选项学校交通 - 常见问题

APS 正在通过枢纽站点为我们全县的计划提供服务,以确保我们的学生准时到校并准备好学习,并且我们正在有效地利用我们有限的资源。

什么是枢纽站?
它们是如何建立的?
哪些学校/项目将使用枢纽站?
为什么 APS 选择学校使用枢纽站?
分析表明什么? 
“'为两所以上的学校使用公共汽车”是什么意思?
为什么不能 APS 只是添加更多总线? 
我如何知道集线器停靠点在哪里? 
为什么车站离我家这么远? 
对家庭有什么好处? 
枢纽站是否提高了公交系统的性能?
其他学校系统如何将学生运送到选项课程?
如果另一个对我们的家庭更有效,我可以改变我学生的停止吗?

什么是枢纽站? 枢纽站是集中的地点——例如学校、图书馆或社区中心——来自多个社区的学生在这些地方会合,搭乘公共汽车去他们的学校,并且离学生的住所可能更远。 并非所有社区都有枢纽站; 而是放置站点以便从多个社区和方向进入。

它们是如何建立的?   我们的学校和图书馆和社区中心等其他公共设施是我们的主要枢纽位置,因为它们往往是从多个社区到达的地方,有许多学生等待的空间和可用的停车位。 我们评估的其他因素包括:住房密度; 能够在一英里的步行区或学校步行区中捕获大量区域; 便于总线操作。 在某些情况下,某个地区没有公共设施,因此会使用其他已建立的巴士站。 这种方法在过多的停靠点接送少数学生和建立相距太远的停靠点之间取得了平衡。

哪些学校/项目将使用枢纽站?

  • 初级:  阿灵顿传统学校 (ATS),坎贝尔小学(2022 年秋季开学) Claremont Immersion,Key Immersion,阿灵顿蒙台梭利公立学校
  • 中间: Gunston Immersion & Montessori 课程 没有 住在 Gunston 边界)
  • 高: 阿灵顿职业中心/阿灵顿理工学院、HB Woodlawn、Wakefield Immersion 和 AP Network(适用于 没有 住在 Wakefield 边界),WL 国际文凭(适用于 没有 住在WL边界)

*居住在边界内站点附近的 Gunston、Wakefield 和 WL 学生将被分配到该站点。

为什么 APS 选择学校使用枢纽站? As APS 继续增长,我们的预算紧张以满足系统的需求,因此我们尽可能有效地管理我们的资源变得更加重要。 仅入学人数的增长就对公交系统提出了更高的要求。 对我们的公交运输系统的分析表明,我们目前为全县范围的项目提供服务的方式会导致效率低下,从而导致资源浪费。  APS 运输服务部门必须改变我们向全县计划提供巴士服务的方式,以确保我们的巴士系统作为一个整体运行更有效,并可以为所有符合条件的人提供交通服务 APS 学生们。

分析表明什么?  全县课程的学生来自全县各地,在一些地方,只有一两个学生在分散的站点上车。 这些项目的一些路线很长(一个多小时),接送很早(例如,在某些情况下,早上 7 点 30 分开始)并且没有准时到达学校。 除了长途乘车和迟到之外,许多较长的全县路线使两所以上学校无法使用一辆公共汽车,而且某些路线上的公共汽车有一半以上是空的。 通过为全县计划集中停靠点,我们已经能够缩短路线,在每个停靠点/路线上接载更多学生,并使用公共汽车前往两所以上的学校。

您是什么意思“为两所以上的学校使用公共汽车?”  APS 拥有200辆巴士的车队。 其中约 60 辆专用于特殊教育运输服务,其余用于普通教育巴士服务。 我们还必须保留大约 10% 的车队作为备件,以防公共汽车出现维护问题或其他问题而使其停止服务。 凭借可用的机队, APS 每天早上和下午大约有 400 次往返学校。 为了服务所有这些旅行,公共汽车被多次使用。 例如,406 路公交车有一辆公交车和一名司机,可以为三所学校提供服务:Abingdon – 早上 8:00 开始; 韦克菲尔德上午 8 点 20 分开始; 最后是德鲁——早上 9:00 开始。 

