Full Menu

Two APS Senior Seniors Earn National Merit $2,500 Scholarship

National Merit LogoThis week, the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) announced Wakefield High School senior Drew Sonn and HB Woodlawn senior Julia Brodsky earned a $2,500 scholarship through the National Merit Scholarship Program.

The $2,500 scholarship awards are supported by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation’s own funds. There are 2,500 students from around the country who will receive similar recognition. Scholarship winners were chosen from approximately 15,000 finalists in the 2023 National Merit Scholarship Program.

Finalists from each state were judged by a combination of accomplishments, skills and potential for success in rigorous college studies. They were selected by a committee of college admissions officers and high school counselors.

This year’s competition for National Merit Scholarships began in October 2021 when high school juniors in over 21,000 high schools took the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. Last fall, the highest-scoring participants in each state were named semifinalists.

From the semifinalist group, over 15,000 students met the very high academic standards and other requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition. By the conclusion of the 2023 program, more than 7,140 Finalists will have earned the “Merit Scholar” title and received a total of nearly $28 million in college scholarships.

More News

School Board Meeting July 8, 2024

For closed captions, click the “CC” button in the bottom toolbar of the video window once the meeting starts...

School Board Appoints Arlington Community High School and Escuela Key Principals

The Arlington School Board appointed Jeannette Allen and Frances Lee as Principals of Arlington Community High School and Escuela Key at its July 8 meeting.

School Board Elects Mary Kadera as Chair

The Arlington School Board held its annual organizational meeting for the 2024-25 school year and elected Mary Kadera as Chair and Bethany Zecher Sutton as Vice Chair.