Gutschrift nach Prüfung FAQ Credit

FAQs

Registration for the Credit-By-Exam for school year 2022-23 is now closed. Registration for next year’s Credit-By-Exam will be open late July 2023.

Was ist Credit by Exam?
Die Arlington Public Schools ermöglichen es Schülern mit der Fähigkeit, andere Sprachen als Englisch zu verstehen und in anderen Sprachen zu kommunizieren, um durch ausgewählte Weltsprachentests High-School-Credits zu erwerben. Credit-by-Exam misst die Fremdsprachenkenntnisse der Schüler, um bis zu drei Fremdsprachen-Credits der High School zu vergeben. Wir verwenden für die meisten Sprachen national genormte Tests wie STAMP, AAPPL, OPI und WPT.

Wie hilft die Teilnahme am Credit by Exam den Studierenden?
Wenn Studenten ein Advanced Studies Diploma (ASD) erwerben möchten, müssen sie Credits für Weltsprachen erwerben. Diese werden verdient, indem man drei Jahre einer Sprache (3 x 1) oder zwei Jahre zwei verschiedener Sprachen (2 x 2) nimmt. Die erfolgreiche Teilnahme an der Prüfung ermöglicht es den Studenten, Credits zu verdienen, die sie für die ASD verwenden können.

Wie viele Credits für Weltsprachen können durch die Prüfung erworben werden?
Die Schüler können je nach Leistung der Prüfung zwischen einem und vier High-School-Weltsprachen-Credits erwerben.

Wie hilft mir meine Punktzahl bei dieser Bewertung, ein Gütesiegel zu erhalten?
Seit 2015-16 bescheinigt das Gütesiegel des Bildungsausschusses das Erreichen eines hohen Niveaus von Kenntnissen durch einen Abiturienten in einer oder mehreren Sprachen zusätzlich zu Englisch. Das Gütesiegel wird an Studierende vergeben, die alle erforderlichen Prüfungen am Ende des Kurses in Englisch auf einem kompetenten oder höheren Niveau (SOL-Lese- und Schreibprüfungen der 11. Klasse) bestehen und in einer anderen Sprache ein mittleres oder mittleres Niveau erreichen eine national normierte Prüfung.

Wer kann die Prüfung ablegen?
Schüler der Klassen 9 bis 12, die außerhalb der Schule umfangreiche Erfahrungen mit Zuhören, Sprechen, Lesen und Schreiben in ihrer Muttersprache gesammelt haben, können die Prüfung ablegen. Studenten, die bereits in der Sprache der Prüfung Credits erworben haben, können die Prüfung ebenfalls ablegen und sich aufgrund ihrer Prüfungsleistung für zusätzliche Credits qualifizieren. Wenn ein Schüler beispielsweise aufgrund seiner hohen Kenntnisse in Stufe 3 eingestuft wurde und für frühere Stufen keine Anrechnung erhalten hat, kann er die Prüfung für eine rückwirkende Anrechnung ablegen.
Studenten, die daran interessiert sind, durch einen Sprachtest eine Anrechnung zu erhalten, sollten mindestens das mittlere Niveau für Anfänger haben und in der Lage sein:

  • Stellen und beantworten Sie einfache Fragen.
  • Machen Sie einfache Aussagen in einem Gespräch.
  • Kommunizieren Sie grundlegende Informationen über sich selbst, Personen, die sie kennen, und tägliche Aktivitäten.
  • Drücken Sie Vorlieben und Abneigungen beim Schreiben und Sprechen aus.
  • Füllen Sie ein Formular mit grundlegenden Informationen aus.
  • Lesen und schreiben Sie eine Liste der täglichen Aktivitäten.

Ein gutes Tool zur Selbsteinschätzung finden Sie hier: ACTFL kann Benchmark-Aussagen machen.

Wer kann die Prüfung nicht ablegen?
Schüler, die bereits eine Klasse besucht und nicht bestanden haben, können den Test nicht ablegen, um zu versuchen, ihre Note im Kurs zu verbessern.

Kann mein Kind teilnehmen, wenn mein Kind kein Muttersprachler der Sprache ist, aber über hohe Kenntnisse verfügt?
Ja, aber der Schüler muss in der Prüfungssprache lesen und schreiben können. Die Prüfungsleiter beherrschen die Prüfungssprache nicht. Die Studierenden müssen in der Lage sein, alle Arbeiten unabhängig zu erledigen. Bitte beachten Sie das Self-Assessment-Grid: ACTFL kann Benchmark-Aussagen machen.