为什么不能 APS 只是添加更多总线?  这是一个挑战的原因有几个:1)预算——甚至在大流行之前, APS 正在处理一个受限的财务状况。 2)司机短缺——即使我们有资金购买公共汽车,我们也有司机短缺。 这不仅仅是一个 APS 问题,要么。 它是全行业的。 3) 缺少公交车停车位——这是阿灵顿独有的问题。 我们已经用完了停放公共汽车的土地。 此外,作为优秀的财务管家,我们应该寻求尽可能有效地使用我们拥有的公共汽车。 这意味着,每辆公共汽车运送尽可能多的学生。

我如何知道集线器停靠点在哪里?  每所学校都有其计划停靠点的地图。 夏天时, APS 还将您学校的枢纽站点地图的副本上传到您的个人 ParentVue 帐户。

为什么车站离我家这么远?  更多的停靠点意味着更多的旅行时间,因为巴士会前往远离学校且彼此相距较远的学生地点。 枢纽站是之间的伙伴关系 APS 和家庭。 家庭将他们的学生带到集中停靠点,这样公共汽车就可以一次接载更多的学生。 

对家庭有什么好处?  长路线意味着长途骑行,并且通常相对于开学时间提早接送。 它们也可能意味着公共汽车不能准时到达学校。 对于小学生来说,长途骑行尤其困难,因为到达学校的学生因长途骑行而感到压力。 司机也会因处理交通而感到压力。 以更少的停留缩短行程意味着学生准时到达学校并准备好学习。

枢纽站是否提高了公交系统的性能? 是的,我们已经看到了成功。  在2019年秋季, APS 为 MPSA 和 HB Woodlawn 实施了枢纽站。 在这两种情况下,我们都能够将服务于学校的公交车数量减少一辆,并增加其余公交车的载客量。 这对 HB Woodlawn 尤其重要,因为其新位置没有太多空间来管理其公交车。 MPSA 在前一年经常迟到公交车,现在公交车一直准时到达。 一旦为选项程序完全实施了集线器停止功能,我们希望看到更多的系统改进。 

其他学校系统如何将学生运送到选项课程? 费尔法克斯县磁铁学校从他们的家庭学校接学生: https://www.fcps.edu/registration/elementary-magnet-school-lottery 学区 APS 用于在教学计划途径审查中进行基准测试使用类似的方法: 同行基准

C如果另一个更适合我们的家庭,我会更改我学生的枢纽站吗? 是的,如果家庭发现不同的枢纽站点更适合他们,因为它正在上班途中或出于其他原因,他们可以通过电话或电子邮件联系运输办公室来请求更改站点。

Option School Transportation – Frequently Asked Questions

APS is delivering service to our Countywide programs via hub stops to ensure that our students get to school on time and are ready to learn, and we are efficiently using our limited resources.

What is a hub stop?
How are they established?
Which schools/programs will use hub stops?
Why is APS using hub stops for option schools?
What does the analysis show? 
What do you mean “‘use buses for more than two schools?”
Why can’t APS just add more buses? 
How will I know where the hub stops are? 
Why is the stop so much farther from my home? 
What are the benefits to families? 
Have the hub stops improved the performance of the bus system?
How do other school systems transport students to option programs?
Can I change my student’s stop if another works better for our family?

What is a hub stop? Hub stops are centralized locations—such as a school, library or community center—where students from several neighborhoods meet to catch the bus to their school and may be a longer distance from a student’s residence.  Not all neighborhoods will have a hub stop; rather stops are placed to be accessed from multiple neighborhoods and directions.

How are they established?   Our schools and other public facilities like libraries and community centers are our main hub locations since they tend to be places accessible from multiple neighborhoods, have room for many students to wait and available parking.  Other factors we evaluate include: housing density; the ability to capture a significant amount of an area in a one-mile walkshed or a school walk zone; ease of bus operability.  In some cases, there are no public facilities in an area, so other established bus stops are used.  This approach strikes a balance between too many stops picking up few students and establishing stops that were too far apart.

Which schools/programs will use hub stops?

