常見問題

 

指令

協同集群模型

  1. 在混合和遠程學習模型中將如何提供優等服務? 資優服務將繼續使用指導COVID-19之前指導我們工作的相同協作集群模型。 有關更多詳細信息,請參見 2017-2022年本地優才計劃 由總監和學校董事會批准。
  2. 有哪些縣級機構可以支持這種模式的一致性? 每所學校都有一個一致的 Canvas 資優服務模板 為管理員和員工提供資源以支持RTG與學校員工之間的協作。 該模板還提供了多種專業學習機會,例如使用為資優生編寫的課程資源擴展內容,了解多樣化資優生的需求以及如何倡導具有潛力的學生的方法。
  3. 資優學習者的聚類分組會在混合和遠程學習模型中繼續嗎?
    根據選擇不同選項的學生人數,每所學校將盡可能聚集有天賦的學習者(最少5至8名學生)以進行有針對性的教學。 分組教師應有區別,並為有天賦的學習者提供適當的指導。
  4. 如果學生在春季無法通過篩選過程,將如何進行聚類?
    由於整個學生的年級情況相似,學校將使用多個數據點對學習者進行分組,以便他們可以接受有針對性的指導。
  5. 為集群/強化/ AP / IB教師提供什麼支持,使其能夠提出挑戰並吸引有才華的學習者的教學?
    每所學校都有一名資優教師(RTG),負責為集群教師提供支持,因為他們為所有內容領域增加了嚴格性,深度和復雜性。 RTG通過多種方式支持集群/強化/ AP / IB教師,並且期望持續的協作和規劃。
  6. 我如何找出誰是我學校的優才(RTG)的資源老師?
    這裡是一個 鏈接 到學校的RTG。
  7. 小學RTG和集群教師的具體職責是什麼?
    在協作集群模型中,每所學校的RTG與每個年級集群老師合作,為有天賦的學習者提供全面的服務。 請拜訪 對RTG和集群教師的期望 查看更多細節。 此外,K-5 RTG小組使用為優秀學習者編寫的資源貢獻課程,供所有教師用來擴展標準,挑戰和吸引所有學習者。 這 基本資優服務 Canvas 課程 鏈接到小學 Canvas 所有教師的“教師資源”部分中的模板。
  8. RTG和中學的集群和/或強化教師的具體職責是什麼?
    在協作集群模型中,每所學校的RTG與每個年級集群和/或強化教師合作,為有天賦的學習者提供全面的服務。 請拜訪 對RTG和集群強化中學的期望 查看更多細節。
  9. RTG和高中/ AP / IB教師在高中的具體職責是什麼?
    在協作集群模型中,每所學校的RTG與強化/ AP / IB教師合作,為有天賦的學習者提供全面的服務。 請拜訪 對RTG的期望增強/ AP / IB教師 查看更多細節。 此外,HS RTG負責管理夏季住宅州長學校的校本申請流程,並參加全縣范圍的活動,以支持VPA試鏡和選擇代表學生的活動 APS 在州一級。
  10. 對集群/強化/ AP / IB教師的專業學習期望是什麼?
    集群教師(定義為在教室中有資優學習者的任何人),強化/ AP / IB教師預計將有40個專注於資優教育的專業學習點。 政策實施程序G-2.14 PIP-9教師資格-資優學生的教育
  11. RTG可以支持沒有集群的教師嗎?
    這將取決於RTG每週與之合作的教師小組的數量。 每個年級的教師群集越多,RTG支持更多教師所需的時間就越少。 可用時,RTG參加協作學習團隊會議,以共享和/或建模批判性和創造性思維策略,以挑戰和吸引所有學習者。
  12. 分組教師有哪些專業學習機會?
    資優服務創建了一個 專業學習週期 支持教師在校內進行的持續專業學習。 它本質上很靈活,並支持教師的個性化學習。 與RTG合作,可以由一位老師,一小群和/或一大群敬業的專業人員來實施學習週期。 此外,還有 多個在線網絡研討會和自定進度的會議 教師可以隨時訪問。 這些會議圍繞以下主要主題進行組織:資優服務的篩选和識別公平,資優學生的虛擬教與學,資優學生的社會情感發展和需求,資優學生的差異化和有目的的計劃以及基於問題和項目基礎學習
  13. 為什麼資源老師沒有為我的孩子教我的孩子?
    我們提供優待服務的模型是我們所概述的協作集群模型 2017-2022年本地優才計劃。 我們知道,有才華的學習者需要在教學的整個過程中採用全面的方法,而不僅僅是每週一到兩堂課。 每所學校都有一名資優教師(RTG),以支持多個年級的所有學科領域,並且他們各自負責甄別和鑑定過程。

