教學系

我們的使命:通過平等的學習機會和學習者聯繫,創造和創新的多種途徑激發學習熱情

我們的宏願: 作為學習者和全球公民,所有人都儘自己最大的努力

教學部包括:

教學框架

教學框架 概述我們每個教室的教學經驗; 提供每個單元的“知識與事”,評估和資源的課程模板; 以及專業的學習經驗,為整個部門的合作和學習提供了機會。

部門概況

教學部在課程和教學以及學生服務方面發揮領導作用,以確保每個學生 APS 是安全,健康,挑戰,支持和參與的。 這包括在整個部門中進行合作,以開發和實施學術和社會情感課程,以滿足個人學生的需求,並與國家和州的標準,立法和基於證據的最佳做法保持一致。 教學與學習部與學校合作,以實施最佳實踐,評估學生學習的方法,重點是各種方法,包括客觀測試知識和技能,以及對學生運用所學知識的能力進行更複雜的衡量。 這些努力使學校工作人員可以更緊密地專注於個別學生的需求。 工作人員還擔任公民諮詢委員會的聯絡員,這些委員會是教學諮詢委員會(ACI)結構的一部分; 並與其他公民,個人和家庭合作以支持計劃。 此外,教學部還負責:

  • 實施推薦的教學方法PreK-12,重點在於創造性思維,協作,批判性思維,溝通和公民意識(公民和社區責任)。
  • 實施新的資源和材料(PreK-12)。
  • 制定適當的學術和社會情感核心課程以及乾預計劃,以加快學生的學習速度。
  • 提供地區和基於現場的諮詢危機應對和乾預。
  • 領先的預防和乾預藥物濫用。
  • 制定績效評估以衡量複雜的學習並報告其結果。
  • 為所有學生(包括英語學習者,殘障學生和有才華的學習者)使用最佳實踐開發和實施課程。
  • 監視和協調《每個學生成功法案》(ESSA)的立法,資金和要求的實施。
  • 支持專業學習,以幫助員工獲取知識,技能和行為,從而與我們在文化和語言上各不相同的學生團體有效合作。
  • 監測學生學習成績的成功; 對成績報告進行季度審核,在老師,學生和家庭的協助下溝通和調整學業計劃。 與每個學生進行年度學術計劃會議,以確保學生走上畢業之路,並確保他們具有確定的專上課程。
  • 與社區組織,阿靈頓縣政府以及其他公共和私人實體合作,通過在每所學校內和全系統實施高影響力的家庭和社區參與(FACE)策略和活動,建立支持學生學習的關係。
  • 分析質量標準,認證標準和學習標準的變化以及學習標準評估的結果,並適當修改程序。
  • 開展學校輔導和支持,以挑戰和吸引所有學生。

Department of Teaching and Learning

Our Mission: To ignite a passion for learning with equitable access and multiple pathways where learners connect, create, and innovate

Our Vision: All individuals strive for their best as learners and global citizens

The Department of Teaching and Learning includes:

Teaching and Learning Framework

The Teaching and Learning Framework provides an overview of the teaching and learning experiences for each of our classrooms; the curriculum templates that provide the “knows and dos”, assessments, and resources for each unit; and the professional learning experiences that provide opportunities for collaboration and learning together across the division.

Department Overview

The Department of Teaching and Learning provides leadership in curriculum and instruction as well as student services, working to ensure that every student in APS is safe, healthy, challenged, supported, and engaged.  This includes collaborating throughout the division to develop and implement academic and social-emotional curriculum that meets the needs of individual students and is aligned with national and state standards, legislation, and evidence-based best practices. The Department of Teaching and Learning works with schools on implementation of best practices, methods of assessing student learning emphasizing a variety of approaches which include objective tests of knowledge and skills as well as more complex measures of students’ abilities to apply what they have learned. These efforts allow school staff to focus more closely on the needs of the individual students. Staff also serve as liaisons to citizen advisory committees, part of the Advisory Council on Instruction (ACI) structure; and work with other citizens, individuals, and families to support programs. In addition, the Department of Teaching and Learning is responsible for:

  • Implementing recommended teaching methods, PreK-12, with an emphasis on creative thinking, collaboration, critical thinking, communication, and citizenship (civic and community responsibility).
  • Implementing new resources and materials (PreK-12).
  • Developing appropriate academic and social-emotional core curriculum as well as intervention programs to accelerate student learning.
  • Providing district and site-based counseling crisis response and intervention.
  • Leading substance abuse prevention and intervention.
  • Developing performance assessments to measure complex learning and report their results.
  • Developing and implementing curriculum using best practices for all students including English learners, students with disabilities, and gifted learners.
  • Monitoring and coordinating the implementation of Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) legislation, funding, and requirements.
  • Supporting professional learning to assist staff in acquiring the knowledge, skills, and behaviors to work effectively with our culturally and linguistically diverse student body.
  • Monitoring the success of student’s academic achievement; conducting quarterly reviews of grade reports, communicating and adjusting academic planning with the assistance of teachers, students and families. Conducting yearly academic planning sessions with each student to ensure that students are on the path to graduation and that they have a defined post-secondary pathway.
  • Building relationships that support student learning by implementing high-impact family and community engagement (FACE) strategies and activities both within each school and system-wide in collaboration with community-based organizations, the Arlington County government, and other public and private entities.
  • Analyzing changes to the Standards of Quality, Standards of Accreditation, and the Standards of Learning and the results of the Standards of Learning assessments, modifying programs as appropriate.
  • Engaging in school coaching and support to challenge and engage all students.