APS News Release

FOTO: APS Schüler gehen am 12. Oktober zur Schule

Walk-and-Bike_2013_APS - SwansonUm die großartige Gesundheit, Umwelt, Gemeinschaftsbildung und die Vorteile des Gehens und Radfahrens zur Schule zu fördern, nahmen die Arlington Public Schools teil Walk & Roll zum Schultag am Mi, 12. Okt.

Dieses Jahr markiert die 26. jährliche internationale Feier. Schüler in Arlington werden sich erneut Schulen, Familien, Gemeindemitgliedern, Strafverfolgungsbehörden und gewählten Beamten weltweit anschließen, um die Freuden des Gehens und Radfahrens zur Schule zu feiern.

Der Tag des Walk and Bike to School findet jährlich am ersten Mittwoch im Oktober statt (dieses Jahr am zweiten Mittwoch - 12. Oktober) und trägt auch dazu bei, das Bewusstsein der Gemeinde für die Bedeutung der Sicherheitserziehung für Fußgänger und Fahrräder, sichere Wege zu Schulen usw. zu schärfen. gepflegte Gehwege und ein beruhigender Verkehr in unserer Nachbarschaft und in der Umgebung unserer Schulen.

Besuchen Sie Zu Fuß und mit dem Fahrrad zum Schultag, Virginias sichere Wege zur Schuleund verwenden Sie WalkArlington Zu Fuß und mit dem Fahrrad zum School Day Toolkit für Tipps und zusätzliche Ressourcen. Teilen Sie Ihre Geschichte mit, wenn Sie am 10. Oktober mit unserem Hashtag 2018 spazieren gehen #APSWalk2SchoolDay!

Full Menu

PHOTOS: APS Students Walk & Roll to School on Oct. 12

Walk-and-Bike_2013_APS - SwansonTo promote the great health, environment, community-building and the benefits of walking and biking to school, Arlington Public Schools took part in Walk & Roll to School Day on Wed, Oct. 12.

This year marks the 26th annual international celebration. Students in Arlington will again join schools, families, community members, law enforcement and elected officials worldwide in celebrating the joys of walking and biking to school.

Held annually on the first Wednesday in October (this year it’s on the second Wednesday — October 12), Walk and Bike to School Day also helps to raise community awareness about the importance of pedestrian and bicycle safety education, safe routes to schools, well-maintained walkways, and traffic calming in our neighborhoods and around our schools.

Visit Walk and Bike to School Day, Virginia’s Safe Routes to School site, and use WalkArlington’s Walk and Bike to School Day Toolkit for tips and additional resources.  Share your story when you walk the walk on October 10 with our 2018 hashtag #APSWalk2SchoolDay!

 

More News

School Board Meeting July 8, 2024

For closed captions, click the “CC” button in the bottom toolbar of the video window once the meeting starts...

School Board Appoints Arlington Community High School and Escuela Key Principals

The Arlington School Board appointed Jeannette Allen and Frances Lee as Principals of Arlington Community High School and Escuela Key at its July 8 meeting.

School Board Elects Mary Kadera as Chair

The Arlington School Board held its annual organizational meeting for the 2024-25 school year and elected Mary Kadera as Chair and Bethany Zecher Sutton as Vice Chair.