Mois national du patrimoine hispanique: du 15 septembre au 15 octobre

Chaque année, les Américains célèbrent le Mois national du patrimoine hispanique du 15 septembre au 15 octobre, en célébrant les histoires, les cultures et les contributions d'Américains dont les ancêtres sont venus d'Espagne, du Mexique, des Caraïbes et d'Amérique centrale et du Sud. L'observation a commencé en 1968 en tant que patrimoine hispanique Semaine sous le président Lyndon Johnson et a été élargi par le président Ronald Reagan en 1988 pour couvrir une période de 30 jours. Il a été promulgué le 17 août 1988.

Étudiants lauréats Latinx 2021

La commission scolaire est fière de présenter l'événement annuel de reconnaissance des élèves Latinx qui met en lumière huit élèves du secondaire choisis par leurs directeurs pour leur caractère, leur leadership et leurs réussites exceptionnelles à l'école et dans la vie.

Antonia Jara Romero – Centre des carrières d'Arlington
Antonia Jara Romero incarne les valeurs de la communauté Latinx et ACC ! Nous sommes très fiers de reconnaître Antonia et de partager la manière dont elle présente naturellement ces valeurs. Sa pleine conscience est l'une de ses qualités les plus durables. C'est une communicatrice réfléchie qui écoute pour comprendre. Elle se concentre sur les choses qui comptent pour elle, comme la justice sociale, et est une collaboratrice solide qui cherche à apprendre des autres. Elle s'exprime avec chaleur et utilise son attitude positive comme outil de résolution de problèmes et de développement communautaire. Son intégrité est évidente dans sa planification minutieuse et dans la façon dont elle renforce sa capacité de collaboration. Elle fait preuve de résilience face aux nombreux défis d'être une immigrante de l'Équateur. Antonia a su surmonter ces difficultés et aider sa famille à aller de l'avant. Elle obtiendra son diplôme d'études secondaires avec son diplôme d'associé en sciences du Northern Virginia Community College. En tant que leader, elle respecte les autres et utilise sa voix pour célébrer et éduquer les autres au sein de la communauté ACC et au-delà. Elle co-anime le déjeuner-causerie hebdomadaire sur la race et l'identité, apportant des sujets sur la diversité et l'équité au sein du système scolaire et réfléchit à des idées pour les aborder. Elle se soucie de tous les programmes de l'école. Elle encadre et encadre les étudiants. Elle est la présentatrice des nouvelles en espagnol, s'assurant que nos apprenants d'anglais sont informés pour prendre de meilleures décisions. Elle sert d'ambassadrice aux collèges, parlant aux élèves de 8e année d'Arlington Tech. Son niveau de responsabilité sociale fait également d'elle une militante et une défenseure de toutes les communautés marginalisées dans APS. Elle nous inspire tous à nous battre et à poursuivre nos rêves !

Josue Castillo Albanes – Programme secondaire HB Woodlawn
Josue est entré à l'école à HB Woodlawn en 2019 après avoir fui des conditions dangereuses et violentes dans son pays d'origine, le Salvador. Lorsqu'il a pris la décision de venir aux États-Unis, Josue a laissé derrière lui sa famille, ses amis, sa communauté religieuse et la promesse d'une bourse complète à n'importe quelle université du Salvador. La transition vers la vie aux États-Unis n'a pas été facile, mais comme pour tous les défis auxquels il a été confronté, Josue a su préserver et réussir. En tant qu'étudiant à HB Woodlawn, Josue a été un leader dans la classe et au sein de notre communauté étudiante EL. Tout au long de la fermeture de l'école en raison de la pandémie de COVID-19, Josue était une présence fiable dans les cours en ligne, participant activement et s'engageant avec ses professeurs et ses camarades de classe. Josue est fier de son héritage et est un mentor volontaire et un modèle pour les autres étudiants qui viennent d'arriver aux États-Unis - encourageant les autres à poursuivre leurs études et à se fixer de nouveaux objectifs dans leur nouveau pays. Nous sommes fiers de tout ce qu'il a accompli et nous n'avons aucun doute qu'il réalisera son rêve de fréquenter un collège américain pour étudier les affaires et la comptabilité.

Carlos Barrera Velasquez – Lycée Yorktown

Carlos est venu à Yorktown en février 2020, juste un mois avant que nous ne devenions tous virtuels ! Carlos a été très utile à ses camarades de classe car tout le monde s'est adapté à l'apprentissage en ligne et il est resté impliqué et engagé. Il aborde la vie avec une perspective optimiste et trouve la « doublure argentée » même lorsque la vie présente des défis. Carlos est devenu un leader de Minority Men United, se réunissant virtuellement régulièrement avec d'autres leaders pour promouvoir la responsabilité académique et sociale parmi ses pairs. Élève dévoué et responsable, Carlos fera un travail supplémentaire pour faire passer son apprentissage au niveau supérieur. En même temps, c'est un camarade de classe très accessible et sympathique qui apporte de la bonne humeur en classe. Notre communauté a la chance d'avoir un jeune leader si fabuleux.