篩選與鑑定  

  1. 2020年至2021年將提供哪些通用的篩選器?
    計劃於2021年XNUMX月針對多個年級進行通用篩選/能力評估,如下所示:

    • 2-3年級,四年級和4年級的小學生,沒有能力評估
    • 新來的中學生 APS 在6年級和7年級(學校8年級的管理是可選的)
      學校將通知家庭評估窗口。 請訪問評估網站, 日曆 了解更多詳細信息。
  2. 哪個通用篩選器已在2020-2021年推遲?
    隨著學生在三月返回親自學習並且先前計劃的納格列裡非語言評估(NNAT)計劃於16月26-1日進行,教學部決定將一年級通用能力篩選器推遲到2021-22年學年。 這將使學校和教職員工能夠集中精力過渡到面對面的教學。
  3. 如果我的孩子目前處於未提供全民篩查的年級水平,我可以推薦我的孩子接受天才服務嗎?
     根據VDOE資優條例 8 VAC 20-40-40,可以推薦學生到K-12年級進行優才服務。 家人和/或工作人員可以通過向RTG或校長提交推薦表格來啟動篩選過程。 收到推薦後,將安排一項能力評估,這是篩選過程的必不可少的部分。 
  4. 如果今年我為孩子選擇了虛擬選項,篩查過程會怎樣? 他們可以虛擬地使用通用篩檢儀嗎?
    目前,僅在您孩子的學校大樓內親自提供通用篩選器。 父母可以選擇不參加這項評估。 在這樣做, 根據VDOE資優條例 8 VAC 20-40-40,沒有能力評估的學生將不會在2020-2021學年進行篩选和鑑定過程。
  5. 如果我的孩子採用的是全程遠程學習模式,並且我不想讓我的孩子在2021年XNUMX月的學校大樓裡接受通用篩查儀,那麼我的孩子何時將有機會使用這種通用篩查儀?
    選擇退出2021年春季通用能力篩選器的學生將有機會在秋季參加這項評估。
  6. 為什麼我的孩子在2020年春季無法通過篩查過程?
    由於學校於2020年2月開始進行遠程學習,因此在3或– XNUMX年級不能進行普遍篩查能力評估,該評估也是在XNUMX月進行的,是篩查和鑑定過程的一部分。
  7. 哪些等級的學生接受了通用篩查,因此有資格在2019-2020學年進行篩查?
    在小學,四年級和五年級的學生是新來的 APS 於2019年XNUMX月參加了放映。 APS 六年級的學生於6年2019月參加了通用篩選器。這些年級水平和所有事先有能力評估的學生都有資格在2020年春季完成篩選過程。
  8. 如果沒有能力評估,篩选和鑑定過程是否可以繼續進行?
    VDOE概述了資優法規 (8 VAC20-40-40)學校系統必須遵循要求的能力評估,這是篩选和鑑定過程的一部分。
  9. 在哪裡可以了解有關篩查和鑑定過程的更多信息?
    該過程在 資格部分 在此網頁上。
  10. 我的孩子多久可以接受一次篩查資優服務?
    每年可能會對學生進行一次篩查,以獲取資優服務。 篩選通常在每年的春季進行,轉診截止日期為1月XNUMX日。(如果該截止時間在春假期間,則轉診將從休假的第一天開始。)
  11. 如何為孩子啟動篩查過程? 
    您可以提交 推薦表格 以電子方式發送給您學校的資源老師以獲取資優和/或您學校的校長。 如果您的孩子去年春天經歷了篩查過程,則他們有資格在今年的春季篩查週期中再次經歷篩查過程。
  12. 自2020年春季沒有進行篩查程序以來,我的孩子將如何受到挑戰?
    滿足學生的學術和社交情感需求並不一定要認定他們是有天賦的學生。 每個老師 APS 負責為所有學習者提供差異化的教學。 教師使用進行中的評估來根據學生的準備程度和興趣來計劃課程。 RTG在與老師進行規劃方面為建築物提供了支持,以滿足高級學習者的需求,並為所有學生提供挑戰性和參與性課程的機會。

