Full Menu

Citizen Advisory Groups

Arlington Public Schools has a strong network of more than 30 volunteer advisory committees, each one focusing on a specific subject or topic area from instruction to construction.

2023-24 Application Process Closed

The application process for the 2024-25 school year is now accessible.  Please click on the yellow button below to fill out an application.

The Board will appoint new members over the next few months to fill any vacancies.  For more information, contact the School Board office at 703- 228-6015 or school.board@apsva.us.



Serving on an Advisory Committee

Advisory committees and advisory groups vary in formality and time commitment. Some report to the School Board on an annual basis, while others work directly with Arlington Public Schools staff members on a particular project or subject. In addition, ad hoc groups may be formed for limited terms to focus on projects and issues of immediate concern. Terms are staggered so that vacancies occur regularly.

Most members of advisory groups are appointed by the School Board, which seeks to reflect the broad diversity of the community in order to ensure a wide range of perspectives. In addition, some committees or groups are convened by the Superintendent on other topics (see Non-Instructional Advisory Committees for more information).

If you are interested in finding out more about a particular advisory group or committee, attend a committee meeting. All meetings are open to the public, and all citizens are welcome to attend regardless of whether they have children enrolled in Arlington Public Schools.

All applicants for a School Board Advisory Council must complete the online application form.

Apply to an Advisory Committee