National Hispanic Heritage Month: September 15 – October 15

Each year, Americans observe National Hispanic Heritage Month from September 15 to October 15, by celebrating the histories, cultures and contributions of Americans whose ancestors came from Spain, Mexico, the Caribbean and Central and South America. The observation started in 1968 as Hispanic Heritage Week under President Lyndon Johnson and was expanded by President Ronald Reagan in 1988 to cover a 30-day period. It was enacted into law on August 17, 1988.

2021 Latinx Student Honorees

The School Board is proud to present the annual Latinx student recognition event which highlights eight high school students chosen by their principals for their character, leadership and outstanding successes in school and life.

Antonia Jara Romero – Arlington Career Center
Antonia Jara Romero embodies the values of the Latinx and ACC community! We are very proud of recognizing Antonia and sharing the ways that she naturally exhibits these values. Her mindfulness is one of her most enduring qualities. She is a thoughtful communicator who listens to understand. She is focused on things that matter to her such as social justice and is a strong collaborator who seeks to learn from others. She expresses herself with warmth and uses her positive attitude as a tool for problem-solving and community building. Her integrity is evident in her careful planning and how she builds capacity for collaboration. She demonstrates resilience in facing the many challenges of being an immigrant from Ecuador.  Antonia was able to overcome these difficulties and help her family move forward. She will graduate from high school with her associate’s degree in science from Northern Virginia Community College. As a leader, she respects others and uses her voice to celebrate and educate others within the ACC community and beyond. She co-facilitates the weekly Lunch Talk about Race and Identity, bringing topics to the table around diversity and equity within the school system and brainstorms ideas to address them. She cares about all of the programs in the school.  She mentors and tutors students. She is the anchor for the news in Spanish, making sure our English learners are informed to make better decisions.  She serves as an ambassador to the middle schools, talking to 8th graders about Arlington Tech.  Her level of social responsibility also makes her an activist and an advocate for any marginalized communities in APS. She inspires us all to fight and pursue our dreams!

Josue Castillo Albanes – HB Woodlawn Secondary Program
Josue entered school at H-B Woodlawn in 2019 after fleeing dangerous and violent conditions in his home country of El Salvador. When he made the decision to come to the United States, Josue left behind his family, his friends, his church community, and the promise of a full scholarship to any university in El Salvador. The transition to life in the US has not been easy, but as with every challenge he’s faced, Josue has preserved and met with success. As a student at H-B Woodlawn, Josue has been a leader in the classroom and within our EL student community. Throughout the school closure due to the COVID-19 pandemic, Josue was a reliable presence in online classes, actively participating and engaging with his teachers and classmates. Josue is proud of his heritage and is a willing mentor and role model for other students who are just arriving in the United States – encouraging others to continue their education and set new goals in their new country. We are proud of all he has accomplished and have no doubt he will attain his dream of attending an American college to study business and accounting.

Carlos Barrera Velasquez – Yorktown High School

Carlos came to Yorktown in February 2020, just one month before we all went virtual! Carlos was very helpful to his classmates as everyone adjusted to online learning and he remained involved and engaged. He approaches life with an optimistic perspective and finds the “silver lining” even when life presents challenges. Carlos became a Minority Men United Leader, meeting virtually on a regular basis with other leaders to promote academic and social responsibility among his peers. A devoted, responsible student, Carlos will put in extra work to take his learning to the next level. At the same time, he is a very approachable, friendly classmate who brings good cheer to the classroom. Our community is fortunate to have such a fabulous young leader.

Carla Becerra Sabrera – Washington-Liberty High School

Carla is a consummate exemplary learner.  As an immigrant from Peru, Carla has shown resilience and perseverance at Carlin Springs Elementary, Kenmore Middle, and now Washington-Liberty High School. Mistakes don’t stop her but instead propel her to do even better work. She is a full International Baccalaureate (IB) Diploma candidate and exemplifies many of the IB Learner Profile attributes such as open minded, caring, reflective, knowledgeable, and principled in academics and community service. In addition to a rigorous course load of college-level courses, Carla serves her community by tutoring students and plans to increase diversity and inclusion in Advanced Placement (AP) and IB classes by providing informational sessions to middle schoolers. She founded and led the Global Health Relief fundraising campaign, which partners with the non-profit Lutheran World Relief, creating school and health kits to send to students in Africa, Asia, Latin America, and the Middle East. Carla is a member of Washington-Liberty’s Latin American Student Association (LASA) helping to celebrate Hispanic cultures and support English Learners.  She deeply values  global equity and has also worked to support disadvantaged children and families by leading the UNICEF club at Washington-Liberty.