考試積分

常見問題

現在就點擊這裡 建立帳戶。 2019-20學年CBE的註冊將於4年2019月XNUMX日截止。

什麼是考試積分?
阿靈頓公立學校讓學生能夠通過英語以外的其他語言來理解和交流,並通過選定的世界語言測試來獲得高中學分。 考試學分可以衡量學生的外語水平,以便授予最多四個高中外語學分。 對於大多數語言,我們使用諸如STAMP,AAPPL,OPI和WPT之類的國家標準測試。

通過考試參加學分對學生有什麼幫助?
如果學生希望獲得高級研究文憑(ASD)畢業,則需要獲得世界語言學分。 這些費用是通過三年學習一種語言(3 x 1)或兩年學習兩種不同語言(2 x 2)來獲得的。 成功參加考試將使學生獲得可用於ASD的學分。

通過考試可以獲得多少世界語言學分?
根據考試成績,學生可以獲得一到四個高中世界語言學分。

我在此評估中的分數將如何幫助我獲得雙語印章?
自2015-16年度以來,教育委員會的兩級認證印章認證了一名即將畢業的高中生,除了英語以外,還可以使用一種或多種語言來提高其熟練程度。 雙語印章將頒發給通過所有要求的英語水平達到或更高水平(11年級SOL閱讀和寫作考試)並且在其他語言上達到中級或更高水平的學生國家標準的考試。

誰有資格參加考試?
在校外聽,說,讀,寫以外具有豐富經驗的7-12年級學生可以參加考試。 已經以考試語言獲得學分的學生也可以參加考試,並根據其在考試中的表現獲得其他學分的資格。 此外,例如,如果學生由於熟練程度高而被置於3級,並且沒有獲得較早級別的學分,則該學生可以參加追溯學分考試。
有興趣通過語言能力測驗獲得學分的學生至少應是初學者中級水平,並且能夠:

  • 提出並回答簡單的問題。
  • 在對話中做出簡單的陳述。
  • 交流有關自己,認識的人以及日常活動的基本信息。
  • 在寫作和說話中表達好惡。
  • 用基本信息填寫表格。
  • 讀寫日常活動清單。

一個好的自我評估網格工具 可以在這裡找到: ACTFL可以做基準聲明.

誰沒有資格參加考試?
已經參加課程但未通過的學生無法參加考試,以嘗試提高他們的課程成績。

如果我的孩子不是該語言的母語,但其熟練程度很高,我的孩子可以參加嗎?
是的,但是學生必須能夠使用考試語言進行讀寫。 考試負責人不會精通考試語言。 學生必須能夠獨立完成所有工作。 請參閱自我評估表格: ACTFL可以做基準聲明.

我的孩子會通過考試嗎?
如果成功,您的學生將獲得該課程的“及格”分數,並在成績單上顯示為“ P”,並表示已成功完成考試成績所證明的相應等級。 您的學生不會收到任何會影響平均成績(GPA)的字母等級。 如果您的孩子未通過考試,則成績單上不會出現任何相關信息。

提供哪些語言?
大多數語言都可以通過考試獲得學分。 阿靈頓公立學校致力於尋找除英語以外的其他任何語言的考試,包括美國手語。 不幸的是,由於缺乏國家標準測試,我們無法使用的語言為:愛沙尼亞語,母羊,完成語,富拉語,富勒德語,卡納達語,林加拉語,立陶宛語,馬拉加斯語,瑪姆語,瑪雅語,蒙古語,奧羅莫語,潘加比語和科薩

每個學年進行幾次考試? 我的孩子可以多次服用嗎?
該考試每學年提供一次。 如果您的學生沒有通過第一次嘗試,則他/他可能在下一個學年僅再嘗試一次。 第一次為阿靈頓公立學校的學生免費。 重新測試由學生承擔,每次測試的費用各不相同。

考試什麼時候進行?
測試將於6月XNUMX日在Wakefield高中舉行。 除選舉日外,這是學生的非上學日,也是教師的升學日。

考試成績如何?
考試由精通考試語言的計算機或評估員進行評分。 結果是最終的,不能上訴。 學分將根據以下內容授予:

ACTFL能力水平 學分獎勵
新手高 1.0
中級低 2.0
中級中級 3.0
中級高 4.0

考試的時間表是什麼?
考試的註冊期限從2018年2018月開始。註冊的自動確認信息將通過電子郵件發送給填寫表格的人員。 將於XNUMX年XNUMX月將結果通知家長。結果將發送到學生的家中,也將發送到學生的學校輔導員。

學生如何準備考試?

根據考試的語言,大多數學生可以準備帶有演示版本的考試。 請查看以下鏈接:

阿拉伯文,中文,法文,德文,希伯來文,意大利文,日文,西班牙文: 測試信息 | 樣品測試

葡萄牙語,俄語: 測試信息 | 樣品測試 (向下滾動並在“表格A”下選擇您所用語言的所有部分。)

英語學習者的阿拉伯語,漢語-廣東話,希臘語,印地語,韓語,波蘭語,HILT A / B學生的西班牙語,土耳其語,越南語: 測試信息 | 樣品測試 (示例為西班牙語,但適用於所有示例。)

所有其他語言: 測試信息 | (由於此測試的格式,無法提供樣本測試。)

在哪裡可以找到更多信息?