F剛接觸的家庭 APS 

  1. 如果我的孩子在另一個學區被確定為有天賦,那麼在下面的過程中被識別的過程如何? APS?
    剛接觸的學生 APS 並且先前已確定要提供優待服務的人員將有資格獲得與以前學區所概述的相同水平的服務。 在這種情況下,沒有必要進行篩選過程。 要求家長/監護人與學校註冊服務商和/或資優教育人員(RTG)和/或校長共享以前的優待服務記錄和/或以前的資格獲得服務。 收到此信息後,您的孩子將被聚集在他們的識別區域中,並開始接受有天賦的服務。
  2. 如果我的孩子沒有在其他學校系統中接受過天才服務的篩查,我如何開始在阿靈頓進行篩查過程?
    新來的 APS 可能會在秋季對學生進行篩選,以提供資優服務。 要開始此過程,請提交一個 推薦表格 給資優老師和/或校長。 請注意:我們的篩選過程包括多個數據點,其中包括學校觀察到的不同學習者的行為和特徵。 給學校人員一些時間來了解您孩子的長處和興趣很重要。 因此,弗吉尼亞州教育部的指導方針為學校提供了90個工作日來處理新的推薦。

 

公平

APS 目標:每所學校的有天賦的人口應匹配其社區的不同人口。  

兩次優秀學習者

  1. 學生可以同時獲得資優服務和特殊教育服務嗎?
    是的,可以將學生識別為有天賦,並且可以擁有IEP和/或504計劃。 兩項服務都很重要,不應將其中一項視為比另一項更重要。 在 APS,我們專注於每個學生的長處,並提供住宿設施來滿足學習需求。 還強調發展抵禦能力和倡導。
  2. 在家庭和學校裡,兩次例外情況如何?
    NAGC提供兩種觀點:  老師可能會看到什麼,家長可能會看到什麼
  3. 父母如何在家里和學校為兩次傑出的學習者提供支持?
    多管齊下的方法應著重於他們的 智慧l物理和 社會/情感環境。 在這兩個鏈接中,都為家庭和學校提供了建議。
  4. 您建議閱讀哪些文章以了解更多有關撫養我這個雙親孩子的信息?
    超越神經心理學的評估:尋找合適的專業人員來滿足您2e孩子的需求兩次例外:少有人走的路 

識別和服務於文化和語言多樣的有天賦的學習者 

  1. 可以將英語學習者的學生識別為有天賦的人嗎?
    是的,在 APS 我們正在尋找學習者的潛在能力,而不是專注於不同的成就水平。
  2. 有天賦的英語學習者有哪些特點?
    • 以比通常更快的速度習得新語言,
    • 證明有能力進行高級代碼轉換或翻譯,
    • 表現出在文化之間進行談判的能力,
    • 展現發明的領導才能和/或想像力,
    • 大大超過了傳統語言的年級水平,
    • 在年輕時有效承擔成人責任,
    • 展示著名的街頭智慧和/或迅速融入美國文化,或
    • 通過創造性的,不合格的方式解決問題*所有這些特徵都是我們的“天賦行為評論”文檔的一部分,可作為一種方式來全面識別用於天賦服務的EL。
  3. 您建議閱讀哪些文章以了解更多有關撫養我的孩子的信息? 在資優教育中識別和服務英語學習者的有效實踐:對文獻的系統評價 

    其他資源

  1. 您在COVID-19期間為父母/監護人/看護人推薦哪些資源?
    全國天才協會(NAGC)擁有出色的提示表。 以下是兩個為父母,照料者和教育者提供策略的工具,以幫助他們在特殊時期管理孩子:

    NAGC也有一個網頁共享 COVID-19期間家長和教育者的資源 

    您可能還會發現此文檔很有幫助, NAGC幫助您的天才孩子成功。

  2. 隨著學習者需求的不斷變化,您推薦哪些額外的資源來支持父母/監護人/看護者?NAGC有 提示表 分為以下幾類:資優,教室環境中的資優,倡導,創造力和社交情感學習。 在另外的NAGC中
  3. 在哪裡可以找到有關社會情感支持的具體信息?
    NAGC彙編了各種 社會情感資源 對於父母和教育者。 這些策略包括與有天賦的孩子談論COVID-19,以及幫助孩子在這段充滿挑戰的時期中駕馭他們的情緒,行為,情感,家庭互動和友誼。此外,NAGC還開發了 立場聲明 分享有關如何培養有天賦的孩子的社會情感發展的想法。
  4. 在哪裡可以找到挑戰和讓我的孩子參與的想法?
    三月份,Gifted Services分享了 在線資源 在家中激發孩子的興趣。
  5. 有時,教育者使用的術語可能不是非教育者所熟悉的。
    請找到這個 專業術語 支持您的理解和持續的父母參與。