Bekommt mein Kind eine Note für das Bestehen der Prüfung?
Bei Erfolg erhält Ihr Schüler eine Bestehensnote für den Kurs, die auf seinem Zeugnis als „P“ angezeigt wird und anzeigt, dass die entsprechenden Niveaus, die sich aus der Leistung der Prüfung ergeben, erfolgreich abgeschlossen wurden. Ihr Schüler erhält keine Briefnote, die sich auf den Notendurchschnitt (GPA) auswirkt. Wenn Ihr Kind nicht besteht, erscheint auf dem Protokoll nichts in diesem Sinne.

Welche Sprachen werden angeboten?
Die meisten Sprachen können per Prüfung angerechnet werden. Die öffentlichen Schulen von Arlington sind bestrebt, Tests für andere Sprachen als Englisch, einschließlich der amerikanischen Gebärdensprache, zu finden. Die Sprachen, die wir leider aufgrund der mangelnden Verfügbarkeit von national normierten Tests nicht aufnehmen können, sind: Estnisch, Mutterschaf, Finish, Fula, Fuldude, Kannada, Lingala, Litauisch, Madagassisch, Mam, Maya, Mongolisch, Oromo, Panjabi und Xhosa.

Wie viele Prüfungen werden pro Schuljahr abgelegt? Kann mein Kind es mehr als einmal nehmen?
Die Prüfung wird einmal pro Schuljahr angeboten. Wenn Ihr Schüler den ersten Versuch nicht weitergibt, darf er ihn im folgenden Schuljahr nur noch einmal absolvieren. Für Schüler der Arlington Public School fallen zum ersten Mal keine Kosten an. Wiederholte Tests gehen zu Lasten des Schülers und die Kosten pro Test variieren.

Wann findet die Prüfung statt?
Tests werden jedes Jahr am Wahltag im November angeboten. Dies ist ein schulfreier Tag für Schüler und ein Vorbereitungstag für Lehrer.

Wie wird die Prüfung bewertet?
Die Prüfung wird entweder von einem Computer oder einem Prüfer bewertet, der die Sprache der Prüfung beherrscht. Die Ergebnisse sind endgültig und können nicht angefochten werden. Credits werden auf der Grundlage der folgenden Punkte vergeben:

ACTFL-Kompetenzstufe Credits vergeben
Anfänger hoch 1.0
Mittelstufe niedrig 2.0
Mittelstufe 3.0
Mittelhoch 4.0

Was ist der Zeitplan für die Prüfung?
Die Anmeldefrist für die Prüfungen beginnt jedes Jahr im Juli. Eine automatische Bestätigung der Registrierung wird an die Person gesendet, die das Formular ausfüllt. Die Ergebnisse werden den Eltern im Frühjahr des Schuljahres mitgeteilt. Die Ergebnisse werden an die Wohnung des Schülers und auch an den Schulberater des Schülers gesendet.

Wie können sich die Schüler auf die Prüfung vorbereiten?

Basierend auf der Sprache der Prüfung können sich die meisten Schüler mit einer Demonstrationsversion des Tests vorbereiten. Bitte beachten Sie die folgenden Links:

Arabisch, Chinesisch, Französisch, Deutsch, Hebräisch, Italienisch, Japanisch, Spanisch: Testinformationen

Portugiesisch, Russisch: Testinformationen

Arabisch für Englischlerner, Chinesisch-Kantonesisch, Griechisch, Hindi, Koreanisch, Polnisch, Spanisch für HILT A / B-Studenten, Türkisch, Vietnamesisch: Testinformationen

Alle anderen Sprachen: Testinformationen

Wo finde ich weitere Informationen?

Rufen Sie das Weltsprachenbüro unter 703-228-6097 an oder sprechen Sie mit dem Schulberater Ihres Kindes.

Credit by Exam FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions
**Registration for school year 2018-19 is now open and it will close on October 5, 2018.

What is Credit by Exam?
Arlington Public Schools allows students with the ability to comprehend and communicate in languages other than English to earn high school credits through selected world language tests. Credit-by-Exam measures students’ foreign language proficiency in order to award up to four high school foreign language credits. We use nationally-normed tests such as STAMP, AAPPL, OPI, and the WPT for most languages.

How does participating in the credit by exam help students?
If students wish to graduate with an Advanced Studies Diploma (ASD), they will need to earn world language credits. These are earned by taking three years of one language (3 x 1) or two years each of two different languages (2 x 2). The successful participation in the exam will allow students to earn credits that they can use towards the ASD.

