校務委員會/校長關係

校務委員會政策C-2.1(可用 這裡)列出了學校董事會與學監之間的關係。 它指出:

校務委員會制定政策並通過其製定的政策進行管理。 督學根據學校董事會政策管理學校系統的運行。

程序和指南

董事會認可,表彰和重視監督在教學和行政事務方面的經驗和專業知識。 監督認可,尊重和重視董事會在與阿靈頓公立學校有關的問題上的經驗,以及董事會與其所代表的社區的聯繫和責任。 主管和董事會成員尊重雙向交流的機密性,並努力實現開放式交流和信任。 監督僅在整個董事會中起作用,而對任何單個成員均不起作用。 只有董事會作為一個機構的決定對總監具有約束力。

監督以公平,公正和公正的方式對待所有董事會成員。 董事會成員直接與總監和高級員工合作,只要這種溝通顯然沒有給出指導或建議員工認為是指導的行動方針。 董事會成員通過適當的高級職員要求提供現有信息。 董事會成員通過總監要求提供新信息。 除非獲得總監認為應在公開會議上向全體董事會提出要求,否則將對董事會成員的個人要求提供信息或協助的請求予以兌現。

董事會通過規定董事會希望實現的結果的行動和書面政策指導總監。 鑑於學校系統的可用資源,董事會對於設定可以實現的目標抱有現實的期望。 院長對教職工的表現負責。 董事會可以向其指示的唯一工作人員是總監和董事會文員。 董事會的個別成員不得指示任何工作人員。 主管對整個組織的成功負責。 董事會每年評估主管的表現。 院長對實現校董會目標向校董會負責。

董事會負責在評估之前明確提出並傳達其期望。 董事會在闡明其期望方面將嚴謹嚴謹。 董事會將以系統,公正和有效的方式監督總監的工作表現。 董事會將通過報告,評估,調查,主管的其他信息以及社區的意見來獲取監控數據。

當出現公民關注時,董事會成員將按照適當的順序將他們轉交給相應的權限級別(教師,校長,行政工作人員,總監)。 如有疑問,董事會成員應與總監進行核對。

School Board/Superintendent Relationship

School Board Policy 10-7 (available here) lays out the relationship between the School Board and the Superintendent.  It states:

The School Board creates policy and governs through the policy it creates. The Superintendent manages operations of the school system in accordance with School Board policies.

PROCEDURE AND GUIDELINES

The Board recognizes, honors, and values the Superintendent’s experience and expertise in instructional and administrative matters. The Superintendent recognizes, honors, and values the Board’s experience in issues related to Arlington Public Schools and the Board’s connections and responsibilities to the community it represents. The Superintendent and Board members respect the confidentiality of communication in both directions and work toward open communication and trust. The Superintendent works only for the Board as a whole, not for any individual member. Only decisions of the Board acting as a body are binding on the Superintendent.

The Superintendent treats all Board members in an evenhanded, equitable, and impartial manner.  Board members work directly with the Superintendent and senior staff, so long as such communication is clearly not giving direction or suggesting a course of action that staff perceives as direction. Board members make requests for existing information through the appropriate senior staff member. Board members make requests for new information through the Superintendent. Individual Board member requests for information or assistance will be honored unless the Superintendent believes the request should be taken to the full Board in a public meeting.

The Board directs the Superintendent through actions and written policies that prescribe the results the Board wants to achieve. The Board is realistic in setting expectations about what can be accomplished, given the school system’s available resources. The Superintendent is accountable to the School Board for the performance of staff. The only staff members to whom the Board may give direction are the Superintendent and the Clerk of the Board. An individual Board member may not give direction to any staff member. The Superintendent is accountable for the success of the total organization. Annually the Board evaluates the Superintendent’s performance. The Superintendent is accountable to the School Board for achievement of the Board goals.

The Board is responsible for clearly setting forth and communicating its expectations before evaluation takes place. The Board will be rigorous and exacting with itself in clarifying its expectations. The Board will monitor the Superintendent’s job performance in a way that is systematic, fair, and effective. The Board will acquire monitoring data by reports, evaluations, surveys, other information from the Superintendent, and community input.

When presented with citizen concerns, Board members refer them to appropriate levels of authority, in appropriate sequence (teacher, principal, administrative staff member, Superintendent). When in doubt, Board members check with the Superintendent.