常見問題解答是針對家長可能感興趣的各種主題而開發的, APS staff and/or the larger community.員工和/或更大的社區。 This section will always be a work in progress based on feedback received.根據收到的反饋,本節將始終處於進行之中。 If you have a question that has not been answered here, please email如果您有未在此處回答的問題,請發送電子郵件 謝麗爾·麥卡洛@aps價值 和/或您學校的資優老師。

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

 

Instruction

Collaborative Cluster Model

  1. How will gifted services be provided in the hybrid and distance learning model? Gifted services will continue using the same collaborative cluster model that has guided our work prior to COVID-19. For more detailed information, please see the 2017-2022 Local Plan for the Gifted approved by the Superintendent and the School Board.
  2. What countywide structures are in place to support consistency of implementation of this model? Each school has a consistent Canvas Gifted Services template for administrators and staff with resources to support the collaboration between the RTG and the school staff.  The template also offers multiple professional learning opportunities such as ways to extend content using curricular resources written for gifted learners and understanding the needs of diverse gifted students and how to advocate for students who show potential.
  3. Will cluster grouping of gifted learners continue in the hybrid and distance learning model?
    Depending on the numbers of students who choose the different options, each school will cluster gifted learners (minimum 5 – 8 students) as much as possible for targeted instruction. Cluster teachers are expected to differentiate and provide appropriate instruction for gifted learners.
  4. How will clustering happen if students were unable to go through the screening process in the spring?
    Since entire grade level of students are in a similar situation, schools will use multiple data points to group learners so that they can receive targeted instruction.
  5. What supports are in place for cluster/intensified/AP/IB teachers to be able to deliver instruction that challenges and engages gifted learners?
    Each school has one resource teacher for the gifted (RTG) who is responsible for supporting cluster teachers as they add rigor, depth and complexity to all content areas. RTGs support cluster/intensified/AP/IB teachers in a variety of ways and there is an expectation of ongoing collaboration and planning.
  6. How can I find out who is the resource teacher for the gifted (RTG) for my school?
    Here is a link to the RTGs by school.
  7. What are the specific responsibilities of RTGs and Cluster Teachers in elementary school?
    In a collaborative cluster model, each school’s RTG works collaboratively with each grade levels cluster teachers to provide comprehensive services to gifted learners.  Please visit Expectations for RTGs and Cluster Teachers to see more specifics. In addition the K-5 RTG group contributes lessons using resources written for gifted learners for all teachers to use to extend standards and challenge and engage all learners.  This Elementary Gifted Services Canvas course is linked to the Elementary Canvas Template in the Teacher Resources section for all teachers.
  8. What are the specific responsibilities of RTGs and Cluster and/or Intensified Teachers in middle school?
    In a collaborative cluster model, each school’s RTG works collaboratively with each grade levels cluster and/or intensified teachers to provide comprehensive services to gifted learners.  Please visit Expectations for RTGs and Cluster Intensified Middle School to see more specifics.
  9. What are the specific responsibilities of RTGs and Intensified/AP/IB Teachers in high school?
    In a collaborative cluster model, each school’s RTG works collaboratively with intensified/AP/IB teachers to provide comprehensive services to gifted learners.  Please visit Expectations for RTGs Intensified/AP/IB Teachers to see more specifics.  In addition, HS RTGs manage the school based application process for the Summer Residential Governor’s School and participate in countywide events to support VPA auditions and the selection of students representing APS at the state level.
  10. What are the professional learning expectations for cluster/intensified/AP/IB teachers?
    Cluster Teachers (as defined as anyone who has a gifted learner in their classroom), Intensified/AP/IB teachers are expected to have 40 professional learning points focusing on gifted education. Policy Implementation Procedure G-2.14 PIP-9 Teacher Qualifications – Education of Gifted Students
  11. Will the RTG be able to support teachers who do not have clusters?
    This will depend on the number of clusters teachers the RTG works with on a weekly basis. The more clusters teachers at each grade level, the less time the RTG will have to support additional teachers. When available, RTGs attend collaborative learning team meetings to share and/or model critical and creative thinking strategies to challenge and engage all learners.
  12. What professional learning opportunities are in place for cluster teachers?
    Gifted Services created a professional learning cycle to support school-based ongoing professional learning for teachers.  It is flexible in nature and supports personalized learning for teachers.  In collaboration with the RTG, the learning cycle can be implemented with one teacher, a small group and/or large group of committed professionals. In addition, there are multiple online webinars and self-paced sessions in which teachers can access at any time. These sessions are organized around the following major topics:  Equity in the Screening and Identification for Gifted Services, Virtual Teaching and Learning for Gifted Learners, Social Emotional Development and Needs of Gifted Learners, Differentiation and Purposefully Planning for Gifted Learners, and Problem Based and Project Based Learning,
  13. Why is my child not being taught by the resource teacher for the gifted?
    Our model for delivery gifted services is a collaborative cluster model as outlined in our 2017-2022 Local Plan for the Gifted. We know that gifted learners need a comprehensive approach to services throughout the instructional day and not just one or two lessons a week. Each school has one resource teacher for the gifted (RTG) to support all subject areas in multiple grade levels and they each manage the screening and identification process.

