr. Durán will replace Interim Superintendent Cintia Johnson, who has led the school division since September 1, 2019. Ms. Johnson will return to her role as Assistant Superintendent for Administrative Services when Dr. Duran steps into his role on June 1, 2020, and will coordinate with him to ensure a smooth transition.

In June, Dr. Durán will begin meeting remotely with employees, students, families and community members, including a series of online town hall meetings during which the public is invited to ask questions. Dates for those meetings will be shared soon. To submit questions for Dr. Durán’s June town hall meetings, email engage@apsva.us. More information and updates about Dr. Durán’s schedule will be posted on the superintendent search page on the APS Engage webpage and communicated through School Talk and Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

For more information on the nationwide search and appointment process, please visit the APS Engage webpage.

School Board Remarks

Read a copy of Dr. Durán’s remarks  |  Español  | Монгол  |  አማርኛ  |   عربى