How many world language credits can be earned through the exam?
Students can earn between one and four high school foreign language credits, depending on their performance on the exam. Currently, students testing in Tigrinya and Sanskrit can earn only two credits, due to testing limitations. Results are final and cannot be appealed.

How will my score on this assessment help me obtain a Seal of Biliteracy?
Since 2015-16 the Board of Education’s Seal of Biliteracy certifies attainment of a high level of proficiency by a graduating high school student in one or more languages in addition to English. The Seal of Biliteracy will be awarded to students who pass all required End-of-Course Assessments in English at the proficient or higher level (11th grade SOL Reading and Writing exams) and who score an intermediate-mid level or higher in another language on a nationally-normed exam.

Who is eligible to take the exam?
Students in grades 7-12 who have had substantial experience outside of school listening, speaking, reading and writing in their native language are able to take the exam. Students who have earned credit(s) already in the language of the exam can also take the exam and qualify for additional credits, based on their performance on the exam. Additionally, if a student was placed into level 3, for example, because of a high level of proficiency and did not earn credit for earlier levels, that student may take the exam for retroactive credit.
Students interested in receiving credit by taking a language proficiency test should at least be at the Novice Mid level and be able to:

  • Ask and answer simple questions.
  • Make simple statements in a conversation.
  • Communicate basic information about oneself, people they know, and daily activities.
  • Express likes and dislikes in writing and speaking.
  • Fill out a form with basic information.
  • Read and write a list of daily activities.

A good Self-Assessment Grid tool can be found here: ACTFL Can Do Benchmark Statements.

Who is not eligible to take the exam?
Students who have already taken a class and did not pass are not able to take the test in order to try to improve their grade in the course.

If my child is not a native speaker of the language but has a high level of proficiency, can my child participate?
Yes, but the student must be able to read and write in the exam language. The exam proctors won’t be proficient in the exam language. The students must be able to complete all work independently. Please see the Self-Assessment Grid: ACTFL Can Do Benchmark Statements.

Will my child receive a grade for passing the exam?
If successful, your student will receive a “pass” grade for the course which will appear as a “P” on his/her transcript and signify that the corresponding levels as demonstrated by performance on the exam have been successfully completed. Your student will not receive any letter grade that will impact the grade point average (GPA). If your child does not pass, nothing to this effect will appear on the transcript.

What are the languages offered?
Most languages are available for credit-by-exam. Arlington Public schools is committed to finding tests for any language other than English, including American Sign Language.  The languages we unfortunately cannot accommodate due to the lack of availability of nationally-normed tests are:  Estonian, Ewe, Finish, Fula, Fuldude, Kannada, Lingala, Lithuanian, Malagasy, Mam, Mayan, Mongolian, Oromo, Panjabi, and  Xhosa.

How many exams are given each school year? Can my child take it more than once?
The exam will be offered once each school year. If your student does not pass on the first attempt, s/he may take it only one more time in the following school year. There is no cost to Arlington Public School students for the first time. Re-tests are at the expense of the student and the cost per test varies.

When will the exam occur?
Tests will be offered on November 6th at Wakefield High School. This is a non-school day for students and is a grade preparation day for teachers, in addition to being Election Day.

How is the exam scored?
The exam is scored by either a computer or an assessor who is proficient in the language of the exam. Results are final and cannot be appealed. Credits will be awarded based on the following:

ACTFL Proficiency Level Credits Awarded
Novice Mid 1.0
Novice High 2.0
Intermediate Low 3.0
Intermediate Mid 4.0

What is the timeline for the exam?
The registration period for the exams begins in September 2018. An automatic confirmation of the registration will be emailed to the person completing the form. Parents will be notified of results in January 2018. Results will be sent to the student’s home and also to the student’s school counselor.

How can students prepare for the exam?

Based on the language of the exam, most students can prepare with a demonstration version of the test. Please see the following links:

Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Hebrew, Italian, Japanese, Spanish: Test information | Sample Test

Portuguese, Russian: Test information | Sample Test (scroll down and choose all the sections for your language under “Form A.”)

Arabic for HILT A/B students, Chinese-Cantonese, Greek, Hindi,  Korean, Polish, Spanish for HILT A/B students, Turkish, Vietnamese: Test information | Sample Test (Sample is in Spanish but it is applicable for all.)

All other languages: Test information | (A sample test is not available due to the format of this test.)

Where can I find more information?

You can see CBE Brochure English 2018-19, call the World Languages Office at 703-228-6097, or speak with your child’s school counselor.

Informational brochures in Amharic, Arabic, Bengali and Urdu appear below.