Screening and Identification  

  1. What universal screeners will be given in 2020-2021?
    A universal screener/ability assessment is planned in April 2021 for multiple grade levels as outlined below:

    • elementary students in grades 2 – 3, and 4th and 5th graders without an ability assessment
    • middle school students who are new to APS in grades 6 and 7 (grade 8 administration is optional for schools)
      Schools will notify families of assessment windows. Please see the Assessment site and calendar for additional details.
  2. Which universal screener has been postponed in 2020-2021?
    With the return of students to in-person learning in March and the previously scheduled Naglieri Nonverbal Assessment (NNAT) scheduled for March 16-26, the Department of Teaching and Learning has decided to postpone the 1st grade universal ability screener until the 2021-22 school year. This will allow schools and staff to focus on transitioning back to in-person instruction.
  3. Can I refer my child for gifted services if they are currently in a grade level where a universal screener is not given?
     Per VDOE gifted regulations 8 VAC 20-40-40, students can be referred for gifted services in grades K-12. Families and/or staff members may initiate the screening process by submitting a referral form to the RTG or principal. After a referral is received, an ability assessment is scheduled and is a mandatory part of the screening process. 
  4. What happens with the screening process if I selected the virtual option for my child this year? Can they take the universal screener virtually?
    At this time, the universal screener will only be given in person in your child’s school building. Parents may opt out of this assessment. In doing so, Per VDOE gifted regulations 8 VAC 20-40-40, students without an ability assessment will not go through the screening and identification process during the 2020-2021 school year.
  5. If my child is in the full distance learning model and I do not want my child to take the universal screener in the school building in April 2021, when will my child have the opportunity to take this universal screener?
    Students who opt out of the spring 2021 universal ability screener will have an opportunity to take this assessment in the fall.
  6. Why was my child not able to go through the screening process in the spring of 2020?
    Because schools moved to remote learning in March 2020, the universal screening ability assessments which were also scheduled in March and are required as part of the screening and identification process could not be given in grades 2 or – 3.
  7. Which grade levels were given a universal screener and were therefore eligible for screening during the 2019-2020 school year?
    In elementary schools, students in grades 4 and 5th graders who were new to APS took the screener in December 2019.  Middle school students who were new to APS in grade 6 took the universal screener in September 2019.  These grade levels and any student who had a prior ability assessment on record were eligible to go through the screening process in spring of 2020. .
  8. Can the screening and identification process move forward without an ability assessment?
    The VDOE outlines gifted regulations (8 VAC20-40-40) school systems must follow require an ability assessment as part of the screening and identification process.
  9. Where can I learn more about the screening and identification process?
    This process is outlined in the Eligibility section on this webpage.
  10. How often can my child be screened for gifted services?
    Students may be screened for gifted services once a year. Screening typically happens in the spring of each year with a referral deadline of April 1. (If this deadline falls during spring break, referrals will be accepted on the first day back from break.)
  11. How can I initiate the screening process for my child? 
    You may submit the referral form electronically to your school’s resource teacher for the gifted and/or your school’s principal. If your child went through the screening process last spring, they are eligible to go through the screening process again in this year’s spring screening cycle.
  12. How will my child be challenged since the screening process did not happen in the spring of 2020?
    Students do not have to be identified as gifted to have their academic and social emotional needs met. Every teacher in APS is charged with differentiation of instruction for all their learners. Teachers use ongoing assessments to plan lessons based on student readiness and interests. The RTG is a support in the building in terms of planning with teachers to meet the needs of advanced learners and to give all students opportunities for challenging and engaging lessons.