你可以看到 CBE手冊英語2019-20,請致電世界語言辦公室703-228-6097,或與您孩子的學校輔導員交談。 請注意,手冊中出現的信用等值由VDOE更新。 上方“考試分數”表中的表格反映新信息。

以下是阿姆哈拉語,阿拉伯語,孟加拉語,英語,西班牙語和烏爾都語的信息手冊。

Credit by Exam FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions
**Registration for school year 2018-19 is now open and it will close on October 5, 2018.

What is Credit by Exam?
Arlington Public Schools allows students with the ability to comprehend and communicate in languages other than English to earn high school credits through selected world language tests. Credit-by-Exam measures students’ foreign language proficiency in order to award up to four high school foreign language credits. We use nationally-normed tests such as STAMP, AAPPL, OPI, and the WPT for most languages.

How does participating in the credit by exam help students?
If students wish to graduate with an Advanced Studies Diploma (ASD), they will need to earn world language credits. These are earned by taking three years of one language (3 x 1) or two years each of two different languages (2 x 2). The successful participation in the exam will allow students to earn credits that they can use towards the ASD.

How many world language credits can be earned through the exam?
Students can earn between one and four high school foreign language credits, depending on their performance on the exam. Currently, students testing in Tigrinya and Sanskrit can earn only two credits, due to testing limitations. Results are final and cannot be appealed.

How will my score on this assessment help me obtain a Seal of Biliteracy?
Since 2015-16 the Board of Education’s Seal of Biliteracy certifies attainment of a high level of proficiency by a graduating high school student in one or more languages in addition to English. The Seal of Biliteracy will be awarded to students who pass all required End-of-Course Assessments in English at the proficient or higher level (11th grade SOL Reading and Writing exams) and who score an intermediate-mid level or higher in another language on a nationally-normed exam.

Who is eligible to take the exam?
Students in grades 7-12 who have had substantial experience outside of school listening, speaking, reading and writing in their native language are able to take the exam. Students who have earned credit(s) already in the language of the exam can also take the exam and qualify for additional credits, based on their performance on the exam. Additionally, if a student was placed into level 3, for example, because of a high level of proficiency and did not earn credit for earlier levels, that student may take the exam for retroactive credit.
Students interested in receiving credit by taking a language proficiency test should at least be at the Novice Mid level and be able to:

  • Ask and answer simple questions.
  • Make simple statements in a conversation.
  • Communicate basic information about oneself, people they know, and daily activities.
  • Express likes and dislikes in writing and speaking.
  • Fill out a form with basic information.
  • Read and write a list of daily activities.

A good Self-Assessment Grid tool can be found here: ACTFL Can Do Benchmark Statements.

Who is not eligible to take the exam?
Students who have already taken a class and did not pass are not able to take the test in order to try to improve their grade in the course.

If my child is not a native speaker of the language but has a high level of proficiency, can my child participate?
Yes, but the student must be able to read and write in the exam language. The exam proctors won’t be proficient in the exam language. The students must be able to complete all work independently. Please see the Self-Assessment Grid: ACTFL Can Do Benchmark Statements.

Will my child receive a grade for passing the exam?
If successful, your student will receive a “pass” grade for the course which will appear as a “P” on his/her transcript and signify that the corresponding levels as demonstrated by performance on the exam have been successfully completed. Your student will not receive any letter grade that will impact the grade point average (GPA). If your child does not pass, nothing to this effect will appear on the transcript.

What are the languages offered?
Most languages are available for credit-by-exam. Arlington Public schools is committed to finding tests for any language other than English, including American Sign Language.  The languages we unfortunately cannot accommodate due to the lack of availability of nationally-normed tests are:  Estonian, Ewe, Finish, Fula, Fuldude, Kannada, Lingala, Lithuanian, Malagasy, Mam, Mayan, Mongolian, Oromo, Panjabi, and  Xhosa.

How many exams are given each school year? Can my child take it more than once?
The exam will be offered once each school year. If your student does not pass on the first attempt, s/he may take it only one more time in the following school year. There is no cost to Arlington Public School students for the first time. Re-tests are at the expense of the student and the cost per test varies.

When will the exam occur?
Tests will be offered on November 6th at Wakefield High School. This is a non-school day for students and is a grade preparation day for teachers, in addition to being Election Day.

How is the exam scored?
The exam is scored by either a computer or an assessor who is proficient in the language of the exam. Results are final and cannot be appealed. Credits will be awarded based on the following:

ACTFL Proficiency Level Credits Awarded
Novice Mid 1.0
Novice High 2.0
Intermediate Low 3.0
Intermediate Mid 4.0

What is the timeline for the exam?
The registration period for the exams begins in September 2018. An automatic confirmation of the registration will be emailed to the person completing the form. Parents will be notified of results in January 2018. Results will be sent to the student’s home and also to the student’s school counselor.

How can students prepare for the exam?

Based on the language of the exam, most students can prepare with a demonstration version of the test. Please see the following links:

Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Hebrew, Italian, Japanese, Spanish: Test information | Sample Test

Portuguese, Russian: Test information | Sample Test (scroll down and choose all the sections for your language under “Form A.”)

Arabic for HILT A/B students, Chinese-Cantonese, Greek, Hindi,  Korean, Polish, Spanish for HILT A/B students, Turkish, Vietnamese: Test information | Sample Test (Sample is in Spanish but it is applicable for all.)

All other languages: Test information | (A sample test is not available due to the format of this test.)

Where can I find more information?

You can see CBE Brochure English 2018-19, call the World Languages Office at 703-228-6097, or speak with your child’s school counselor.

Informational brochures in Amharic, Arabic, Bengali and Urdu appear below.