移民和難民學生事務總監諮詢委員會

移民和難民學生事務總監諮詢委員會(SACIRSC)由父母,社區領袖和引起移民和難民學生以及父母的關注的工作人員組成; 利用委員會的知識,網絡和資源來確定所提出問題的解決方案,並提倡及時實施,並支持 APS 願景“成為一個包容各方的社區,使所有學生都有能力實現自己的夢想,探索自己的可能性並創造自己的未來。”

具體而言,委員會確定並處理:

  • 挑戰使學生無法發揮自己的潛力;
  • 為使父母有能力在子女中供養而進行必要的改變;
  • 認可和慶祝移民和難民對我們社區的貢獻的方式。

委員會在XNUMX月至XNUMX月之間舉行了五次會議。 欲了解更多信息或自願擔任該委員會的成員,請與委員會聯絡人Brian Stockton聯繫,網址為: brian.stockton @aps價值 .

2020-2021年重點

  1. 確保家庭的住房,食物和收入安全,使學生能夠集中精力並在學校取得成功。 需要:密切和定期之間的聯繫 APS 和縣為家庭提供無縫支持。 國土安全部的每週會議和 APS 第四季度的社會工作者是合作的一種模式。
  2. 確保連接和設備足以使學生成功進行遠程學習。 需求:工作人員必須經常與學生和家人一起辦理登機手續,ITC必須易於訪問且反應迅速。
  3. 確保EL學生的課程和實施能夠滿足他們的需求,美國司法部的要求以及aps 由WestEd在去年的評估中強調。 需求:經常在課堂上進行觀察並與父母簽到,並承諾適應不斷變化的環境。
  4. 確保 APS 通過遠程學習,加強了溝通,提高了響應能力,並擴大了家庭參與度,以滿足日益增長的需求。 需求:父母的申訴專員熱線,以及雙語家庭聯絡角色,職責和報告的審查,以確保這些一線工人能夠滿足需求。
  5. 確保為學生提供社會情感支持。 需求:危機熱線和與學生的經常值機。

 2019年至2020年2020月主管摘要

隨著冠狀病毒大流行顛覆了SACIRSC中游的工作,對更廣泛的獲取和公平問題的倡導被對家庭基本需求以及對連通性和支持以實現遠程學習的關注所取代。 這個新的重點促使人們開始開展雜貨配送的直接服務工作,並採取乾預措施來幫助家庭獲得併保持聯繫 APS 和縣級服務,以及對溝通和參與的新關注gaps。 SACIRSC成員-社區領導和員工-做出了英勇的回應,為他們的工作增加了很多時間來幫助家庭。 請在下面查看具體成就。

2019-2020年成就: 

  1. 政策變更: 提供了有關招生政策/ PIP的反饋意見,以闡明可接納非父母(親屬)照顧者的移民學生的條件。 J-5.3.30。 這消除了一些父母無法照顧他們的學生的入學障礙。
  2. 引起了權益方面的關注,並建議對各種政策變更進行更改,包括使用新的訪客ID,轉移到在線第一天數據包以及轉移到在線FARM註冊。
  3. 社區更新: 於2019年夏季為家庭贊助的``了解您的權利''會議,包括現場完成指定監護人的授權書 APS 的目的。
  4. 員工更新: 在2109年夏季的行政會議上提供了有關公共收費規則和其他發展情況的最新信息,並在70月為XNUMX多個雙語家庭聯絡員,顧問和社會工作者提供了最新信息。
  5. 英語學習者計劃: 徵求了家庭的反饋意見,並提供了有關EL計劃變更的建議。 在春季以及實施過程中提供有關EL的遠程學習計劃建議的反饋。
  6. 社會安全網: 標識的gaps 農場服務,並在春季實施抓飯計劃時推薦了其他地點。 從XNUMX月開始,每週編譯並分發您需要了解的家庭摘要。
  7. 加強與在確保社會安全網絡中發揮關鍵作用的縣官員的關係。 作為這項工作的一部分,對被調查家庭進行身份識別優先關注並與他們共享 APS 以及縣DHS和通信官員,促使該縣使用新途徑(例如短視頻)來改善溝通。
  8. 直接與數百個家庭合作,以幫助他們找到合適的家庭 APS 聯繫特殊需求,例如連接或設備問題,以及縣有關食物,租金等的適當聯繫。組織並籌集資金,用於每月進行雜貨分發,並向300多個家庭提供卡。
  9. 合作: 促進了移民社區的關係發展,從而導致了交流和援助方面的合作,創建了由退休人員組成的自願性Abuelitos計劃 APS EL教師,在夏季指導感興趣的EL學生,等等。

 2018-2019年的主要成就包括:

  1. 得到澄清 APS 政策和慣例,如果父母被拘留/驅逐出境,學校系統將接受指定居住在阿靈頓30英里內的看護人的授權書,以使孩子能夠在其本國學校停留180天或當年剩餘時間, 以先到者為準。 J-5.3.30
  2.    倡導雙方之間更緊密的合作 APS,縣政府和非營利性社區組織,以加強削弱學生在學校取得成功的能力的社會安全網。

Superintendent’s Advisory Committee on Immigrant and Refugee Student Concerns

The Superintendent’s Advisory Committee on Immigrant and Refugee Student Concerns (SACIRSC) consists of parents, community leaders, and staff who raise concerns voiced by immigrant and refugee students and parents; leverage the Committee’s knowledge, networks, and resources to identify solutions to the issues raised and advocate for timely implementation, and support the APS vision “to be an inclusive community that empowers all students to foster their dreams, explore their possibilities, and create their futures.”

