候補名單常見問題解答

為什麼有候補名單?

當對擴展日課程的需求超出該學校課程的能力時,將建立等待列表。 通常,等待列表是以下結果:

  • 人員需求:需要更多的人員來容納更多的孩子
  • 空間限制:需要更多空間來容納更多兒童

如果需要更多的員工,擴展日計劃會做什麼?

擴展日將繼續在整個學年進行招聘過程。 如果需要額外的人員來容納更多的孩子,則將新的“擴展日”人員分配給該特定計劃。 有時,隨著新員工的準備就緒,這種情況會很快得到解決。 但是,員工流失通常會抵消新員工的薪資,並導致流程延遲。

如果需要更多空間怎麼辦?

當由於空間限製而建立等待列表時,擴展日將與學校的管理員合作,以確定額外的空間,這將允許擴展日增加註冊人數。

正在考慮哪些其他選項來解決等待列表?

擴展日活動正在考慮幾種方法以容納更多兒童,包括:

  • 運送兒童到其他學校 APS 校車
  • 使用社區設施容納新的擴展日課程

目前,一項試點計劃取得了一定程度的成功,該計劃將兒童從等待名單的學校轉移到有空位的擴展日計劃。 然而,挑戰,包括不兼容的公交路線和缺乏公交司機,限制了參加活動的兒童人數。 擴展日活動也正在探索在社區中建立新的擴展日活動計劃的可能性(非APS)設施。 當然,這項工作還涉及將兒童運送到擴展日設施。

有幾所學校有候補名單?

擴展日活動有32個計劃,約有4,300名兒童入學。 在每個學年開始時,擴展日通常會在約五所學校(包括約200名兒童)中列出等待名單。

哪些學校會有候補名單?

由於入學人數每年都有所不同,因此很難預測哪些學校會有候補名單。 但是,近年來,在以下學校中建立了等待名單:阿賓登,阿靈頓傳統學校,阿靈頓科學焦點,阿什勞恩,克萊蒙特,艦隊,格里貝,凱奇,麥金萊和塔克霍。 

即將到來的一年包括一些小學的邊界變更和新地點,包括上面列出的幾所最近有擴展日候補名單的學校。 這些變化為擴展日入學帶來了不確定性,使候補名單的預測更加複雜。 但是,由於重新分配了學校入學人數,因此可能會有更少的學校擁有候補名單。

是否有擴展日學前班的等待清單?

不可以。保證為入學前班註冊的孩子在早上入學。 可能會列出一個孩子等待放學後的課程,但仍要在放學前參加。

夏季延長日有候補名單嗎?

沒有

如果我的孩子被安排在候補名單上怎麼辦?

如果您的孩子被列入候補名單,“延長日”將繼續努力以盡快使您的孩子入學。 每天都會監控候補名單,一旦您的孩子可以入學,您就會收到通知。

為什麼擴展日入學率低於學校入學率?

延長日提供的活動類型與上學日有很大不同。 並且,“擴展日”符合州許可標準,該標準要求每個孩子每個房間都有特定的平方英尺,具體取決於在每個空間進行的活動的類型。 當Perhaps 可以舒適地將24名兒童容納在教學教室中,由於這些活動的性質,相同的空間可能不一定容納24名參加藝術,戲劇,舞蹈或活動遊戲的兒童。

Waitlist FAQs

Why are there wait lists?

Wait lists are established when the demand for an Extended Day program exceeds the capacity of that school’s program.  Typically, wait lists are the result of:

  • Staffing needs: more staff is needed to accommodate additional children
  • Space limitations: additional space is needed to accommodate more children

What does the Extended Day Program do if more staff is needed?

Extended Day continues the hiring process on-going throughout the school year.  When additional staff is needed to accommodate more children, new Extended Day staff is assigned to the specific program.  Sometimes this situation is resolved quickly as new staff is ready to be placed.  However, staff attrition often offsets new hires and causes delays to the process.

What if more space is needed?

When a wait list is established due to space limitations, Extended Day works with the administrators at the school to identify additional space that will allow Extended Day to increase in enrollment.

What other options are being considered to resolve wait lists?

Extended Day is considering several options to accommodate more children including:

  • Transporting children to other schools on APS school buses
  • Using community facilities to house new Extended Day programs

Currently a pilot program, in which children are transported from schools with wait lists to Extended Day programs with slots available, has been moderately successful.  However, challenges, including incompatible bus routes and lack of bus drivers, has limited the number of children participating. Extended Day is also exploring the possibility of establishing new Extended Day programs in community (non-APS) facilities.  Of course, this effort would also involve transporting children to the Extended Day facility.

How many schools will have wait lists?

Extended Day operates 31 programs, with about 4,300 children enrolled.  At the beginning of each school year, Extended Day typically has wait lists at about seven schools, comprising about 200 children.

Which schools will have wait lists?

It is difficult to predict which schools will have wait lists, as enrollment varies from year to year.  However, in recent years, wait lists have been established at the following schools:  Abingdon, Arlington Traditional School, Arlington Science Focus, Ashlawn, Claremont, Fleet, Glebe, Key, McKinley and Tuckahoe.

Are there wait lists for the before-school session of Extended Day?

No.  Children registered for the before-school session are guaranteed enrollment in the morning.  A child may be wait listed for the after-school session and still participate before school.

Are there wait lists for Summer Extended Day?

No.

What happens if my child is placed on a wait list?

If your child is placed on a wait list, Extended Day continues to work to enroll your child as soon as possible.  The wait lists are monitored daily and you will be notified as soon as your child can be enrolled.

Why is Extended Day enrollment lower than school enrollment?

The types of activities offered in Extended Day are very different than those during the school day.  And, Extended Day complies with state licensing standards, which require specific square footage per child, depending on the type of activity conducted in each space.  While perhaps 24 children can comfortably be accommodated in an instructional classroom, the same space may not necessarily accommodate 24 children participating in art, drama, dance, or active games, because of the nature of these activities.