Families New to APS 

  1. If my child was identified as gifted in another school district, what is the process for getting identified in APS?
    Students who are new to APS and who have been previously identified for gifted services will be eligible for the same level of service as outlined by the previous school district. In this situation, it is not necessary to go through the screening process. Parents/Guardians are asked to share the previous record of gifted services and/or previous record of eligibility for gifted services with the school registrar and/or the resource teacher for the gifted (RTG) and/or the principal.  Upon receiving this information, your child will then be clustered in their area of identification and begin receiving gifted services.
  2. If my child was not screened for gifted services in another school system, how can I begin the screening process in Arlington?
    New to APS students may be screened in the fall for gifted services.  To begin this process, please submit a referral form to the resource teacher for the gifted and/or principal. Please note:  our screening process includes multiple data points to include behaviors and characteristics of diverse learners observed by the school.  It is important to give school personnel time to get to know your child’s strengths and interests.  For this reason, the Virginia Department of Education guidelines gives schools 90 school days to process a new referral.

 

Equity

APS GOAL:  Each school’s gifted population should match the diverse population of its community.  

Twice Exceptional Learners

  1. Can students receive both gifted services and special education services?
    Yes, student can be identified as gifted and can have a IEP and/or a 504 plan.  Both services are important and one should not be seen as more important than the other.  In APS, we focus on the strengths each student has and put accommodations in place to support learning needs. There is also an emphasis on developing resiliency and advocacy.
  2. How does twice exceptionality look at home and at school?
    NAGC offers two perspectives:  What the Teacher Might See and What the Parent Might See
  3. How can parents support twice exceptional learners at home and at school?
    A multi-pronged approach should focus on their intellectualphysical, and social/emotional environments. In both of these links suggestions are offered for at home and school support.
  4. What articles do you recommend to learn more about supporting my twice exceptional child?
    Beyond the Neuropsychological Evaluation: Finding the Right Professionals to Support Your 2e Child’s NeedsTwice Exceptionality:  The Road Less Traveled 

Identifying and Serving Culturally and Linguistically Diverse Gifted Learners 

  1. Can students who are English Language learners be identified as gifted?
    Yes, in APS we are looking for potential ability in learners rather than focusing on different achievement levels.
  2. What are characteristics of English Learners who are gifted?
    • Acquire the new language at a faster than typical rate,
    • Demonstrate an ability to code switch or translate at an advanced level,
    • Show aptitude for negotiating between cultures,
    • Display inventive leadership and/or imaginative qualities,
    • Read significantly beyond grade level in the heritage language,
    • Effectively assume adult responsibilities at a young age,
    • Exhibit notable street smarts and/or rapid integration into American culture, or
    • Problem-solve in creative, nonconforming ways*All of these characteristics are part of our Gifted Behavior Commentary document as way to inclusively identify ELs for gifted services.
  3. What articles do you recommend to learn more about supporting my child? Effective Practices for Identifying and Serving English Learners in Gifted Education: A Systematic Review of the Literature 

    Additional Resources

  1. What resources do you recommend for parents/guardians/caretakers during COVID-19?
    National Association for the Gifted (NAGC) has excellent TIP Sheets. Here are two that offer parents, caregivers, and educators strategies for helping children manage during these extraordinary times:

    NAGC also has a webpage sharing resources for parents and educators during COVID-19 

    You may also find this document helpful, NAGC Helping Your Gifted Child Succeed.

  2. What additional resources do you recommend to support parents/guardians/caretakers as learners needs change over time?NAGC has TIP sheets on a variety of topics organized by the following categories: giftedness, giftedness in the classroom setting, advocacy, creativity, and social emotional learning. In additional NAGC
  3. Where can I find specific information on social emotional support?
    NAGC compiled a variety of social emotional resources for parents and educators. These strategies range from talking with gifted children about COVID-19 as well as helping children navigate their emotions, behaviors, feelings, family interactions, and friendships through this challenging time.In addition, NAGC developed a position statement sharing ideas on how to nurture social-emotional development in gifted children.
  4. Where can I find ideas to challenge and engage my child at home?
    In March Gifted Services shared a variety of online resources to tap your child’s interest at home.
  5. Sometimes educators use terms that may not be as familiar to people who are not educators.
    Please find this Glossary of Terms to support your understanding and continued parent involvement.

The FAQs were developed on a varied of topics which may of be interest to parents, APS staff and/or the larger community. This section will always be a work in progress based on feedback received. If you have a question that has not been answered here, please email Cheryl.McCullough@apsva.us and/or your school’s resource teacher for the gifted.