Specifically, the Committee identifies and addresses:

  • Challenges that hold students back from living up to their potential;
  • Changes necessary to empower parents to support their children in school;
  • Ways to recognize and celebrate the contributions of immigrants and refugees to our community.

The Committee meets five times between September and May. For more information or to volunteer to serve on this Committee, contact Brian Stockton, Committee liaison, at brian.stockton@apsva.us .

2020-2021 Priorities

  1. Ensuring home, food, and income security for families to enable students to focus and succeed in school. Need: Close and regular contact between APS and the County to provide seamless support for families. The weekly meetings of DHS and APS social workers in the 4thQ are one model for cooperation.
  2. Ensuring connectivity and devices are adequate to enable students to successfully do distance learning. Need: Staff must initiate frequent check-ins with students and families, and ITCs must be easily accessible and responsive.
  3. Ensuring that curriculum and implementation for EL students meets their needs, the DoJ requirements, and gaps highlighted by WestEd in last year’s evaluation. Need:  Frequent classroom observations and check-ins with parents and commitment to adapt to changing circumstances.
  4. Ensuring APS communications are enhanced, responsiveness is improved, and family engagement is expanded to meet the increased need as a result of distance learning. Need: Ombudsman line for parents and review of bilingual family liaison role, responsibilities and reporting to ensure these front-line workers are meeting the need.
  5. Ensuring social-emotional support for students. Need: Crisis call line and frequent check-ins with students.

 2019-2020 Summary to Superintendent in July 2020

As the coronavirus pandemic upended the work of the SACIRSC mid-stream, advocacy on broader access and equity issues was superseded by concerns about families’ basic needs and about connectivity and support to enable distance learning. This new focus prompted initiation of direct-services work on grocery distributions, interventions to help families get and stay connected to APS and County services, and a new focus on communications and engagement gaps. SACIRSC members – both community leaders and staff – responded heroically, giving many additional hours to their work to help families. Please see specific accomplishments below.

2019-2020 Accomplishments: 

  1. Policy changes: Provided feedback on admissions policy/PIP to clarify the conditions under which immigrant students living with a non-parent (kinship) caregiver may be enrolled. J-5.3.30. This removed barriers to enrollment for some students whose parents could not care for them.
  2. Raised equity concerns and recommended alterations to various policy changes, including use of new visitor ID’s, move to online first-day packets and move to online FARM registration.
  3. Community updates: Sponsored summer 2019 Know Your Rights session for families, including on-site completion of powers of attorney designating a caregiver for APS purposes.
  4. Staff updates: Delivered updates on public charge rule and other developments at the summer 2109 Administrative Conference and for 70+ bilingual family liaisons, counselors, and social workers in September.
  5. English Learner program: Solicited feedback from families and provided recommendations on changes to the EL program. Provided feedback on proposed distance learning plans for EL’s in spring and at points during implementation.
  6. Social safety net: Identified gaps in FARM services and recommended additional sites during implementation of grab-and-go meal program in the spring. Compiled and distributed weekly What You Need to Know summaries for families, starting in March.
  7. Strengthened relationships with County officials who play a key role in ensuring the social safety net. As part of this work, surveyed families to ID priority concerns and shared them with APS and County DHS and communications officials, prompting the County to use new avenues, such as short videos, to improve communication.
  8. Worked directly with hundreds of families to help them find the appropriate APS contact for a particular need, e.g. problems with connectivity or device, as well appropriate County contacts for food, rent, etc. Organized and raised funds for ongoing monthly grocery distribution and cards to 300+ families.
  9. Collaboration: Facilitated development of relationships in the immigrant community that resulted in collaboration on communications and assistance, creation of a volunteer Abuelitos program, consisting of retired APS EL teachers, to tutor interested EL students during the summer, etc.

 2018-2019 Accomplishments included:

  1. Got clarification in APS policy and practices that the school system will accept a power of attorney that designates a caregiver living within 30 miles of Arlington in the event of parent detention/deportation to enable a child to stay in his home school for 180 days or the remainder of the year, whichever comes first.  J-5.3.30
  2.    Advocated for closer cooperation among APS, County government, and non-profit community organizations to strengthen the social safety net that undergirds students’ ability to succeed in school.