常见问题– AsTech

Tecnología助理– Preguntas Frecuentes

1.孩子必须有一定的残疾才能使用辅助技术工具或设备吗?

2004年,《残疾人教育法案》(IDEA)要求在每个孩子的“个性化教育计划”(IEP)会议上考虑使用辅助技术。 学生的教育需求(而不是他/她的残疾)决定了辅助技术是否适合他/她。

2.作为父母,我如何找出AsTech评估的结果?

将报告副本发送给IEP团队,然后IEP团队再次开会讨论建议,并考虑需要对IEP进行的任何修改(例如,目标变更,添加修改等)。 报告的副本也通过学生的案例载体发送给父母。

3.如果转介给AsTech团队,评估需要多长时间才能完成?

AsTech小组有65个工作日的时间表来完成评估。

4.如果建议为儿童使用该设备,有人可以教学生,老师和家人如何使用该设备吗?

AsTech成员将IEP团队成员在该地区的家长资源中心(PRC)活动和在线专业发展机会。

5.如果我对孩子使用的设备有疑问或疑虑,可以与谁联系?

培训也扩展到有设备的学生的家庭。 如果您对孩子使用的设备有任何疑问,请首先联系您的IEP案例载体。 如有必要,将与AsTech案例专家联系,以帮助解决问题或与制造商联系。

6.学生可以将设备带回家吗?

如果学生需要在家中使用该设备来支持他/她的IEP目标和/或住宿,则可以将其带回家。 如果设备在学校损坏,则学校将负责维修或更换设备。 如果设备在家中损坏,则由学生的家庭负责为该设备付费。 父母和照顾者都会收到所有带回家的设备的房屋贷款表格。

Frequently Asked Questions – AsTech

Tecnología Asistencial – Preguntas Frecuentes

1. Does a child have to have a certain disability to receive an assistive technology tool or device?

In 2004, Individuals with Disability Education Act (IDEA) required that assistive technology be considered at every child’s Individualized Education Program (IEP) meeting. A student’s educational needs, not his/her disability, determines whether or not assistive technologies are appropriate for him/her.

2. As a parent, how do I find out the results of the AsTech evaluation?

Copies of the report are sent to the IEP team and the IEP team reconvenes to discuss the recommendations and consider any modifications that need to be made to the IEP (e.g. a change in goals, addition of modification, etc.). A copy of the report is also sent home to the parents via the student’s case carrier.

3. If a referral is made to the AsTech Team, how long will it take for the evaluation to be completed?

The AsTech Team has a timeline of 65 business days to complete an evaluation.

4. If a device is recommended for a child, will someone be available to teach the student, teachers, and family how to use it?

Trainings are offered by the AsTech Team members and/as needed by vendors from whom products are purchased. All members of the IEP team are invited to participate in these trainings, which are usually held at the schools attended by the students who use the technology. AsTech members inform IEP team members of trainings in the area, Parent Resource Center (PRC) events and online professional development opportunities.

5. Who can I contact if I have questions or concerns about the device my child is using?

Training is extended to families with students with devices, as well. If you have any questions about the device your child is using, please contact your IEP case carrier first. If necessary, the AsTech case specialist will be contacted to help address the concerns or contact the manufacturer.

6. Can the student take the device home?

A device can be taken home if the student requires the device at home to support his/her IEP goals and/or accommodations. If the device is damaged at school, the school pays for the repairs or replacement of the device. If the device is damaged at home, the student’s family is responsible for paying for the particular device. Parents and caregivers are given a home loan form for all devices that are taken home.