عملية الاستئناف

ما يلي هو الإجراء الخاص بالطعن في القرارات ، حول مواقع محطات الحافلات ، أو حول السفر من / إلى المدرسة للطلاب الذين يعيشون في مناطق مخصصة كمنطقة مشي مدرسية.

قد يطلب الآباء / الأوصياء مراجعة موقع محطة الحافلات أو عوامل السلامة على طول طرق المشي في مناطق المشي بالمدرسة. يجب تقديم جميع الطعون كتابيًا باستخدام

يجب تقديم النموذج إلى مدير المدرسة ، الذي سيرسلها بعد ذلك إلى مكتب خدمات النقل. سيتم إجراء مراجعة في الموقع لتحديد ما إذا كانت هناك عوامل مثل الأرصفة والممرات المتقاطعة وحراس العبور وإشارات المرور وعوامل الأمان الأخرى عند الحاجة والملاءمة. (يرجى ملاحظة: عدم وجود واحدة أو أكثر من سمات أو موارد المجتمع هذه ليس بالضرورة أساسًا لمنح الاستئناف.)

سيقوم مدير خدمات النقل بمراجعة الظروف على طول طريق المشي ومقارنتها بمناطق المشي الأخرى داخل المقاطعة للتأكد من أن العوامل تتماشى مع تلك المطبقة في أماكن أخرى لتحديد إمكانية السير في منطقة ما. سيرد المدير كتابيًا في غضون ثلاثة أسابيع (15 يومًا دراسيًا) بعد استلام نموذج استئناف النقل.

إذا رفض مدير خدمات النقل طلب استئناف ، يجوز للوالد / الوصي الطعن في قرار المدير من خلال إرسال خطاب مكتوب إلى مساعد المشرف على المرافق والعمليات. يجب أن يحدد خطاب الاستئناف أسباب عدم الموافقة على النتائج الواردة في رد المدير. سيراجع مساعد المشرف جميع العوامل التي لاحظها الوالد / الوصي للتأكد من أن مدير خدمات النقل قد طبق المعايير بطريقة عادلة ومنصفة. سيرد مساعد المشرف على الاستئناف في غضون أربعة أسابيع (20 يومًا دراسيًا) من استلام خطاب الوالد / الوصي.

خلفيّة

إن سياسة النقل في مجلس مدرسة أرلينغتون 50-5 يقول أن طلاب المرحلة الابتدائية الذين يعيشون على بعد ميل واحد أو أقل من المدرسة ، وطلاب المدارس الإعدادية والثانوية الذين يعيشون على بعد ميل واحد أو أقل من المدرسة يتم تعيينهم كمشاة ما لم تكن هناك ظروف معينة تتطلب النقل بالحافلة. يتم أيضًا نقل الطلاب الذين يحتاجون إلى ترتيبات نقل خاصة كما هو محدد في خطة التعليم الفردي (IEP) أو خطة 1.

يقيس APS من سطر الملكية لعنوان الطالب إلى سطر ملكية المدرسة. لمزيد من الدقة ، يستخدم قسم المدرسة نظام تحديد المواقع العالمي ، أو GPS ، لقياس المسافة الدقيقة بين المنازل والمدارس. مع هذا النظام الأحدث والأكثر دقة لرسم الخرائط ، قد يتم الآن تحديد بعض الطلاب على أنهم يعيشون داخل منطقة المشي بالمدرسة. يرجى ملاحظة أن عدم وجود أرصفة في الحي لا يؤهل الطالب على الفور لخدمة الحافلات لأن غالبية أحياء أرلينغتون لا تحتوي على أنظمة أرصفة مستمرة.

Appeals Process

The following is the procedure for appealing decisions, about bus stop locations, or about travel to/from school for students living in areas designated as a school walk zone.

Parents/Guardians may request a review of the location of the bus stop or of safety factors along walking routes in school walk zones. All appeals must be submitted in writing using the

The form is to be submitted to the school principal, who will then forward it to the Transportation Services Office. An on-site review will be made to determine if factors such as sidewalks, crosswalks, crossing guards, traffic signals and other safety factors are present where needed and appropriate. (Please Note: The absence of one or more of these community attributes or resources is not necessarily grounds for granting an appeal.)

The Director of Transportation Services will review the conditions along the walking route and compare it to other walk areas within the county to ensure that factors are in keeping with those applied elsewhere to determine the walkability of an area. The Director will respond in writing within three weeks (15 school days) after receipt of the Transportation Appeals Form.

If the Director of Transportation Services denies an appeal request, the parent/guardian may appeal the Director’s decision by submitting a written letter to the Assistant Superintendent for Facilities and Operations. The appeal letter should outline the reasons for disagreement with the findings in the Director’s response. The Assistant Superintendent will review all factors noted by the parent/guardian to ensure that the Director of Transportation Services has applied the standards in a fair and equitable manner. The Assistant Superintendent will respond to the appeal within four weeks (20 school days) from receipt of the parent/guardian’s letter.

Background

The Arlington School Board Transportation Policy 50-5 says that elementary students who live 1 mile or less from school, and middle and high school students who live 1-½ miles or less from school are designated as walkers unless certain conditions are present that necessitate bus transportation. Students who require special transportation arrangements as identified in their Individual Education Plan (IEP) or 504 Plan are also transported.

APS measures from the property line of a student address to the school property line. For greater accuracy, the school division uses a Global Positioning System, or GPS, to measure the exact distance between homes and schools. With this newer, more accurate mapping system, some students may now be identified as living within the school walking area. Please note that a lack of sidewalks in a neighborhood does not instantly qualify a student for bus service because the majority of Arlington neighborhoods do not have continuous sidewalk systems.