  • Elementary:  Arlington Traditional School (ATS), Campbell Elementary (beginning Fall 2022) Claremont Immersion, Key Immersion, Montessori Public School of Arlington
  • Middle: Gunston Immersion & Montessori programs (for students who do not live in the Gunston boundary)
  • High: Arlington Career Center/Arlington Tech, H-B Woodlawn, Wakefield Immersion & AP Network (for students who do not live in the Wakefield boundary), W-L International Baccalaureate (for students who do not live in the W-L boundary)

*Gunston, Wakefield and W-L students who live closer to an in-boundary stop will be assigned to it instead.

Why is APS using hub stops for option schools? As APS continues to grow and our budget strains to meet the needs of the system, it is even more critical that we manage our resources as efficiently as possible.  Enrollment growth alone places more demands on the bus system.  Analysis of our bus transportation system shows that the way we currently deliver service to our Countywide programs creates inefficiencies that result in wasted resources.  APS Transportation Services must make changes to how we deliver bus service to Countywide programs to ensure our bus system as a whole operates more efficiently and can provide transportation for all eligible APS students.

What does the analysis show?  Students in Countywide programs come from all over the County, in some places with only one or two students getting on the bus at widely dispersed stops.  Some of the routes for these programs are very long (more than an hour), pick-ups very early (e.g., 7:30 for 9am start in some cases) and not arriving to school on time.   In addition to long rides and late arrivals, many of the longer Countywide routes make it impossible to use a bus for more than two schools and buses on some routes are more than half empty.  By centralizing stops for Countywide programs, we have been able to shorten our routes, pick up more students at each stop/route and use buses for more than two schools.

What do you mean “use buses for more than two schools?”  APS has a fleet of 200 buses.  About 60 of those are dedicated to special education transportation service, with the remainder for general education bus service.  We also must keep about 10% of the fleet available as spares should a bus have a maintenance issue or other problem that takes it out of service.  With the available fleet, APS makes about 400 trips to/from schools each morning and each afternoon.  In order to serve all those trips, buses are used multiple times.  As an example, bus route 406, with one bus and one driver, may serve three schools: Abingdon – an 8:00 am start; Wakefield an 8:20 am start; and, finally Drew – a 9:00 am start. 

Why can’t APS just add more buses?  There are several reasons why this is a challenge: 1) Budget – even before the pandemic, APS was dealing with a constrained financial situation. 2) Driver shortage – even if we had the funds to purchase buses, we have a driver shortage.  This is not just an APS issue, either.  It is industry wide. 3) Lack of bus parking – this is an issue unique to Arlington.  We have run out of land to park buses.  Further, as good financial stewards, we should seek to use the buses we have as efficiently as possible.  That means, transporting as many students as possible per bus.

How will I know where the hub stops are?  Each school has a map of their program’s stop locations.  Over the summer, APS also will upload a copy of the hub stop map for your school into your personal ParentVue account.

Why is the stop so much farther from my home?  More stops mean more travel time as buses make their way to student locations that are far from the school and far from one another.  Hub stops are a partnership between APS and families.  Families bring their students to centralized stops so buses can pick up more students at once. 

What are the benefits to families?  Long routes mean long rides and often early pick-ups relative to the start of school.  They can also mean buses do not arrive to school on time.  For elementary students, long rides can be especially difficult with students arriving to school stressed from the long ride.  Drivers also get stressed from dealing with traffic.  Shortening the trip with fewer stops means students arrive to school on time and ready to learn.

Have the hub stops improved the performance of the bus system? Yes, we already have seen success.  In Fall 2019, APS implemented hub stops for MPSA and H-B Woodlawn.  In both cases, we were able to reduce the number of buses serving the school by one and increase ridership on the remaining buses.  This was particularly important for H-B Woodlawn as its new location did not have much room to manage its buses.  MPSA, which had chronically late buses the previous year, now has buses consistently arriving on time.  Once hub stops are fully implemented for option programs we expect to see more system improvements. 

How do other schools systems transport students to option programs?  Fairfax County magnet schools pick up students from their home schools: https://www.fcps.edu/registration/elementary-magnet-school-lottery School districts APS used to benchmark in the Instructional Program Pathways review use similar approaches: Peer Benchmarks

Can I change my student’s hub stop if another works better for our family? Yes, if families find that a different hub stop would work better for them, because it is on the way to work or for some other reason, they can request a stop change by contacting the Transportation office by phone or email.